Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Serienfieber Titel Fernbedienung© Colourbox/Image editing Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Magazine
BINGE FEVER!

Television “Made in Germany” is having a golden moment with the rise of international streaming services. German series that appeal to global audiences through smart and original writing, diverse themes, talented lineups and opulent productions have never received so much attention. In this dossier, we’ll highlight binge-worthy German serials and fill you in on where to watch them in the UAE.

STREAMING: GERMAN SERIES IN THE UAE, AND WHERE TO WATCH THEM.

Only a few years ago, German television was a strictly regional affair. The native dramas were mostly conventional procedurals made up of standalone episodes – the TV equivalent of comfort food. Certainly, nothing that would inspire binge-watching in the manner of Breaking Bad. Few German-language series traveled beyond the borders of Germany, Austria and Switzerland – with that market of 100 million people, why would TV networks or producers have needed to think internationally, or change anything at all?

Fast-forward to 2019, and it’s a very different story, getting livelier by the minute. The competition for audiences and prestige from international series combined with the arrival of streaming services hungry for original content has transformed the German television industry. With a mandate to innovate, writers and showrunners are discarding the old formulas and discovering a new creative reach. Just like in the US, the new opportunities are luring big-name acting and directing talent to the TV medium like never before. Audiences are the clear winner with the debut of ambitious and sophisticated serials like Dark, Deutschland 83 and Babylon Berlin, to name just a few of the shows that are both critics’ darlings and a hit with viewers.
 
In this dossier, we highlight German serials that you can stream in the UAE and clue you in on where to watch them. Caution: these series are addictive! If you’re not careful, you’ll catch some serious binge fever!


STREAMING: GERMAN SERIES IN THE UAE, AND WHERE TO WATCH THEM.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Serienfieber Titel Fernbedienung© Colourbox/Image editing Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Magazin
SERIENFIEBER!

Fernsehen „Made in Germany“ hat gerade einen goldenen Moment: Internationale Streamingdienste bekommen ungewöhnlich viel Aufmerksamkeit für die deutschen Serien im Angebot, die durch intelligente und originelle Drehbücher, abwechslungsreiche Motive, talentierte Besetzungen und opulente Produktionen auch ein globales Publikum ansprechen. In diesem Dossier beleuchten wir binge-würdige deutsche Serien, und finden heraus wo sie in den VAE zu sehen sind.  

STREAMING: DEUTSCHE SERIEN IN DEN VAE, UND WO SIE ZU SEHEN SIND

Noch vor wenigen Jahren war deutsches Fernsehen eine rein regionale Sache. Die heimischen Dramen waren meist konventionelle Krimis, die aus alleinstehenden Folgen bestanden – die Fernsehversion von Schonkost. Jedenfalls nichts, was zum Binge-Watching verleitet, wie zum Beispiel Breaking Bad. Nur wenige deutschsprachige Serien haben es über die Grenzen Deutschlands, Österreichs und der Schweiz geschafft. Warum hätten Fernsehanstalten oder Produzenten bei einem Marktanteil von 100 Millionen Zuschauern auch global denken oder etwas ändern wollen?

Auf das Jahr 2019 vorgespult ist es eine ganz andere Geschichte, die minütlich mehr Leben bekommt und Bestand gewinnt. Das Buhlen um Zuschauer und das Prestige internationaler Serien in Verbindung mit der Proliferation zahlreicher Streamingdienste, die hungrig auf Originalinhalte sind, haben die deutsche Fernsehindustrie umgekrempelt. Mit einem Auftrag zur Innovation verwerfen Drehbuchautoren und Produzenten die alten Formeln und entdecken einen neuen kreativen Einflussbereich. So wie in den USA locken die neuen Möglichkeiten bekannte Schauspieler und Regisseure zum Fernsehen wie nie zuvor. Die Zuschauer sind die klaren Gewinner, denkt man an das Debut von ehrgeizigen und anspruchsvollen Serien wie Dark, Deutschland 83 und Babylon Berlin, um nur wenige der neuen Serien zu nennen, die sowohl Kritiker-Lieblinge als auch große Hits beim Publikum sind.

In diesem Dossier stellen wir die Höhepunkte der deutschen Serien vor, die Sie auch in den USA sehen können, und zeigen Ihnen, wo diese zu finden sind. Aber Vorsicht: Diese Serien machen süchtig. Wer nicht aufpasst, bekommt SERIENFIEBER! 


STREAMING: DEUTSCHE SERIEN IN DEN VAE, UND WO SIE ZU SEHEN SIND

Top