On Being Excluded Understanding the Diversity Gap in Children’s Literature

Racism – Children partaking in the integration programme „WerteRaum“ of the Eduard-Spranger Primary School in Munich. The proportion of children with a migration background at this school is about 80 percent.
Children from the all-day school class 3bi participate in a workshop on "Professions" on 1 June 2017, organised by the interactive integration programme "WerteRaum" at the Eduard-Spranger Primary School in Munich (Bavaria). The project, designed for children with migration background, focuses on playful engagement in the areas of community, equality, education and professions. About 80 percent of the children at the Eduard-Spranger primary school in Munich have a migration background. | Photo (detail): Matthias Balk © picture alliance / dpa

BIPoC Children and the societies are depicted systematically as laughable, comical, barbaric, naïve or immoral, as beings closer to nature than to culture, as beings who are dependent on white knowledge and benevolence, writes Maisha M. Auma.

By Maisha M. Auma

“Stories matter. Many stories matter. Stories have been used to dispossess and to malign, but stories can also be used to empower and to humanise.”

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in ‘The Danger of a Single Story’

When Children begin to explore literary worlds, they are confronted with a reality of deep inequalities. Writing about multilayered intersectional experiences of ‘missing in literature’, about the lacking representation of hyperdiverse realities in children’s books, from my location in Berlin, Germany, includes looking into the context of children’s literature in German-speaking countries. It is also about looking outward to the wider European context. It further includes looking towards underrepresented geopolitical contexts like African, Asian and South American societies, as well as to the lived realities of First People (indigenous societies) whose daily experiences and territories have been erased from narrations of social realities. And finally, it includes looking to the North American context, as a context from which global dominance is deployed in narrating social realities, while the same context functions as a site for creativity and resistance in initiating and advocating for more diversity, inclusion, social justice and antiracism in children’s books.
  • Racism – “I can't breathe” is written on the mask of a boy taking part in a rally against police violence in Frankfurt. Bernd Kammerer © picture alliance
    A boy at an anti-racism demonstration in Frankfurt/Main on 6 June 2020
  • Racism - Munich: Primary school children with migration background in the schoolyard of a primary school. Sven Simon © picture alliance
    Munich: Primary school children with migration background in the schoolyard of a primary school. Photographed on 16 May 2019
  • Racism - Names under children's drawings in a childcare centre in Berlin-Neukölln Volkmar Heinz © picture alliance / zb
    Names under children's drawings in a childcare centre in Berlin-Neukölln (5 February 2015). Also on the shelves and coat hooks are names of children from many countries and different nationalities written.
  • Racism - Children of refugee families during an enrolment celebration at the primary school Kastanienallee. © FRM/dpa
    Children from refugee families, photographed in Halle (Saxony-Anhalt) on 29 August 2015, during an enrolment celebration at the primary school Kastanienallee. At the beginning of the new school year there will be statewide language classes and learning groups for children with a migration background in Saxony-Anhalt.
  • Racism - Migrant children learn in a welcoming class at the Weidenhof primary school in Potsdam (Brandenburg) Ralf Hirschberger © picture alliance / dpa
    Migrant children in a welcoming class at the Weidenhof Primary School in Potsdam (Brandenburg). In addition to the regular lessons, children of asylum seekers and refugees receive up to 5 extra lessons per week. In 2015, about 320 children, of which 137 had a migration background, were enrolled at the school. There is a home for asylum seekers in the catchment area.
  • Racism - Black Lives Matter demonstration at Deutzer Werft in Cologne on 6 June 2020 Jens Krick © picture alliance / Flashpic
    Black Lives Matter demonstration against racism and in remembrance of the death of George Floyd at Deutzer Werft in Cologne on 6 June 2020.
Nigerian feminist author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie warns of the dangers of ‘a single story’, based on the geopolitical dominance of white- and west-centric narrations. This critique questions stories which generalise the experiences of white, male, able-bodied, ‘white-Christian’, heterosexual, male-identifying, middle-class people. Centralising these perspectives is deployed at the expense of Black, Indigenous, People of Colour, Sinti and Roma, Muslim- or Jewish-identified, religious-non-practicing, disabled of differently-abled, working-class or working poor, female-identifying, queer, inter* and trans* people.

“The relation of represented Children of Color Colour had now sunk below the level of represented animals. There is no difficulty in representing animals, fantasy-animals and inanimate figures. There seems to be resistance to representing Children of Colour and their realities.”


The singularity written into the stories in children’s books contains problematic normalisations. The most comprehensive study of 20th century children's books undertaken in the United States; Gender in Twentieth-Century Children's Books: Patterns of Disparity in Titles and Central Characters, analysed 6,000 books published from 1900 to 2000. It was carried out by sociologists of gender at Florida State University (McCabe, Fairchild, Grauerholz, Pescosolido and Tope, 2011). The most important finding is that when adult males and male animals counted into one category of representation they were represented as lead characters in 100% of all analysed children’s books. Adult females and female animals were only represented as lead characters in 33%. Racialised marginalisation in children’s publishing shows a similar pattern of inequality: Based on descriptive statistics collected by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center, CCBC in Madison/Wisconsin (Diversity Gap Studies) since 1985, David Huyck and Sarah Park Dahlen found enormous disparities in the representation of BIPoC Children – BIPoC is an abbreviation for ‚Black, Indigenous, People of Colour’ – in comparison to animal figures and white characters in children’s books (Stechyson, 2019). For the year 2015, of the approximately 3,000 annual new children’s publications 73,3% of the main characters were white children, 12,5% of the main characters were animals (including fantasy-figures and inanimate objects) leaving only 14,2% for the representation of all racially marginalised groups together. This picture had shifted in 2018 to now 50% of all main characters being white, 27% were now animals including fantasy figures and only 23% of all main characters were all racially marginalised groups counted together. The relation of represented Children of Colour had now sunk below the level of represented animals. There is no difficulty in representing animals, fantasy-animals and inanimate figures. There seems to be resistance to representing Children of Colour and their realities.

Harmful Fictions

The representations of the social world in children’s literature are mostly fictional. They have however proved to be systematically excluding. Where BIPoC children are included, their depictions and those of the geopolitical territories associated with their lives tend to be stereotypical, stigmatising or dehumanising. Many German picture books and children’s books normalise the ‘white adventurer’. The German shoe label Salamander has published a comic-booklet (featuring its mascot, a male fire salamander named ‘Lurchi’, which is derived from the German word for salamander, Lurch), from 1937 to the present. In a 4th edition of Lurchi with the barbarians (Lurchi bei den Wilden) from 2019, Lurchi paints himself black (which is in effect Blackface). This is accompanied by a racist term about Lurchi becoming a N****lein (a little N****). Lurchi does this to not being cooked and eaten (Bochmann and Staufer, 2013; 7). The geopolitical context of his ‘adventure’ is a BIPoC society. Other German/European examples of the white adventurer are Die kleine Hexe (The little witch), Pippi Langstrumpf in Taka-Tuka-Land as well as the Tin Tin Comics (Tim und Struppi in A****) to name just a few. BIPoC Children and the societies are depicted systematically as laughable, comical, barbaric, naïve or immoral, as beings closer to nature than to culture, as beings who are dependent on white knowledge and benevolence (Auma, 2018). Such depictions are not only fictional, they are also harmful! They do not only deprive very young BIPoC readers of a positive self-image and positive images of their social worlds, they also force them to deal with the normalisation of their devaluation, of being overlooked or dehumanised. Young readers must ‘read between the racism/the harm’ (Masad, 2016). These patterns of dis-empowerment are no misrepresentations. They are toxic representations, because they cause harm to the self-worth of racially marginalised children. The regularity with which geopolitical contexts associated with BIPoC and their social lives are represented is a form of cultural violence.

Powerful readers

I would like to close with some thoughts on initiatives, working towards more equity, race- and norm-critical intersectionality and social, economic and political inclusion in children’s literature. They want to promote the production of diverse worlds in books and other childhood media, addressed at plural, hyperdiverse societies/mini-publics. A common aim of two European initiatives; DRIN (Diversity, Representation, Inclusion and Norm-Critique) and Powervolle Lesende (Powerful Readers) is to bring together key actors in the arena of children’s books production, circulation and consumption, especially towards the goal of re-centering the voices and perspectives of marginalised social groups. Four North American initiatives – WNDB #WeNeedDiverseBooks, Disability in Kid Lit, Young, Black and Lit and I am Here, I am Queer, What the Hell Do I Read ?”, all serve as an inspiration for the quality of intersectional justice approaches necessary, for work required in order to consistently empower diverse and marginalised young readers. These initiatives all draw on Rudine Sims Bishop’s call to create and normalise ‘Windows and Mirrors’ with regard to racially marginalised young readers. Mirrors serve to empower young BIPoC readers to see themselves, their social lives and the geopolitical regions associated with their hyperdiverse diasporic realities represented as normal elements of daily narrations. Windows serve to close the ‘Empathy Gap’ towards marginalised groups, by normalising the way they negotiate barriers and the conditions of their dehumanisation. Windows provide a crucial insight into the lives of all our ‘marginalised neighbours’, as they deal with realities, which are rarely represented in children’s media. In Chimamanda Adichie’s words, these approaches broaden the scope of the stories we tell and read. They reconnect us all in our daily struggle to affirm our own and each other’s humanity. 
 
Quellen:
 
Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi (2009). The Danger of A Single Story (TED-Talk). 
 
Auma, Maureen Maisha (2018). Kulturelle Bildung in pluralen Gesellschaften: Diversität von Anfang an! Diskriminierungskritik von Anfang an! In: KULTURELLE BILDUNG.
 
Bishop, Rudine Sims (1990). Mirrors, Windows and Sliding Doors. Perspectives: Choosing and Using Books for the Classroom, 6(3). 
 
Bochmann, Corinna/Staufer, Walter (2013). “Vom „N*-könig“ zum „Südseekönig“ zum...? Politische Korrektheit in Kinderbüchern. Das Spannungsfeld zwischen diskriminierungsfreier Sprache und Werktreue und die Bedeutung des Jugendschutzes”. In: BPJM-Aktuell (Bundesprüfstelle für jugendgefährdende Medien) (2/2013).
 
Decke-Cornill, Helene (2007). “Literaturdidaktik in einer „Pädagogik der Anerkennung“: Gender and other suspects”. In: Hallet, Wolfgang/Nünning, Ansgar (Hrsg.), Neue Ansätze und Konzepte der Literatur- und Kulturdidaktik (S. 239–258). Trier: WVT Wissenschaftlicher Verlag Trier.

Masad, Ilana (2016). Read Between the Racism: The Serious Lack of Diversity in Book Publishing.
 
McCabe, Janice/Fairchild, Emily/Grauerholz, Liz/Pescosolido, Bernice A./Tope, Daniel (2011). “Gender in Twentieth-Century Children’s Books: Patterns of Disparity in Titles and Central Characters”. Gender & Society 25(2): 197–226.
 
Sociologists for Women in Society (2011). Gender bias uncovered in children’s books with male characters, including male animals, leading the fictional pack. Science Daily, 4. Mai 2011.

Exkludiert werden Ein Empathiegefälle in der Kinderliteratur?

Rassismus – Kinder der Ganztagsschulklasse 3bi nehmen am 01.06.2017 an einem Workshop zum Thema „Berufe“ vom interaktiven Integrationsprogramm „WerteRaum“ an der Eduard-Spranger Grundschule in München (Bayern) teil. In dem speziell an Kinder mit Migrationshintergrund gerichteten Projekt beschäftigen sich die Kinder in Workshops spielerisch mit Themen wie Gemeinschaft, Gleichberechtigung, Bildung und Beruf. Der Migrationsanteil an der Eduard-Spranger Grundschule in München beträgt etwa 80 Prozent.
Kinder der Ganztagsschulklasse 3bi nehmen am 01.06.2017 an einem Workshop zum Thema „Berufe“ vom interaktiven Integrationsprogramm „WerteRaum“ an der Eduard-Spranger-Grundschule in München (Bayern) teil. In dem speziell an Kinder mit Migrationshintergrund gerichteten Projekt beschäftigen sich die Kinder in Workshops spielerisch mit Themen wie Gemeinschaft, Gleichberechtigung, Bildung und Beruf. Der Migrationsanteil an der Eduard-Spranger Grundschule in München beträgt etwa 80 Prozent. | Foto (Detail): Matthias Balk © picture alliance / dpa

BIPoC-Kinder und ihre Gesellschaften werden systematisch als lächerlich, komisch, barbarisch, naiv oder unmoralisch dargestellt, der Natur näher als der Kultur, als Wesen, die auf weißes Wissen und weißes Wohlwollen angewiesen sind,  schreibt Maisha M. Auma.

Von Maisha M. Auma

„Geschichten haben Bedeutung. Vielfältige Geschichten sind bedeutend. Geschichten wurden instrumentalisiert, um Menschen zu enteignen oder zu verleumden, aber Geschichten können auch eingesetzt werden, um zu ermächtigen und um unsere Humanität wechselseitig anzuerkennen.“

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in „Die Gefahr einer singulären Geschichte“, 2009

Wenn Kinder beginnen literarische Welten zu erkunden, werden sie mit einer Realität tiefsitzender Ungleichheiten konfrontiert. Indem ich über das Fehlen vielschichtiger intersektionaler Realitäten, die Erfahrung ‚nicht handelnd vorzukommen‘, die fehlende Repräsentation hyperdiverser Realitäten in Kinderbüchern schreibe, liegt mein Blick zunächst auf Kinderliteratur im deutschsprachigen Raum. Es gilt aber auch, den Blick auf den weiteren europäischen Kontext zu öffnen – auf unterrepräsentierte geopolitische Kontexte, wie zum Beispiel die heutigen Gesellschaften Afrikas, Asiens und Südamerikas oder die First Nations (indigene Gesellschaften), samt ihrer Weltauslegungen, sozialen Wirklichkeiten und Territorien. Diese werden systematisch in den Narrativen der sozialen Welt nahezu ausgeblendet und somit erneut marginalisiert. Zuletzt schaue ich auf den nordamerikanischen Kontext – ein Ort, von dem aus dominante Narrative forciert werden, aber zeitgleich ein Ort, welcher zu mehr Diversität, Inklusion, sozialer Gerechtigkeit und Rassismuskritik in Kindermedien aufruft.
  • Rassismus – „I Can't Breathe“ steht auf der Maske eines Jungen bei einer Anti-Rassismus-Demonstration Bernd Kammerer © picture alliance
    Junge bei einer Anti-Rassismus-Demonstration am 6. Juni 2020 in Frankfurt/Main
  • Rassismus – München: Grundschüler*innen mit Migrationshintergrund auf dem Schulhof einer Grundschule. Sven Simon © picture alliance
    München: Grundschüler*innen mit Migrationshintergrund auf dem Schulhof einer Grundschule. Aufnahme 16.05.2019
  • Rassismus – Namen unter Kinderzeichnungen in einer Kindertagesstätte in Berlin-Neukölln Volkmar Heinz © picture alliance / zb
    Namen unter Kinderzeichnungen in einer Kindertagesstätte in Berlin-Neukölln (05.02.2015). Auch an den Regalen und den Kleiderhaken stehen die Namen von Kindern vieler Länder und verschiedener Nationalitäten
  • Rassismus – Kinder aus Flüchtlingsfamilien in Halle (Sachsen-Anhalt) während einer Einschulungsfeier an der Grundschule Kastanienallee. © FRM/dpa
    Kinder aus Flüchtlingsfamilien aufgenommen am 29.08.2015 in Halle (Sachsen-Anhalt) während einer Einschulungsfeier an der Grundschule Kastanienallee. Zum neuen Schuljahr soll es in Sachsen-Anhalt flächendeckend Sprachklassen und Lerngruppen für Kinder mit Migrationshintergrund geben.
  • Rassismus – Migrant*innenkinder lernen in einer Willkommensklasse an der Weidenhof-Grundschule in Potsdam (Brandenburg) Ralf Hirschberger © picture alliance / dpa
    Migrant*innenkinder in einer Willkommensklasse an der Weidenhof-Grundschule in Potsdam (Brandenburg). Parallel zum normalen Unterricht werden Kinder von Asylbewerber*innen und Flüchtlingen extra bis zu fünf Stunden in der Woche gefördert. An der Schule lernten im Jahr 2015 rund 320 Kinder, 137 mit Migrationshintergrund. Im Einzugsbereich liegt ein Heim für Asylsuchende.
  • Rassismus – Black-Lives-Matter Demonstration am 6. Juni 2020 an der Deutzer Werft in Köln Jens Krick © picture alliance / Flashpic
    Black-Lives-Matter Demonstration gegen Rassismus und zum Gedenken an den Tod von George Floyd an der Deutzer Werft in Köln am 6. Juni 2020
Die feministische nigerianische Autorin Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie warnt vor „singulären Geschichten“ durch weiß- und westzentrische Narrative. Ihre Kritik richtet sich gegen Erzählungen, die Erfahrungen derjenigen verallgemeinert, die weiß, männlich, nicht-behindert, ‚weiß-christlich‘, heterosexuell und männlich identifiziert sind oder der Mittelschicht zugeordnet werden. Dies geschieht auf Kosten derjenigen, die rassistisch marginalisiert werden, die sich als islamisch oder jüdisch identifizieren (oder identifiziert werden), die keine Religion ausüben, die behindert oder anders begabt sind, die aus Arbeiter*innenzusammenhängen kommen oder zu den erwerbstätigen Armen gezählt werden, die sich weiblich identifizieren oder LSBTI* sind.

„Kinder-of-Color kommen in der untersuchten Literatur seltener in Hauptrollen vor als Tierfiguren. Es scheint unproblematisch, Tiere, Fantasywesen und unbelebte Gestalten zu zeigen, aber es scheint großen Widerstand zu geben, Kinder-of-Color und ihre sozialen Realitäten darzustellen.“

 
Das Normalisieren der Vernichtung von Multiperspektivität und die Vermittlung ‚singulärer Geschichten‘ in Kinderbüchern ist problematisch. In der Studie von Kinder- und Jugendliteratur Gender in Twentieth-Century Children’s Books: Patterns of Disparity in Titles and Central Characters, durchgeführt von Geschlechtersoziolog*innen an der Florida State University, wurden 6.000 Bücher analysiert, die zwischen 1900 und 2000 erschienen (McCabe/Fairchild/Grauerholz/Pescosolido/Tope, 2011). Männliche Erwachsene und männliche Tiere, in einer Repräsentationskategorie zusammenfasst, trugen in 100 Prozent der 6.000 analysierten Kinderbücher eine Hauptrolle. Weibliche Erwachsene und Tiere kamen als Hauptfiguren dagegen in nur 33 Prozent der 6.000 Bücher vor. Die Marginalisierung durch rassistische Markierung zeigt eine ähnliche Ungleichheit: Basierend auf deskriptiven Statistiken (Diversity Gap Studies), die seit 1985 vom Cooperative Children’s Book Center CCBC in Madison, Wisconsin gesammelt werden, ermittelten David Huyck und Sarah Park Dahlen enorme Unterschiede zwischen der Darstellung von BIPoC-Kindern – BIPoC steht für „Black, Indigenous, People-of-Color“ (Schwarze Menschen, Indigene, People-of-Color) – in Kinderbüchern und Tiergestalten/weißen Figuren (Stechyson, 2019). In 73,3 Prozent der etwa 3.000 neuen Kinderbuchveröffentlichungen im Jahr 2015 waren die Hauptfiguren weiße Kinder, 12,5 Prozent waren Tiere (inklusive Fantasy-Gestalten und -Objekte), sodass für rassistisch marginalisierte Gruppen zusammen nur noch 14,2 Prozent der Hauptfiguren übrig waren. Im Jahr 2018 waren 50 Prozent aller Hauptrollen weiß, 27 Prozent waren Tiere (inklusive Fantasygestalten) und 23 Prozent repräsentierten rassistisch marginalisierte Gruppen. Kinder-of-Color kommen in der untersuchten Literatur seltener in Hauptrollen vor als Tierfiguren. Es scheint unproblematisch, Tiere, Fantasywesen und unbelebte Gestalten zu zeigen, aber es scheint großen Widerstand zu geben, Kinder-of-Color und ihre sozialen Realitäten darzustellen.

Schädliche Fiktionen

Die in der Kinderliteratur dargestellten sozialen Welten sind zum größten Teil fiktional. Dennoch basieren sie in der Regel auf systematischer Exklusion. Wo BIPoC-Kinder inkludiert sind, werden sie und ihre geopolitischen Lebenswelten meist stereotyp, stigmatisierend oder entmenschlichend dargestellt. Eine ganze Reihe von deutschen Bilder- und Kinderbüchern normalisiert den „weißen Abenteurer“. In den Comicheften der populären deutschen Schuhmarke Salamander spielt ihr Maskottchen, ein männlicher Feuersalamander namens Lurchi, die Hauptrolle. In der 4. Auflage von Lurchi bei den Wilden (Neuere Fassungen: Lurchi in Afrika (2019)) malt sich Lurchi schwarz an. In dem Heft wird erzählt, dass aus Lurchi nun ein kleines N****lein geworden ist. Durch sein Blackfacing will er verhindern, lebendig gekocht und anschließend gegessen zu werden (Bochmann/Staufer, 2013, S. 7). Der geopolitische Kontext dieses „Abenteuers“ ist eine BIPoC-Gesellschaft. Andere deutsche beziehungsweise europäische Beispiele für die rassistisch-imperialistisch geprägte Figur des weißen Abenteurers sind unter anderem Die kleine Hexe und Pippi Langstrumpf in Taka-Tuka-Land. BIPoC-Kinder und ihre Gesellschaften werden systematisch als lächerlich, komisch, barbarisch, naiv oder unmoralisch dargestellt, der Natur näher als der Kultur, als Wesen, die auf weißes Wissen und weißes Wohlwollen angewiesen sind (Auma, 2018). Solche Darstellungen sind nicht nur fiktional, sondern auch schädlich! Sie hindern sehr junge BIPoC-Leser*innen am positiven Selbst- und Weltbezug. Zudem zwingen sie rassistisch marginalisierte Leser*innen, sich an die Normalisierung ihrer Entwertung, an ihr Übersehen-werden und ihre Dehumanisierung zu gewöhnen. Sie sollen lernen „zwischen oder trotz den rassistischen/schädlichen Inhalten zu lesen“ (Masad, 2016). Die Muster der Abwertung sind keine Miss-Repräsentationen, sondern toxisch, da sie dem Selbstwertgefühl rassistisch marginalisierter Kinder schaden. Darüber hinaus handelt es sich bei der Regelmäßigkeit der stigmatisierenden und entwertenden Darstellungen um eine Form kultureller Gewalt.

Powervolle Lesende

Der Artikel schließt mit ein paar Überlegungen zu aktuellen Initiativen, die sich der Förderung von mehr Gleichstellung, rassismus- und normenkritischer Intersektionalität und sozialer, ökonomischer und politischer Inklusion in Kindermedien widmen. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Produktion vielfältiger Welten in Kinderbüchern und -medien zu fördern, die sich an plurale, hyperdiverse Gesellschaften und ihre Teil-Öffentlichkeiten wenden. Ein gemeinsames Ziel zweier europäischer Initiativen – DRIN (Diversität, Repräsentation, Inklusion und Normkritik) und Powervolle Lesende – ist die Vernetzung von Schlüsselakteur*innen im Bereich der Produktion, Zirkulation und des Konsums von Kinderbüchern, um Stimmen marginalisierter gesellschaftliche Gruppen ins Zentrum zu stellen. Vier nordamerikanische Initiativen – WNDB #WeNeedDiverseBooks, Disability in Kid Lit, Young, Black and Lit und I am Here, I am Queer, What the Hell Do I Read – sind inspirierende intersektionale Gerechtigkeitsansätze für die erforderliche Reflexionsarbeit, um junge Leser*innen mit BIPoC- und/oder mehrfachmarginalisiertem Hintergrund (Schwarze und indigene Kinder, Kids-of-Color, Sinti- und Romani-Kinder) zu ermächtigen. Die Initiativen stützen sich auf Rudine Sims Bishops Aufruf, „Fenster und Spiegel“ für hyperdiverse Kinder zu schaffen und zu normalisieren, um die eigenen hyperdiversen diasporischen Realitäten als normale Bestandteile alltäglicher Narrative zu sehen. „Fenster“ schließen die „Empathie-Lücke“ mehrfachmarginalisierten Gruppen gegenüber, indem ihr eigener Umgang mit durch Exklusion erzeugten Barrieren in den Mittelpunkt gestellt wird. Sie bieten wesentliche Einsichten in die Erfahrungs- und Handlungsräume unserer „mehrfachmarginalisierten Nachbarn*innen“, welche in Kindermedien selten abgebildet sind. Solche Ansätze erweitern nach Chimamanda Adichies das Spektrum des Vorstellbaren und Erfahrbaren in den Geschichten, die wir schreiben, erzählen und lesen. Sie stärken uns alle in unserem täglichen Streben, uns unsere geteilte Menschlichkeit wechselseitig zu bestätigen.
 
Quellen:
 
Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi (2009). The Danger of A Single Story (TED-Talk). 
 
Auma, Maureen Maisha (2018). Kulturelle Bildung in pluralen Gesellschaften: Diversität von Anfang an! Diskriminierungskritik von Anfang an! In: KULTURELLE BILDUNG.
 
Bishop, Rudine Sims (1990). Mirrors, Windows and Sliding Doors. Perspectives: Choosing and Using Books for the Classroom, 6(3). 
 
Bochmann, Corinna/Staufer, Walter (2013). „Vom „N*-könig“ zum „Südseekönig“ zum...? Politische Korrektheit in Kinderbüchern. Das Spannungsfeld zwischen diskriminierungsfreier Sprache und Werktreue und die Bedeutung des Jugendschutzes“. In: BPJM-Aktuell (Bundesprüfstelle für jugendgefährdende Medien) (2/2013).
 
Decke-Cornill, Helene (2007). „Literaturdidaktik in einer „Pädagogik der Anerkennung“: Gender and other suspects”. In: Hallet, Wolfgang/Nünning, Ansgar (Hrsg.), Neue Ansätze und Konzepte der Literatur- und Kulturdidaktik (S. 239–258). Trier: WVT Wissenschaftlicher Verlag Trier.
 
Masad, Ilana (2016). Read Between the Racism: The Serious Lack of Diversity in Book Publishing.
 
McCabe, Janice/Fairchild, Emily/Grauerholz, Liz/Pescosolido, Bernice A./Tope, Daniel (2011). „Gender in Twentieth-Century Children’s Books: Patterns of Disparity in Titles and Central Characters“. Gender & Society 25(2): 197–226.
 
Sociologists for Women in Society (2011). Gender bias uncovered in children’s books with male characters, including male animals, leading the fictional pack. Science Daily, 4. Mai 2011.