Breaking Museum Stereotypes Out of the Glass Box into the Open

Under construction: the Lesotho National Museum, to be opened in 2021.
Under construction: the Lesotho National Museum, to be opened in 2021. | © Jon Weinberg

The new Lesotho National Museum and Art Gallery, scheduled to be opened in 2021, will introduce a new chapter in museology in Africa. The first contemporary museum in Sub-Saharan Africa to include the collection disciplines of Natural History, Social History and Art under one roof will leverage digital technology to promote co-curatorship with museum visitors. Jon Weinberg, lead developer of the new museum, spoke to “Latitude” about implementing one of the continent’s flagship projects.

Traditionally, museums were spaces for specialists, conceived for and run by experts. What ought to be the vision of the modern museum?
 
The modern museum has undergone a complete metamorphosis and in other places, the process is underway. Due to the widespread use of digital technology, the visitor is more informed even prior to visiting the museum. The result is that the visitor is able to interact more with the collections and the museum space is no longer intimidating or alienating. The museum workers are also able to engage with other professional colleagues across the globe on a totally new level. There is more interaction across professional disciplines and the interdisciplinary engagement leads to more experimentation, innovation and development of new concepts.
 
How can museums be transformed into real community centres and places of self-discovery, attracting diverse audiences?
 
The transformation of museums into spaces of learning and interaction is a complex process that runs on two levels. On one level, you have the people who work in and run the museums. They ought to undergo a complete change of mindset in order to understand their work as a contribution to a greater whole – the museum is a cog in a larger wheel on the path of knowledge production and dissemination. The museum workers should embrace new technology and be willing to open up the museum space to greater scrutiny. In addition, they should abandon the perception that the curator has the monopoly of knowledge and perceive the visitor as a co-curator with the potential to add value to the output of the museum expert. On another level, the visitor can take advantage of new technologies to engage with the museum more proactively, offering expert advice, making proposals on how to improve the quality of services as well as contributing to the development of museum collections by providing additional information that may not be available to the curator regarding specific objects or collections.
 
  • Traditional round hut in Lesotho Photo: F. Scholz © picture alliance / Arco Images GmbH
    Traditional round hut in Lesotho
  • The rotunda picks up the typical house form of the indigenous Basothos © Jon Weinberg
    The rotunda picks up the typical house form of the indigenous Basothos
  • Lesotho is one of the poorest countries in the world Photo (detail): F. Scholz © picture alliance /Arco Images
    Lesotho is one of the poorest countries in the world
  • Entirely surrounded by South Africa: the mountainous country of Lesotho, the highest elevation of the Drakensberg measures 3,482 metres. Photo: Dirk Bleyer © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Entirely surrounded by South Africa: the mountainous country of Lesotho, the highest elevation of the Drakensberg measures 3,482 metres.
  • AIDS is the main problem in today's Lesotho, the British Prince Harry supports the fight against HIV. Here in conversation with Lesotho's Prince Seeiso, his wife Princess Mabereng Seeiso and daughter Princess Masentle Tabitha Seeiso during a reception before a concert by the charity Sentebale at Hampton Court Palace in London, Tuesday 11 June 2019, which was founded by Prince Harry and Lesotho's Prince Seeiso to support children and young people affected by HIV and AIDS in Lesotho, Botswana and Malawi.  Photo (detail): Matt Dunham © picture alliance / AP Photo
    AIDS is the main problem in today's Lesotho, the British Prince Harry supports the fight against HIV. Here in conversation with Lesotho's Prince Seeiso, his wife Princess Mabereng Seeiso and daughter Princess Masentle Tabitha Seeiso during a reception before a concert by the charity Sentebale at Hampton Court Palace in London, Tuesday 11 June 2019, which was founded by Prince Harry and Lesotho's Prince Seeiso to support children and young people affected by HIV and AIDS in Lesotho, Botswana and Malawi.
  • The resistance against colonization began early: Attack of the indigenous Basothos 1880 on Fort Bell, since 1868 Basutoland colony Photo (detail): Liszt Collection © picture alliance
    The resistance against colonization began early: Attack of the indigenous Basothos 1880 on Fort Bell, since 1868 Basutoland colony
  • She already ruled during the time of the British crown colony Basutoland: Queen Elizabeth receives Rethabile Mahlompho Mokaeane, the High Commissioner for Lesotho, in Buckingham Palace in London in 2019 Photo (detail): Yui Mok © picture alliance /empics
    She already ruled during the time of the British crown colony Basutoland: Queen Elizabeth receives Rethabile Mahlompho Mokaeane, the High Commissioner for Lesotho, in Buckingham Palace in London in 2019
Because of technology, there is a window of opportunity for the museum visitor to become a co-curator. The production of knowledge should be centered more on co-creation, sharing and interaction rather than one-way production and dissemination. The new approach should be to move the objects from the glass box into the open to create room for more interactivity, which gives the visitor a claim to the objects that are on display. The visitor has an opportunity to re-author the knowledge based on their own experiences, perceptions and understanding of what the collections are all about.
 
What does the Lesotho National Museum plan to do differently from what other museums across the African continent have done before?
 
To begin with, Lesotho has never had a museum. There have been exhibitions in missionary centres and similar places whose concepts were far from participatory and visitor-centred. These collections were highly influenced by Western stereotypes about Africa and church doctrines. Therefore, this project gives the country a unique opportunity to start on a new slate and do things differently. Incidentally, Lesotho has a rich corpus of recorded knowledge. The challenge has been that people in Lesotho are not used to visiting museums because the museum as it has been perceived before was a completely foreign concept.

We finally have an opportunity to engage with the people of Lesotho directly to redefine a new museum for themselves, so that the agency can belong in Lesotho: Instead of having a building with old exhibits based on colonial stereotypes, there is an opportunity for the people in Lesotho to decide what they want to collect and display, and how they want to do it. In particular the museum collections will take into account local knowledge, anecdotal memory and stories. It would have been very difficult to introduce these new approaches to museology in an old museum that has existed for many years.

 
The interview was conducted by Eliphas Nyamogo, online editorial consultant, Goethe-Institut Munich.

You can listen to the whole interview here:
 
Interview with Jon Weinberg: The need for new museum concepts in Africa

Überwindung von Stereotypen in der Museumsgestaltung Aus der Vitrine in den freien Raum

Im Bau: das Lesotho National Museum, das 2021 eröffnet werden soll.
Im Bau: das Lesotho National Museum, das 2021 eröffnet werden soll. | © Jon Weinberg

Lesotho plant, mit der Eröffnung eines Komplexes aus Nationalmuseum und Kunstgalerie (Lesotho National Museum and Art Gallery) im Jahr 2021 ein neues Kapitel der Museumswissenschaft in Afrika aufzuschlagen. Es soll das erste zeitgenössische Museum in Afrika südlich der Sahara sein, das Sammlungen aus den Bereichen Naturkunde, Sozialgeschichte und Kunst unter einem Dach vereint und mithilfe digitaler Technologien eine Ko-Kuratierung mit den Museumsbesucher*innen fördert. Jon Weinberg, leitender Entwickler des neuen Museums, sprach mit „Latitude“ über die Umsetzung eines der Vorzeigeprojekte auf dem Kontinent.

Museen waren ursprünglich von Expert*innen entwickelte und geführte Orte für Spezialist*innen. Wie sollte die Vision des modernen Museums aussehen?
 
Das moderne Museum hat eine umfassende Umgestaltung und damit einen Prozess durchlaufen, der an anderen Orten noch nicht abgeschlossen ist. Dank des weit verbreiteten Einsatzes digitaler Technologien sind die Besucher*innen bereits vor dem Museumsbesuch besser informiert. Dadurch können sie einen stärkeren Bezug zu den Sammlungen aufbauen und nehmen das Museumsgebäude nicht mehr als einschüchternd oder abschreckend wahr. Außerdem können sich die Museumsmitarbeiter*innen weltweit mit anderen Fachkolleg*innen auf einer völlig neuen Ebene austauschen. Mehr Interaktion mit anderen Fachgebieten und interdisziplinäres Engagement haben mehr Experimentierfreude, Innovation und die Entwicklung neuer Konzepte zur Folge.
 
Wie können Museen in echte Gemeinschaftszentren und Orte der Selbstentdeckung verwandelt werden, die eine Anziehungskraft auf unterschiedliche Besucher*innengruppen ausüben?

Die Umgestaltung von Museen in Orte des Lernens und der Interaktion ist ein komplexer Prozess, der sich auf zwei Ebenen vollzieht. Zum einen auf Ebene der Menschen, die im Museum arbeiten und das Museum führen. Auf ihrer Seite ist ein grundlegendes Umdenken erforderlich, damit sie ihre Arbeit als Beitrag zu einem größeren Ganzen begreifen – das Museum als Rädchen im Uhrwerk der Wissensproduktion und -vermittlung. Die Museumsmitarbeiter*innen sollten sich aufgeschlossen gegenüber neuen Technologien zeigen und bereit sein, die Gestaltung des musealen Raums aus einer völlig neuen Perspektive zu betrachten. Außerdem sollten sie sich von der Vorstellung lösen, dass Kurator*innen über das Wissensmonopol verfügen, und die Besucher*innen als Ko-Kurator*innen begreifen, die einen Mehrwert für die Arbeit der Museumsexpert*innen schaffen können. Auf der anderen Ebene können sich die Besucher*innen mihilfe neuer Technologien aktiver an der Museumsarbeit beteiligen, Fachwissen einbringen, Vorschläge zur Verbesserung der Dienstleistungsqualität unterbreiten und zur Erweiterung der Museumssammlungen beitragen, indem sie zusätzliche Informationen zu bestimmten Objekten oder Sammlungen liefern, die den Kurator*innen möglicherweise nicht bekannt sind. 
  • Traditionelle Rundhütte in Lesotho Foto: F. Scholz © picture alliance / Arco Images GmbH
    Traditionelle Rundhütte in Lesotho
  • Der Rundbau greift die typische Häuserform der indigenen Basothos auf © Jon Weinberg
    Der Rundbau greift die typische Häuserform der indigenen Basothos auf
  • Lesotho zählt zu den ärmsten der Ländern der Welt Foto (Detail): F. Scholz © picture alliance /Arco Images
    Lesotho zählt zu den ärmsten der Ländern der Welt
  • Gänzlich umschlossen von Südafrika: das Bergland Lesotho. Die höchste Erhebung der Drakensberge misst 3.482 Meter. Foto: Dirk Bleyer © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Gänzlich umschlossen von Südafrika: das Bergland Lesotho. Die höchste Erhebung der Drakensberge misst 3.482 Meter.
  • AIDS ist das Hauptproblem im heutigen Lesotho, der britische Prinz Harry unterstützt den Kampf gegen HIV. Hier im Gespräch mit Lesothos Prinz Seeiso, dessen Frau Prinzessin Mabereng Seeiso und Tochter Prinzessin Masentle Tabitha Seeiso während eines Empfangs vor einem Konzert der Wohltätigkeitsorganisation Sentebale im Hampton Court Palace in London, Dienstag, 11. Juni 2019, die von Prinz Harry und Lesothos Prinz Seeiso gegründet wurde, um von HIV und AIDS betroffene Kinder und Jugendliche in Lesotho, Botswana und Malawi zu unterstützen. Foto (Detail): Matt Dunham © picture alliance / AP Photo
    AIDS ist das Hauptproblem im heutigen Lesotho, der britische Prinz Harry unterstützt den Kampf gegen HIV. Hier im Gespräch mit Lesothos Prinz Seeiso, dessen Frau Prinzessin Mabereng Seeiso und Tochter Prinzessin Masentle Tabitha Seeiso während eines Empfangs vor einem Konzert der Wohltätigkeitsorganisation Sentebale im Hampton Court Palace in London, Dienstag, 11. Juni 2019, die von Prinz Harry und Lesothos Prinz Seeiso gegründet wurde, um von HIV und AIDS betroffene Kinder und Jugendliche in Lesotho, Botswana und Malawi zu unterstützen.
  • Der Widerstand gegen die Kolonialisierung begann früh: Angriff der indigenen Basothos 1880 auf Fort Bell, seit 1868 Kolonie Basutoland Foto (Detail): Liszt Collection © picture alliance
    Der Widerstand gegen die Kolonialisierung begann früh: Angriff der indigenen Basothos 1880 auf Fort Bell, seit 1868 Kolonie Basutoland
  • Sie regierte schon zu Zeiten der britischen Kronkolonie Basutoland: Queen Elisabeth empfängt Rethabile Mahlompho Mokaeane, die Hochkommissarin für Lesotho, 2019 im Buckingham-Palast in London Foto (Detail): Yui Mok © picture alliance /empics
    Sie regierte schon zu Zeiten der britischen Kronkolonie Basutoland: Queen Elisabeth empfängt Rethabile Mahlompho Mokaeane, die Hochkommissarin für Lesotho, 2019 im Buckingham-Palast in London
Dank der technologischen Möglichkeiten erhalten Museumsbesucher*innen Gelegenheit, als Ko‑Kurator*innen aufzutreten. Wissen sollte vor allem durch Mitgestaltung, Austausch und Interaktion und weniger durch eine einseitige Produktion und Vermittlung erzeugt werden. Der neue Ansatz könnte sich dadurch auszeichnen, dass die Objekte aus den Vitrinen in den Raum bewegt werden, um Platz für mehr Interaktion und damit für eine Aneignung der ausgestellten Objekte durch die Besucher*innen zu schaffen. Besucher*innen erhalten die Möglichkeit, das vorhandene Wissen auf Grundlage eigener Erfahrungen, Vorstellungen und Auffassungen von der inhaltlichen Substanz der Sammlungen zu überarbeiten.
 
Worin unterscheiden sich die neuen Ansätze des Nationalmuseums Lesotho von den bisherigen Konzepten anderer Museen auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent?
 
Zunächst einmal hat es in Lesotho noch nie ein Museum gegeben. Es gab Ausstellungen in Missionszentren und ähnlichen Einrichtungen, deren Konzepte alles andere als partizipativ und an den Besucher*innen ausgerichtet waren. Die dort ausgestellten Sammlungen waren stark von westlichen Afrika-Klischees und kirchlichen Lehren geprägt. Mit diesem Projekt erhält das Land daher die einmalige Gelegenheit, einen Neuanfang zu wagen und einen völlig neuen Ansatz zu erproben. Lesotho verfügt nebenbei gesagt über einen reichen Wissensschatz. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, dass die Menschen in Lesotho keine Erfahrung mit Museumsbesuchen haben, weil ihnen das Museumskonzept in seiner bisherigen Form völlig fremd war.

Nun bietet sich uns endlich die Gelegenheit, gemeinsam mit den Menschen in Lesotho an einem völlig neuen Museumskonzept zu arbeiten, damit die Menschen ihre Geschichte selbst erzählen können: Anstatt ein Gebäude mit alten, auf Grundlage von kolonialen Stereotypen ausgewählten Ausstellungstücken zu errichten können die Menschen in Lesotho selbst entscheiden, was sie in die Sammlungen aufnehmen und ausstellen wollen und wie diese Objekte präsentiert werden sollen. Die Museumssammlungen sollen vor allem auch lokales Wissen sowie persönliche Erfahrungen und Berichte umfassen. In einem alten, seit vielen Jahren bestehenden Museum hätten diese neuen Konzepte der musealen Gestaltung nur schwer verwirklicht werden können.

 
Das Interview führte Eliphas Nyamogo, Online-Redakteur am Goethe-Institut in München.

Das vollständige Interview können Sie hier anhören:
 
Interview mit Jon Weinberg: Afrika braucht dringend neue Museumskonzepte