Cultural Heritage Repatriation in Greenland From a Tupilak’s Point of View

Tasiilaq (Ammassalik), Greenland
Tasiilaq (Ammassalik), Greenland | Photo (detail): Patrick Pleul​ © picture alliance / ZB

The restitution of material objects to its land of origin is a sensitive topic between European countries and its former colonies. In the case of Denmark and Greenland, thousands of objects have been repatriated. And yet, is the physical return of an object all that restitution implies? Following the author's story of three “ill-wishing figures” from Greenland suggests otherwise.  

By Magdalena Zolkos

During his 1905-1906 stay in a remote East Greenlandic settlement of Ammassalik (today Tasiilaq), the Danish ethnographer and philologist William Thalbitzer (1873-1958) met a local shaman Mitsivarniannga, who created for Thalbitzer three models of tupilak, a mythical creature of ill-wishing and revenge. In the pre-colonial Greenland tupilait (plural form of tupilak) were assembled from wood, seaweed, animal bone, pelt, and human body parts, and animated in a secret ceremony to bring misfortune to antagonised members of the community. Mitsivarniannga’s carvings (one human-like, one a bird and one a harpooned dog) are some of the oldest tupilak figurines. Their creation marks a moment when colonial ethnographic accounts start to describe tupilait as material objects and as expressions of “folk art”, rather than as solely narrative mythical figures.
  • Tupilak © Roberto Fortuna, CC-BY-SA, The National Museum of Denmark
    Tupilak
  • Tupilak © Roberto Fortuna, CC-BY-SA, The National Museum of Denmark
    Tupilak
  • Tupilak © Roberto Fortuna, CC-BY-SA, The National Museum of Denmark
    Tupilak
While during Greenland’s christianisation, starting from 1720s, the making of tupilait was condemned by priests and missionaries as witchcraft, these beings stirred great ethnographic interest and public fascination in Europe. This was partly due to popularisation of Greenlandic mythologies in works such as Hinrich Rink’s 1875 Tales and Traditions of the Eskimo, and partly to the translocation of material objects from Greenland to Denmark (and beyond). As such, tupilait signify what Susan Star and James Griesemer call “boundary objects”— they bridge two different social worlds and function as markers of shared colonial history of Greenland and Denmark.  

The Restitution Process Begins

Thalbitzer brought Mitsivarniannga’s tupilait to Denmark in 1906, and later gave them to the Museum of Trade and Shipping at Kronborg Castle. The reasons why Thalbitzer did not present them to the Danish National Museum, which would have been the more obvious choice given the extent of its ethnographic collections and expertise, are uncertain. Some speculate that it had to do with personal animosity, and others that Thalbitzer expressed through his gift a deep sentiment he held for the city of his birth.

The anecdote has it that the tupilait remained in Kronborg Castle in a storage, quite forgotten, until they were found by chance in 1970s and officially included in the collections of the Museum of Trade and Shipping. An important consequence of Thalbitzer’s decision was that Mitsivarniannga’s tupilait never became objects of post-colonial repatriation claims that Greenland made on Denmark’s many archaeological and ethnographic items, which had been acquired during Arctic explorations, missions and colonial administration. The cultural restitution project called Utimut (meaning “return” in Greenlandic) took place between 1983-1984 and 2001, and it centred on the negotiations by two national institutions, the Danish National Museum and the Greenland National Museum and Archives. The Utimut process resulted in the repatriation of 35,000 items to Greenland (while Denmark retained about 100,000 items).

It also set up a collaborative infrastructure for shared exhibitions, research and education in the future, and resulted in the establishment of SILA, the Arctic Centre at the Ethnographic Collections at the Danish National Museum. In the international forum of the UNESCO institutions, Utimut has been regarded as highly successful, due to a partnership-based, collaborative and mutually respectful process, potentially providing a model to be adapted and implemented elsewhere.

The Utimut Process: a Story of Success?

And yet, viewing the process and outcomes of Utimut from the perspective of unrestituted objects, such as Mitsivarniannga’s tupilait, poses a challenge to this unequivocally positive assessment. One could venture a hypothesis that even if there had been a formal possibility to demand the return of Mitsivarniannga’s tupilait, they would not have been transferred to Greenland. One of the founding principles of Utimut was that both museums were to emerge from the process as holders of coherent and integral collections. One of the stipulations explicitly enabled Denmark to retain those items that were considered important for the documentation of its North Atlantic colonial history.

Speaking more broadly, the process was framed by concerted efforts at de-politicising heritage repatriation by putting in its charge a committee of experts, rather than political stakeholders, and it did not include local Greenlandic actors with diverse stakes and investments in the outcome. The process was not accompanied by a broader public debate about the objectives and social significance of heritage repatriation, including its relation to corrective political goals in relation to Danish history of colonial enrichment and extraction.

Restitution is Not Limited to the Return of Material Objects

In his recent contributions to the debates about repatriation of art from European museums to their places of origin, the Cameroonian philosopher Achille Mbembe has argued that it would be a mistake to limit restitution to the questions of physical return of objects. Rather, there is a need for a discussion about what exactly Europe would be divesting itself of through the acts of heritage return, which necessarily involves a debate about the meanings and significance that these objects acquired in the colonial Europe. It would also require a debate about the losses and destructions incurred by the colonised people, historically and in the present, especially as regards that which remains unrepairable and unrestitutable in spite of the acts of return.

While it is of course possible, at least in most circumstances, to give back material objects—and let us suspend for a moment the questions of enormous political and institutional resistance in Europe to art repatriation—the radicality of Mbembe’s intervention lies precisely in his attention to less tangible forms of colonial devastation that occurred through, and in parallel to, these objects’ extraction, translocation and inclusion in European museums as exhibits and artifacts. At hand is namely destruction of communal forms of living based on the complementarity of people and things, and the reduction of the latter to the status of inanimate "stuff" subjected to human will and control as property.

From this perspective, the restitution of Mitsivarniannga’s tupilait would mean not only the political opening of the possibility of new repatriation claims, but also the broadening of social debates about restitution beyond the narrow group of scholarly experts. Such debates could invoke narratives and perspectives, such as for instance the oral history of Mitsivarniannga’s descendants, which do not replicate the epistemological binary of persons and things that props the discourse of Western museums.

Confronting Historical Narratives

In Thalbitzer’s diaries and accounts tupilait were signified as products and expressions of unbridled creative and destructive “primitive” energies generated by people, whose culture was under threat of Western civilization. In a text written in 1932, Greenland Now and Then, Thalbitzer explicitly depicted Greenland as a place of struggle between the transformative forces of modernity and what continually, if also precariously, remained untouched by it.

Tupilak figures came to signify for the European modern consciousness an access to cultures that would be irreparably lost, but that had survived through these objects’ preservation as museum collections. The Western colonial reception and meaning-making of the tupilak corresponded to what the Greenlandic artist Pia Arke called “ethno-aesthetics”; it was premised on a desire to find and preserve the “authenticity” or “naturalness” of what Europeans, in distinction to their own modern identities, associated with primitivism. 

Restituting tupilait (and other heritage items) would demand confronting the historical narratives that enabled extraction and translocation of indigenous wealth and knowledge, as well as generating more attention to ways in which these narratives continue, in one form or another, in present discourses about indigenous Arctic populations. 

“Restituting tupilait (and other heritage items) would demand confronting the historical narratives that enabled extraction and translocation of indigenous wealth and knowledge, as well as generating more attention to ways in which these narratives continue, in one form or another, in present discourses about indigenous Arctic populations.”

Mbembe links heritage restitution to a radical project of de-colonisation by way of forging a “new relation” between the coloniser and the colonised. This, I suggest, needs to include the creation of a shared memory of the past, and could be pursued through the recognition of the restitutive items as “boundary objects”, uniquely capable of bringing together what are at present two separate memory communities.

Die Rückgabe von Kulturerbe an Grönland Aus der Sicht eines Tupilak

Tasiilaq (Ammassalik), Grönland
Tasiilaq (Ammassalik), Grönland | Foto (Detail): Patrick Pleul​ © picture alliance / ZB

Die Restitution materieller Objekte an ihre Herkunftsländer ist unter europäischen Ländern und ihren ehemaligen Kolonien ein sensibles Thema. Im Fall von Dänemark und Grönland wurden bereits Tausende von Objekten zurückgegeben. Und trotzdem: Impliziert Restitution wirklich nichts als die physische Rückgabe eines Objekts? Ein genauerer Blick auf das, was die Autorin über drei „Figuren des Übelwollens“ aus Grönland zu berichten weiß, spricht dagegen.

Von Magdalena Zolkos

Während seines Aufenthalts in der entlegenen ostgrönländischen Siedlung Ammassalik (heute Tasiilaq) in den Jahren 1905/1906 traf der dänische Ethnograf und Philologe William Thalbitzer (1873–1958) den ortsansässigen Schamanen Mitsivarniannga, der für Thalbitzer drei Modelle eines tupilak schuf, eines mythischen Wesens des Übelwollens und der Rache. Im präkolonialen Grönland wurden tupilait (Pluralform von tupilak) aus Holz, Seetang, Tierknochen, Fell und menschlichen Körperteilen hergestellt und in einer geheimen Zeremonie belebt, um gegnerischen Mitgliedern der Gemeinde Unglück zu bringen. Mitsivarnianngas Schnitzereien (eine menschenähnliche Figur, ein Vogel und ein harpunierter Hund) gehören zu den ältesten Tupilak-Figuren überhaupt. Ihre Herstellung markiert den Moment, in dem ethnografische Berichte tupilait als materielle Objekte und Ausdruck von „Volkskunst“ statt als rein erzählerische mythische Figuren zu beschreiben beginnen.
  • Tupilak © Roberto Fortuna, CC-BY-SA, The National Museum of Denmark
    Tupilak
  • Tupilak © Roberto Fortuna, CC-BY-SA, The National Museum of Denmark
    Tupilak
  • Tupilak © Roberto Fortuna, CC-BY-SA, The National Museum of Denmark
    Tupilak
Im Gegensatz zu Grönland, wo die Herstellung von tupilait während der Christianisierung des Landes, die in den 1720er‑Jahren begann, von Priestern und Missionar*innen als Hexerei verdammt wurde, erregten diese Wesen in Europa großes ethnografisches Interesse und öffentliche Faszination. Das lag zum Teil an der Popularisierung grönländischer Mythologien in Werken wie Hinrich Rinks Märchen und Sagen der Eskimos aus dem Jahr 1875 und zum Teil an der Umsiedelung materieller Objekte von Grönland nach Dänemark (und darüber hinaus). Dementsprechend symbolisieren tupilait das, was Susan Star und James Griesemer „Grenzobjekte“ nennen – sie schlagen eine Brücke zwischen zwei verschiedenen sozialen Welten und fungieren als Markierungspunkte der gemeinsamen Kolonialgeschichte Grönlands und Dänemarks.  

Der Restitutionsprozess beginnt

Thalbitzer brachte Mitsivarnianngas tupilait 1906 nach Dänemark und überließ sie später dem Handels- und Seefahrtsmuseum auf Schloss Kronborg. Warum Thalbitzer sie nicht dem Dänischen Nationalmuseum übergab, das angesichts der Breite seiner ethnografischen Sammlungen und Expertise die näherliegende Wahl gewesen wäre, bleibt unklar. Es wird spekuliert, dass es mit persönlichen Animositäten zu tun hatte oder dass Thalbitzer durch sein Geschenk seiner tiefen Zuneigung zu seiner Geburtsstadt Ausdruck verleihen wollte.

Anekdoten zufolge verblieben die tupilait im Lager von Schloss Kronborg, komplett vergessen, bis sie in den 1970er‑Jahren zufällig gefunden und offiziell in die Sammlung des Handels- und Seefahrtsmuseums aufgenommen wurden. Eine wichtige Konsequenz von Thalbitzers Entscheidung war, dass Mitsivarnianngas tupilait nie Gegenstand postkolonialer Rückgabeforderungen wurden, die Grönland in Bezug auf die unzähligen archäologischen und ethnografischen Objekte stellte, die im Zuge von Polarexpeditionen, Missionen und kolonialer Verwaltung in dänischen Besitz gelangt waren. Von 1983/84 bis 2001 fand ein Projekt namens Utimut (was auf Grönländisch soviel wie „Rückgabe“ bedeutet) zur Restitution von Kulturgütern statt, bei denen es im Kern um die Verhandlungen zwischen zwei nationalen Institutionen ging, nämlich dem Dänischen Nationalmuseum und dem Grönländischen Nationalmuseum und -archiv. Der Utimut-Prozess führte zur Rückführung von 35.000 Objekten nach Grönland (während Dänemark etwa 100.000 Objekte behielt).

Er schuf zudem eine kollaborative Infrastruktur für gemeinsame zukünftige Ausstellungen, Forschungs- und Bildungsaktivitäten und führte zur Einrichtung von SILA, dem archäologischen und anthropologischen Grönlandforschungszentrum am Dänischen Nationalmuseum. Im internationalen Forum der UNESCO-Institutionen gilt Utimut aufgrund seines partnerschaftlichen, kollaborativen und von gegenseitigem Respekt gekennzeichneten Prozesses nicht nur als äußerst erfolgreich, sondern auch als mögliches Modell für eine Adaptierung und Umsetzung andernorts.  

Der Utimut-Prozess: eine Erfolgsgeschichte?

Dennoch stellt ein genauerer Blick sowohl auf den Prozess als auch auf die Ergebnisse von Utimut aus der Perspektive nicht restituierter Objekte wie etwa Mitsivarnianngas tupilait diese rückhaltlos positive Einschätzung infrage. Es ließe sich die Hypothese aufstellen, dass Mitsivarnianngas tupilait, selbst wenn es formal möglich gewesen wäre, ihre Rückgabe zu verlangen, nicht an Grönland übergeben worden wären. Eines der Grundprinzipien von Utimut war, dass beide Museen als Inhaber zusammenhängender und ganzheitlicher Sammlungen aus dem Prozess hervorgehen sollten. Eine der Bestimmungen erlaubte Dänemark explizit, Objekte zu behalten, die für die Dokumentierung seiner nordatlantischen Kolonialgeschichte als bedeutsam angesehen wurden.

Im weitesten Sinne fand der Prozess im Rahmen konzertierter Bemühungen statt, die Rückführung von Kulturerbe zu entpolitisieren, indem man die Zuständigkeit dafür in die Hände eines Expert*innenkomitees statt politischer Interessenvertreter*innen legte, und er erfolgte ohne die Einbeziehung lokaler grönländischer Akteur*innen mit unterschiedlichen Graden an Interesse am – und Investition in das – Ergebnis. Der Prozess wurde nicht von einer breiteren öffentlichen Debatte über die Ziele und die gesellschaftliche Bedeutung der Rückführung von Kulturerbe begleitet, einschließlich ihres Zusammenhangs mit politischen Zielsetzungen in Bezug auf eine Korrektur der dänischen Geschichte kolonialer Bereicherung und Entfernung.

Restitution ist mehr als die Rückgabe materieller Objekte

In seinen jüngsten Beiträgen zur Debatte über die Rückführung von Kunst aus europäischen Museen an ihren Herkunftsort argumentierte der kamerunische Philosoph Achille Mbembe, dass es ein Fehler wäre, Restitution auf Fragen der physischen Rückgabe von Objekten zu beschränken. Vielmehr bestehe Bedarf an einer Diskussion darüber, wovon genau sich Europa durch diese Akte der Rückgabe von Kulturerbe trennen würde, was zwangsläufig eine Debatte über die Bedeutungen und die Signifikanz umfassen würde, die diese Objekte im kolonialen Europa erwarben. Es würde zudem eine Debatte über die Verluste und Zerstörungen erfordern, die die kolonisierten Menschen historisch wie heute erlitten und erleiden, insbesondere im Hinblick auf all das, was trotz der Rückgabeakte irreparabel und unrestituierbar bleibt.

Während zumindest in den meisten Fällen die Rückgabe materieller Objekte selbstverständlich möglich ist – und wir wollen hier die Frage des enormen politischen und institutionellen Widerstands in Europa gegen die Rückführung von Kunstwerken einen Moment lang ausklammern –, liegt die Radikalität von Mbembes Intervention gerade in seiner Aufmerksamkeit für die weniger greifbaren Formen kolonialer Verwüstung, die durch die (und parallel zur) Entfernung, Umsiedlung und Aufnahme dieser Objekte in europäische Museen als Ausstellungsobjekte und Artefakte stattfand. Konkret geht es dabei um die Zerstörung gemeinschaftlicher Lebensformen auf der Basis der Komplementarität von Menschen und Objekten und die Reduzierung letzterer auf den Status unbelebter „Dinge“, die menschlichem Willen und menschlicher Kontrolle als Eigentum unterliegen.

Aus dieser Perspektive würde die Restitution von Mitsivarnianngas tupilait nicht nur die politische Eröffnung der Möglichkeit neuer Rückführungsforderungen bedeuten, sondern auch die Ausweitung gesellschaftlicher Restitutionsdebatten über einen engen Kreis wissenschaftlicher Expert*innen hinaus. Solche Debatten könnten Darstellungen und Perspektiven wie beispielsweise die mündliche Überlieferung von Mitsivarnianngas Nachfahr*innen geltend machen, die die epistemologische Binarität von Personen und Dingen nicht reproduzieren, auf die sich der Diskurs westlicher Museen stützt.

Auseinandersetzung mit historischen Darstellungen

In Thalbitzers Tagebüchern und Berichten wurden tupilait als Produkt und Ausdruck ungezügelter kreativer und destruktiver „primitiver“ Energien dargestellt, die von Menschen hergestellt wurden, deren Kultur von der westlichen Zivilisation bedroht war. In seinem Text Grönland Damals und Heute aus dem Jahr 1932 schilderte Thalbitzer Grönland explizit als Ort des Ringens zwischen den transformativen Kräften der Moderne und dem, was davon dauerhaft, wenn auch nicht unwiderruflich, unberührt blieb.

Für das moderne europäische Bewusstsein wurden die Tupilak-Figuren zu einem Symbol für einen Zugang zu Kulturen, die unwiederbringlich verloren gehen würden, aber durch die Bewahrung dieser Objekte als Museumssammlungen überlebt hatten. Die westliche, koloniale Sichtweise und Bedeutungsgebung der tupilak entsprach dem, was die grönländische Künstlerin Pia Arke „Ethno-Ästhetik“ genannt hat; sie beruhte auf einem Bestreben, die „Authentizität“ oder „Natürlichkeit“ dessen zu finden und zu bewahren, was Europäer*innen, im Gegensatz zu ihren eigenen modernen Identitäten, mit Primitivismus assoziierten.

Die Restitution der tupilait (und anderer Kulturerbe-Objekte) würde eine Auseinandersetzung mit historischen Darstellungen erfordern, die die Entfernung und Umsiedlung indigenen Reichtums und Wissens ermöglichten, sowie die Schaffung von mehr Aufmerksamkeit dafür, wie diese Darstellungen in der einen oder anderen Form in heutigen Diskursen über indigene Bevölkerungsgruppen der Arktis weiterbestehen. 

„Die Restitution der tupilait (und anderer Kulturerbe-Objekte) würde eine Auseinandersetzung mit historischen Darstellungen erfordern, die die Entfernung und Umsiedlung indigenen Reichtums und Wissens ermöglichten, sowie die Schaffung von mehr Aufmerksamkeit dafür, wie diese Darstellungen in der einen oder anderen Form in heutigen Diskursen über indigene Bevölkerungsgruppen der Arktis weiterbestehen.“

Mbembe verbindet die Restitution von Kulturerbe mit einem radikalen Projekt der Dekolonisierung durch den Aufbau einer „neuen Beziehung“ zwischen Kolonisator und Kolonisierten. Dies, so meine ich, muss die Schaffung einer gemeinsamen Erinnerung an die Vergangenheit umfassen und könnte durch die Anerkennung der zu restituierenden Objekte als „Grenzobjekte“ weiterverfolgt werden, die auf einzigartige Weise in der Lage sind, zwei derzeit separate Erinnerungsgemeinschaften zusammenzubringen.