Projects

Bauhaus building Dessau, Walter Gropius (1925–26), Südseite Photo (detail): Tadashi Okochi © Pen Magazine, 2010, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Tracing Bauhaus

Much of what we associate with ‘modernism’ in architecture and design originated in a small German art movement that existed for only 14 years yet left internationally distinguished traces. In 2019, the Staatliches Bauhaus will commemorate its 100 anniversary.

Boys reading © UAEBBY

Books - Made in UAE

The project Books – Made in UAE supports the development of a sustainable local children’s book industry by training young and aspiring authors and illustrators in the creative process of producing children’s books in Emirati Arabic language.

Artist in Residence program © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman

Artist in Residence program

The Artist in Residence program fosters the development of the Omani art scene, and its outreach activities provide the guest artists with excellent preconditions to getting acquainted with Omani artists, culture and society.

Do You Trust Me Workshop © Daniel Donelly

Media - Do You Trust Me?

The workshop series DO YOU TRUST ME? has a critical look on photographs, questioning the credibility and rendition of reality in pictures both in journalism as well as in art. Today´s observer of a picture has to decide more and more if what one sees can be trusted.

Deutsche Saison Qatar © Qatar Museums

Qatar Germany Year of Culture 2017

Every year, Qatar Museums runs a year of culture, and in 2017 Germany will be the host country for the Year of Culture program. Through a variety of exhibitions, festivals and events, the Year of Culture promotes mutual understanding, recognition and appreciation between countries.

SAWA Museum Academy © Goethe-Institut

SAWA Museum Academy

SAWA means TOGETHER, and TOGETHER selected participants from Germany, the UAE, Egypt, Bahrain, Oman and Palestine will learn and study methods of museum management, and TOGETHER German and Emirates-based experts will teach them.

Backstory © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Backstory

BACKSTORY The Film Residency, in cooperation with Beirut Art Residency (BAR) and Metropolis Cinema supports young filmmakers from the Middle East, North Africa and Germany.

Science Film Festival © Goethe-Institut / Patrick Bucher

SCIENCE FILM FESTIVAL

For the fifth time the Science Film Festival comes to Dubai, Al Ain, Sharjah, and for the first time to Ras Al Khaimah. In October and November we present selected films with science content, science shows with the Nutty Scientists, experiments and hands on activities.

The Hamburg Kitchen Sessions meet the Arabic Music Sessions © www.katjaboehm.de

Music spaces in the Arab World

Living rooms turn into concert halls, kitchens morph into auditoriums. Popular entertainers jamming on couches, up-and-coming artists showcasing their skills between coffee tables and bookcases.

Jeem Logo © Jeem

JEEM.ME

Jeem.me is a website about gender, sex and sexuality in Arabic-speaking countries, which provides users with information, articles and stories in Arabic.

Projekte

Science Film Festival © Goethe-Institut

Science Film Festival 2018

In Kooperation mit Manarat Al Saadiyat in Abu Dhabi, Children´s City in Dubai und der Stiftung der Al Nahyan Familie in Al Ain organisiert das Goethe-Institut Golf-Region das Science Film Festival in seinem sechsten Jahr. Das Science Film Festival findet in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten vom 7. Oktober bis zum 23. November 2018 statt.

Jeem Logo © Jeem

JEEM.ME

Jeem.me ist eine Website zu Gender, Sex und Sexualität im arabischsprachigen Raum, die ihren Nutzern Informationen, Artikel und Geschichten auf Arabisch zur Verfügung stellt.

SAWA Museum Academy © Goethe-Institut

SAWA Museum Academy

SAWA heißt GEMEINSAM, und GEMEINSAM setzen sich ausgewählte Teilnehmer aus Deutschland, den VAE, Ägypten, Bahrain, Oman und Palästina mit relevanten museumswissenschaftlichen Themen auseinander, in denen sie von deutschen und in den Emiraten ansässigen Experten unterrichtet werden.

Bauhausgebäude Dessau, Walter Gropius (1925–26), Südseite Foto (Ausschnitt): Tadashi Okochi © Pen Magazine, 2010, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Bauhaus Spurensuche

Viele Elemente der modernen Architektur haben ihren Ursprung in einer kleinen deutschen Kunstbewegung, die nur 14 Jahre lang existierte und doch auf internationaler Ebene deutliche Spuren hinterließ: 2019 wird das Staatliche Bauhaus sein 100 jähriges Bestehen feiern.

Jungs lesen © UAEBBY

Books - Made in UAE

Das Projekt Books – Made in UAE fördert die Entstehung einer nachhaltigen einheimischen Kinderbuchproduktion, indem es junge und talentierte emiratische Autoren und Illustratoren in ihrem kreativen Prozess des Schreibens und Gestaltens unterstützt.

Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman

Künstlerresidenz

Das Residenzprogramm bietet den besuchenden deutschen Künstlern Kontakt mit omanischen Kunstschaffenden, Einblick in die Kultur des Landes und Begegnungen mit der Gesellschaft  an und fördert durch gemeinsame Workshops und Künstlergespräche die omanische Kunstszene.

Do You Trust Me Workshop © Daniel Donelly

Medien - Do You Trust Me?

Die Workshop-Serie DO YOU TRUST ME hinterfragt die Glaubwürdigkeit und die Wiedergabe von Realität in Fotos in den Medien und als Kunstwerke. Der heutige Betrachter muss immer mehr in der Lage sein zu entscheiden, ob er einem Bild trauen kann.

Deutsche Saison Qatar © Qatar Museums

Deutsche Saison Katar 2017

Qatar Museums veranstaltet jedes Jahr ein Kulturjahr. Für 2017 wurde Deutschland als Gastland für das Kulturjahr eingeladen. Durch eine Vielzahl von Ausstellungen, Festivals, Veranstaltungen und Programmen fördert die Deutsche Saison von Januar bis Mai und von September bis Dezember gegenseitiges Verstehen und Respekt zwischen den Ländern.

Backstory © Goethe-Institut Libanon

Backstory

Das Goethe-Institut Libanon, die Beirut Art Residency (BAR) und Metropolis Art Cinema Association fördern mit dem Residenzprogramm 'BACKSTORY The Film Residency'  junge Filmemacher/-innen aus dem Nahen Osten, Nordafrika und Deutschland.

Die Hamburger Küchensessions treffen arabische Music Sessions © www.katjaboehm.de

Musikräume in der arabischen Welt

Das Wohnzimmer wird zum Konzertsaal. Die Küche zur großen Bühne. Namenhafte Künstlerinnen jammen auf dem Sofa und aufstrebende Newcomer präsentieren sich zwischen Couchtisch und Bücherregal von ihrer besten Seite.