Sonic Wilderness Workshop © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Crossing Aural Geographies

About the project

Nusasonic is a multi-year project that plunges into a broad spectrum of experimental sound and music cultures in Southeast Asia, enabling dialogue within the region, with Europe, and beyond. Adopting a multi-perspective approach, the project is collaboratively created by Yes No Klub (Yogyakarta), WSK Festival of the Recently Possible (Manila), Playfreely/BlackKaji (Singapore), and CTM Festival for Adventurous Music & Art (Berlin). Nusasonic is an initiative of the Goethe-Institutes in Southeast Asia.

Taking its title from “Nusantara,” an ancient Javanese term which is nowadays used to address the multiple connections between Southeast Asian countries, Nusasonic will incorporate a mix of formats such as artistic labs, commissioned works, concerts, installations, festivals, lectures, publications and more to look at how contemporary sound practices enable connections and dialogues within the Southeast Asian region and with Europe, all while paying critical attention to local contexts and ongoing global asymmetries. In addition to presenting outstanding artistic voices to the public, the initiative will aim to support artists in their practice, to strengthen local networks, to encourage cross- border and inter-cultural cooperation, and to contribute to broadening the understanding of contemporary sound practices.

The project kicked off 2–13 October 2018 in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, beginning as a multi-day lab where new artist pairings, a hacklab, and a sonic wilderness group played together and created new musical works, ideas, and possibilities with showcases of these works results within a programme that also included concerts, a club night, guerrilla outdoor events, and daytime programme of talks, panels, and workshops.

Following the kick-off in Yogyakarta, Nusasonic will takes different shapes and formats and visits Manila, Singapore, and other locations in Southeast Asian in 2019 and beyond. The initiative will also connects to Berlin and to some extent the globe.

Partner Nusasonic

Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut is Germany’s international cultural institute and promotes cultural collaboration worldwide. It encourages the knowledge of the German language and conveys a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in the country. The cultural and educational programs of the institute encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. Focusing on shared artistic production, reception and reflection, the Goethe-Institut initiates and organizes projects which foster worldwide mobility of people working in arts and culture and strengthen cross-cultural networks from a global perspective.

Goethe-Institut Indonesien

CTM Festival (Berlin)


Founded in 1999, CTM – Festival for Adventurous Music and Art is one of the world’s leading international festivals dedicated to contemporary electronic, leftfield pop and experimental music. 
Presented under a yearly theme, each festival edition tests the current possibilities and limits of music, and supports a wide range of artists working in the context of music and sound cultures. The festival’s 10-day programme opens up room for unusual experiences. Cutting across genres, scenes, and disciplines, it couples first-hand experience within concert and club settings with critical reflection, exchange, and learning within a vast daytime programme of talks, workshops, screenings, installations and exhibitions. 

Since its inception, CTM has taken place concurrently and cooperatively with transmediale – international festival for art and digital culture, Berlin. Together the two parallel festivals comprise one of the most comprehensive and relevant occasions in the world for yearly reflection on digital culture.

CTM Festival is an independent project and organized by DISK Berlin. Next to the annual festival, DISK and the affiliated DISK Agency produce and curate events and projects during the year, both in Berlin and abroad.

www.ctm-festival.de

Playfreely / BlackKaji (Singapur)

Playfreely is a music initiative by The Observatory focusing on cross-genre, cross-cultural, and unfettered music creation plus collective improvisation that emboldens spontaneous, inventive musical collaboration between musicians from diverse musical backgrounds. Originally inspired by the programming of New York experimental music venue The Stone, Playfreely started out as a fortnightly initiative to foster regular sessions amongst musicians to create and play without inhibition. No fixed notions of what’s appropriate or appealing, no genre fixations, and most importantly, no judgement. Over the years, Playfreely has grown to be a full-blown annual festival bringing together acts from the world over.

BlackKaji is a regular series of small scale concerts that The Observatory and Ujikaji collaborate on to present musicians working across a wide range of musical genres – from electronic, free jazz, experimental, ambient, electro acoustic, harsh noise, indie, and classical. Presented in The Observatory’s studio – The Black Axis – this very DIY / DIWO initiative has quickly garnered a very healthy following.

www.facebook.com/playfreelyexperiment
www.facebook.com/theobservatory

WSK Festival of the Recently Possible (Manila)

WSK—a modern disemvoweled form of “wasak”, which means “shattered” or “destroyed” in Filipino—is the first and only annual international art festival dedicated to contemporary electronic, digital, and experimental art. 

Launched in 2008 as Fete dela WSK and rebranded as WSK in 2013, the festival explores the diverse range of cross-disciplinary artistic activities in the context of digital culture and performance, with focus in collaborative projects between the Philippines, South East Asia, and beyond. It aims to blur, deconstruct, and reimagine the preconceived notions of how art, culture, and technology diverge, merge, and work together. 

The initiative is organized by SABAW Media Art Kitchen – a not-for-profit artist-run initiative whose primary interests lie in curatorial and research-based production towards the imminent intersections of art and technology. The festival primarily runs on a Do-It-Yourself and Do-It-Together ethic and is mostly self-funded, with partial funding support from cultural organizations. 

www.wsk.io

Yes No Klub (Yogyakarta)

YYes No Klub is small-scale platform for music and sound-based experimentation with performance , curated by Wok The Rock and Tom O’Donoghue. Started in 2010 in Yogyakarta, this monthly gig works cooperatively with artspaces and artist collectives to engage visiting international artists with local artists and to broaden up community networks. 

Yes No Klub is also part of Yes No Wave Music, a non-profit music label that distributes sound/musical works to a broad public as a ‘gift-economy’ act; an experiment on applying free legal music both online and offline to support open-sharing culture movement.

soundcloud.com/yesnoklub

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Über das Projekt

Über das Projekt

Nusasonic ist ein mehrjähriges Projekt, das sich mit der Gegenwart und Vielfalt experimenteller Sound- und Musikpraktiken in Südostasien befasst und diese mit Soundkulturen in Europa und andernorts in Austausch bringt. Den Auftakt bilden ein künstlerisches Lab und Festival vom 2. bis 13. Oktober 2018 in Yogyakarta, Indonesien. Musiker*innen und Künstler*innen erarbeiten in verschiedenen Konstellationen neue Projekte, Perspektiven und Performances, die sie im Rahmen des Festivals präsentieren. Das Festivalprogramm verbindet zudem Konzerte, Club-Nacht, Guerilla-Performances im öffentlichen Raum und eine diskursive Reihe von Talks und Workshops.

Benannt ist Nusasonic nach dem alten javanischen Begriff Nusantara, der im heutigen Gebrauch zunehmend die Vielfalt der Beziehungen und Verbindungen zwischen den Ländern Südostasiens bezeichnet. In kritischer Aufmerksamkeit gegenüber lokalen Kontexten und fortdauernden Asymmetrien möchte Nusasonic Impulse für die Stärkung auditiver Kunstpraktiken in Südostasien setzen, lokale Netzwerke unterstützen und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Akteuren aus Südostasien, Europa und anderen Teilen der Welt fördern. Dazu verschränkt das Projekt eine Bandbreite verschiedener Aktivitäten und Formate, die sich in wechselnden Konstellationen der Produktion, Reflektion, Präsentation und Vernetzung experimenteller Musikszenen und Soundkulturen widmen.

In einem vielperspektivischen Prozess entwickeln Yes No Klub (Yogyakarta), WSK Festival of the Recently Possible (Manila), Playfreely/BlackKaji (Singapur), und CTM Festival for Adventurous Music (Berlin) das Projekt fortlaufend weiter.

Nach dem Auftakt in Yogyakarta tritt Nusasonic in den kommenden Jahren in unterschiedlicher Form in Manila, Singapur und Berlin sowie in weiteren Orten in Südostasien in Erscheinung.

Nusasonic ist eine Initiative der Goethe-Institute in Südostasien.

===

Das 1999 gegründete CTM - Festival Für Abenteuerliche Musik und Kunst ist eines der weltweit führenden internationalen Festivals für zeitgenössische elektronische Musik, Left-Field Pop und experimentelle Musik.

Unter einem jährlich wechselnden Thema werden in jeder Festivalausgabe die aktuellen Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Musik erprobt und eine Vielzahl von Künstlern im Kontext von Musik und Klangkulturen unterstützt. Das 10-tägige Programm des Festivals bietet Raum für ungewöhnliche Erlebnisse. Es überbrückt Genres, Szenen und Disziplinen und verbindet Erfahrungen aus erster Hand innerhalb von Konzert- und Club-Settings mit kritischer Reflexion, Austausch und Lernen innerhalb eines umfangreichen Tagesprogramms mit Vorträgen, Workshops, Screenings, Installationen und Ausstellungen.

Seit seiner Gründung hat CTM zeitgleich und kooperativ mit der transmediale - dem internationalen Festival für Kunst und digitale Kultur, Berlin - stattgefunden. Zusammen bilden die beiden parallel stattfindenden Festivals eines der umfassendsten und relevantesten Ereignisse in der Welt für eine jährliche Reflexion der digitalen Kultur.

CTM Festival ist ein unabhängiges Projekt und wird von DISK Berlin organisiert. Neben dem jährlichen Festival produzieren und kuratieren DISK und die angeschlossene Agentur DISK Agency im Laufe des Jahres Veranstaltungen und Projekte, sowohl in Berlin als auch im Ausland.

---

Yes No Klub ist eine kleine Plattform für Musik und klang-basierten Experimenten mit Performance-Charakter, kuratiert von Wok The Rock und Tom O'Donoghue. Diese monatlichen Auftritte wurden 2010 in Yogyakarta ins Leben gerufen und arbeiten kooperativ mit Kunstorten und Künstlerkollektiven zusammen, um internationale Künstler mit lokalen Künstlern zusammenzubringen und Gemeinschaftsnetzwerke zu erweitern.

Yes No Klub ist auch Teil von Yes No Wave Music, einem gemeinnützigen Musiklabel, das Klang- und Musikwerke als "Geschenk-Ökonomie-Akt" an ein breites Publikum verteilt; ein Experiment zur Anwendung kostenloser legaler Musik sowohl online als auch offline, um offene Kulturbewegungen zu unterstützen.

---

Playfreely ist eine Musikinitiative von The Observatory, die sich auf eine genre-, kulturübergreifende und uneingeschränkte Musikschöpfung sowie kollektive Improvisation konzentriert, die eine spontane, erfinderische musikalische Zusammenarbeit zwischen Musikern unterschiedlicher musikalischer Herkunft ermöglicht. Ursprünglich inspiriert von der Programmierung des New Yorker experimentellen Musiktreffens The Stone, begann Playfreely als vierzehntägige Initiative, regelmäßige Sessions mit Musikern zu fördern, in denen sie ohne Zurückhaltung kreieren und spielen können. Keine festen Vorstellungen davon, was angemessen oder ansprechend ist, keine Genre-Fixierungen und vor allem kein Urteil. Im Laufe der Jahre ist Playfreely zu einem ausgewachsenen Festival geworden, das Acts aus der ganzen Welt zusammenbringt.

BlackKaji ist eine regelmäßige Reihe von kleinen Konzerten, an denen The Observatory und Ujikaji zusammenarbeiten, um Musiker zu präsentieren, die in den unterschiedlichsten musikalischen Genres arbeiten - von Electronic, Free Jazz, Experimental, Ambient und Electro Acoustic zu Harsh Noise, Indie und Klassik. Diese sehr DIY / DIWO-Initiative, die im Studio von The Observatory - The Black Axis - vorgestellt wurde, hat schnell eine beträchtliche Fangemeinde erreicht.

---

WSK - eine moderne, vocal-lose Form von "Wasak", was auf Philippinisch "zerschmettert" oder "zerstört" bedeutet - ist das erste und einzige jährliche internationale Kunstfestival, das der zeitgenössischen elektronischen, digitalen und experimentellen Kunst gewidmet ist.

Das Festival wurde 2008 als Fete de la WSK ins Leben gerufen und 2013 in WSK umbenannt. Es erkundet das vielfältige Spektrum an interdisziplinären künstlerischen Aktivitäten im Kontext digitaler Kultur und Performance mit Fokus auf Kooperationsprojekte zwischen den Philippinen, Südostasien und darüber hinaus. Es zielt darauf ab, die vorgefassten Meinungen darüber, wie Kunst, Kultur und Technologie voneinander abweichen, verschmelzen und zusammen arbeiten, zu verwischen, zu dekonstruieren und neu zu gestalten.

Die Initiative wird von der SABAW Media Art Kitchen organisiert - einer gemeinnützigen Künstlerinitiative, deren Hauptinteresse in der kuratorischen und forschungsbasierten Produktion zu bevorstehenden Schnittstellen von Kunst und Technologie liegt. Das Festival läuft hauptsächlich auf einer Do-It-Yourself- und Do-It-Together-Ethik und ist größtenteils selbst finanziert, mit teilweiser finanzieller Unterstützung durch kulturelle Organisationen.
 

Top