Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Sustainable Tourism
Vegan vibes in Berlin – a vegan food tour of Friedrichshain

Fresh Asian fusion cuisine
© Beatrice Anton

Many of us are starting to think about the health aspects of what we eat, bringing us ever closer to the vegan way of living. Others come at the issue from an animal welfare perspective, others again are motivated by the need to protect the environment. Livestock farming is estimated to be responsible for 15 percent of global climate gas emissions, and 70 percent of water use all around the world goes on meat production. These are all good reasons to try an animal-free diet, and trust me, this Vegan Food Tour will convince you that there’s no need to worry about a lack of flavour or variety – quite the contrary!

Asian fusion cuisine for starters

We start our tour with some crispy Asian fusion dishes. The sophisticated menu of this small establishment features delights such as “Give Peas a Chance”, “Jungle Book” and “Wannabe Fish”. I could actually eat my fill right here, on the very first stop on our tour – those aromatic summer rolls with the chef’s own sauce are to die for! The salads on offer - mango strips, avocado and peanuts – are so light and fresh that our group can’t get enough of them. But the cardinal rule of all food tours is always leave some room for the next stop!!


A culinary excursion to Ethiopia

After our Asian stopover, we are off to Africa, more specifically Ethiopia. I have never travelled there, but the country is well known for its appetising delicacies. The special sourdough flatbread called Injera is served with a variety of sauces and sides, or wots. Vegan dishes are widely used in Ethiopian cooking because of the Christian Orthodox fasting tradition. The sheer variety of this type of cuisine is illustrated by the large mixed platters served in this restaurant. As in many African countries, the practice is to eat with your fingers, using pieces of flatbread to scoop up the other ingredients and soak up the delicious sauces. I really like this way of eating, as a completely different experience for the touch and the senses in general.

Finale: vegan sushi prepared by a master

After a further brief stop at a small Kurdish-inspired snack bar, we round off our tour with a true highlight: wonderful, creative sushi, with such intense aromas that you quickly stop wondering what happened to the usual fish component. Instead of the habitual sticky rice, this establishment uses black rice, forming a supremely colourful ensemble with fresh ingredients like pumpkin, red beet, green asparagus and mango. For afters I try the mousse au chocolat, made from silken tofu, and the avocado matcha cheesecake – then I lean back in my chair, content and replete. Both desserts are creamy and delicious, but not too sweet.

I must admit I am now full – very full, even. But the great thing about vegan cuisine is that you don’t feel bloated and weighed down in the same way as after a conventional banquet. Instead I just enjoy feeling satisfied, relishing the aftertaste and memories of the many and varied flavours I have sampled on this unforgettable tour.
 
  • Ethiopian mixed platter © Beatrice Anton
    Ethiopian mixed platter
  • Fresh Asian fusion cuisine © Beatrice Anton
    Fresh Asian fusion cuisine
  • Gourmet vegan sushi © Beatrice Anton
    Gourmet vegan sushi
  • Avocado matcha cheesecake © Beatrice Anton
    Avocado matcha cheesecake

Full details on the Berlin Secret Vegan Tour can be found on the Secret Food Tours website.

The truly delicious and well prepared food was complemented by our excellent guide, who led our group with skill and charisma, with lots of fascinating insider details about Berlin, the food scene, the vegan diet and a seemingly never-ending supply of jokes.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Nachhaltiger Tourismus
Vegan Vibes in Berlin – Auf veganer Food Tour in Friedrichshain

Frische, asiatische Fusion-Küche
© Beatrice Anton

Immer mehr Menschen beschäftigen sich mit den gesundheitlichen Aspekten ihrer Ernährung und nähern sich darüber der veganen Lebensweise an. Andere sind am Wohlergehen der Tiere interessiert und auch der Schutz der Umwelt ist eine häufige Motivation. Die Tierhaltung wird für 15 Prozent aller Klimagasemissionen verantwortlich gemacht und 70 Prozent des weltweiten Wasserverbrauchs gehen auf das Konto der Fleischproduktion. Das sind alles gute Gründe, es mal mit tierfreier Ernährung zu versuchen und die vegane Food Tour liefert dazu noch den Beweis, dass von geschmacklichen Einbußen oder mangelnder Auswahl keine Rede sein kann. Ganz im Gegenteil!

Moderne asiatische Fusion-Küche zum Auftakt

Am Anfang der Tour gibt es knackige, asiatische Fusion-Gerichte – die ausgesuchte Speisekarte des kleinen Restaurants ist gespickt mit Referenzen wie: «Give Peas a Chance», «Jungle Book» oder «Wannabe Fish». Eigentlich könnte ich mich schon an der ersten Station satt essen. Zu köstlich sind die aromatischen Sommerrollen mit hausgemachter Sauce. Die Salatvarianten mit Mangostreifen, Avocado und Erdnüssen sind so frisch und leicht, dass unsere kleine Gruppe eigentlich schon jetzt gar nicht mehr aufhören will mit dem Essen. Aber es gilt die oberste Regel bei Foodtouren: Es ist klüger, sich nicht sofort den Bauch vollzuschlagen!

Kulinarischer Ausflug nach Äthiopien

Nach der Eröffnung in der asiatischen Küche geht es kulinarisch nach Afrika, genauer gesagt nach Äthiopien. Auch wenn ich das Land noch nicht bereist habe, eilt den Spezialitäten der Ruf voraus, besonders wohlschmeckend zu sein. Das spezielle Sauerteig-Fladenbrot Injera wird mit verschiedene Saucen und Beilagen – Wot genannt – serviert. Aufgrund der christlich-orthodoxen Fasten-Tradition sind vegane Gerichte in der äthiopische Küche sehr verbreitet. Wie vielfältig diese ausfallen, kann ich an der großen, gemischten Platte des Restaurants ausprobieren. Wie in vielen afrikanischen Ländern wird mit den Fingern gegessen, wobei man Stücke des Fladenbrots dazu nutzt, die restlichen Zutaten zu greifen und die Soßen aufzusaugen. Ich mag das sehr, den es verleiht dem Essen einen ganz anderen haptischen und sehr sinnlichen Aspekt.

Finale mit veganem Sushi der Meisterklasse

Nach einem kurzen Zwischenstopp in einem kleinen, kurdisch inspirierten Imbiss kommt noch ein echtes Highlight zum Abschluss: hervorragendes, kreatives Sushi, mit so intensiven Aromen, dass man schnell den sonst obligatorischen Fisch vergisst. Statt dem normalen Klebreis wird schwarzer Reis verwendet, der zusammen mit frischen Zutaten wie Kürbis, roter Beete, grüner Spargel und Mango ein farbenfrohes Gesamtarrangement ergibt. Zum Nachtisch probiere ich Mousse au Chocolate aus Seidentofu und Avocado-Matcha-Cheesecake und lehne mich entspannt zurück. Beide Desserts sind cremig-köstlich, aber nicht zu süß.

Zwar bin ich jetzt satt, sehr satt sogar. Aber das angenehme an veganem Essen: man ist am Ende nie so voll und träge, wie nach einem konventionellem Festmahl. Stattdessen genieße ich mein gutes Bauchgefühl und schwelge in den vielen verschiedenen Genüssen, die ich auf der Tour ausprobieren konnte.
 
  • Gemischte äthiopische Spezialitätenplatte © Beatrice Anton
    Gemischte äthiopische Spezialitätenplatte
  • Frische, asiatische Fusion-Küche © Beatrice Anton
    Frische, asiatische Fusion-Küche
  • Veganes Sushi der Extraklasse © Beatrice Anton
    Veganes Sushi der Extraklasse
  • Avocado-Matcha-Cheesecake © Beatrice Anton
    Avocado-Matcha-Cheesecake

Alle Details über die Berlin Secret Vegan Tour gibt es auf der Website von Secret Food Tours. Neben dem wirklich köstlichem und gut zusammen gestellten Essen fand ich auch den Guide sehr inspirierend, der die Tour kompetent, charmant und mit vielen Insider-Details begleitet hat. Man erfährt viel über Berlin, die Food-Szene, veganes Essen und jede Menge Anekdoten.

Top