Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Queer Comic Conversations banner© Illi Anna Heger + Sam Orchard

Queer Comic Conversations

In the comic series Queer Comic Conversations by the artists Illi Anna Heger and Sam Orchard, Illi Anna and Sam take you along on their monthly catch-ups. Illi Anna from Munich and Sam from Wellington meet in different locations, like the CSD, a demonstration, the Munich Pride, Wellington Pride and a gay bar. During their conversations, they cover a range of queer topics such as chosen families and support systems, nonbinary pronouns in both German and English, festivals but also experiences of loss, trauma and violence. Together with us readers, Illi Anna and Sam explore these themes and recommend a variety of queer art and further informational resources throughout their Queer Comic Conversations.
 

drawn portrait of Sam Orchard, sitting next to a pencil © Sam Orchard

Sam Orchard

Sam Orchard  writes comics, essays and children’s books, creates animated videos, podcasts, and resources with the aim of celebrating difference. His ongoing web comic 'Rooster Tails' has been running for over 10 years. Written from his life as a queer transgender man, the comic explores themes of mental health, fat embodiment, nerd culture, trans lives, and caring for a food-obsessed cat.

Sam is also the author of 'Family Portraits', a series of short comic stories that amplify the stories of intersectional identities within Aotearoa’s rainbow communities. Sam’s comics and resources about sexuality, sex and gender have been used internationally by SOGI advocates. Sam is currently working on his first full length graphic novel.

Illi Anna Heger - Portrait new © Illi Anna Heger

Illi Anna Heger

Illi Anna Heger is an author for graphic storytelling, comic journalism and visual explanations. Illi Anna Heger is nonbinary, on the trans masculine spectrum and use they pronouns. They focus on stories and knowledge from and for their intersecting communities and are working on a book of autobiographical graphic short stories.

They live in Munich and were born in the east of Berlin before the wall came down. Back in 2009 they started creating a set of alternative German grammar to complete he and she with the pronoun xier, that does not indicate gender. Having studied several languages in their life time helped immensely to detangle their mother tongue's grammar. Xier, xieser and more are continually improved and are already used by translators.


Episodes

Queer Comic Conversations is a webcomic series by artists Illi Anna Heger (Munich) and Sam Orchard (Wellington) where they discuss similarities and differences about queer and trans lives.The series stretches from July to December 2020; every month, a new episode will be released and is accessible as visual comic and its transcript (text based comic).


Artist Talk @ Comic-Salon Erlangen

At this year's International Comic-Salon Erlangen, comic artists Illi Anna Heger and Sam Orchard talk with journalist Markus Pfalzgraf about collaboritive ways of working in unusal times.
 


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Queere Comic Konversation - Bannerbild© Anna Heger + Sam Orchard

Queere Comic Konversation

In der Comic-Serie Queere Comic Konversation der Künstler*innen Anna Heger und Sam Orchard treffen sich Anna aus München und Sam aus Wellington in den verschiedensten Umgebungen: dem CSD in München, einer Demonstration, beim Wellington Pride und in einer schwulen Kneipe. Während ihrer Unterhaltungen gehen sie auf viele queere Themen ein, wie beispielsweise ausgesuchte Familien und Unterstützungssysteme, nonbinäre Pronomen auf Deutsch und Englisch, Festivals aber auch auf Themen wie die Erfahrung von Verlust, Hass und Gewalt. Zusammen mit uns Leser*innen erkunden Anna und Sam diverse Themen und empfehlen in ihren Queeren Comic Konversationen eine Vielfalt an queerer Kunst und weiteren Informationsquellen.
 

gezeichnetes Portrait Sam Orchard, am Bleistift angelehnt sitzend © Sam Orchard

Sam Orchard

Sam Orchard kreiert Comics, schreibt Essays und Kinderbücher, macht Animationsfilme, nimmt Podcasts auf und stellt Resourcen zur Verfügung um Vielfalt zu feiern. Sein laufendes Webcomic "Rooster Tails" gibt es schon seit 10 Jahren. Dort beschreibt er sein Leben als queerer trans Mann. Das Webcomic behandelt Themen wie mentale Gesundheit, die Darstellung von dicken Menschen, Nerd Kultur, das Leben von trans Menschen und seine Fürsorge für eine verfressene Katze.

Sam hat außerdem die Reihe "Family Portraits" herausgebracht. Sie besteht aus Comic-Kurzgeschichten über die intersektionalen Identitäten innerhalb von Aotearoas (Neuseelands) LGBTQ Communities. Sams Comics und andere Ressourcen wurden international von "SOGI Advocates" verwendet. Sam arbeitet derzeit an seiner ersten langen Graphic Novel.

Anna Heger - Portrait neu © Anna Heger

Anna Heger

Anna Heger zeichnet und skriptet Comics. Anna Heger ist nichtbinär, auf dem transmaskulinen Spektrum und benutzt xier oder sie Pronomen. Xiese Comics erzählen biografische Geschichten, dokumentieren Ereignisse xieser Communities, analysieren gesellschaftliche Strukturen und machen Theorie verständlich. Anna Heger arbeitet im Moment an einem Buch mit autobiographischen Kurzgeschichten. Xier lebt in München und wurde vor dem Mauerfall im Osten Berlins geboren.

Außerdem arbeitet xier seit 2009 an alternativen deutschen Pronomen, die in der 3. Person Singular kein Geschlecht anzeigen und er/sie ergänzen. Das Erlernen vieler Fremdsprachen hat beim Entwirren der Grammatik xieser Muttersprache geholfen. Xier, xieser und die anderen Formen entwickeln sich kontinuierlich weiter und werden mittlerweile in Übersetzungen verwendet.


Episoden

Queere Comic Konversationen ist eine Webcomic-Serie der Künstler*innen Anna Heger (München) und Sam Orchard (Wellington). Sie diskutieren Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede des trans und queeren Lebens. Von Juli bis Dezember wird jeden Monat eine neue Episode veröffentlicht. Die Comics gibt es sowohl visuell als auch rein textbasiert zu lesen.


Artist Talk @ Comic-Salon Erlangen

Im Rahmen des Internationalen Comic-Salon Erlangen sprechen die Comic-Künstler*innen Anna Heger und Sam Orchard mit Journalist Markus Pfalzgraf über kollaboratives Arbeiten in ungewöhnlichen Zeiten.
 

Top