Creative discourse (De)colonial film archives

The filmmakers Fradique from Angola and Didi Cheeka from Nigeria at a panel discussion on (de)colonial film archives at the Culturgest in Lisbon. In September 2019, the Goethe-Institut Portugal organised a series of events consisting of a panel discussion, workshop and accompanying film sessions on how to deal with film material from a colonial context as part of the international project “Everything passes, except the past”.
The filmmakers Fradique from Angola and Didi Cheeka from Nigeria at a panel discussion on (de)colonial film archives at the Culturgest in Lisbon. In September 2019, the Goethe-Institut Portugal organised a series of events consisting of a panel discussion, workshop and accompanying film sessions on how to deal with film material from a colonial context as part of the international project “Everything passes, except the past”. | Photo (detail): © Bruno Castro
  • 01. September 2019 — 31. December 2021

  • Culture of memory, Decolonisation, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Lisbon (Portugal)

The project “(De)colonial Film Archives” advocates for the opening of film archives that hold material from colonial contexts. For this purpose, an interactive map has been developed which provides locations with geodata, information about the archives, pictures and contact details on the internet. The majority of these are European archives, which today store film material that was produced in colonial contexts.

Film documents in the aesthetics of self-glorifying depictions of the colonialists and degrading images of the people colonized by them: This legacy of colonialism is much less present than the collections of museums, whose reappraisal of the colonial past in many European countries focuses on the handling of ethnological artefacts and on the question of restitution of the looted objects.

To whom do these film materials from colonial contexts belong? How and to whom should they be made accessible? What consequences do the structures, secrecy or opening of such archives have for our collective and national memory? The Goethe-Institut Portugal organised a series of events on these questions in Lisbon in September 2019, consisting of panel discussions, workshops and accompanying film sessions as part of the international project Everything passes except the past.

15 film and archives experts, activists and artists from Egypt, Angola, Germany, Ghana, Great Britain, Guinea Bissau, Congo, Mozambique, Nigeria and Portugal came together to discuss the strategies of film archives. They also discussed the often precarious situation of film archives in the former colonized countries and new ways of developing so-called "counter-archives".

A particular focus of the project is the artistic-discursive examination of colonial archive material as a testimony to a past that remains present in the photo archives of the regions, or rather the film material that was produced from the perspective of the liberation movements. This has resulted in several concrete projects, some of which are still being implemented, including films, the interactive map showing the local location of such material, and a call to action for the opening of film archives.

Künstlerischer Diskurs (De-)Koloniale Filmarchive

Die Filmemacher Fradique aus Angola und Didi Cheeka aus Nigeria bei einer Podiumsdiskussion zu (de-)kolonialen Filmarchiven in der Culturgest in Lissabon. Im September 2019 organisierte das Goethe-Institut Portugal eine Veranstaltungsreihe aus Podiumsdiskussion, Workshop und begleitenden Filmsessions zum Umgang mit Filmmaterial aus kolonialem Kontext im Rahmen des internationalen Projektes „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“.
Die Filmemacher Fradique aus Angola und Didi Cheeka aus Nigeria bei einer Podiumsdiskussion zu (de-)kolonialen Filmarchiven in der Culturgest in Lissabon. Im September 2019 organisierte das Goethe-Institut Portugal eine Veranstaltungsreihe aus Podiumsdiskussion, Workshop und begleitenden Filmsessions zum Umgang mit Filmmaterial aus kolonialem Kontext im Rahmen des internationalen Projektes „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“. | Foto (Detail): © Bruno Castro
  • 01. September 2019 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Kultur der Erinnerung, Dekolonisierung, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Lissabon (Portugal)

Das Projekt „(De-)Koloniale Filmarchive“ setzt sich für die Öffnung von Filmarchiven ein, die Material aus kolonialen Kontexten besitzen. Dazu ist eine interaktive Karte entstanden, die im Internet Standorte mit Geodaten, Informationen zu den Archiven, Bilder sowie Kontaktdaten zur Verfügung stellt. Größtenteils handelt es sich um europäische Archive, in denen heutzutage Filmmaterialien verwahrt werden, die in kolonialen Kontexten entstanden sind.

Filmdokumente in der Ästhetik selbstverherrlichender Darstellung der Kolonialisten und herabwürdigender Aufnahmen der von ihnen kolonisierten Menschen: Dieses Erbe des Kolonialismus ist deutlich weniger präsent als die Sammlungen von Museen, deren Aufarbeitung der kolonialen Vergangenheit sich in vielen europäischen Ländern auf den Umgang mit ethnologischen Artefakten und auf die Frage der Restitution der geraubten Objekte konzentriert.

Wem gehören diese Filmmaterialien aus kolonialen Kontexten? Wie und wem sollten sie zugänglich gemacht werden? Welche Folgen haben die Strukturen, die Geheimhaltungen oder Öffnungen solcher Archive für unsere kollektive und nationale Erinnerung? Zu diesen Fragen organisierte das Goethe‑Institut Portugal im September 2019 in Lissabon eine Veranstaltungsreihe, die aus Podiumsdiskussion, Workshop und begleitenden Filmsessions im Rahmen des internationalen Projektes Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit bestand.

15 Film‑ und Archiv‑Expert*innen, Aktivist*innen und Kunstschaffende aus Ägypten, Angola, Deutschland, Ghana, Großbritannien, Guinea‑Bissau, Kongo, Mosambik, Nigeria und Portugal diskutierten die Strategien von Filmarchiven. Dabei ging es auch um die oft prekäre Situation von Filmarchiven in den ehemals kolonisierten Ländern und neue Wege, um sogenannte Gegenarchive zu entwickeln.

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt des Projekts liegt auf der künstlerisch-diskursiven Auseinandersetzung mit kolonialem Archivmaterial als Zeugnis einer Vergangenheit, die in den Bildarchiven der Regionen gegenwärtig bleibt, respektive mit dem Filmmaterial, das aus der Perspektive der Befreiungsbewegungen entstanden ist. Daraus entstanden sind mehrere konkrete Projekte, die sich teilweise noch in der Umsetzung befinden, darunter Filme, die interaktive Karte, die die lokale Verortung solchen Materials aufzeigt, und ein Call for action zur Öffnung der Filmarchive.