Professional development in Nigeria

DLT Photo: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

Deutsch – aber Hallo! Nigerian German Language Teachers' Conference at the Goethe-Institut Nigeria

German language teachers and lecturers from all over Nigeria met at the premises of the Goethe-Institut Nigeria between April 04-06.2018 in order to get to know each other better, to attend several workshops and to discuss the current situation of German as a foreign language in the country.
 

Beside the Consul General of the Federal Republic of Germany, Mr. Ingo Herbert, the Consul General of Switzerland, Mr. Yves Nicolet, and the head of Advantage Austria, Mrs. Nella Hengstler, took part at the official opening in order to emphasize the importance of the German language for their countries.

For two days, a comprehensive selection of workshops offered the opportunity to deal with topics that are relevant both for teaching but also for one's own professional development, e.g. use of new media, creative writing, young adults literature in German language classes. .
Margit Diiango, the head of the language department of the Goethe-Institut Cameroon, facilitated a workshop on the topic "Preparation for the Goethe exam B1", which is very relevant for most Nigerian German language students:  "Not every teacher can get really enthusiastic about exam preparations. But all the colleagues in the workshop have been very active and motivated in classifying the B1 exam into the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, and to discuss the different exam modules. They were very interested in language games as attractive tools to repeat the important vocabulary and had lots of fun playing them. With all these practical tips, they feel much better prepared for the next exam training with their students."  

The German expert Eugen Müller treated the important topic "Pronunciation training" and commented on the event: "About 50 attentive, curious German teachers from universities and schools, all eager to learn something new, have been in my workshops. The German Language Teachers' Conference at the Goethe-Institut Nigeria, under the new leadership of Friederike Möschel, has been a very special event for me: perfect organization, a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, inspiring exchange with the colleagues and intensive work in the workshops and plenary events!"

Beside an informative key note speech on German as a foreign language in Western and Eastern Africa by Jean-Léopold Leumassi/ Cameroon, the Consulate General of Germany informed about the current political situation in Germany, the Nigerian-German relations and current visa requirements for students.  Dr. Marc Lucassen from the German Chamber of Commerce in Lagos gave a compact overview of the importance of German industry in Nigeria, and job prospects for young qualified Nigerian graduates.

On the last day, the conference provided a platform for NATOG (Nigerian Association of Teachers of German) in order to inform about their activities and to exchange views with the participants, which resulted in a very active and constructive discussion about the future, the challenges and chances of German in Nigeria.

We would like to thank all partners and participants for the really successful event and hope to repeat it in 2019!

 

The Goethe-Institut Nigeria offers professional development seminars and other events for teachers of German. Every year, Goethe-Institut, often in collaboration with the DAAD and NATOG (Nigerian Association of Teachers of German), holds a training workshop for Nigerian German teachers.

Fortbildung in Nigeria

DLT Foto: Goethe-Institut / Jeremiah Ikongio

Deutsch – aber Hallo! Deutschlehrertreffen am Goethe-Institut Nigeria

Deutschlehrende und Deutschdozenten aus ganz Nigeria trafen sich vom 04.-06. April 2018 in den Räumen des Goethe-Instituts, um sich besser kennenzulernen, sich in verschiedenen Workshops weiterzubilden und über die aktuelle Situation von Deutsch als Fremdsprache auszutauschen.
 

An der feierlichen Eröffnung nahmen neben dem Generalkonsul der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Herr Ingo Herbert, auch der Generalkonsul der Schweiz, Herr Yves Nicolet, und Frau Nella Hengstler von Advantage Austria teil und hoben die Bedeutung der deutschen Sprache für ihre Länder hervor.

Ein reichhaltiges Angebot an Workshops bot die Gelegenheit, sich zwei Tage lang mit aktuellen Themen zu beschäftigen, die für den Unterricht sowie für die eigene berufliche Entwicklung relevant sind, z.B. Einsatz neuer Medien und Onleihe, Schreiben im Deutschunterricht, und Jugendliteratur im Deutschunterricht.

Margit Djiango, Leiterin des Sprachkursabteilung am Goethe-Institut Kamerun, bot eine Fortbildung zur Goetheprüfung B1 an, die für die meisten nigerianischen Deutschlerner eine große Rolle spielt:  "Für Prüfungen kann sich ja nicht unbedingt jede Lehrerin/jeder Lehrer begeistern. Aber die Kolleginnen und Kollegen waren mit Feuereifer dabei, als es darum ging, die B1-Prüfung in den europäischen Referenzrahmen  einzuordnen und die Prüfung in ihre Module zu zerpflücken. Die Sprachspiele zur Wiederholung des so wichtigen Wortschatzes für eine Prüfung stießen auf großes Interesse und machten dem Teilnehmenden sichtlichen Spaß. Mit den Tipps zur Vorbereitung auf die Prüfung fühlen sich viele nun besser gewappnet, ihre Lernenden auf die B1-Prüfung vorzubereiten."

Das Thema "Aussprachetraining" stand in den Workshops des deutschen Experten Eugen Müller im Fokus, der sich zu der Veranstaltung äußerte: " Um die 50 aufmerksame, lernbereite und wissbegierige DaF-Lehrkräfte aus Schulen und Universitäten saßen mir in meinen Workshops gegenüber. Der Deutschlehrertag am Goethe-Institut Nigeria unter der neuen Institutsleitung von Friederike Möschel war für mich ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis: perfekte Organisation, einladende, entspannte Atmosphäre, anregender kollegialer Austausch und intensive Arbeit in Workshops und Plenumsveranstaltungen!"

Neben einem sehr informativen Einführungvortrag von Jean-Léopold Leumassi/ Kamerun über die aktuelle Situation von Deutsch als Fremdsprache in West- und Ostafrika, berichtete das Generalkonsulat im Laufe des Treffens auch über aktuelle Entwicklungen der deutschen Politik und der deutsch-nigerianischen Beziehungen sowie aktuelle Visabestimmungen für Studierende. Dr. Marc Lucassen von der AHK in Lagos sprach über die Bedeutung der deutschen Wirtschaft in Nigeria sowie die Jobchancen junger qualifizierter Hochschulabsolventen bei deutschen Unternehmen.

Der letzte Tag bot dem nigerianischen Deutschlehrerverband NATOG (Nigerian Association of Teachers of German) eine Plattform, um über seine Aktivitäten zu informieren und in einen regen und sehr konstruktiven Austausch über die Zukunft, die Herausforderungen, aber auch die Chancen von Deutsch  mit den Teilnehmenden zu treten.

Wir möchten uns bei allen Partnern und Teilnehmern für eine sehr gelungene Veranstaltung bedanken und hoffen, diese im kommenden Jahr wiederholen zu können!

 

Das Goethe-Institut Nigeria bietet Deutschlehrern die Möglichkeit sich weiter zu bilden. Jedes Jahr führt das Goethe-Institut, meist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem DAAD und der NATOG (Nigerian Association of Teachers of German) ein zentrales Fortbildungsseminar für nigerianische Deutschlehrer durch.