Bombo Pluto Ova

Bombo Pluto Ova©
Known for their frenetic energy and devil-may-care attitude during live sets, Bombo Pluto Ova is the longest, if not the only, rock n roll band that pushes the limit between static and sonic (or between noise and nuance) in Cebu’s current music scene. The band is composed of John Caing on guitars, Sam Pipebomb on bass, and Eng-eng on drums. Bombo Pluto Ova has been in the forefront of Cebu’s underground music scene since the early 2000 and has released six albums to date.

Despite their vigor and zeal in releasing joyful noise recordings, their real rapture as a unit lies in playing in front of a live audience. The strange dynamic and sonic chemistry with each member spreads fluidly in between every kick, fill, strum, shred and slap they share when they perform live makes the band truly a sight (and sound) to behold.

With their latest album “Alimpatakan”, released earlier this year under PAWN Records, the trio reworked their usual song framework as they dabbled with the "long form", exploring the possibility of going beyond the formulaic 5-minute length — with a couple of tracks clocking in at 25 or 40 minutes  —  and moving towards capturing the verisimilitude of their live performances.

You might find this also interesting