Symposia Colonial Repercussions

Reconstruction of Namibia's colonial past, from right: V. Kauari, E. Namhila, E. Wietersheim, O. Sezneva
Reconstruction of Namibia's colonial past, from right: V. Kauari, E. Namhila, E. Wietersheim, O. Sezneva | Photo (detail): © Vilho Nuumbala
  • 01. January 2018 — 31. December 2019

  • Postcolonial world order, Colonial legacy, Decolonization

  • Windhoek (Namibia); Berlin (Germany)

The effects of German and European colonial rule are the subject of a series of international symposia organized under the title Colonial Repercussions. After three interdisciplinary conferences in Germany, the first dialogue between the descendants of German-speaking and affected Namibians took place in Namibia.

Artistic, but also legal and historical aspects of German and European colonial history are the focus of the series of symposia. International experts from various fields will interrogate the structures of colonial power relations that are still prevalent today in science, art and society.

The series of events focuses on how traditional power structures can be broken down and the fear of ceding power that this entails can be overcome. In Berlin, for example, the cultural production of the Black Diaspora was discussed as a critique of hegemonic constructs of identity.

At the follow-up event in Namibia, the focus was on the possibilities and ways of legal and social reappraisal of (post)colonial injustice. Namibian and international lawyers, artists, constitutional historians and civil society experts met for an interdisciplinary exchange on "Colonial Injustice and Reconciliation".

The event, organized by the Akademie der Künste and the European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut, succeeded for the first time in bringing descendants of the affected communities into dialogue with German-speaking Namibians. In the previous 100 years, this had only taken place to a very limited extent and in private circles.

Participants: Akademie der Künste (Berlin), European Centre for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), Goethe-Institut

Symposien Colonial Repercussions

Aufarbeitung der Kolonialvergangenheit Namibias, von rechts: V. Kauari, E. Namhila, E. Wietersheim, O. Sezneva
Aufarbeitung der Kolonialvergangenheit Namibias, von rechts: V. Kauari, E. Namhila, E. Wietersheim, O. Sezneva | Foto (Detail): © Vilho Nuumbala
  • 01. Januar 2018 — 31. Dezember 2019

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Koloniales Erbe, Dekolonisierung

  • Windhoek (Namibia); Berlin (Deutschland)

Die Auswirkungen der deutschen und europäischen Kolonialherrschaft beschäftigen internationale Symposien unter dem Titel „Colonial Repercussions“. Nach drei interdisziplinären Konferenzen in Deutschland kam es in Namibia erstmals zu einem Dialog zwischen den Nachkommen deutschsprechender und betroffener Namibier*innen.

Künstlerische, aber auch juristische und historische Aspekte der deutschen und europäischen Kolonialgeschichte stehen im Mittelpunkt der Symposien Colonial Repercussions. Internationale Expert*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen hinterfragen dabei die Strukturen kolonialer Machtverhältnisse, die bis heute in Wissenschaft, Kunst und Gesellschaft wirksam sind.

Die Veranstaltungsreihe thematisiert, wie überkommene Machtstrukturen aufgebrochen und die damit verbundene Angst, Macht abzugeben, überwunden werden können. So wurde in Berlin etwa die Kulturproduktion der Black Diaspora als Kritik hegemonialer Konstrukte von Identität diskutiert.

Bei der Folgeveranstaltung in Namibia standen die Möglichkeiten und Wege der juristischen und gesellschaftlichen Aufarbeitung von (post-)kolonialem Unrecht im Vordergrund. Namibische und internationale Jurist*innen, Künstler*innen, Verfassungshistoriker*innen und Expert*innen der Zivilgesellschaft trafen sich zu einem interdisziplinären Austausch über „Koloniales Unrecht und Aufarbeitung“.

Der von der Akademie der Künste und dem European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut organisierten Veranstaltung gelang es dabei erstmals, Nachkommen der betroffenen Communitys mit deutschsprachigen Namibiern in einen Dialog zu bringen. Dies hatte in vergangenen 100 Jahren nur sehr begrenzt und im privaten Raum stattgefunden.

Participants: Akademie der Künste (Berlin), European Centre for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), Goethe-Institut