The Visual Arts Project Fund

IKF Projekt "Golden Age of extremes" Photo (detail): © Jamie Fyson Howard, IKF Projekt "Golden Age of extremes"

Collaborative work processes and artistic research in global, trans-cultural contexts open up opportunities for shared learning and the production of new knowledge across national borders. The Goethe-Institut's Visual Arts Project Fund supports artists, curators and institutions from different countries and regions in the realisation of projects planned jointly and based on an equal division of labour and creative input. The aim is to promote international networks in the visual arts, architecture, design and art education/cultural mediation through innovative artistic and curatorial work.

We provide funding for the development of exhibitions and discursive formats with transnational cooperative working structures from the fields of visual art, architecture, design and art education/cultural mediation as well as interdisciplinary projects. The fund is aimed at professional artists, curators and cultural practitioners working abroad and in Germany. It supports their creative and intellectual engagement in a project which they conceive and implement together, and in which they collaborate as equal partners across national boundaries while sensitive to specific contexts, thereby creating new modes/ possibilities of form and content. 

If you are planning a project in the fields of theatre, dance, music or performance, please apply for founding via the Goethe-Institut’s International Coproduction Fund.

Your application, which must be submitted by two or more partners, of whom one must live and work abroad, should show that working contacts already exist and that you intend to implement the project in a dialogue-oriented manner. You must provide written confirmation from at least one institution (art association, museum, educational institution, etc.) of your interest in collaborating with you and the other applicants and interest in the content of the project as a binding part of the application documents to be submitted.

The Visual Arts Project Fund supports projects that can be expected to have a high quality and lasting impact of the artistic or discursive results. Their public presentation in at least one location outside of Germany is obligatory. The inclusion of several locations increases the chances of your application and can be supported by a correspondingly higher funding amount. The maximum funding amount is 25,000 €. You and your partners will document the course of the project with photos, videos, etc. and a detailed final report.

Applicants can contact the Goethe-Institut at an early stage of project development. The Visual Arts Division at the Goethe-Institut's headquarters in Munich as well as the Goethe-Institut in the respective country offer assistance with the application and advice on networking with other project partners when necessary.
 
We provide funding for projects from the fields of visual arts, architecture, design and art education/cultural mediation as well as interdisciplinary formats. The fund is administered by the Visual Arts Division at the Goethe-Institut's headquarters.

If you are planning a project in the fields of theatre, dance, music or performance, please apply for the Goethe-Institut’s International Coproduction Fund.

Applications that meet our criteria are submitted to a jury of experts and representatives of the Goethe-Institut for decision. In making its decision, the jury will be guided by the following award criteria:
  • Project quality and roles of the participating cultural operators in their respective scenes
  • Expected impact of artistic or discursive results
  • Contemporary relevance of the questions and objectives
  • Balanced and dialogical approach to cooperation without one project partner dominating
  • Establishment of continuing cooperation structures
  • Consideration of ecological and social sustainability and inclusiveness in the project’s implementation
  • Budget with details of your own/third-party funds and solid financial plan
  • Preference is given to projects between partners from Germany and transition countries and the Global South.
Two jury meetings are held annually after the application deadlines. Applicants will be informed about the results in a timely manner.

Application deadlines

Deadlines for applications with project start dates


2021: through 15 April 2021
2022: through 15 October 2021 and through 15 April 2022
Please submit your application for the Visual Arts Project Fund electronically via the Goethe-Institut's Application Portal. Applications can only be submitted in English.

The instructions for the application form provide information on the fields you have to fill in and the documents you have to submit. Please read the instructions carefully before filling in an application form. We also refer you to our legal data privacy declaration.

 
Contact:

If you have any questions, please write to us at:
projektfonds@goethe.de
 
1. Who can apply?

The fund is aimed at professional artists, curators and cultural practitioners with proven experience in working and exhibiting in professional contexts.
 
We require at least two project partners for an application, one of whom lives and works inside and one outside of Germany. The application is handed in by one of the partners, the applicant. The second project partner receives an email with a prompt to confirm the application.

 
2. Who submits the application?

One project partner submits the application and is considered the applicant; the second project partner is requested by e-mail to confirm her or his participation and data. Until we receive this confirmation, the application is assumed not to have been received. All participating institutions and further partners attach a confirmation of cooperation or declaration of intent.
 
3. Is an institutional affiliation necessary?

One of the aims of the Visual Arts Project Fund is to promote international networks in the visual arts, architecture, design and cultural mediation through innovative artistic and curatorial work. An institutional affiliation underscores the proposed project's orientation towards this goal. We expect your cooperation with at least one institution (museum, art association, educational institution, etc.)

If applicants are not yet networked with institutions for their project, they can contact the Goethe-Institutes abroad and the Visual Arts Division at the Goethe-Institut headquarters for advice and possible assistance.

4. Can institutions apply?

While an institution must participate in the application (at least in a supporting capacity), an application by an institution as a main applicant requires that a specific person is designated as contact partner who will work on the project both creatively and on an equal basis with the project partners. The application must specify this person's role in and contribution to the project. An application of this kind is therefore not excluded in principle, but care must be taken to ensure that such a constellation does not involve the commissioning of an artist/curator.
 
Two institutions can also apply as project partners with a joint project if it fulfils all of the Fund’s other criteria.
 
Smaller, less financially strong institutions may be given preference.

5. Can a Goethe-Institut abroad or in Germany be counted as a participating institution in the project?

No, unfortunately we cannot offer this option. However, you are welcome to contact both the institutes abroad and the Visual Arts Division at the Goethe-Institut's headquarters for assistance in finding a participating institution.
 
6. Where and how often must the project be presented?

Your project has to be presented publicly in at least one location in a professional environment outside Germany. However, the involvement of several locations increases your application's chances, which in this case can be supported by a correspondingly higher funding amount.

7. What projects are specifically not supported by the Visual Arts Project Fund?

Projects that have already started at the time of application and projects in which the project partners’ equal status and the dialogic approach are not guaranteed (e.g. commissioned work) are specifically ineligible for funding.

An example of such an ineligible constellation is the exhibition of an artist and their work by a curator at a gallery. Funding for a subsequent presentation or the touring of an existing exhibition project by several artists is also excluded.

These examples do not fulfil all of the Fund's central principles: joint creative and intellectual work on a jointly conceived and implemented project where all project partners contribute equally, working across national boundaries to create something new together.
 
8. How can I increase our project's chances of being funded?

The Visual Arts Project Fund supports projects that can be expected to have a high quality and lasting impact of artistic or discursive results. Positive factors for your application's chances of success are:
  • Thematisation of relevant contemporary issues and current discourses in the visual arts, architecture and design
  • Your partner institution(s)' importance and visibility for the presentation and discussion of the results of your work
  • Establishment of continuing collaborative structures
  • Consideration of ecological and social sustainability as well as inclusiveness in the implementation of the project
9. How does the application process work?

Your application is to be submitted and processed via the Goethe-Institut's application portal. Once we have received your application, it will be reviewed by the Visual Arts Division at the Goethe-Institut's headquarters. A jury will discuss all applications received that meet our criteria and make a decision regarding funding.
 
10. What happens if our financial framework deviates from the original plan?

You must immediately notify the Visual Arts Division at the Goethe-Institut headquarters of any deviations from the financial plan submitted as part of your application. A subsequent increase in the funding amount is excluded.
 
11. Can projects be funded that have already started prior to our application?

In principle, projects that have already started cannot be funded. However, this does not apply to the conception and planning phase of a project. If you are unsure as to whether your project would be categorised as already started, please feel free to contact us.

12. What formats are eligible?

No limits are set to your creativity in the conception of formats, as long as the criteria of transnational, equal cooperation in a newly emerging project are met. In addition to exhibition projects, discursive formats such as discussion events are also an option. Digital formats are also possible and expressly encouraged.
 

Next Application Deadline

The next closing date for applications is 15.10.2021 at 11:59 AM (CET - time in Germany). 

Applications will only be excepted through the Kulturförderportal which will be open from 1.09.2021 to 15.10.2021.

To the Kulturförderportal
Please always include your application number if you have any questions about ongoing applications.

Contact

If you have any questions, please write to us at:
projektfonds@goethe.de

Projektfonds Bildende Kunst

IKF Projekt „Golden Age of extremes“ Foto (Ausschnitt): © Jamie Fyson Howard, IKF Projekt „Golden Age of extremes“


Kollaborative Arbeitsprozesse und künstlerische Forschung in globalen, transkulturellen Zusammenhängen eröffnen  die Möglichkeit gemeinsamen Lernens und der Produktion neuen Wissens über nationale Grenzen hinweg. 

Der Projektfonds Bildende Kunst des Goethe-Instituts will Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Institutionen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern und Regionen bei der Realisierung gemeinsam und arbeitsteilig geplanter Projekte unterstützen. Ziel ist die Förderung internationaler Netzwerke in Bildender Kunst¸ Architektur, Design und Kunstvermittlung. 

Der Projektfonds Bildende Kunst fördert die Entwicklung von Ausstellungen und diskursiven Formaten mit länderübergreifenden kooperativen Arbeitsstrukturen aus den Bereichen Bildende Kunst, Architektur, Design und Kunstvermittlung sowie interdisziplinäre Projekte. Der Fonds richtet sich an professionell arbeitende Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Kulturschaffende im Ausland und in Deutschland. Er fördert deren kreative und intellektuelle Arbeit an einem gemeinsam konzipierten und durchgeführten Projekt, in das sich alle Projektpartner*innen gleichberechtigt einbringen und dabei über nationalstaatliche Grenzen hinweg und gleichzeitig kontextsensibel etwas inhaltlich Neues schaffen.

Wenn  Sie ein Projekt in den Bereichen Theater, Tanz, Musik oder Performance planen, bewerben Sie sich bitte beim Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds des Goethe-Instituts um Förderung.

Eine Bewerbung muss von zwei oder mehreren Partner*innen vorgelegt werden, von denen eine*r den Arbeits- und Lebensmittelpunkt im Ausland und eine*r in Deutschland hat. Aus der Bewerbung sollte hervorgehen, dass bereits Arbeitskontakte bestehen und eine dialogorientierte Umsetzung des Projekts intendiert ist. Eine schriftliche Bestätigung von mindestens einer Institution (Kunstverein, Museum, Bildungseinrichtung, etc.) über das Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit mit den Bewerber*innen sowie eine inhaltliche Beschreibung des Projekts ist verbindlicher Teil der Bewerbung.

Der Projektfonds Bildende Kunst fördert Vorhaben, die eine hohe Qualität und nachhaltige Wirkung der künstlerischen oder diskursiven Ergebnisse erwarten lassen. Die öffentliche Präsentation der Ergebnisse an mindestens einem Ort außerhalb Deutschlands ist verpflichtend. Die Einbindung mehrerer Orte erhöht die Chancen einer Bewilligung des Antrags und kann durch eine entsprechend höhere Fördersumme unterstützt werden. Die maximale Fördersumme beträgt 25.000 €. Der Projektverlauf ist von den beteiligten Partner*innen durch Fotos, Videos, etc. sowie durch einen ausführlichen Abschlussbericht zu dokumentieren.

Bewerber*innen im Ausland und in Deutschland können sich bereits in der Phase der Projektentwicklung und vor der Antragstellung an das Goethe-Institut wenden. Der Fachbereich Bildende Kunst sowie die lokalen Goethe-Institute unterstützen die Bewerber*innen bei der Antragstellung. 
 
Der Projektfonds fördert Vorhaben aus den Bereichen Bildende Kunst, Architektur, Design und Kunstvermittlung sowie interdisziplinäre Formate. Der Fonds wird verwaltet vom Fachbereich Bildende Kunst in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts.

Wenn Sie ein Projekt in den Bereichen Theater, Tanz, Musik oder Performance planen, bewerben Sie sich bitte über den  Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds des Goethe-Instituts.

Sofern ein Antrag alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt, wird er einer Jury aus Expert*innen und Vertreter*innen des Goethe-Instituts zur Entscheidung vorgelegt. Die Jury orientiert sich u.a. an folgenden Vergabekriterien:
 
  • Qualität des Vorhabens und Relevanz der beteiligten Kulturschaffenden in ihren jeweiligen Szenen
  • Zu erwartende Wirkung der künstlerischen oder diskursiven Ergebnisse
  • Gegenwartsbezug der Fragestellungen
  • Ausgewogenheit und dialogischer Ansatz der Kooperation ohne Dominanz eines*r Projektpartner*in
  • Etablierung weiterwirkender Strukturen der Zusammenarbeit
  • Berücksichtigung von ökologischer und sozialer Nachhaltigkeit sowie Inklusivität bei der Umsetzung des Projektes
  • Budget mit ausgewiesenen Eigen-/Drittmitteln und solidem Finanzplan
  • Projekte zwischen Partner*innen aus Deutschland und Transformationsländern sowie dem globalen Süden werden bevorzugt.
Jährlich finden zwei Jurysitzungen nach Ende der Bewerbungsfristen statt. Die Bewerber*innen werden zeitnah über das Ergebnis informiert.

Bewerbungsfristen

Bewerbungsfristen für Anträge mit Projektbeginn

2021: bis zum 15. April 2021
2022: bis zum 15. Oktober 2021 sowie bis zum 15. April 2022

 
Bitte reichen Sie Ihre Bewerbung  für den Projektfonds Bildende Kunst ausschließlich auf Englisch über das Kulturförderportal des Goethe-Instituts ein.

Die Anleitung zum Bewerbungsformular gibt Ihnen Hinweise zu den auszufüllenden Feldern und den einzureichenden Unterlagen. Bitte lesen Sie die Erläuterungen gründlich, bevor Sie einen Antrag ausfüllen. Zudem weisen wir Sie auf die geltende Datenschutzerklärung hin.

 
Kontakt

Bitte wenden Sie sich bei Fragen an:
projektfonds@goethe.de
1. Wer kann sich bewerben?

Der Projektfonds Bildende Kunst richtet sich an Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen, Kunstvermittler*innen und Kulturschaffende, die über nachgewiesene Arbeits- bzw. Ausstellungserfahrung in professionellen Kontexten verfügen.
 
Für eine Bewerbung sind mindestens zwei Projektpartner*innen nötig, von denen eine*r innerhalb und eine*r außerhalb Deutschlands lebt und arbeitet. Die Bewerbung wird von einem*r Antragsteller*in eingereicht. Der*die zweite Projektpartner*in erhält eine Mail mit der Aufforderung zur Bestätigung der Bewerbung.
 
2. Wer reicht die Bewerbung ein?

Ein*e  Projektpartner*in reicht den Antrag ein und ist Antragsteller*in; der*die zweite Projektpartner*in wird per E-Mail zur Bestätigung der Teilnahme und Daten aufgefordert. Bis zum Eingang dieser Bestätigung gilt die Bewerbung als nicht eingegangen. Alle beteiligten Institutionen und weiteren Partner*innen legen eine Kooperationsbestätigung bzw. Absichtserklärung bei.
 
3. Ist eine institutionelle Anbindung nötig?

Eines der Ziele des Projektfonds Bildende Kunst ist die Förderung internationaler Netzwerke in Bildender Kunst, Architektur und Design durch innovative künstlerische und kuratorische Arbeit. Eine institutionelle Anbindung unterstreicht die Orientierung des beantragten Projekts an diesem Ziel. Erwartet wird die Kooperation mit mindestens einer Institution (Museum, Kunstverein, Bildungseinrichtung, etc.)

Sollten die Antragsteller*innen für ihr Projekt noch nicht mit Institutionen vernetzt sein, können sie sich für Beratung und mögliche Hilfestellung an die Goethe-Institute im Ausland und den Fachbereich Bildende Kunst in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts wenden.

4. Können sich Institutionen bewerben?

Eine Institution muss zwar (zumindest unterstützend) an der Bewerbung beteiligt sein, die Bewerbung einer Institution als Haupantragsteller erfordert jedoch, dass eine konkrete Person als Ansprechpartner*in genannt wird, die kreativ und auf Augenhöhe mit den Projektpartner*innen am Projekt arbeitet. Die Rolle und vorgesehene Arbeitsweise dieser Person sollte im Antrag ausgeführt sein. Grundsätzlich ist eine solche Bewerbung also nicht ausgeschlossen, allerdings muss darauf geachtet werden, dass es sich bei einer solchen Konstellation nicht um die Beauftragung eine*r Künstler*in/Kurator*in handelt.
 
Ebenso können sich auch zwei Institutionen als Projektpartner*innen mit einem gemeinsamen Projekt bewerben, wenn es alle weiteren Kriterien erfüllt.
 
Kleinere, weniger finanzstarke Institutionen werden ggf. bevorzugt.

5. Kann ein Goethe-Institut im Ausland oder in Deutschland als beteiligte Institution im Rahmen des Projekts betrachtet werden?

Nein, das ist nicht möglich. Sie können sich jedoch zur Unterstützung bei der Suche nach einer beteiligten Institution gerne sowohl an die Auslandsinstitute als auch den Bereich Bildende Kunst an der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts wenden.
 
6. Wo und wie oft sollte das Projekt präsentiert werden? 

Projekt muss an mindestens einem Ort in einem professionellen Umfeld außerhalb Deutschlands öffentlich stattfinden. Die Einbindung mehrerer Orte erhöht jedoch die Chancen des Antrags, der in diesem Fall durch eine entsprechend höhere Fördersumme unterstützt werden kann. 

7. Welche Projekte werden ausdrücklich nicht vom Projektfonds Bildende Kunst gefördert?

Ausdrücklich nicht gefördert werden Projekte, die zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung schon begonnen haben sowie Projekte, bei denen die Gleichrangigkeit der Projektpartner*innen und der dialogische Ansatz nicht gewahrt sind (z.B. Auftragsarbeiten).

Ein Beispiel für eine solche, ausgeschlossene Konstellation ist etwa die Ausstellung eine*r Künstler*in und ihres Werkes durch eine Kurator*in an einer Galerie. Ebenso ausgeschlossen ist die Förderung einer weiteren Präsentation oder der Tournee eines bestehenden Ausstellungsprojektes mehrerer Künstler*innen.

Diese Beispiele erfüllen nicht alle zentralen Ideen des Fonds: Die gemeinsame kreative und intellektuelle Arbeit an einem gemeinsam konzipierten und durchgeführten Projekt, in das sich alle Projektpartner*innen gleichwertig einbringen, gemeinsam etwas Neues schaffen und dabei über nationalstaatliche Grenzen hinweg arbeiten. 
 
8. Wie kann ich die Chancen auf Förderung unseres Projektes erhöhen?

Der Projektfonds Bildende Kunst fördert Vorhaben, die eine hohe Qualität und nachhaltige Wirkung der künstlerischen oder diskursiven Ergebnisse erwarten lassen. Positive Faktoren für die Erfolgschancen der Bewerbung sind:
  • die Thematisierung relevanter Fragestellungen der Gegenwart bzw. aktueller Diskurse in Bildender Kunst, Architektur und Design
  • die Bedeutung und Sichtbarkeit der Partnerinstitution(en) für die Präsentation und Diskussion der Arbeitsergebnisse
  • die Etablierung weiterwirkender Strukturen der Zusammenarbeit
  • die Berücksichtigung von ökologischer und sozialer Nachhaltigkeit sowie Inklusivität bei der Umsetzung des Projektes 
9. Wie läuft der Bewerbungsprozess ab?

Die Bewerbung wird über das Antragsportal des Goethe-Instituts eingereicht und bearbeitet; nach Eingang der Bewerbung wird diese durch den Fachbereich Bildende Kunst in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts geprüft. Eine Jury diskutiert alle eingegangenen und den Kriterien entsprechenden Bewerbungen und trifft die Entscheidung hinsichtlich der Förderung.
 
10. Was passiert, wenn der finanzielle Rahmen von der ursprünglichen Planung abweicht?

Abweichungen vom als Teil der Bewerbung eingereichten Finanzplan sind dem Fachbereich Bildende Kunst in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts unverzüglich mitzuteilen. Eine nachträgliche Erhöhung der Fördersumme ist ausgeschlossen.
 
11. Können Projekte gefördert werden, die vor der Bewerbung bereits angelaufen sind?

Bereits angelaufene Projekte können grundsätzlich nicht gefördert werden. Dies bezieht sich jedoch nicht auf die Konzeptions- und Planungsphase eines Projektes. Sollten Sie sich unsicher sein, ob Ihr Projekt als bereits angelaufen kategorisiert werden würde, können Sie sich gerne an uns wenden.

12. Welche Formate kommen in Frage?

Bei der Konzeption von Formaten sind Ihrer Kreativität keine Grenzen gesetzt, solange die Kriterien der transnationalen, gleichberechtigten Kooperation in einem neu entstehenden Projekt erfüllt sind. In Frage kommen neben Ausstellungsprojekten auch diskursive Formate wie Diskussionsveranstaltungen. Auch digitale Formate sind möglich und ausdrücklich erwünscht.
 

Nächster Bewerbungsschluss

Der nächste Bewerbungsschluss ist der 15.10.2021 um 11.59 Uhr (CET - Zeit in Deutschland). 

Anträge können ab dem 1.09.2021 über das Kulturförderportal eingereicht werden.

Zum Kulturförderportal
Geben Sie bei Fragen zu laufenden Anträgen bitte immer Ihre Antragsnummer an. 
 

Kontakt

Bitte wenden Sie sich bei Fragen an:
projektfonds@goethe.de