Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Der Musiker Lars-Ánte KuhmunenFoto (Detail): Susanne Hætta/ Susannefoto.com/BONO/VG Bild Kunst

das goethe

2/2020 – The Right to Be Cold: Arctic people and climate change

“das goethe” is the Goethe-Institut’s cultural magazine. It appears twice a year as an insert in the weekly newspaper “Die Zeit”.


The Right to Be Cold

The project “The Right to Be Cold” is looking at the climate crisis from a perspective that has so far received less attention: What does global warming mean for the people who have lived in the far north for many generations?

Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land

The consequences of climate change vary worldwide. In the photo gallery of this issue we show insights of the Indian photographer Arko Datto (* 1986). In his project “Shunyo Raja. Kings of a Bereft Land”, he documents the environmental changes that people in Ganges delta are exposed. In this delta, which is repeatedly affected by floods and the Sundarbans, the largest mangrove forests in the world, are the most important Earth. At present, three quarters of the delta is at risk as a result of climate change. Datto’s Project was supported by the Goethe-Institut and the Prince Claus Fund and is shown within the multimedia online presentation “Take Me to the River”: takemetotheriver.net

  • Behind the new dam is the ruin of a village school. Cranes in the distance stand on the building site for a power station. Matarbari, Bangladesh. 2020. Photo: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    Behind the new dam is the ruin of a village school. Cranes in the distance stand on the building site for a power station. Matarbari, Bangladesh. 2020.
  • A woman washes her laundry. Her house was destroyed when a protective dam broke. Sagar Island, India. 2019. Photo: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    A woman washes her laundry. Her house was destroyed when a protective dam broke. Sagar Island, India. 2019.
  • The tidal currents reach as far as the northern Sundarbans, Dozens of miles from the coast. Here locals cross the river Datta at low tide. Sadhupur, India. 2019. Photo: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    The tidal currents reach as far as the northern Sundarbans, Dozens of miles from the coast. Here locals cross the river Datta at low tide. Sadhupur, India. 2019.
  • After the hurricane: In the foreground the ruins of a cemetery, behind it the remains of a shelter. Matarbari, Bangladesh. 2020. Photo: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    After the hurricane: In the foreground the ruins of a cemetery, behind it the remains of a shelter. Matarbari, Bangladesh. 2020.
  • After Hurricane Bulbul left a trail of destruction in the South Bengal region of destruction, a resident repairs an electrical line. Bakkhali, India. 2019. Photo: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    After Hurricane Bulbul left a trail of destruction in the South Bengal region of destruction, a resident repairs an electrical line. Bakkhali, India. 2019.
Two divers under water with an art object Gilberto Esparza/Taller30, Harvester installation, 2018-2020 | Photo: Iván Puig Domene

Five Sentences Art: Kora-Llysis

“Coral reefs are particularly threatened by the consequences of climate change worldwide. By combining art, science and technology, we are raising awareness of the precarious situation of these ecosystems and developing new strategies for their restoration. Our objects consist of movable ceramic structures that are able to generate electricity with the help of ocean currents. As a result of electrolytic processes, magnesium and calcium minerals are deposited on these structures, enabling us to accelerate the growth of corals. The installation is intended to be used wherever there are reefs and to raise public awareness of these important ecosystems”.

The Mexican artist Gilberto Esparza was born in 1975 and lives in Mexico City. His works include in particular robot-like structures that generate their energy independently. He is always concerned with addressing the issue of sustainability. He works closely together with natural scientists and engineers in the implementation process. Esparza's project was supported by the Goethe-Institut and the Prince Claus Fund and is shown in the multimedia online presentation “Take Me to the River”: takemetotheriver.net

Video statements

How can the arts inspire and motivate us to meet the challenges of climate change?

We asked artists whose works where supported by the Goethe-Institut and Prince Claus Fund and which are shown within the multimedia online presentation “Take Me to the River” (starting 15 December 2020). 

Mohamed Mahdy © Mohamed Mahdy / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Mohamed Mahdy

Idependent Documentary Photographer and Filmmaker

Entire issue

The tenth issue of “das Goethe” focuses on the particularly serious effects of climate change in the Arctic region. With the project “The Right to Be Cold”, we are looking at the climate crisis from a perspective that has so far received less attention: What does global warming mean for the people who have lived in the far north for many generations?

Read the current issue of das goethe as a pdf:

The title of the project “The Right to Be Cold” is derived from the long struggle of the Inuit for their rights in times of climate change. In her book of the same name (2015), Sheila Watt-Cloutier describes the link between climate change and human rights in a petition that she and 62 other Inuit from Canada and Alaska submitted to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights in 2005. Although the Commission did not accept the petition, there was a historic hearing on the legal implications of climate change for human rights. In her speech at the UN Climate Change Conference in Paris on 3 December 2015, the former Chair of the Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC), Okalik Eegeesiak, called for climate change to be made a human rights issue and for the rights of indigenous peoples to be enshrined in the agreement. In her speech she said: "We have the right to be cold.


Project „The Right to Be Cold“

Black and white picture of a woman and animals in the snow Photo (detail): © Susanne Hætta/BONO 2020

Dossier on climate justice
The Right to Be Cold*

Melting polar caps, starving polar bears, forest fires in Siberia: These are images of climate change that are going around the world. In the Arctic regions, the effects of global warming have long been threatening the livelihoods of Indigenous peoples. The Project The Right to Be Cold brings together the voices of those who stand up for self-determination and climate justice – in essays, debates and interviews.


Previous online issues

Tell me about Europe Collage (Detail): © privat/TEMPUS CORPORATE

“das goethe” 1/2020 - Tell me about Europe

Experiences of war, oppression and flight in Europe: For the project “Tell me about Europe”, contemporary witnesses, born before 1945, tell about their lives – and reflect critically on their history against the background of the European idea.

 

das goethe 2/2019 Art Directors & TRIP/Alamy Stock Foto

“das goethe” 2/2019 - web errors

Contributions on the topic “digital civil society” with articles about, for example, digital colonialism, about “Wiki Loves Women,” a diverse scene of independent online media in Russia and an artwork by Julia Steinigeweg.


Printed editions of “das goethe”

das goethe 1/2020 © Collage: © private/TEMPUS CORPORATE

das goethe 1/2020

The ninth issue of “das goethe” is devoted to experiences of war, oppression and flight in Europe: For the project “Tell me about Europe”, contemporary witnesses, born before 1945, tell about their lives – and reflect critically on their history against the background of the European idea.

das goethe 2/2019 © Art Directors & TRIP/Alarmy Stock Foto

das goethe 2/2019

The eighth issue of das goethe is devoted to the theme of the “digital civil society” with articles about, for example, digital colonialism, about “Wiki Loves Women,” a diverse scene of independent online media in Russia and an artwork by Julia Steinigeweg.
 

das goethe 1/2019 © Goethe-Instiut

das goethe 1/2019

The seventh edition of “das goethe“ is dedicated to the theme “Cultures of Equality.” With contributions by, among others, the philosopher Philipp Hübl on the moral of the machine, an essay by anthropologist Dina Makram-Ebeid on the feminism debates north and south of the Mediterranean, a report by Klaus Bardenhagen on queer Taiwan and an interview with the director of the Museo Nacional de Etnografía y Folklore in La Paz, Elvira Espejo.
 


Contact

Communications Division
oeffentlichkeitsarbeit@goethe.de
Goethe-Institut e.V.
Oskar-von-Miller-Ring 18
D-80333 Munich


Supporters

"das goethe" is made possible with the kind support of the following companies from the Business and Industry Board of the Goethe-Institut:

Bertelsmann Holtzbrinck Würth

  

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Der Musiker Lars-Ánte KuhmunenPhoto (detail): Susanne Hætta/Susannefoto.com/BONO/VG Bild Kunst

das goethe - Das Recht auf Kälte

2/2020 – Das Recht auf Kälte: Die Menschen in der Arktis und der Klimawandel

„das goethe“ ist das Kulturmagazin des Goethe-Instituts. Es erscheint zweimal pro Jahr und liegt der Wochenzeitung „Die Zeit“ bei.


Das Recht auf Kälte

Das Projekt „The Right to Be Cold“ betrachtet die Klimakrise aus einer bisher weniger beachteten Perspektive: Was bedeutet die globale Erwärmung für die Menschen, die seit vielen Generationen im hohen Norden leben?

Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land

Die Folgen des Klimawandels sind weltweit unterschiedlich. In der Bildstrecke dieser Ausgabe zeigen wir Einblicke des indischen Fotografen Arko Datto (* 1986). In seinem Projekt „Shunyo Raja. Kings of a Bereft Land“ dokumentiert er die Umweltveränderungen, denen die Menschen im Ganges-Delta ausgesetzt sind. In diesem Delta, das immer wieder von Überschwemmungen und Stürmen heimgesucht wird, befinden sich die Sundarbans, die größten Mangrovenwälder der Erde. Derzeit sind drei Viertel des Deltas infolge des Klimawandels gefährdet. Dattos Projekt wurde durch das Goethe-Institut und den Prince Claus Fund gefördert und wird im Rahmen der multimedialen Online-Präsentation „Take Me to the River“ gezeigt: takemetotheriver.net

  • Hinter dem neuen Damm steht die Ruine einer Dorfschule. Die Kräne in der Ferne stehen auf der Baustelle für ein Kraftwerk. Matarbari, Bangladesch. 2020. Foto: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    Hinter dem neuen Damm steht die Ruine einer Dorfschule. Die Kräne in der Ferne stehen auf der Baustelle für ein Kraftwerk. Matarbari, Bangladesch. 2020.
  • Eine Frau wäscht ihre Wäsche. Ihr Haus ist zerstört worden, als ein schützender Damm brach. Sagar Island, Indien. 2019. Foto: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    Eine Frau wäscht ihre Wäsche. Ihr Haus ist zerstört worden, als ein schützender Damm brach. Sagar Island, Indien. 2019.
  • Die Gezeitenströme reichen bis in die nördlichen Sundarbans, Dutzende Meilen von der Küste entfernt. Hier überqueren Einheimische bei Ebbe den Fluss Datta. Sadhupur, Indien. 2019. Foto: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    Die Gezeitenströme reichen bis in die nördlichen Sundarbans, Dutzende Meilen von der Küste entfernt. Hier überqueren Einheimische bei Ebbe den Fluss Datta. Sadhupur, Indien. 2019.
  • Nach dem Wirbelsturm: Im Vordergrund die Ruinen eines Friedhofs, dahinter die Überreste eines Schutzbunkers. Matarbari, Bangladesch. 2020. Foto: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    Nach dem Wirbelsturm: Im Vordergrund die Ruinen eines Friedhofs, dahinter die Überreste eines Schutzbunkers. Matarbari, Bangladesch. 2020.
  • Nachdem der Wirbelsturm Bulbul in der Region Südbengalen eine Spur der Zerstörung hinterlassen hat, repariert ein Bewohner eine elektrische Leitung. Bakkhali, Indien. 2019. Foto: Arko Datto
    Shunyo Raja, Kings of a Bereft Land
    Nachdem der Wirbelsturm Bulbul in der Region Südbengalen eine Spur der Zerstörung hinterlassen hat, repariert ein Bewohner eine elektrische Leitung. Bakkhali, Indien. 2019.
Zwei Taucher unter Wasser mit einem Kunstobjekt Gilberto Esparza/Taller30, Harvester-Installation, 2018-2020 | Foto: Iván Puig Domene

Fünf Sätze Kunst: Kora-Llysis

„Die Korallenriffe sind weltweit in besonde­ rem Maße von den Folgen des Klimawandels bedroht. Indem wir Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technik vereinen, wecken wir das Bewusstsein für die prekäre Situation dieser Ökosysteme und entwickeln neue Strategien für ihre Wiederherstellung. Unsere Objekte bestehen aus beweglichen keramischen Strukturen, die in der Lage sind, mithilfe der Meeresströmungen Strom zu erzeugen. Infolge elektrolytischer Prozesse scheiden sich auf diesen Strukturen Magnesium- und Kalziumminerale ab, sodass wir das Wachstum von Korallen beschleunigen können. Die Installation soll überall dort eingesetzt werden, wo es Riffe gibt, und das Wissen über diese wichtigen Ökosysteme in einer breiten Öffentlichkeit verankern.“

Der mexikanische Künstler Gilberto Esparza ist Jahrgang 1975 und lebt in Mexiko-Stadt. Zu seinen Arbeiten gehören insbesondere roboterähnliche Gebilde, die ihre Energie selbstständig erzeugen. Dabei geht es ihm stets um die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema der Nachhaltigkeit. Bei der Umsetzung arbeitet er eng mit Naturwissenschaftler*innen und Ingenieur*innen zusammen. Esparzas Projekt wurde durch das Goethe-Institut und den Prince Claus Fund gefördert und wird im Rahmen der multimedialen Online-Präsentation „Take Me to the River“ gezeigt: takemetotheriver.net

Video-Statements

Wie kann Kunst uns dazu motivieren, den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels zu begegnen?

Wir haben Künstler*innen gefragt, deren Arbeiten Teil der Multimedia-Ausstellung „Take Me to the River“ von Goethe-Institut und Prince Claus Fund sind (ab 15. Dezember 2020). 

Mohamed Mahdy © Mohamed Mahdy / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Mohamed Mahdy

Unabhängiger Dokumentarfotograf und Filmemacher

 

Marta Andreu © Marta Andreu / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Marta Andreu

Produzentin, Dozentin und Beraterin kreativer Dokumentarfilm

 

Adrián Hartill © Adrián Hartill / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Adrián Hartill

Pädagoge und Filmemacher

Diana Rico © Diana Rico / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Diana Rico

Künstlerin und Filmemacherin

Misha Vallejo © Misha Vallejo / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Misha Vallejo

Audio-visueller Storyteller und bildender Künstler

Arko Datto © Arko Datto / Goethe-Institut

Take Me to the River
Arko Datto

Bildender Künstler, Kurator und Pädagoge

Gesamte Ausgabe

Die zehnte Ausgabe von „das goethe“ befasst sich mit den besonders gravierenden Auswirkungen des Klimawandels im Arktischen Raum. Mit dem Projekt „The Right to Be Cold“ betrachten wir die Klimakrise aus einer bisher weniger beachteten Perspektive: Was bedeutet die globale Erwärmung für die Menschen, die seit vielen Generationen im hohen Norden leben?

Lesen Sie die aktuelle Ausgabe von „das goethe“ – jetzt als barrierefreies PDF!

„das goethe" - 02/2020 - barrierefreies PDF

Der Titel des Projektes „The Right to Be Cold“ leitet sich aus dem langen Kampf der Inuit um ihre Rechte in Zeiten des Klimawandels ab. So schildert Sheila Watt-Cloutier in ihrem gleichnamigen Buch (2015) die Verknüpfung des Klimawandels mit Menschenrechten im Rahmen einer Petition, die sie und 62 andere Inuit aus Kanada und Alaska 2005 bei der Interamerikanischen Kommission für Menschenrechte eingereicht haben. Auch wenn die Kommission die Petition nicht annahm, gab es eine historische Anhörung zu den rechtlichen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Menschenrechte. In ihrer Rede während der UN-Klimakonferenz am 3. Dezember 2015 in Paris forderte die ehemalige Vorsitzende des Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC), Okalik Eegeesiak, dass der Klimawandel auch ein Menschenrechtsproblem sei und die Rechte der indigenen Völker in dem Abkommen verankert werden müssten. In ihrer Rede sagte sie: „Wir haben das Recht auf Kälte.“


Projekt „The Right to Be Cold“

Schwarzweißbild einer Frau und Tiere im Schnee Foto (Detail): © Susanne Hætta/BONO 2020

Dossier zur Klimagerechtigkeit
The Right to Be Cold*

Schmelzende Polkappen, ausgehungerte Eisbären, Waldbrände in Sibirien: Das sind Bilder des Klimawandels, die um die Welt gehen. In den Regionen rund um den Nordpol bedrohen die Auswirkungen der Erderwärmung schon lange die Lebensgrundlage Indigener Völker. Das Projekt The Right to Be Cold vereint die Stimmen derer, die für Selbstbestimmung und Klimagerechtigkeit einstehen – in Essays, Debatten und Interviews.


Frühere Online-Ausgaben

Erzähle mir von Europa Collage (Ausschnitt): © privat/TEMPUS CORPORATE

das Goethe 1/2020 - Erzähle mir von Europa

Erfahrungen von Krieg, Unterdrückung und Flucht: Für das Projekt „Erzähle mir von Europa“ berichteten Zeitzeug*innen, die vor 1945 geboren wurden, von ihrem Lebensweg – und reflektieren ihre Geschichte vor dem Hintergrund der europäischen Idee.

das goethe 2/2019 Art Directors & TRIP/Alamy Stock Foto

das Goethe 2/2019 - Webfehler

Beiträge zum Thema „Digitale Zivilgesellschaft – unter anderem über den digitalen Kolonialismus, über „Wiki Loves Women“, eine vielfältige Szene unabhängiger Online-Medien in Russland und ein Kunstwerk von Julia Steinigeweg.


Bisherige Printausgaben

das goethe 1/2020 © Collage: © privat/TEMPUS CORPORATE

das goethe 1/2020

Die neunte Ausgabe von „das goethe“ widmet sich Erfahrungen von Krieg, Unterdrückung und Flucht: Für das Projekt „Erzähle mir von Europa“ berichteten Zeitzeug*innen, die vor 1945 geboren wurden, von ihrem Lebensweg – und reflektieren ihre Geschichte vor dem Hintergrund der europäischen Idee.

das goethe 2/2019 © Art Directors & TRIP/Alarmy Stock Foto

das goethe 2/2019

Die achte Ausgabe von „das goethe“ widmet sich dem Thema „Digitale Zivilgesellschaft“. Mit Beiträgen unter anderem über den digitalen Kolonialismus, über „Wiki Loves Women“, eine vielfältige Szene unabhängiger Online-Medien in Russland und ein Kunstwerk von Julia Steinigeweg.
 

das goethe 1/2019 © Goethe-Instiut

das goethe 1/2019

Die siebte Ausgabe von „das goethe“ widmet sich dem Thema „Kulturen der Gleichberechtigung“. Mit Beiträgen unter anderem des Philosophen Philipp Hübl über die Moral der Maschine, einem Essay der Anthropologin Dina Makram-Ebeid über die Feminismusdebatten nördlich und südlich des Mittelmeeres, einer Reportage von Klaus Bardenhagen über Queer Taiwan und einem Interview mit der Direktorin des Museo Nacional de Etnografía y Folklore in La Paz, Elvira Espejo.
 


Kontakt

Bereich Kommunikation
oeffentlichkeitsarbeit@goethe.de
Goethe-Institut e.V.
Oskar-von-Miller-Ring 18
80333 München


Förder*innen

Das Kulturmagazin „das goethe“ wird ermöglicht durch die freundliche Unterstützung folgender Unternehmen aus dem Wirtschaftsbeirat des Goethe-Instituts:

Bertelsmann Holtzbrinck Würth

  

Top