The Henrike Grohs Art Award

COVID-19 UPDATE

As a duty of care to our project team, contributors, supporters, artists and the visiting public we have taken the decision to not go ahead with hosting the 2020 Henrike Grohs Art Award ceremony in Dakar, Senegal, as was scheduled for 30 May 2020. The ceremony will now take place at a later date, with the prize awarded to the winners at a time still to be confirmed. 

We will communicate the way forward in the coming weeks and will engage directly with partners, stakeholders and artists. The public will be kept updated through our social media channels and our website, as we continue our work through digital channels.

The Henrike Grohs Art Award remains committed to connecting and supporting artistic practice across the continent, and will prioritise developing a new format in which to present the ceremony in 2020.

The Henrike Grohs Art Award is a roving biennial art prize conceived by the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family in memory of the former Head of Goethe-Institut in Abidjan, Henrike Grohs.
 
The prize is run through an open call process and is aimed at young artists who live and work on the African continent. It is awarded biennially to an artist or arts collective practicing in the field of visual arts. The award aims to support emerging artists in their careers, responding to the challenges of practicing on the African continent. Artistic quality is the most important criteria for the award.
 
The main prize is awarded by an international jury after a shortlist is compiled by a selection committee. The winning individual artist or collective will receive a cash prize of 20.000€ and 10.000€ towards the production of a catalogue on the winner's work. Two artists or collectives will be selected as runners up and will be awarded a cash prize of 5.000€ each. Each iteration of the awards' ceremony is celebrated at a different biennale or major art event on the continent. 
 
The Steering Committee of the Henrike Grohs Award includes the Grohs family, the Goethe-Institute, Raphael Chikukwa (Chief Curator, National Gallery of Zimbabwe, Harare) and Simon Njami (independent curator, Paris).

Applications to the 2nd Henrike Grohs Art Award closed on 15 November 2019. Over 400 applications were received from 28 countries across the continent.
 

About Henrike Grohs

Henrike Grohs studied ethnology and was Head of the Goethe-Institut in Abidjan from 2013 – 2016. She co-founded the project Next - Intercultural Projects at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. Between 2002 and 2009, she worked as Project Manager in the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra’s Education programme. In 2009, she was appointed Advisor on Culture and Development at the Goethe-Institut in South Africa. Henrike Grohs passed away in a terrorist attack in Côte d’Ivoire in March 2016 along with seventeen other people. She was 51 at the time.

The Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut is the Federal Republic of Germany’s cultural institute, active worldwide. Its mandate is to promote the study of German abroad and to encourage international cultural exchange. Today it is represented in 98 countries and has some 3,300 employees. It contributes widely to the promotion of artists, ideas and works. Supporting the local cultural scenes and strengthening pan-African dialogue through the arts are part of its mission on the African continent, where it operates 19 institutes located in Abidjan, Accra, Addis Ababa, Alexandria, Cairo, Casablanca, Dakar, Dar es Salaam, Johannesburg, Khartoum, Kigali, Lagos, Lomé, Luanda, Nairobi, Rabat, Tunis, Windhoek and Yaoundé, as well as three liaison offices in Algiers, Kinshasa and Ouagadougou and cultural associations in Antananarivo, Bamako, Cape Town, Harare, Kampala and Maputo.

Der Henrike Grohs Art Award

COVID-19 UPDATE

Aus der Sorgfaltspflicht gegenüber unserem Projektteam, den Mitwirkenden, Unterstützern, Künstlern und der besuchenden Öffentlichkeit, haben wir die schwere Entscheidung getroffen, die Zeremonie für den Henrike Grohs Art Award 2020 in Dakar, Senegal auf unbestimmte Zeit zu verschieben.

Wir arbeiten in engem Kontakt mit den Künstlern und allen Beteiligten an Lösungen für die aktuellen Herausforderungen. Weitere Schritte werden in den kommenden Wochen angekündigt.
Während wir unsere Arbeit auf digitalem Weg fortsetzen, wird die Öffentlichkeit über unsere Social-Media-Kanäle und unsere Website auf dem Laufenden gehalten.

Der Henrike Grohs Art Award bleibt weiterhin dem Ziel verbunden, Künstler auf dem gesamten Kontinent miteinander zu verbinden, zu fördern und vor allem ein neues Format zu entwickeln, so dass die Zeremonie im Jahr 2020 durchgeführt werden kann.

Der Henrike Grohs Art Award ist eine künstlerische Auszeichnung, die alle zwei Jahre verliehen wird. Gegründet wurde der Preis vom Goethe-Institut und der Familie Grohs in Erinnerung an Henrike Grohs, die frühere Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in Abidjan.

Der Preis ist mit einer offenen Ausschreibung verbunden. Er richtet sich an  junge Künstler*innen, die in Afrika leben und arbeiten. Der Preis wird alle zwei Jahre an Künstler*innen oder ein Künstler*innenkollektiv im Bereich der Bildenden Kunst vergeben. Angesichts der Herausforderungen auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent möchte der Preis besonders Künstler*innen unterstützen, die am Anfang ihrer Karriere stehen. Gleichwohl ist die künstlerische Qualität das ausschlaggebende Kriterium für die Auszeichnung.
 
Den ersten Preis verleiht die internationale Jury einer Person oder einem Kollektiv auf der Basis einer Auswahlliste, erstellt von einem Nominierungskomitee. Der Preisträger, die Preisträgerin oder das ausgezeichnete Kollektiv erhält ein Preisgeld in Höhe von 20.000 € und weitere 10.000 € für eine Publikation zum jeweiligen Werk. Zwei weitere Personen oder Kollektive erhalten als gleichwertigen zweiten und dritten Preis jeweils 5.000 €. Die Preisverleihung findet jeweils im Rahmen einer Biennale oder einer herausragenden künstlerischen Veranstaltung in Afrika statt.
 
Dem Lenkungsausschuss für den Henrike Grohs Award gehören an: Familie Grohs, das Goethe-Institut, Raphael Chikukwa (Chefkurator, National Gallery of Zimbabwe, Harare) und Simon Njami (Freiberuflicher Kurator, Paris).

Die Bewerbungsfrist für den 2. Henrike Grohs Art Award lief am 15. November 2019 aus. Über 400 Bewerbungen aus 28 Ländern des afrikanischen Kontinents haben uns erreicht.

Über Henrike Grohs

Henrike Grohs studierte Ethnologie und war von 2013 bis 2016 Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in Abidjan. Sie war Mitbegründerin des Projekts „Next – Interkulturelle Projekte“ am Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. Von 2002 bis 2009 wirkte Henrike Grohs als Projektleiterin im Bildungsprogramm der Berliner Philharmoniker. 2009 wurde sie Beraterin im Bereich Bildung und Entwicklung des Goethe-Instituts Südafrika. Zusammen mit 17 weiteren Personen wurde Henrike Grohs 2016 bei einem terroristischen Angriff in der Elfenbeinküste ermordet. Sie wurde 51 Jahre alt.

Das Goethe-Institut

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Es fördert die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegt die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Es ist gegenwärtig mit insgesamt 3.300 Mitarbeiter*innen in 98 Ländern tätig. In Afrika unterstützt es die lokalen Kulturszenen und vertieft durch künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen den pan-afrikanischen Dialog mit 19 Goethe-Instituten in Abidjan, Accra, Addis Ababa, Alexandria, Kairo, Casablanca, Dakar, Dar es Salaam, Johannesburg, Khartum, Kigali, Lagos, Lomé, Luanda, Nairobi, Rabat, Tunis, Windhuk und Yaoundé sowie drei Verbindungsbüros in Algier, Kinshasa und Ouagadougou und Kulturgesellschaften in Antananarivo, Bamako, Kapstadt, Harare, Kampala and Maputo.  

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren