Music festival AfriCourage

The postcolonialism expert on the guitar: Felwine Sarr (right) was on "AfriCourage" in 2019.
The postcolonialism expert on the guitar: Felwine Sarr (right) was on "AfriCourage" in 2019. | Photo (detail): © Alhagie Manka
  • 31. December 2019 — 31. December 2021

  • Colonial legacy, Postcolonial development cooperation, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Banjul (Gambia)

The festival "AfriCourage" uses the power of music to send a message to the world for a post-colonial coexistence of creatives.

Since it began as a street show in Gambia in 2007, AfriCourage has become the biggest hip-hop festival in the West African country. The annual event, held in the Independence Stadium Bakau in Banjul, the capital of Gambia, currently receives up to 15,000 visitors.

In December 2019, Africourage attained a first for a music festival from Subsahara Africa – through the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) it managed to transmit and report in detail from radio stations in Europe and via web-stream to the rest of the world.

AfriCourage offers a podium especially for African musicians who are socially committed. In 2019, they founded the Liberation Orchestra of Inverted Traditions and made the message of AfriCourage clearly audible: joint commitment, participation, tolerance and democracy.

The renowned ensemble Modern from Germany performed together with local stars from West Africa and Felwine Sarr from Senegal, regarded as a postcolonialism expert and co-author of the Savoy Sarr report for Eduard Macron on the return of African colonial art.

“Direct dialogue between people from different cultures is incredibly important,” says Philip Küppers, who heads the Goethe-Institut Senegal. “With the AfriCourage Festival in Gambia, we therefore want to establish a model for local and international collaboration in the creative industries.”

Participants:
Goethe-Institut Senegal
Black Lynx Entertainment, Gambia

Contact person at the Goethe-Institut:
Philip Küppers, director of the Goethe-Institut Senegal

Musikfestival AfriCourage

Der Postkolonialismus-Experte an der Gitarre: Felwine Sarr (rechts) war 2019 bei „AfriCourage“ dabei.
Der Postkolonialismus-Experte an der Gitarre: Felwine Sarr (rechts) war 2019 bei „AfriCourage“ dabei. | Foto (Detail): © Alhagie Manka
  • 31. Dezember 2019 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Koloniales Erbe, Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Banjul (Gambia)

Das Festival „AfriCourage“ nutzt die Macht der Musik, um eine Botschaft für ein postkoloniales Miteinander der Kreativen zu senden.
 
AfriCourage startete 2007 in Gambia als Straßenshow und entwickelte sich im Laufe der Jahre zum größten Hip-Hop-Festival des westafrikanischen Landes. Inzwischen kommen 15.000 Menschen zum jährlichen Event in das Independence Stadium Bakau in Banjul, der Hauptstadt von Gambia.
 
Im Dezember 2019 gelang es, AfriCourage – und damit erstmals überhaupt ein Musikfestival aus Subsahara‑Afrika – über die europäische Rundfunkunion EBU an Radiosender in Europa und per Web-Stream in die gesamte Welt zu übertragen und eine umfangreiche Berichterstattung zu ermöglichen.
 
AfriCourage bietet vor allem Musikschaffenden, die sich gesellschaftlich engagieren, ein Podium. 2019 gründeten sie das Liberation Orchestra of Inverted Traditions, und machten die Botschaft von AfriCourage deutlich hörbar: gemeinsames Engagement, Partizipation, Toleranz und Demokratie.
 
Gemeinsam mit einheimischen Stars aus Westafrika traten das namhafte Ensemble Modern aus Deutschland und Felwine Sarr aus Senegal auf, der als Postkolonialismus‑Experte und Mitverfasser des Savoy-Sarr-Berichts für Eduard Macron über die Rückgabe afrikanischer Kolonialkunst bekannt ist.
 
„Der direkte Austausch zwischen Menschen verschiedener Kulturen ist unglaublich wichtig“, sagt Philip Küppers, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Senegal. „Mit dem „AfriCourage“‑Festival in Gambia wollen wir daher auch ein Modell für lokale und internationale Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Kreativwirtschaft etablieren.“
 
Beteiligte:
Goethe-Institut Senegal
Black Lynx Entertainment, Gambia
 
Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut:
Philip Küppers, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Senegal