Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Families in Europe
In the Shadow

Four men and women photographers from Albania, Belarus, Italy and Germany travelled to some of the socially and economically weakest and most neglected areas of the European continent. Their aim was to come into contact with people who lives there so they can make their voice heard through photos, videos, stories. Wherever they are, the local populations live in isolation, abandoned and with no prospects…in the shadows. What stories did they gather? This site documents their journeys acting as a kind of logbook. Their photographic works are presented in an international touring exhibition starting in Milan and travelling to Rom, Minsk, Tirana and Halle. 

Mila Teshaieva©Mila Teshaieva
Jutta Benzenberg©Jutta Benzenberg
SardiniaSardinia ©Livio Senigalliesi

The Photographers

Each photographer will travel in their own country plus one of the other three so as to have a change of perspective. Jutta Benzenberg and Mila Teshaieva are going to Albania and Germany while Andrei Liankevich and Livio Senigalliesi will be in Italy and Belarus.

The trips

 

Bitterfeld Wollfen Foto: Mila Teshaieva

Germany

In the case of Germany, the focus is on the Halle-Bitterfeld-Wolfen district.  As in the past, family life is marked by unemployment and no prospects.
 

Albania Jutta Benzenberg Foto: Jutta Benzenberg

Albania

Albania with its average age of 36 is a young country. One in three under-24-year-olds are out of work. The female photographers intend to investigate the conditions of life for young people and women in rural areas.
 

Sardinia Italy Foto: Livio Senigalliesi

Italy

The theme chosen for Italy centres on the declining Sardinian mining district of Carbonia-Iglesias. Here the European dimension comes into play as the EU started from the Treaties on the Establishment of the European Coal and Steel Company.

Belarus Foto: Andrej Liankevich

Belarus

What we find in Belarus, above all in several rural regions, are settlements along the rivers and on the moorlands in the south that are almost totally isolated and cut off from the influence of modern urban life. Their everyday existence is determined by nature and, in part, by pre-Christian pagan practices and rituals.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Familien in Europa
Im Schatten

Vier Fotografinnen und Fotografen aus Albanien, Belarus, Italien und Deutschland sind durch einige der wirtschaftlich und sozial schwächsten und vergessenen Gegenden Europas gereist. Sie haben die dort lebenden Menschen getroffen und ihnen durch Fotos, Videos und Geschichten eine Stimme verliehen. Die Menschen in diesen Regionen leben isoliert, verlassen und ohne Zukunft… im Schatten. Welche Geschichten erzählen sie? Diese Webseite dokumentiert die Reisen der Fotografinnen und Fotografen in einer Art Bordtagebuch. Ihre fotografischen Arbeiten werden in einer internationalen Wanderausstellung präsentiert, die in Mailand begonnen hat und nun weiter nach Rom, Minsk, Tirana und Halle reist.

Mila Teshaieva©Mila Teshaieva
Jutta Benzenberg© Jutta Benzenberg
SardinienSardinien ©Livio Senigalliesi

Die Fotografinnen und Fotografen

Jede Fotografin und jeder Fotograf reiste im eigenen Land und in einem der anderen drei, um auch eine andere Perspektive zu erhalten. Jutta Benzenberg und Mila Teshaieva besuchten Albanien und Deutschland, Andrei Liankevich und Livio Senigalliesi Italien und Belarus.

Die Reisen

 

Bitterfeld Wollfen Foto: Mila Teshaieva

Deutschland

Für Deutschland soll die Region Halle/Bitterfeld/Wolfen im Focus stehen. Nach wie vor hohe Arbeitslosigkeit und Perspektivlosigkeit prägen das Leben der Familien, vor allem in ländlichen Bereichen.

Albanien Jutta Benzenberg Foto: Jutta Benzenberg

Albanien

Albanien ist mit einem Durchschnittsalter von 36 Jahren ein junges Land. Jeder Dritte unter 24 Jahren ist arbeitslos. Die Fotografinnen wollen zu den Lebensbedingungen vor allem Jugendlicher und Frauen in ländlichen Bereichen recherchieren.

Sardinien Italien Foto: Livio Senigalliesi

Italien

Für Italien steht die thematische Idee, sich auf die in der Abwicklung befindliche Bergbauregionen in Sardinien (Carbonia-Iglesias) zu konzentrieren.
Hier geht es um eine europäische Dimension, denn die EU begann mit den Montanverträgen.

Belarus Foto: Andrej Liankevich

Belarus

In Belarus befinden sich vor allem in einigen ländlichen Bereichen Siedlungen entlang der Flüsse und in den Moorlandschaften des Südens nahezu vollständig isoliert und abgehängt vom Einfluss städtischen und modernen Lebens. Ihr Lebensalltag wird von der Natur und zum Teil noch vorchristlich heidnischen Bräuchen und Ritualen bestimmt. 

Top