The Goethe-Institut at the Leipzig Book Fair 2017

Book fairs in Germany provide an excellent platform on which the international work of the Goethe-Institut can be re-examined from a home perspective and also thrown open to a German audience for discussion. Every year numerous German-speaking authors, translators or illustrators travel to a variety of places around the globe on behalf of the Goethe-Institut, where they discuss their books with already-delighted readers as well as those who still need some convincing. They take part in workshops and festivals, and use this as an opportunity to forge international contacts with other creative people.

 © Leipziger Buchmesse Dear friends of literature,
 
The books fairs in Germany provide an excellent platform to view the world-wide work of the Goethe-Institut once again from the domestic perspective and to present it to the German public for discussion. Numerous German-language writers, translators and illustrators travel every year for the Goethe-Institut to readings, festivals, book fairs and residencies in the most diverse places.
 
In 2016 the Translation Grant Programme of the Goethe-Institut was able to support more than 200 works in about 35 languages. Since 2015 our translation programme Litrix.de has focussed on the Arabic language.
 
The Goethe-Institut programme for the Leipzig Book Fair gives a lively impression of our topics and formats and the people with whom we work. We look forward to seeing you at the Fair and wish you many exciting encounters!

 
 Event Date Location
Oxymora – Exhibition at the Baumwollspinnerei Thursday, 23 March 2017
 
Spinnereistr. 7, Halle 12
From Book to Bot Thursday, 23 March 2017 Forum International, Halle 4, Stand C500
Renaissance of Pop Literature, or Literary Voyeurism?
 
Friday, 24 March 2017 Café Europa, Halle 4, Stand E401
How We Want to Live
 
Friday, 24 March 2017 ARTE-Stand, Glashalle, Empore, Stand 11
Lost Generations
 
Saturday, 25 March 2017 ARTE-Stand, Glashalle, Empore, Stand 11
 
Literature on House Visit
 
Saturday, 25 March 2017 Forum International, Halle 4, Stand C500
Blood, Soil & Money – A Croatian Family History Saturday, 25 March 2017 Traduki -Stand, Halle 4, D507
Balkan Night Saturday, 25 March 2017 UT Connewitz, Wolfgang-Heinze-Straße 12a,
04277 Leipzig Süd
Correct Children’s Books? Sense and Nonsense of Revisions Sunday, 26 March 2017 ARTE-Stand, Glashalle, Empore, Stand 11
A Different Europe? Lithuania from Near And Far Sunday, 26 March 2017
 
Forum International, Halle 4, Stand C500

Das Goethe-Institut auf der Leipziger Buchmesse 2017

Für die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute weltweit bieten die Buchmessen in Deutschland eine hervorragende Plattform, ihre Arbeit noch einmal aus der heimischen Perspektive zu betrachten und auch hier vor deutschem Publikum zur Diskussion zu stellen. Zahlreiche deutschsprachige Autorinnen und Autoren, Übersetzer und Übersetzerinnen oder Illustratorinnen und Illustratoren reisen jedes Jahr für das Goethe-Institut an die unterschiedlichsten Orte rund um den Globus und diskutieren dort ihre Bücher mit bereits begeisterten Lesern ebenso wie mit jenen, die erst noch überzeugt werden wollen. Sie beteiligen sich an Workshops und Festivals und knüpfen auf diese Weise international Kontakte mit anderen kreativen Menschen.

 © Leipziger Buchmesse Liebe Literaturfreundinnen und Literaturfreunde,

für die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute weltweit bieten die Buchmessen in Deutschland eine hervorragende Plattform, um ihre Arbeit noch einmal aus der heimischen Perspektive zu betrachten und vor deutschem Publikum zur Diskussion zu stellen. Zahlreiche deutschsprachige Autorinnen und Autoren, Übersetzer und Übersetzerinnen oder Illustratorinnen und Illustratoren reisen jedes Jahr für das Goethe-Institut im Rahmen von Lesungen, Festivals, Buchmessen und Residenzen an die unterschiedlichsten Orte.

Das Goethe-Institut hat auch im Jahr 2016 mit seinen Förderprogrammen die Übersetzung von mehr als 200 Titeln in rund 35 Sprachen unterstützen können. In unserem Übersetzungsprogramm Litrix.de steht seit 2015 die Übersetzung in die arabische Sprache im Fokus.

Einen lebendigen Eindruck von den Themen, Formaten und Menschen, mit denen wir arbeiten, gibt unser Programm auf der Leipziger Buchmesse. Wir freuen uns auf Sie und wünschen Ihnen viele spannende Begegnungen!

Veranstaltungen

 
 Veranstaltung Termin Ort
Oxymora – Ausstellung in der Baumwollspinnerei Donnerstag, 23. März 2017
 
Spinnereistr. 7, Halle 12
Vom Buch zum Bot Donnerstag, 23. März 2017 Forum International, Halle 4, Stand C500
Renaissance der Popliteratur oder literarischer Voyeurismus?
 
Freitag, 24. März 2017 Café Europa, Halle 4, Stand E401
Wie wir leben wollen Freitag, 24. März 2017 ARTE-Stand, Glashalle, Empore, Stand 11
Lost Generations Samstag, 25. März 2017 ARTE-Stand, Glashalle, Empore, Stand 11
 
Literatur auf Hausbesuch Samstag, 25. März 2017 Forum International, Halle 4, Stand C500
Blut Boden und Geld – Eine kroatische Familiengeschichte Samstag , 25. März 2017 Traduki -Stand, Halle 4, D507
Balkan–Nacht Samstag, 25. März 2017 UT Connewitz, Wolfgang-Heinze-Straße 12a,
04277 Leipzig Süd
Korrekte Kinderbücher? Sinn und Unsinn von Überarbeitungen Sonntag, 26. März 2017 ARTE-Stand, Glashalle, Empore, Stand 11
Ein anderes Europa? Litauen aus Nähe und Distanz Sonntag, 26. März 2017
 
Forum International, Halle 4, Stand C500