Humanoid robots on European tour Robots in Residence-Programme

Robots-in-Residence-Programm
© Lena Ziyal

By Jeannette Neustadt

There are scholarship holders who travel in a rather unusual, almost mysterious way. They travel inconspicuously from country to country in a hardside suitcase by post. In the summer of 2020, the Goethe-Institut sent two of these residency artists on an exploratory tour through Europe. Despite Covid-19, they cross borders unhindered and guest in a different city each month. On arrival, they may first have to be freed from their bubble wrap, lifted out of their suitcases and switched on, but then they enter into an immensely interesting dialogue with their outside world - beyond a purely human understanding.
 
We're referring to GAIA and NaoMi, two robot ladies who are to illustrate the relationship between humans and machines in a variety of cultural contexts as part of Robots-in-Residence. They got their names in Rome and Budapest. GAIA stands for “Generazione Algoritmo Intelligenza Artificiale” - “Generation Algorithm Artificial Intelligence”. NaoMI is derived from the model name of the robot. The dark grey, approx. 60 cm tall and slightly more than 5 kg heavy NAO 6 is now the sixth generation of the interactive humanoid robot NAO, developed by the Japanese-French company SoftBank Robotics. It is in use worldwide and serves primarily as a research object for educational institutions. Its 25 degrees of movement make communication with NAO seem particularly natural. The robot has various sensors as well as modules for speech, object and face recognition and speaks several languages
NaoMI in Bratislava  with the artist Emma Záhradníková NaoMI in Bratislava with the artist Emma Záhradníková | © Goethe-Institut As part of the Robots-in-Residence programme, two of these NAO robots travel to various institutes abroad, mainly in Europe. There, they are supervised and further programmed by coders and artists, taking local issues and circumstances into account. The learning progress - especially concerning their interaction with humans - depends to a large extent on the teams working with GAIA and NaoMI. A key component of the programme is the exchange between the different European teams. The programme thus serves not only to reflect on the relationship between humans and robots, but to foster an interdisciplinary and transnational dialogue as well. “Thanks to the robots, people [ultimately] come closer to each other,” is how Professor Wieslaw Kopec from Warsaw sums things up. The special attraction for the local teams is that they can work with the robots independently at home, in their research institution or at the Goethe-Institut - and for a period of four to six weeks.
GAIA in the punching ring in Groningen, Netherlands GAIA in the punching ring in Groningen, Netherlands | © Floris Maathuis The robots then carry their newly acquired knowledge and skills further afield, picking up more and more aspects that, taken together, can capture and spark a multifaceted debate on artificial intelligence. For Milan-based philosopher Zoe Romano, who is taking part in the programme, the unusual residency programme even raises the hope that the two robots will “pass through the hands of many programmers and artists, to learn from everyone and perhaps end up discriminating against no one.”
NaoMI in the Goethe-Institut Warsaw NaoMI in the Goethe-Institut Warsaw | © Goethe-Institut / Adam Burakowski The projects and performances realised with the NAOs can reduce fear of contact, reflect the current state of robotics and dismantle stereotypes taken from pop culture about autonomous entities with their own consciousness. So-called “social” robots like GAIA and NaoMI are built to look like social interaction partners through their appearance, movement patterns and linguistic responses, but they were not meant to be misunderstood as “conspecifics”, i.e. members of our species. Even simple tasks such as grasping and setting down objects are still difficult for them, but robotics is constantly developing. In the future, humanoid robots will support humans in their everyday lives, alleviate their loneliness and take on repetitive and physically demanding tasks. Society has long dreamt of mechanical helpers to perform these and similar tasks. These helpers have been imagined in human form from the very beginning. The term “robot” was born only 100 years before GAIA and NaoMI embarked on their journey. Czech author Karel Čapek coined the term in 1920, derived from the West Slavic “robota” - meaning “work” or “drudgery”.

As human-like machines continue to be developed, the cultural context in which they operate will play an increasingly important role. “Social” robotics requires cultural expertise that engineers and coders do not necessarily have. The collaboration of philosophers, artists and developers is a very promising approach here, as is a playful approach to a topic that is absolutely crucial for the future.

Tour

NaoMI and GAIA will travel through Europe and beyond from June 2020 to September 2021. The following stops are planned for 2021: Bucharest, Riga, Skopje, Dublin, Lyon, Tashkent, Kyiv, Copenhagen, and Rotterdam. In October 2021, the robot ladies will be evaluated by the RoboticLab of TH Wildau and their abilities analysed before they leave for Dresden in November - for the concluding festival of “Generation A=Algorithm” at the German Hygiene Museum.

Pictures, videos and information about previous tour stops:

Bratislava – Slovakia
⇒ Bremen – Germany
⇒ Budapest – Hungary
⇒ Dublin – Ireland
⇒ Glasgow – Scotland
⇒ Groningen – Netherlands
⇒ Milan – Italy
⇒ Munich – Germany
⇒ Prague – Czech 
⇒ Rome – Italy
⇒ Warsaw – Poland

Humanoide Roboter auf Europatournee Robots-in-Residence-Programm

Robots-in-Residence-Programm
© Lena Ziyal

Von Jeannette Neustadt

Es gibt Stipendiat*innen, die sind auf eher ungewöhnliche, fast schon geheimnisvolle Art unterwegs. Sie reisen in einem Hartschalen-Koffer mit der Post unauffällig von Land zu Land. Zwei dieser Residenz-Künstler*innen hat das Goethe-Institut im Sommer 2020 auf Erkundungstour durch Europa geschickt. Trotz Covid-19 überqueren sie ungehindert Grenzen und gastieren jeden Monat in einer anderen Stadt. Bei ihrer Ankunft müssen sie zwar zunächst aus Luftpolsterfolie gewickelt, aus dem Koffer gehoben und eingeschaltet werden, aber dann gehen sie einen äußerst interessanten Dialog mit ihrer Außenwelt ein – jenseits einer rein menschlichen Verständigung.
 
Die Rede ist von GAIA und NaoMi, zwei Roboterdamen, die im Rahmen von Robots-in-Residence in verschiedenen kulturellen Kontexten das Verhältnis von Mensch und Maschine anschaulich machen sollen. Ihre Namen haben sie in Rom und Budapest erhalten. GAIA steht für „Generazione Algoritmo Intelligenza Artificiale“ – auf Deutsch „Generation Algorithmus Künstliche Intelligenz”. NaoMI leitet sich vom Modellnamen des Roboters ab. Der dunkelgraue, etwa 60 Zentimeter große und etwas mehr als fünf Kilogramm schwere NAO 6 ist bereits die sechste Generation des interaktiven humanoiden Roboters NAO, entwickelt von der japanisch-französischen Firma SoftBank Robotics. Er ist weltweit im Einsatz und dient vor allem Bildungseinrichtungen als Forschungsobjekt. Seine 25 Bewegungsgrade lassen die Kommunikation mit NAO besonders natürlich erscheinen. Der Roboter verfügt über verschiedene Sensoren sowie über Module zur Sprach-, Objekt- und Gesichtserkennung und spricht mehrere Sprachen. NaoMI in Bratislava mit der Künstlerin Emma Záhradníková NaoMI in Bratislava mit der Künstlerin Emma Záhradníková | © Goethe-Institut Im Rahmen des Robots-in-Residence Programms reisen zwei dieser NAO-Roboter zu verschiedenen Auslandsinstituten, hauptsächlich in Europa. Dort werden sie von Coder*innen und Künstler*innen betreut und weiter programmiert, je nach lokalen Fragestellungen und Rahmenbedingungen. Die Lernfortschritte – insbesondere die Interaktion mit dem Menschen betreffend – hängen in großem Maße von den Teams ab, die mit GAIA und NaoMI arbeiten. Ein wichtiger Baustein des Programms ist der Austausch der verschiedenen europäischen Teams untereinander. Das Programm dient also nicht nur der Reflektion der Beziehung von Mensch und Roboter, sondern auch der Förderung eines interdisziplinären und länderübergreifenden Dialogs. „Dank der Roboter kommen sich [letztlich] die Menschen näher“, fasst es Professor Wieslaw Kopec aus Warschau zusammen. Der besondere Reiz für die Teams vor Ort besteht darin, dass sie mit den Robotern selbstständig zu Hause, in ihrer Forschungseinrichtung oder am Goethe-Institut arbeiten können – und das über einen Zeitraum von vier bis sechs Wochen.
GAIA im Boxring im niederländischen Groningen GAIA im Boxring im niederländischen Groningen | © Floris Maathuis Im Anschluss tragen die Roboter ihr neu erworbenes Wissen und ihre neuen Fähigkeiten weiter in die Welt hinein und greifen immer mehr Aspekte auf, die zusammen genommen eine vielfältige Debatte über Künstliche Intelligenz einfangen und anstoßen können. Bei der am Programm teilnehmenden Philosophin Zoe Romano aus Mailand weckt das ungewöhnliche Residenzprogramm sogar die Hoffnung, dass die beiden Roboter „durch die Hände vieler Programmierer und Künstler gehen, um von allen zu lernen und am Ende vielleicht niemanden zu diskriminieren“.
NaoMI im Goethe-Institut Warschau NaoMI im Goethe-Institut Warschau | © Goethe-Institut / Adam Burakowski Die mit den NAOs realisierten Projekte und Performances können Berührungsängste abbauen, den derzeitigen Stand der Robotik reflektieren und aus der Popkultur übernommene Klischees von selbstständigen Wesen mit eigenem Bewusstsein widerlegen. So genannte „soziale“ Roboter wie GAIA und NaoMI sind zwar so gebaut, dass sie durch ihr Aussehen, ihre Bewegungsmuster und durch ihre sprachliche Reaktionen wie soziale Interaktionspartner wirken, aber sie sollten nicht als „Artgenossen“ missverstanden werden. Noch fallen ihnen selbst einfache Tätigkeiten wie das Greifen und Abstellen von Objekten schwer, aber die Robotik entwickelt sich stetig weiter. In Zukunft sollen humanoide Roboter den Menschen im Alltag unterstützen, seine Einsamkeit lindern sowie repetitive und körperlich anstrengende Arbeiten übernehmen. Schon lange träumt die Gesellschaft von mechanischen Gehilfen, die diese und ähnliche Aufgaben erfüllen. Von Anfang an wurden diese Gehilfen in menschlicher Gestalt imaginiert. Die Bezeichnung „Roboter“ wurde erst 100 Jahre vor dem Reiseantritt GAIAs und NaoMIs geboren. 1920 prägte der tschechische Schriftsteller Karel Čapek diesen Begriff, abgeleitet vom westslawischen „robota“ – auf Deutsch „Arbeit“ beziehungsweise „Fronarbeit“.

Bei der weiteren Entwicklung der menschenähnlichen Maschinen wird der kulturelle Kontext, in dem sie agieren, eine immer größere Rolle spielen. Die „soziale“ Robotik braucht Kulturexpertise, über die Ingenieur*innen und Coder*innen nicht unbedingt verfügen. Die Zusammenarbeit von Philosoph*innen, Künstler*innen und Entwickler*innen ist dafür ein sehr guter Ansatz; genauso wie der spielerische Zugang zu einem für die Zukunft absolut relevanten Thema.

Tour

NaoMI und GAIA reisen von Juni 2020 bis September 2021 durch Europa und darüber hinaus. Folgende Stationen sind für 2021 geplant: Bukarest, Riga, Skopje, Dublin, Lyon, Taschkent, Kiew, Kopenhagen, Rotterdam. Im Oktober 2021 werden die Roboter-Damen vom RoboticLab der TH Wildau ausgelesen und ihre Fähigkeiten ausgewertet, bevor sie im November nach Dresden aufbrechen – zum Abschlussfestival von „Generation A=Algorithmus“ im Deutschen Hygiene-Museum.

Bilder, Videos und Informationen zu bisherigen Tourstationen:

⇒ Bratislava – Slowakei
⇒ Bremen – Deutschland
⇒ Budapest – Ungarn
⇒ Dublin – Irland
⇒ Glasgow – Schottland
⇒ Groningen – Niederlande
⇒ Mailand – Italien
⇒ München – Deutschland
⇒ Prag – Tschechien
⇒ Rom – Italien
⇒ Warschau – Polen