Creative discourse DRIN – Visions for Children’s Books

The “DRIN” project
© EL BOUM
  • 01. January 2020 — 31. December 2021

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial art production, Decolonization

  • Helsinki (Finland); Berlin (Germany)

Do children's books from Northern Europe and Germany reflect the diversity of society in their stories and illustrations? The “DRIN” project searches for exemplary publications and promotes the networking of the different actors working with children’s literature.

Current children's literature from Northern European countries and Germany is making a growing part of its population invisible by not reflecting the increasingly diverse societies. Against this background, the Goethe-Institut Finland launched the project DRIN - Visions for Children's Books at the end of 2018, which delves into the representation of children and their realities in picture books produced in Northern Europe and Germany. The abbreviation DRIN stands for diversity, representation, inclusion and norm criticism.

Since children's books shape the worldview, it is important for children to identify with images in stories, illustrations and narratives as early as possible. In recent years, publishers have been increasingly demanding that children's books reflect social and cultural diversity. However, this has so far only succeeded in isolated cases.

In order to promote alternative, underrepresented voices and images, the project brings together various actors in this field: authors, illustrators, publishers, libraries and readers. Their critical discourse and exchange of knowledge should culminate in book productions. In addition, best-practice examples from all over the world will be compiled in an archive that will provide inspiration for translations - of books that reflect the diversity of society.

Künstlerischer Diskurs DRIN – Visionen für Kinderbücher

Das Projekt „DRIN“
© EL BOUM
  • 01. Januar 2020 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Dekolonisierung

  • Helsinki (Finnland); Berlin (Deutschland)

Spiegeln Kinderbücher aus Nordeuropa und Deutschland die Diversität der Gesellschaft in ihren Geschichten und Illustrationen wider? Das Projekt „DRIN“ fahndet nach vorbildlichen Publikationen und fördert das Netzwerken von Akteur*innen im Bereich der Kinderliteratur.

Die aktuelle Kinderliteratur aus nordeuropäischen Ländern und Deutschland macht einen wachsenden Teil ihrer Bevölkerung unsichtbar, indem sie die immer diverseren Gesellschaften nicht widerspiegelt. Vor diesem Hintergrund startete das Goethe-Institut Finnland Ende 2018 das Projekt DRIN – Visionen für Kinderbücher, das sich mit der Darstellung von Kindern und ihrer Lebensrealitäten in Bilderbüchern auseinandersetzt, die in Nordeuropa und Deutschland produziert werden. Die Abkürzung DRIN steht für Diversität, Repräsentation, Inklusion und Normkritik.

Da Kinderbücher das Weltbild prägen, ist es für Heranwachsende wichtig, sich möglichst früh in Geschichten, Illustrationen und Erzählweisen wiederzufinden. Zwar wurde in den vergangenen Jahren von Verlagen verstärkt gefordert, im Kinderbuchbereich die gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Vielfalt abzubilden. Das gelingt bisher jedoch nur vereinzelt.

Um alternative, unterrepräsentierte Stimmen und Bilder zu fördern, vernetzt das Projekt die verschiedenen Akteur*innen in diesem Bereich: Autor*innen, Illustrator*innen, Verlage, Bibliotheken und Leser*innen. Deren kritischer Diskurs und Wissensaustausch soll in Buchproduktionen gipfeln. Zudem werden Best-Practice-Beispiele aus aller Welt in einem Archiv zusammengestellt, das Anregungen für Übersetzungen geben soll – von Büchern, die die Vielfalt der Gesellschaft widerspiegeln.