Art from the colonial era Towards restitution in seven-league boots?

estitution? From the North America Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Chilkat apron of the indigenous Tlingit from the northwest coast of America, period of origin: around 1800 to 1850
From the North America Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Chilkat apron of the indigenous Tlingit from the northwest coast of America, period of origin: around 1800 to 1850 | Photo (detail): Museum Five Continents Munich © MFK

At the moment there is lively debate about the return of cultural artefacts from colonial contexts to the origin societies. The discussion has given rise both to plausible solutions and new, even more complex questions, according to Uta Werlich, the director of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich.

By Uta Werlich

The way cultural artefacts from colonial contexts are handled is currently at the centre of a widely conducted debate that has been catalysed in recent years, expressed in particular through criticism of the Humboldt Forum by civic initiatives, through the speech given by French president Emmanuel Macron in November 2017 in Burkina Faso – in which he called for conditions to be put in place within five years for the temporary or permanent restitution of African heritage, as well as the subsequently published report Rapport sur la restitution du patrimoine culturel africain. Vers une nouvelle éthique relationelle by Bénédicte Savoy und Felwine Sarr. In Germany they expressed the intent to address the colonial era in the governmental coalition agreement in 2018; the state ministers of culture, government representatives and community umbrella organisations established their positions the following year in a key issues paper. Just a few weeks later the German Museum Association  published a second, revised edition of the “Guidelines on Dealing with Collections from Colonial Contexts”, which was first published in May 2018 as a result of cooperation by an interdisciplinary working group. Whilst the “Guidelines” emphasise that dealing with collections from colonial contexts is something that applies to almost all museum sectors, ethnological museums and collections are confronted with questions about the origin of objects especially frequently.

Finding a common solution

In April 2019, directors of ethnological museums and collections in German-speaking countries proposed a common viewpoint – in which they not only committed to providing transparent information about their artefacts and allowing public access to any research involving their collections, but also to speaking out in favour of restitution of illegally acquired artefacts. Cooperative provenance research with partners from the origin countries and societies in question is seen as a basis for clarifying acquisition contexts. Initial steps in this direction have recently been facilitated by the “Funding of Provenance Research Projects for Cultural Goods from Colonial Contexts”, which comes under the umbrella of the German Lost Art Foundation (Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste; DZK).
  • Museum Fünf Kontinente Munich: founded in 1862 as the first ethnological museum in Germany with the name Royal Ethnographic Collection, since 1917 State Museum of Ethnology and renamed Museum Fünf Kontinente in 2014 Marietta Weidner © Museum Fünf Kontinente
    Museum Fünf Kontinente Munich: founded in 1862 as the first ethnological museum in Germany with the name Royal Ethnographic Collection, since 1917 State Museum of Ethnology and renamed Museum Fünf Kontinente in 2014
  • Restitution? Large Collection: Insight into the permanent exhibition Oceania of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich Nicolai Kästner © MFK
    Large Collection: Insight into the permanent exhibition Oceania of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich
  • Restitution?  From the Oceania Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Bark bast mask from Muliama in Southern New Ireland, Papua New Guinea, from 1899 to 1914 part of the German colony German New Guinea The Museum Fünf Kontinente Munich © MFK
    From the Oceania Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Bark bast mask from Muliama in Southern New Ireland, Papua New Guinea, from 1899 to 1914 part of the German colony German New Guinea
  • Restitution? From the Oceania Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Gable wall of a ceremonial storehouse for yams, Papua New Guinea The Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich © MFK
    From the Oceania Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Gable wall of a ceremonial storehouse for yams, Papua New Guinea
  • Restitution? View into the permanent exhibition Orient of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich Nicolai Kästner © MFK
    View into the permanent exhibition Orient of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich
  • Restitution? From the Orient Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Koranic leaf in the Kufi duct from a dervish convent, North Africa or the Middle East, written between the 9th and 10th centuries The Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich © MFK
    From the Orient Collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Koranic leaf in the Kufi duct from a dervish convent, North Africa or the Middle East, written between the 9th and 10th centuries
  • Restitution? From the South America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Ceramic vessel in the shape of a jaguar from Guanacaste (Costa Rica), made between the 8th and 13th centuries The Museum Fünf Kontinente Munich © MFK
    From the South America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Ceramic vessel in the shape of a jaguar from Guanacaste (Costa Rica), made between the 8th and 13th centuries
  • Restitution? From the South America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Ceramic bowl of the Maya from Guatemala, created between the 6th and 9th century The Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich © MFK
    From the South America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Ceramic bowl of the Maya from Guatemala, created between the 6th and 9th century
  • Restitution? From the North America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Cloth, so-called tepee liner, cotton, watercolours, painted with a warrior's exploits. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Around 1880. collection of Princess Therese of Bavaria. The Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich © MFK
    From the North America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Cloth, so-called tepee liner, cotton, watercolours, painted with a warrior's exploits. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Around 1880. collection of Princess Therese of Bavaria.
  • Restitution? From the North America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Cloth, so-called tepee liner, cotton, watercolours, painted with a warrior's exploits. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Around 1880. collection of Princess Therese of Bavaria. The Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich © MFK
    From the North America collection of the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich: Cloth, so-called tepee liner, cotton, watercolours, painted with a warrior's exploits. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Around 1880. collection of Princess Therese of Bavaria.
In November 2019, the Museum Five Continents was awarded a grant from the DZK and the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts, initially approved for twelve months, to fund research for the largely unexplained origin history of around 200 objects from a comprehensive set of works from Cameroon given to the museum in the 1890s by Max von Stetten – who was chief of the police force and subsequently commander of the protection troop in Cameroon.

If it turns out that the circumstances of acquisition for significant objects within that collection can be established, and if the assumption at the beginning of the project can be confirmed – that the objects originate from a context of violence and are therefore in the museum illegally by today’s standards – then restitution is something that merits some thought. It is essential to clarify through discussion with our project partners in Cameroon and representatives of the origin societies whether they want restitution or an alternative form of compensation; also in the event of restitution, consideration needs to be given to the possibility of a long-term loan to the Museum Five Continents; and the question as to the recipient of the returned items is sure to arise: to the national government, to an origin society, or to a private individual? Congruent interests can’t always be assumed here, and differentiating between justified and unjustified claims is certain to play a greater role in future than it has until now in the discussion about how our colonial heritage is handled.

Collaborative knowledge production

With its “Blue Rider Post” project and Max von Stetten’s collection (1893–1896) from Cameroon in the Museum Five Continents Munich, the museum has started to research the colonial history of its collections. At this point it’s reasonable to ask whether there’s any point in checking out individual objects, or whether different strategies need to be applied in view of the large number of artefacts that ended up in Munich – even just during the German colonial era.
With regard to the collection put together by Max von Stetten, we are working on an open outcome basis, but we do not rule out the possibility of restitutions. But we don’t view them as the sole objective of the project. It’s more about collaborative production of knowledge relating to a sensitive collection and a shared history, about building relationships and establishing networks. The work of the Museum Five Continents will only change in a lasting and significant way if we succeed in maintaining and consolidating this beyond the end of the project and any restitutions.

Uta Werlich has been director of the Museum Five Continents in Munich since April 2018.

Kunst aus der Kolonialzeit In Siebenmeilenstiefeln zur Restitution?

Restitution? Im Besitz der Nordamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Chilkat-Schurz der indigenen Tlingit von der Nordwestküste Amerikas, Entstehungszeitraum: um 1800 bis 1850
Im Besitz der Nordamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Chilkat-Schurz der indigenen Tlingit von der Nordwestküste Amerikas, Entstehungszeitraum: um 1800 bis 1850 | Foto (Detail): Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK

Es gibt zurzeit rege Debatten über die Rückgabe von Kulturobjekten aus kolonialen Kontexten an die Urhebergesellschaften. Dabei entstehen sowohl plausible Lösungsansätze als auch neue, noch komplexere Fragen.

 

Von Uta Werlich

Der Umgang mit Kulturgütern aus kolonialen Kontexten steht aktuell im Zentrum einer breit geführten Debatte, die in den vergangenen Jahren zum einen katalysiert wurde durch die Kritik am Humboldt Forum, die vor allem von zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen geäußert wurde. Zum anderen durch die Rede des französischen Staatspräsidenten Emmanuel Macron, der im November 2017 in Burkina Faso forderte, innerhalb von fünf Jahren die Voraussetzungen für die zeitweilige oder endgültige Rückgabe afrikanischer Kulturgüter zu schaffen. Und durch den in Folge publizierten Rapport sur la restitution du patrimoine culturel africain. Vers une nouvelle éthique relationelle von Bénédicte Savoy und Felwine Sarr. In Deutschland wurde 2018 der Wille zur Aufarbeitung der Kolonialzeit im Koalitionsvertrag der Bundesregierung formuliert; die Kulturminister*innen der Länder, Vertreter*innen des Bundes und der kommunalen Spitzenverbände positionierten sich im folgenden Jahr in einem Eckpunktepapier. Nur wenige Wochen später veröffentlichte der Deutsche Museumsbund eine zweite, überarbeitete Fassung des „Leitfadens zum Umgang mit Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten“, der als Ergebnis einer interdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppe erstmals im Mai 2018 erschienen war. Während der „Leitfaden“ betont, dass die Aufarbeitung von Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten fast alle Museumssparten betrifft, sehen sich besonders oft ethnologische Museen und Sammlungen mit der Frage nach der Herkunft von Objekten konfrontiert.

Gemeinsame Lösungsfindung

Im April 2019 legten die Direktor*innen der ethnologischen Museen und Sammlungen im deutschsprachigen Raum eine gemeinsame Stellungnahme vor, in welcher sie sich sowohl dazu verpflichten, über ihre Bestände transparent zu informieren und Forschungen zu Sammlungen öffentlich zugänglich zu machen, als auch sich für die Rückgabe von unrechtmäßig erworbenem Sammlungsgut aussprechen. Als Grundlage für die Klärung von Erwerbungsumständen wird die kooperative Provenienzforschung mit Partner*innen aus den jeweiligen Herkunftsstaaten und -gesellschaften gesehen. Erste Schritte in diese Richtung werden seit Kurzem durch die beim Deutschen Zentrum Kulturgutverluste (DZK) angesiedelte „Förderung von Projekten zur Provenienzforschung bei Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten“ ermöglicht.
  • Museum Fünf Kontinente München: 1862 als erstes ethnologisches Museum in Deutschland mit dem Namen Königlich Ethnographische Sammlung gegründet, seit 1917 Staatliches Museum für Völkerkunde und 2014 in Museum Fünf Kontinente umbenannt Marietta Weidner © Museum Fünf Kontinente
    Museum Fünf Kontinente München: 1862 als erstes ethnologisches Museum in Deutschland mit dem Namen Königlich Ethnographische Sammlung gegründet, seit 1917 Staatliches Museum für Völkerkunde und 2014 in Museum Fünf Kontinente umbenannt
  • Restitution? Große Sammlung: Einblick in die Dauerausstellung Ozeanien des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München Nicolai Kästner © MFK
    Große Sammlung: Einblick in die Dauerausstellung Ozeanien des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Ozeanien-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Rindenbastmaske aus Muliama in Süd-Neuirland, Papua-Neuguinea, von 1899 bis 1914 Teil der deutschen Kolonie Deutsch-Neuguinea Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Ozeanien-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Rindenbastmaske aus Muliama in Süd-Neuirland, Papua-Neuguinea, von 1899 bis 1914 Teil der deutschen Kolonie Deutsch-Neuguinea
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Ozeanien-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Giebelwand eines Zeremonial-Vorratshauses für Yams, Papua-Neuguinea Museum Fünf Kontinente in München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Ozeanien-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Giebelwand eines Zeremonial-Vorratshauses für Yams, Papua-Neuguinea
  • Restitution? Große Sammlung: Blick in die Dauerausstellung Orient des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München Nicolai Kästner © MFK
    Blick in die Dauerausstellung Orient des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Orient-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Koranblatt im Kufi-Duktus aus einem Derwisch-Konvent, Nordafrika oder Naher Osten, entstanden zwischen dem 9. und 10. Jahrhundert Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Orient-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Koranblatt im Kufi-Duktus aus einem Derwisch-Konvent, Nordafrika oder Naher Osten, entstanden zwischen dem 9. und 10. Jahrhundert
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Südamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Keramikgefäß in Form eines Jaguars aus Guanacaste (Costa Rica), entstanden zwischen dem 8. und 13. Jahrhundert Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Südamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Keramikgefäß in Form eines Jaguars aus Guanacaste (Costa Rica), entstanden zwischen dem 8. und 13. Jahrhundert
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Südamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Keramikschale der Maya aus Guatemala, entstanden zwischen dem 6. und 9. Jahrhundert Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Südamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Keramikschale der Maya aus Guatemala, entstanden zwischen dem 6. und 9. Jahrhundert
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Nordamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Tuch, sogenannter Tipi-Liner, Baumwolle, Aquarellfarben, bemalt mit Heldentaten eines Kriegers. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Um 1880. Sammlung Prinzessin Therese von Bayern. Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Nordamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Tuch, sogenannter Tipi-Liner, Baumwolle, Aquarellfarben, bemalt mit Heldentaten eines Kriegers. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Um 1880. Sammlung Prinzessin Therese von Bayern.
  • Restitution? Im Besitz der Nordamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Tuch, sogenannter Tipi-Liner, Baumwolle, Aquarellfarben, bemalt mit Heldentaten eines Kriegers. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Um 1880. Sammlung Prinzessin Therese von Bayern. Museum Fünf Kontinente München © MFK
    Im Besitz der Nordamerika-Sammlung des Museums Fünf Kontinente in München: Tuch, sogenannter Tipi-Liner, Baumwolle, Aquarellfarben, bemalt mit Heldentaten eines Kriegers. Plains, North Dacota, Standing Rock Reservation. Um 1880. Sammlung Prinzessin Therese von Bayern.
Das Museum Fünf Kontinente erhielt im November 2019 durch das DZK und das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst eine zunächst für zwölf Monate bewilligte Förderung, die noch weitgehend ungeklärte Herkunftsgeschichte eines rund 200 Objekte umfassenden Konvoluts aus Kamerun zu erforschen. Die Sammlung hatte des Museum in den 1890er-Jahren von Max von Stetten erhalten, der Führer der Polizeitruppe und anschließend Kommandeur der Schutztruppe in Kamerun war.

Wenn es möglich sein sollte, die Erwerbungsumstände wesentlicher Objekte des Konvoluts zu klären, und sich die am Anfang des Projekts stehende Vermutung bestätigt, dass diese Objekte aus einem Gewaltkontext stammen und sich somit nach heutiger Ansicht unrechtmäßig im Museum befinden, ist Restitution ein Thema. Im Dialog mit unseren Projektpartner*innen in Kamerun und Vertreter*innen der Herkunftsgesellschaften wäre dann zu klären, ob eine Rückgabe gewünscht ist oder eine andere Form der Kompensation. Auch könnte im Falle einer Restitution über die Möglichkeit einer dauerhaften Leihgabe an das Museum Fünf Kontinente nachgedacht werden und sicher wird sich die Frage stellen, an wen zurückgegeben werden soll: an den Nationalstaat, an eine Herkunftsgemeinschaft oder an eine Privatperson? Nicht immer ist hier von deckungsgleichen Interessen auszugehen, und berechtigte und ungerechtfertigte Ansprüche voneinander zu unterscheiden, wird zukünftig sicherlich eine größere Rolle als bisher in der Diskussion über den Umgang mit unserem kolonialen Erbe spielen.

Kollaborative Wissensproduktion

Mit seinem Projekt „Der ´Blaue-Reiter-Pfosten´ und die Sammlung Max von Stettens (1893–1896) aus Kamerun im Museum Fünf Kontinente München“ hat das Museum begonnen, die Kolonialgeschichte seiner Sammlungen zu erforschen. Es stellt sich die Frage, ob es sinnvoll ist, weitere Einzelfälle zu prüfen, oder ob in Anbetracht der großen Anzahl von Objekten, die allein während der deutschen Kolonialzeit nach München gelangten, andere Strategien greifen sollten.
Mit Blick auf die von Max von Stetten zusammengetragene Sammlung arbeiten wir ergebnisoffen und schließen mögliche Restitutionen nicht aus. Diese sehen wir aber nicht als alleiniges Endziel des Projekts. Vielmehr geht es um die gemeinsame Produktion von Wissen über eine sensible Sammlung und über eine geteilte Geschichte, um den Aufbau von Beziehungen und die Etablierung von Netzwerken. Nur wenn es uns gelingt, diese über das Ende der Projektlaufzeit und mögliche Restitutionen hinaus aufrechtzuerhalten und zu verstetigen, wird sich die Arbeit des Museums Fünf Kontinente nachhaltig und wesentlich verändern.
 
Dr. Uta Werlich leitet seit 1. April 2018 das staatliche Museum Fünf Kontinente in München.