Museum Concepts MuseumFutures: Africa

MuseumFutures Africa
Vumile Mavumengwana © Goethe-Institut
  • 01. November 2020 — 31. December 2021

  • The role of museums, Colonial legacy, Postcolonial art production

  • Dakar (Senegal); Conakry (Guinea); Nairobi (Kenya); Qonce (South Africa); Kampala (Uganda); Lekki (Nigeria)

“MuseumFutures: Africa” is a continuation of the “Museum Conversations” in which African experts discussed the future of museums on their continent. The new project continues this series of events by promoting a conceptual change - away from European, partially colonial museum studies. It supports the pan-African exchange of museums intending to enable museums to relate to their local history or cultural origin.
 
A central tenet of MuseumFutures: Africa is to support museums examining “change” within their local African museum context, through facilitated peer-to-peer learning. The main aim of the project is to redefine the “museum” as a construct, addressing endemic challenges, identifying new strategies for building and managing African museums.
 
This includes developing new concepts for how and what to exhibit, building new networks across the Continent, fostering African Museum Conversations. This project is developed collaboratively by the Goethe-Institut with Flower Manase, Molemo Moiloa and Nashilongweshipwe Mushaandja - practitioners from the African art and museum fields.
 
A jury of experts selected six museums whose geographies and subject-matter reflect the continent’s diverse museum landscape. The selected museums include the Institut fondamental d’Afrique noire in Dakar, Senegal, which established itself as one of the world’s most renowned institutions for the research of African cultures. The National Museum of Guinea in Conakry houses a collection of objects from various ethnic groups in the country, including religious artefacts, art and everyday objects. The National Museums of Kenya in Nairobi comprise a large number of institutions, including a considerable number of exhibitions ranging from art to natural history and anthropological museums. Steve Biko Centre in King William’s Town (officially renamed Qonce on 23 February 2021), South Africa is dedicated to the life of the activist and intellectual who founded the Black Consciousness movement. The Uganda Museum in Kampala, the country’s largest, has a variety of different collections that deal mainly with the anthropology of the various ethnic groups of Uganda. As part of the Pan-Atlantic University, the Yemisi Shyllon Museum of Art in Lekki, Nigeria, is dedicated to the African arts and houses a wide range of Nigerian artworks.

MuseumFutures: Africa is a series of projects by the Goethe-Instituts in sub-Saharan Africa and is taking place at the participating locations in collaboration with national museums, museum associations, ministries and the UNESCO.

Responsible at the Goethe-Institut:
Rainer Hauswirth, Director of the Goethe-Institut Abidjan
Asma Diakité (Goethe-Institut Südafrika)
Nadine Siegert (Goethe-Institut Südafrika, Goethe-Institut Nigeria)

Similar projects

Museumskonzepte MuseumFutures: Africa

MuseumFutures: Africa
Vumile Mavumengwana © Goethe-Institut
  • 01. November 2020 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Rolle der Museen, Koloniales Erbe, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • Dakar (Senegal); Conakry (Guinea); Nairobi (Kenia); Qonce (Südafrika); Kampala (Uganda); Lekki (Nigeria)

„MuseumFutures: Africa“ ist eine Fortführung der „Museumsgespräche“, in denen afrikanische Expert*innen über die Zukunft der Museen auf ihrem Kontinent diskutierten. Das neue Projekt knüpft daran an, indem es einen konzeptionellen Wandel fördert – weg von europäischer, teils kolonialer Museumskunde. Es unterstützt den panafrikanischen Austausch von Museen, der es Museen ermöglichen soll, sich auf ihre lokale Geschichte oder kulturelle Herkunft zu beziehen.
 
Ein zentraler Ansatz von MuseumFutures: Africa ist es, Museen bei Veränderungen in ihrem lokalen afrikanischen Museumskontext durch Peer‑to‑Peer‑Lernen zu unterstützen. Die Hauptziele des Projekts sind: das Museum als Konstrukt neu zu definieren, endemische Herausforderungen anzugehen sowie eigene Strategien für den Bau und die Verwaltung afrikanischer Museen zu identifizieren.
 
Das beinhaltet, Konzepte dafür zu entwickeln, wie und was ausgestellt wird, neue Netzwerke auf dem gesamten Kontinent aufzubauen und afrikanische Museumsgespräche zu fördern. Das Projekt wird vom Goethe‑Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit Flower Manase, Molemo Moiloa und Nashilongweshipwe Mushaandja – Praktiker*innen aus der afrikanischen Kunstszene und Museumsarbeit – entwickelt.
 
Durch eine Fachjury wurden sechs Museen ausgewählt, die sowohl geografisch als auch fachlich die diverse Museumslandschaft auf dem Kontinent widerspiegeln. Zu den ausgewählten Museen gehört etwa das senegalesische Institut fondamental d’Afrique noire in Dakar, das sich als eine der weltweit renommiertesten Institutionen zur Erforschung afrikanischer Kulturen etabliert hat. Das Nationalmuseum Guinea in Conakry beherbergt eine Sammlung von Objekten verschiedener ethnischer Gruppen des Landes, darunter religiöse Artefakte, Kunst und lebensweltliche Objekte. Die Nationalmuseen Kenias in Nairobi vereinen eine Vielzahl von Institutionen, die von Kunst bis Naturkunde und ethnologischen Museen eine beachtliche Anzahl an Ausstellungen umfassen. Das Steve Biko Centre in Qonce (bis 23. Februar 2021 King William’s Town) Südafrika, ist dem Leben des Aktivisten und Intellektuellen Steve Biko gewidmet, der die Bewegung Black Consciousness gründete. Als größtes Museum Ugandas besitzt das Uganda Museum in Kampala eine Vielfalt von unterschiedlichen Sammlungen, die sich hauptsächlich aus ethnologischer Sicht mit den verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppen Ugandas beschäftigen. Als Teil der Pan-Atlantischen Universität ist das Yemisi Shyllon Museum of Art in Lekki, Nigeria, den afrikanischen Künsten gewidmet und beherbergt eine große Auswahl an nigerianischen Kunstwerken.

MuseumFutures Africa ist eine Projektreihe der Goethe-Institute in Afrika südlich der Sahara und findet an den beteiligten Standorten in Zusammenarbeit mit Nationalmuseen, Museumsverbänden, Ministerien sowie der UNESCO statt.

Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut:
Rainer Hauswirth, Institutsleiter Goethe-Institut Abidjan

Ähnliche Projekte