© Goethe-Institut

Activities

Nusasonic: Gather, Share, Evolve

The Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve series aims to intensify capacity building and knowledge sharing among music and sound artists in Southeast Asia via a series of online panel discussions and workshops.

Nusasonic: Gather, Share, Evolve
Nusasonic in Yogya © Nusasonic

Nusasonic Residencies

Nusasonic residencies aim to strengthen artistic knowledge and links within the region and with Europe. The yearly residencies occur at various locations in South East Asia.

Nusasonic Residencies
 Hacklab Finale © Udo Siegfriedt

2020: Nusasonic at CTM Festival

CTM Festival’s 2020 edition took place 24 January – 2 February 2020 in Berlin. With the theme, Liminal, CTM attempted to reflect on music as a space and catalyst for transformation. The festival proposed multiple entry points into its theme by bringing together challenging, hybrid performances and transformative musical experiences.

Nusasonic at CTM Festival 2020
NSA 47 © Nusasonic

2019: BlackKajiXtra Nusasonic

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic spanned two-days from 20–21 July 2019 in Singapore, with daytime programme of panels and workshop, and night-time concerts. The Singapore special (of monthly concert series BlackKaji) introduced new musicians (Horizon99, Amazon Sun and Pupa) to the Nusasonic journey and deepened the intra-regional dialogues on experimental sound and music cultures.

BlackKajiXtra Nusasonic
Nusasonic CTM Festival 2019 © Nusasonic

2019: Nusasonic at CTM Festival

CTM Festival’s 20th anniversary edition took place 25 January – 3 February 2019 in Berlin. With
the title, Persistence, CTM 2019 examined the aesthetic and societal potentials and pains of
perseverance, and of its opposite: the transient and the provisional, and considers the struggles
that come with balancing continuity and changeability.

Nusasonic at CTM Festival
Nusasonic in Yogya © Nusasonic

2018: Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

The Nusasonic initiative kicked off 2–13 October 2018 in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. Assembling 43 artists from Thailand, Singapore, the Philippines, Malaysia, and Indonesia, it began as a multi-day lab where new artist pairings, a hacklab, and a sonic wilderness group play together and create new musical works, ideas, and possibilities. The event culminated in a festival showcase, sharing the results of the lab and featuring performances by other invited artists within a programme of concerts, club nights, guerrilla outdoor events, and daytime programme of talks, panels, and workshops.

Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

© Goethe-Institut

Aktivitäten

Nusasonic: Gather, Share, Evolve

Die Reihe Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve zielt darauf ab, den Kapazitätsaufbau und Wissensaustausch bei Musiker*innen und Klangkünstler*innen in Südostasien zu unterstützen, durch eine Reihe von Podiumsdiskussionen und Workshops.

Nusasonic: Gather, Share, Evolve
Nusasonic in Yogya © Nusasonic

Nusasonic Residenzen

Verschiedene Residenzen zielen darauf das künstlerisches Wissen und die Verbindungen innerhalb der Region und mit Europa zu stärken. Die jährlichen Residenzen finden an verschiedenen Orten in Südostasien statt.

Nusasonic Residenzen
 Hacklab Finale © Udo Siegfriedt

2020: Nusasonic at CTM Festival

CTM Festival’s 2020 edition took place 24 January – 2 February 2020 in Berlin. With the theme, Liminal, CTM attempted to reflect on music as a space and catalyst for transformation. The festival proposed multiple entry points into its theme by bringing together challenging, hybrid performances and transformative musical experiences.

Nusasonic at CTM Festival 2020

2019: BlackKajiXtra Nusasonic

Nusasonic: WSK 2019

2019: BlackKajiXtra Nusasonic

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic fand vom 20. bis 21. Juli 2019 an zwei Tagen in Singapur statt, mit Panels und Workshops am Tag und Konzerten in der Nacht. Das Singapur-Special (der monatlichen Konzertreihe BlackKaji) führte neue Musiker*innen (Horizon99, Amazon Sun und Pupa) in Nusasonic ein und vertiefte die intraregionalen Dialoge über experimentelle Klang- und Musikkulturen.

Nusasonic CTM Festival 2019 © Nusasonic

2019: Nusasonic am CTM Festival

Die 20. Jubiläumsausgabe des CTM-Festivals fand vom 25. Januar bis 3. Februar 2019 in
Berlin statt. Unter dem Titel „Persistence“ untersuchte CTM 2019 die ästhetischen und
gesellschaftlichen Potentiale und Schmerzen des Beharrens und seines Gegenteils, des
Vergänglichen und des Provisorischen, und betrachtet die Anstrengungen, die mit dem
Ausgleich von Kontinuität und Wandelbarkeit einhergehen.

Nusasonic am CTM Festival
Nusasonic in Yogya © Nusasonic

2018: Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Nusasonic fand zum ersten Mal vom 2. bis 13. Oktober 2018 in Yogyakarta (Indonesien) statt. Die Initiative versammelte 43 Künstler aus Thailand, Singapur, den Philippinen, Malaysia und Indonesien und begann als ein mehrtägiges Labor, in dem neue Künstlerpaare, ein Hacklab und eine Sonic-Wilderness-Gruppe zusammengebracht wurden, um neue musikalische Werke, Ideen und Möglichkeiten kreierten. Die Veranstaltung gipfelte in einem Festival-Showcase, bei dem die Ergebnisse des Labors vorgestellt wurden und andere eingeladene Künstler im Rahmen eines Programms mit Konzerten, Clubnächten, Guerilla-Veranstaltungen im Freien und einem Tagesprogramm mit Vorträgen, Panels und Workshops auftraten.

Nusasonic in Yogyakarta