The Congo Myth River in the belly - between fiction and reality: A performance that unites

Moloch: Kongo River
Moloch: Kongo River | Photo (detail): epa Bothma © picture alliance

By Missy Bangala

The river, our river, is very alive. Who doubts that? Who would ever doubt it? The river, our river, laughs at death and its acolytes. The river is everything for us. She dandles us. She sings for us. She speaks to us. She flatters us. She caresses us. She feeds us. And beyond all this, she shows herself. Yes, she shows herself to her children. She lets herself be admired. She likes that. She loves that. She is in us. We are in her. Sometimes she presents herself in the shape of a mermaid. In the DR Congo we call her "mami wata". This beautiful woman, who seduces gods and angels, and climbs the banks of the Congo only to sunbathe there. A spirit. A body. A woman. With the look that kills.

If she appears to you, you are lost. Lost in the soft belly of infamous pleasure. Her kiss is more deadly than death. Her mouth more powerful than any atomic bomb.

My river, she lives in me. She lives through me. She lives from me. She is in my belly. River in the belly. A performance rich in emotions, which tells us in no uncertain terms: "There is a city down there under the river, a second world where the dead dwell; there is a metropolis down under the Congo River, as much fun as Kinshasa ... Those who die in the river live on there; they marry, they have beautiful children, they drink themselves full, they dance the Rumba in the river." In realising this vision, which tells us much about the work of the author, Fiston Mwanza, the director Carina Riedl has succeeded in changing the image of postcolonial Africa.

The text describes an experience that is expressively presented in the performance and raises some fundamental questions about identity and the occupation of space. The river is everywhere. She lives all over the world. She connects us. She joins us to each other. She unites us, but are we able to perceive that? Are we able to live in harmony with the elements while we go about our business? Identity crises arising from dealing with others who have to be accepted regardless of their backgrounds and skin colour are many and very unsettling.

River in the belly. She has always been there. Just as she is in all people. Everyone has her under his or her skin. Everyone has her deep in his or her soul. The river is all the rivers of the world. All currents. All seas. All watercourses. All lakes. All streams.

Here you can watch a video about the theatre project River in the Belly (in German):

Mythos Kongo Zwischen Fiktion und Realität: eine Performance, die vereint

Moloch: Kongo-Fluss
Moloch: Kongo-Fluss | Foto (Detail): epa Bothma © picture alliance

Von Missy Bangala

Der Fluss, unser Fluss ist sehr lebendig. Wer zweifelt daran? Wer würde je daran zweifeln? Der Fluss, unser Fluss lacht über den Tod und seine Akolythen. Er ist alles für uns. Er wiegt uns. Er singt für uns. Er spricht zu uns. Er umschmeichelt uns. Er liebkost uns. Er ernährt uns. Und über all dies hinaus zeigt er sich. Ja, er zeigt sich seinen Kindern. Er lässt sich bewundern. Das gefällt ihm. Das liebt er. Er ist in uns. Wir sind in ihm. Manchmal präsentiert er sich in der Gestalt einer Meerjungfrau. In der Demokratischen Republik Kongo nennen wir sie „mami wata“. Diese wunderschöne Frau, die Götter und Engel verführt und nur die Ufer des Kongos empor steigt, um dort ein Sonnenbad zu nehmen. Ein Geist. Ein Körper. Eine Frau. Mit Revolverblick.

Wenn sie Dir erscheint, bist Du verloren. Verloren im weichen Bauch des infamen Vergnügens. Ihr Kuss ist tödlicher als der Tod. Ihr Mund ist mächtiger als jede Atombombe.

Mein Fluss, er lebt in mir. Er lebt durch mich. Er lebt von mir. Er ist in meinem Bauch. Fluss im Bauch. Eine Performance, reich an Emotionen, die uns ungehemmt sagt: „Es gibt eine Stadt, dort unten im Fluss, eine zweite Welt, wo die Toten wohnen, es gibt eine Metropole unten im Kongo-Fluss, so vergnügt wie Kinshasa ... Sie, die im Fluss krepieren, sie leben dort weiter, sie heiraten, sie kriegen wunderschöne Kinder, sie saufen, sie tanzen Rumba im Fluss.“ Mit diesem Auszug, der viel über das Werk des Autors Fiston Muanza aussagt, ist es der Regisseurin Carina Riedl gelungen, das Bild des postkolonialen Afrikas zu verändern.

Der Text beschreibt eine Erfahrung, die, gut in Szene gesetzt, einige grundsätzliche Fragen zur Identität und zur Besetzung des Raumes aufwirft. Der Fluss ist überall. Er lebt überall auf der Welt. Er verbindet uns. Er verbindet uns miteinander. Er fesselt uns, aber vermögen wir, das wahrzunehmen? Vermögen wir, in Harmonie mit den Elementen zu leben, während wir uns bewegen? Die Identitätskrisen sind zahlreich und verunsichern sehr im Umgang mit anderen, die es unabhängig von ihrem Hintergrund und ihrer Hautfarbe zu akzeptieren gilt.

Fluss im Bauch. Dort war er schon immer. Genauso wie in allen Menschen. Jeder hat ihn in seiner Haut. Jeder hat ihn tief in seiner Seele. Der Fluss ist alle Flüsse der Welt. Alle Ströme. Alle Meere. Alle Wasserläufe. Alle Seen. Alle Bäche.

Hier sehen Sie ein Video über das Theaterprojekt Fluss im Bauch: