Latitude

With the online magazine “Latitude”, the Goethe-Institut provides a platform for global discourse on colonial power relations, their consequences and how to overcome them. In interviews, essays and a range of other formats, the magazine highlights issues such as decolonisation, preservation of indigenous cultures, the role of museums, restitution and dealing with cultural heritage.

The global exchange on postcolonial issues is essential for coming to terms with colonial power relations, critically examining the postcolonial world order and the role of museums and their implications. The discourse is not limited to the relations between the former colonising and colonised countries; it delves deeper into recognising, questioning, and overcoming the privileges that derive from the colonial circumstances. Through Latitude the Goethe-Institut enables protagonists and actors from different countries have their say in order to tell a story that is as diverse as it is complex.

The term “latitude”


“Latitude” refers to the cartographic concept of a demarcation line in relation to the equator, which is also accompanied by a distinction between southern and northern parallels. By means of this division, the term indicates associatively the inequality with respect to power relations: the imposition of the systematic power of many countries of the global North over the regions of the South. For a more positive interpretation, our online magazine suggests linking the term “latitude” to the concept of freedom, outside the static division between North and South. By contrast, the aim is to promote a global and “free” exchange that enables an equal relationship among all actors. The online magazine Latitude is such a space for respectful sharing - cultural, political, economic and aesthetic.

Building on networks


Launched in September 2019, the online magazine puts together a wide range of discussions in collaboration with experts from science, culture and art. New focal points are regularly set with regard to the discourses. Writers, such as Cidinha da Silva from Brazil and Philipp Khabo Koepsell from Germany, have written essays on “black literature” and its positioning in the global literary scene. The constantly growing number of voices represented in Latitude can be accessed via the index of experts, which makes the contributors visible and enables the experts to connect with one other. In addition, ideas and findings from many Goethe-Institut projects on decolonisation and post-colonial power relations flow into the magazine's narratives.

Multifaceted discourse


The topics on Latitude range from the return of illegally acquired art objects to the communities of origin and the decolonisation of museums as well as the redefinition of power relations between the West and the Global South and the realignment of postcolonial development cooperation. For example, the handling of controversial art objects from former colonies is examined from different perspectives by experts, those that demand unconditional repatriations and others who propose a broader spectrum of alternative approaches to cooperation between the former colonies and the colonial powers. These debates are necessary for fostering a decolonised and anti-racist world.

 
The editorial team

Latitude

Mit dem Online-Magazin „Latitude“ lädt das Goethe-Institut zum globalen Austausch über koloniale Machtverhältnisse, deren Folgen und Überwindung ein. In Interviews, Essays und zahlreichen anderen Formaten werden Themen wie Dekolonisierung, die Bewahrung indigener Kulturen, die Rolle von Museen, Restitution und der Umgang mit dem Kulturerbe verhandelt.

Der globale Austausch zu postkolonialen Themen ist unerlässlich für die Aufarbeitung kolonialer Machtverhältnisse, die kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der postkolonialen Weltordnung sowie deren Folgen für die Arbeit von Archiven und Museen. Der Diskurs beleuchtet nicht nur die Beziehungen zwischen den ehemaligen kolonisierenden und den kolonisierten Ländern, sondern es geht vielmehr darum, die Privilegien aus kolonialen Verhältnissen zu erkennen, zu hinterfragen und zu überwinden. Mit Latitude lässt das Goethe-Institut Protagonist*innen und Akteur*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern zu Wort kommen, um eine ebenso vielstimmige wie vielschichtige Geschichte zu erzählen.

Der Begriff „Latitude“


„Latitude“ verweist auf den kartografischen Begriff einer Demarkationslinie in Bezug auf den Äquator, der mit einer Unterscheidung zwischen den südlichen und nördlichen Breitengraden einhergeht. Der Begriff weist durch diese Trennung assoziativ auf die Ungleichheit hinsichtlich der Machtverhältnisse hin: das Aufzwingen der systematischen Macht vieler Länder des globalen Nordens über die Regionen aus dem Süden. Für ein positiveres Verständnis möchte das Online-Magazin den Begriff „Latitude“ in Zusammenhang mit dem Begriff der Freiheit verknüpfen, außerhalb der statischen Aufteilung in Norden und Süden. Ganz im Gegenteil sollen globaler und „freier“ Austausch gefördert werden, um eine gleichberechtigte Beziehung zwischen allen Akteur*innen zu ermöglichen. Das Online-Magazin Latitude ist ein solcher Raum für einen respektvollen Austausch – kulturell, politisch, wirtschaftlich und ästhetisch.

Auf Netzwerken aufbauen


Im September 2019 wurde das Online-Magazin gestartet und es bündelt in Zusammenarbeit mit Expert*innen aus Wissenschaft, Kultur und Kunst eine weitgefasste Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema. Regelmäßig werden neue Schwerpunkte bezüglich der Diskurse gesetzt. Schriftsteller*innen wie Cidinha da Silva aus Brasilien und Philipp Khabo Koepsell aus Deutschland etwa haben Essays über „Schwarze Literatur“ und ihre Positionierung im globalen Literaturbetrieb geschrieben. Die ständig wachsende Zahl der Stimmen auf Latitude erschließt sich über einen Expert*innen-Index, der die Beteiligten sichtbar macht und eine Vernetzung untereinander ermöglicht. Darüber hinaus fließen Ideen und Erkenntnisse aus vielen Projekten des Goethe-Instituts zu Dekolonisierung und postkolonialen Machtverhältnissen in die Erzählungen des Magazins ein.

Multiperspektivische Diskurse


Die Themen auf Latitude reichen von der Rückgabe illegal erworbener Kunstobjekte an die Herkunftsgesellschaften und der Dekolonisierung von Museen bis hin zur Neudefinition von Machtverhältnissen zwischen dem Westen und dem globalen Süden und der Neuausrichtung postkolonialer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Beispielsweise wird der Umgang mit umstrittenen Kunstobjekten aus ehemaligen Kolonien aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven beleuchtet, von Expert*innen, die bedingungslose Rückführungen fordern, ebenso wie von Befürworter*innen eines breiteren Spektrums von alternativen Ansätzen für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den ehemaligen Kolonien und Kolonialmächten. Diese Debatten sind notwendig – im Sinne einer entkolonialisierten und antirassistischen Welt.

 
Das Redaktionsteam