Tasks and Targets

Sprache. Kultur. Deutschland.

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach.

We promote knowledge of the German language abroad and foster international cultural cooperation. We convey a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in our nation. Our cultural and educational programmes encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. They strengthen the development of structures in civil society and foster worldwide mobility.

With our network of Goethe-Instituts, Goethe Centres, cultural societies, reading rooms and exam and language learning centres, we have been the first point of contact for many with Germany for over sixty years. Our long-lasting partnerships with leading institutions and individuals in over ninety countries create enduring trust in Germany. We are partners for all who actively engage with Germany and its culture, working independently and without political ties.

About Goethe-Tanzania

The Goethe-Institut in Tanzania

The Goethe-Institut Tanzania was founded in 1962 and temporarily closed in March 1998. The re- opening took place on September 3, 2008, with GI President Prof. Dr. Klaus -Dieter Lehmann in the Botanical Garden (Dar es Salaam). While searching for a suitable property, an office in the French cultural institution Alliance Française de Dar es Salaam served as temporary accommodation.

Since November 11, 2008, the Goethe-Institut has rented the building of the former Polish Embassy in the Upanga district. This new institute building was officially opened by Guido Westerwelle, former German Foreign Minister of Germany, on April 6, 2010.

The Goethe-Institut Tanzania organizes and supports a broad spectrum of cultural events to present German culture abroad and to intercultural exchange.

Our language work offers language courses, workshops and seminars for teachers in the field of German as a foreign language and an extensive program of examinations.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Goethe-Institut Aufgaben und Ziele Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Sprache. Kultur. Deutschland.

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegen die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Wir vermitteln ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild durch Information über das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und politische Leben in unserem Land. Unsere Kultur- und Bildungsprogramme fördern den interkulturellen Dialog und ermöglichen kulturelle Teilhabe. Sie stärken den Ausbau zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen und fördern weltweite Mobilität.

Mit unserem Netzwerk aus Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren, Kulturgesellschaften, Lesesälen sowie Prüfungs- und Sprachlernzentren sind wir seit über sechzig Jahren für viele Menschen der erste Kontakt mit Deutschland. Die langjährige partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Institutionen und Persönlichkeiten in über 90 Ländern schafft nachhaltiges Vertrauen in unser Land. Wir sind Partner für alle, die sich aktiv mit Deutschland und seiner Kultur beschäftigen und arbeiten eigenverantwortlich und parteipolitisch ungebunden.

Uber Goethe-Tanzania

Das Goethe-Institut in Tansania

Das Goethe-Institut Tansania wurde im Jahr 1962 gegründet und im März 1998 vorübergehend geschlossen. Die Wiedereröffnung fand am 3. September 2008 mit GI-Präsident Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann im Botanischen Garten statt. Während der Suche nach einer geeigneten Liegenschaft, diente ein Büro in der französischen Kulturinstitution Alliance Française de Dar es Salaam als Zwischenunterkunft.

Ab dem 11. November 2008 hat das Goethe-Institut das Gebäude der ehemaligen polnischen Botschaft im Stadtteil Upanga gemietet. Dieses neue Institutsgebäude wurde offiziell am 6. April 2010 durch Guido Westerwelle, damaliger Außenminister Deutschlands, eingeweiht.

Das Goethe-Institut Tansania organisiert und unterstützt ein breites Spektrum von kulturellen Veranstaltungen zur Präsentation deutscher Kultur im Ausland und zum interkulturellen Austausch.

Unsere Spracharbeit bietet Sprachkurse, Workshops und Seminare für Lehrer im Bereich Deutsch als Fremdsprache sowie ein umfangreiches Prüfungsprogramm an.