The Big Pond

It all began in 2018 with Season 1: THE BIG POND. In celebration of the Year of German-American Friendship, our journalists tackled classic German-American topics, like pretzels and the Berlin Wall, from a fresh transatlantic perspective. The result: a mosaic of modern life in Germany and the U.S. that shows just how much our two countries share. Listen to all 52 episodes here or wherever you get your podcasts. Looking for new music? We also created a Spotify playlist of songs that we specially selected to air alongside THE BIG POND on WPFW DC. Listen here.
Germans on Harleys
© Scott Carrier

With a German motorcycle club through the Red Rock Canyons
Germans on Harleys

Every year, tourists from around the world flock to Southern Utah to take in the scenic landscape. Most travel by car, but some opt for a less traditional mode of transport. More ...

Quietude
© Bilal Qureshi

What “Stille” means in bustling Berlin
Quietude — In Search of Radio Silence

A search for some peace and quiet leads to bigger questions — why German culture values quiet so much, where the city’s physical spaces nurture it, and how to cultivate stillness within ourselves. More ...

Alain Locke
Courtesy of Moorland-Spingarn Research Center

Mobility and the Black Experience
Black Art, Berlin Stories — Looking for Alain Locke

This is a story about African-American philosopher Alain Locke, the Harlem Renaissance, and why Locke’s book The New Negro remains relevant in the U.S. and Germany today. More ...

Thomas Buergenthal and his parents
© Thomas Buergenthal

A child in Auschwitz
Thomas Buergenthal — A Lucky Child

Thomas Buergenthal saw the Nazi concentration camps through a child’s eyes. Luckily, he survived. Later, he became a lawyer, and eventually a judge. He waited decades to write his story down, now informed by his precise knowledge of human rights law. More ...

Migration
© Chris Gash

Memories of Home
The Things We Brought

A stitch, a book, a hat. Katie Davis speaks with immigrants about the items that they brought to the U.S. from their home countries — and the special meaning that each of these souvenirs holds. More …

Chris Strachwitz
© John Fago

Records that Shaped Lives
The Passion of Chris Strachwitz

Chris Strachwitz is a man possessed. A “songcatcher,” capturing and recording the traditional, regional, down-home music of the U.S. where he and his family settled after World War II. More ...

Marion Kraft with Gloria Joseph and Audre Lorde
© Marion Kraft

The legacy of an iconic activist
Showing Our Colors

What is it like to navigate life with multiple cultural and racial identities? Producer Jocelyn Robinson explores this intersectionality in Germany and the USA. More ...

Leigh Hamilton
© Janine Guldener

Connecting people and cultures
A Singer’s Life

A singer’s life is not an easy one, but voice teachers like Leigh Hamilton know what it takes — because she’s lived it. Hamilton is a dramatic soprano, based in Germany for more than 17 years, who helps singers from around the globe who come to Germany to seek their fortunes. More ...

In front of the Tacheles in Berlin, in the 90s
Courtesy Martin Reiter, Kunsthaus Tacheles Archive

Music and Art in Transition
Legacies of the Berlin Wall

When the Berlin Wall unexpectedly fell in 1989, subcultures and international trends combined with other creative forces to establish Berlin as a mecca for artists. More ...

Plane at Tempelhof
© Monika Müller-Kroll

Unique multinational relief action
Luftbrücke — 70 Years of Memories

On June 24, 1948, the Soviets cut off roads and rails into West Berlin in the Berlin Blockade, isolating it from the rest of West Germany. Today, the former pilots and ‘Berlin kids’ still remember it well. More ...

Ringbahn Treptowerpark
© Ama Split and Riky Kiwy

A rich, roving backdrop for urban life
The Berlin Ringbahn

Hop on Berlin’s Ringbahn, a train that carries over 400,000 passengers each day through some of the city’s most vibrant neighborhoods. Some of them share their stories here, over one day and 27 stops. More ...

Frances Schoenberger and John Lennon 1975 in New York
© Bob Gruen

A Career-Defining Moment
A Day with John Lennon

In 1975, German journalist Frances Schoenberger had the chance to speak to John Lennon, but the interview was never published — until now. Here, Schoenberger listens to it for the first time, 40 years later. More ...

People picnic on the rocky heights that overlook Harpers Ferry in Maryland, 1962
© Volkmar Wentzel, NG Image Collection

The magical world of images
Seeing in the Dark — Volkmar Wentzel’s Photography

The German-American photographer Volkmar Wentzel moved from Germany to the U.S. with his family in 1926. Eventually, he was hired by National Geographic in Washington, D.C. and became one of their legendary ‘field men’ who traveled and photographed the world. More ...

The City of Magdeburg
© Jakob Lewis

A glorified trip club or the key to world peace?
What’s a Sister City, Really?

The historic city of Magdeburg, Germany, might seem like an odd place for a country music festival — but corn dogs and cowboy hats are one perk of the sister city relationship between Nashville and Magdeburg. More ...

Jakob Lewis in front of his parents' former apartment in Wölfersheim
© Catherine Lewis

When the past comes to life
Finding My Parents

Jakob Lewis was born in Germany, at the military base where his dad was stationed — and hasn’t been back since. Now, he retraces his parents’ steps and finds surprising parallels between their life then and his life today. More ...

The Big Pond #27: Welcome to Motherland
© Melissa Gerr

Everyday life with children
Welcome to Motherland

Three women, two countries, one shared experience: motherhood. From giving birth to getting support, a look at the expectations of motherhood in the U.S. and in Germany reveal some startling differences. More ...

The Racing Presidents
© https://blog.letteddywin.com/

A Master Artisan
Puppeteering from Darmstadt to D.C.

Ingrid Crepeau, the mastermind behind the Washington Nationals’ ‘Racing Presidents’ mascots, talks about her transatlantic career. More ...

Bauhaus
© Verónica Zaragovia

Defining Design
100 Years of the Bauhaus

The Bauhaus school of art, architecture and design was founded in 1919 and only lasted for 14 years before the Nazis closed its doors. A century later, it still has an outsized influence in modern design around the world. More ...
 

Libraries Alex van Oss
© Alex van Oss

The library in the era of digitization
The Library and the Book

Libraries around the world are facing new challenges brought on by technology, changing everything from how we find books to how we think about public resources. What does the library of the future look like? More ...

Marine A Grain Silo, Buffalo, NY
© Alex van Oss

Surreal architecture on Lake Erie
The Colossi of Buffalo

At one time, Buffalo, New York, was the world’s foremost grain port. The old grain silos are awesome colossi, made of steel and reinforced concrete. Now, the silos are being rediscovered and repurposed — a trend in similar former industrial areas in Europe, South America, and South Africa. More ...

Alsace, Bas-Rhin, Sélestat, Église Sainte-Foy, Verrière “Sainte-Hildegarde” du chœur (Ott Frères, 1892);
Photo (excerpt) by Ralph Hammann via Wikimedia Commons; licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0

The Middle Ages come alive
St. Hildegard of Bingen

St. Hildegard of Bingen was a 12th-century German nun, but she was also a writer, composer of chants, mystic, and visionary. What on earth does a 12th-century nun have to do with life today? As it turns out — a lot. More ...

A Box of Berger Cookies
© Katie Marquette

Overwhelming indulgence
No Restraint — Berger Cookies and the City of Baltimore

Berger Cookies are like Baltimore: down-to-earth, charming, and extravagant. These fudge-covered cookies are a staple of the city — and the delicious legacy of a German immigrant family, the Bergers. More ...

Volunteers make about 4,000 dumplings for the annual Sour Beef dinner at the Zion Church of Baltimor
© MelissaGerrMedia

Dumplings within historic church walls
Faith, and a Side of Sour Beef

For more than 250 years, the congregation ​of Zion Lutheran Church in Baltimore, Maryland, has remained dedicated to its German immigrant heritage. The church’s annual sour beef and dumplings dinner serves 4,000 dumplings to enthusiastic locals. More ...

Black Forest Cake
© Nikki Out West

A dream of biscuit and cream
Getting to Know the Gateau

German chocolate cake isn’t German — it was named after its American inventor, Samuel German, in 1852. But there is one real German cake that is beloved in Germany and the U.S. alike: the Black Forest gateau. More ...

A Cup of Coffee
© Nina Bohlmann

Much more than just a pick-me-up
Culture of Coffee

Are there cultural differences in the consumption of coffee? We explore the meaning of coffee across cultures, from Baltimore to Berlin. Plus, a glimpse into the German tradition of ‘Kaffee und Kuchen,’ or afternoon coffee and cake. More ...

Prezel production in Cincinatti, Ohio
© Valora

A centuries-old history full of myths and stories
The Story of the Brezn

The pretzel — ‘Brezel’ or ‘Brezn’ in German — is not an ordinary pastry. It has a rich history, full of myths and hearsay. Where did it come from? How did a baked good doused in lye become a beloved snack? More ...

Bread Nikki Out West
© Nikki Out West

Late nights in the bakery
German Bread — A Nourishing Craft

German bread culture has been recognized by UNESCO, but the traditional craft is threatened — by a lack of new blood and competition from large-scale bakeries. Can German bread culture rise again? More ...

Oktoberfest at “Zum Schneider”
Courtesy “Zum Schneider”

Craft beer continues to explode in popularity
Suds and Stories

Germany’s beer influence has swept the world, and one epicenter of the trend is New York City. There are over two dozen beer gardens and halls in the city — and every year, weeks of Oktoberfest celebrations are held in all of the five boroughs. More ...

Grapes
Image by milivanily on Pixabay

Old knowledge for the new world
German-Style Wines in the U.S.

German winemakers have shaped wine manufacturing in the U.S. for over a century. We look at how riesling, Blaufränkisch, Grüner Veltliner, and other old favorites are being used to create something new and unique in the U.S. More ...

Cyclist in Berlin
Photo by Morgana Bartolomei on Unsplash

German Bicycling Culture
Enjoy the Ride — About Bicycling

As climate change awareness grows, urban planners have a secret weapon — the bicycle. In Freiburg, Germany, advocates with different backgrounds are working together to make cycling easier for everyone. More ...

Recycling
© Nina Bohlmann

Garbage problems on both sides of the Atlantic
Sorting Out Recycling

Like many countries, the U.S. and Germany have a garbage problem. The U.S. recycling rate is relatively low, while Germany has the highest in the world. But is recycling really the answer to our waste problem? More ...

Dieter Kosslick Red Carpet
© dpa

The end of an era
Dieter Kosslick’s Last Red Carpet Ride

As festival director, Dieter Kosslick has put his stamp on the Berlin International Film Festival for 18 years. The 2019 season was his last, but artists and fans celebrate his continued influence. More ...

New Orleans
Photo by NICO BHLR on Unsplash

Hidden Traces
Germans in New Orleans

In the streets of New Orleans, you immediately come across signs of French, Caribbean, Native American, and Spanish influences. Producer Martina Groß explores the lesser-known German history of the city. More ...

MIETENmove!-Demonstration in Hamburg
Photo by Rasande Tyskar on flickr licensed under CC-BY-NC 2.0

Housing speculation in Berlin
Exploding Rents in San Francisco and in Berlin

Berlin may not be as bad as San Francisco (yet), but the city’s popularity — 40,000 people moving in every year — is leading to a housing shortage that will shape city life in years to come.More ...

Hessian Barracks in Maryland
© Rob Sachs

Searching for clues in Fredericksburg
Hessian Barracks in Maryland

An estimated 30,000 Hessian soldiers fought for the British during the American Revolutionary War. German prisoners were brought to Frederick, Maryland — the beginning of a rich shared history. More ...

Milwaukee German Fest
Photo Courtesy of German Fest Milwaukee, Inc.

From breweries to belonging
Milwaukee’s German Heritage

Milwaukee is sometimes called the most German city in America. In the 1840s, Germans fleeing wars in Europe settled there — now, younger generations are rediscovering their German roots. More ...

Oktoberfest in Fredericksburg, Texas
Oktoberfest in Fredericksburg

German culture in the Lone Star State
Texas German — Auf Wiedersehen to a Dialect

Deep in the heart of Texas, the great-great-grandchildren of German immigrants speak their own unique dialect of German. The language may be dying out, but locals are working to ensure that the culture lives on. More ...

Wurstfest in New Braunfels
© Wurstfest Association of New Braunfels

Lack of new members
German-Texan Heritage Societies

Between 1820 and World War I, nearly six million Germans immigrated to the U.S. — in 2017, only 5,000. What does this mean for the German-American heritage societies that keep the culture alive in the U.S.? More ...

Tattoo
© Goethe-Institut e. V.

The Body Art Phenomenon
Under the Skin — Tattoo Artists

To supplement her income as an artist, Ruth Marten became one of the first female tattoo artists in New York in the 1970s — back then, tattooing was still illegal, which she says made it even more fun. More ...

Soccer
© picture alliance / dpa

A Transatlantic Exchange
U.S.-American Soccer and the World 

Since the U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team failed to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, many American soccer players have been signing onto international teams to improve their skills and become more competitive. More ...

Jürgen Klinsmann talking to Kerstin Zilm
© SilverLakes

More than a tournament
Klinsmann in California

Jürgen Klinsmann is a soccer legend in Germany. He led the German national team to a third-place finish in the 2006 World Cup and coached the U.S. men’s soccer team for years. Now, he’s helping foster a new generation of athletes at his international youth soccer tournament in Southern California. More ...

The Bonn Capitals present their Medals
© Bonn Capitals, Schönenborn

Emulate the idols
American Sports in Germany

‘German baseball’ may sound surprising, but the Bonn Capitals have led the German baseball league for years. Their success traces back to when Bonn was the capital of Germany — and home to an American community that wanted to play ball. More ...

Sonja Schrepfer and Tobias Deuse
© Noah Berger/for UCSF

International Researchers in the U.S.
Heart in Space — German Scientists and NASA

Growing up in Germany, Sonja Schrepfer never imagined that she would one day work for NASA in the U.S. Today, the German cardiologist and her husband Tobias Deuse work out of San Francisco where they conduct research on space travel. More ...

Apprentice Jahi Taylor and his mentor Erik Smith
© Rhoda Metcalfe

Young talent in craft industries
German-Style Apprenticeships in the U.S.

Driven by a lack of skilled technicians, a group of manufacturers in Chicago launched an apprenticeship program based on German education models. When companies invest in young people, it creates a promising new era for industry. More ...

Jacob-und-Wilhelm-Grimm-Center, library of the Humboldt University in Berlin
Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Study abroad in Germany
U.S.-American Students in German Universities

With more and more degree programs entirely in English — and free tuition, typically — Germany recently surpassed China to become one of the top five destinations for students from the United States. More ...

Friday prayer of the Muslim Student Association of the Miami University, Oxford, Ohio
© Rosemary Pennington

Everyday life for Muslims in the U.S. and Germany
Being Muslim in the Midwest

What is it like to be Muslim in the Midwest? A look at shared experiences between Muslim communities in the U.S. and Germany, where more immigrants who practice Islam have arrived in recent years. More ...

Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles
© Aaron Perez, courtesy of VATMH

Exile and debates about global issues
Villa Aurora and Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles

During the Nazi regime, many German artists and intellectuals found refuge in Southern California. In Los Angeles, the homes of authors Lion Feuchtwanger and Thomas Mann still inspire transatlantic art fellows today. More ...

Alexander Haus
Courtesy Alexander Haus

Researching Jewish family history
A House for Reconciliation

Five generations have lived at the Alexander Haus on Groß Glienicker See over the past century, enduring fascism, war, division, and the fall of communism. Now, the home has undergone yet another transition — into an education center for meaningful connections. More ...

Atlanta, GA
Photo by Jessica Furtney on Unsplash

48 Buildings in the Southside
Revitalizing Downtown Atlanta

When Jake Nawrocki had the idea of reviving the Southside of Atlanta’s downtown neighborhood — which could take up to 20 years — he had to find investors interested in a long-term commitment. More ...

Detroit, MI
© Frank Hofmann

From industrial wasteland to cultural shrine
The Detroit-Berlin Connection

Dimitri Hegemann, mastermind behind the Berlin nightclub Tresor, has been nurturing artistic connections between Berlin and Detroit since the early ’90s. He wants to thank Detroit for what its music has given Berlin — by converting Detroit’s former industrial spaces into cultural hotspots. More ...

Walking in Berlin
© Thomas Reintjes

Cologne, New York City, and New Orleans
How to Walk in the City

This episode is a reflection on what it means to walk in a city — how walking can be anything from a mode of transport to a meditative practice. More ...

Jutta Allmendinger Photo
© WZB / Photo: David Ausserhofer

Worlds of Homelessness
The Right to Housing

Berlin and Los Angeles are faced with a common problem: homelessness. Journalist Caroline Porter demonstrates how traditional ideas surrounding homelessness are changing and discusses some creative new solutions. More ...

Our Partners

Logo KCRW Berlin   PRX-Logo   Logo der RIAS BERLIN KOMMISSION
The Kitchen Sisters   WPFW WABE 90.1 Logo   
Germanic-American Institute Logo   Kristina, Kati, Kalifornia   Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e. V.  

Developed within the scope of

Logo Wunderbar Together

The Big Pond

Alles begann im Jahr 2018 mit der ersten Staffel unseres transatlantischen Podcasts: THE BIG POND. Um das Jahr der deutsch-amerikanischen Freundschaft „Wunderbar Together“ zu feiern, stürzten sich unsere Journalist*innen auf deutsche Klassiker, auf Bretzeln, Kaffee und Kuchen und die Berliner Mauer. Entstanden ist ein Mosaik deutscher Gewohnheiten und ihrer Bedeutung auf der anderen Seite des Ozeans, in den USA. Auf dieser Seite haben wir alle 52 Folgen der ersten Staffel zusammengefasst. Die Folgen sind außerdem überall dort zu finden, wo ihr am liebsten eure Podcasts hört. Die Musik zur Staffel gibt es auf Spotify, dort finden sich alle transatlantischen Songs, die wir in der Radio-Show „Sounding The Big Pond“ bei unseren Freunden von WPFW Washington gespielt haben.
Deutsche auf Harleys
© Scott Carrier

Mit einem deutschen Motorradclub durch die Red Rock Canyons
Germans on Harleys

Regelmäßig strömen zahlreiche Tourist*innen aus aller Welt nach Utah, vor allem wegen der überwältigenden Landschaft. Während die meisten mit dem Auto kommen, wählen manche ein außergewöhnlicheres Transportmittel. Mehr ...

Quietude
© Bilal Qureshi

Eine Geschichte von Geräuschen
Quietude — In Search of Radio Silence

Ein Radio-Reisebericht aus der deutschen Hauptstadt Berlin. Die Stille ist dort gegenwärtiger als die pulsierende Geräuschkulisse US-amerikanischer Städte. Diese Folge von THE BIG POND untersucht, warum das so ist. Mehr ...

Alain Locke
Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Moorland-Spingarn Research Center

Bewegung als Metapher für das Leben der Schwarzen
Black Art, Berlin Stories — Looking for Alain Locke

Dies ist eine Geschichte über Schwarze im Exil und darüber, warum Alain Lockes Vision von einem ‚Neuen Schwarzen‘ in den USA und auch jenseits des Atlantiks weiterhin relevant ist. Mehr ...

Thomas Buergenthal und seine Eltern
© Thomas Buergenthal

Als kleiner Junge in Auschwitz
Thomas Buergenthal — A Lucky Child

Thomas Buergenthal erlebte die Konzentrationslager der Nazis aus der Perspektive eines Kindes. Zum Glück überlebte er und wurde später Anwalt und schließlich Richter. Jahrzehnte später entschied er sich dazu, seine Geschichte niederzuschreiben. Mehr ...

Migration
© Chris Gash

Erinnerungen an die Heimat
The Things We Brought

Eine Stickerei, ein Buch, ein Hut – Katie Davis unterhält sich mit Migrant*innen über besondere Gegenstände, die diese aus ihren Herkunftsländern in die USA mitgebracht haben. Mehr …

Chris Strachwitz
© John Fago

Songs, die sein Leben formten
The Passion of Chris Strachwitz

Chris Strachwitz ist besessen von Musik. Er ist ein „Songfänger“, der die traditionelle, regionale, bodenständige Musik seiner Wahlheimat USA einfängt und aufnimmt, seit er Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges mit seiner Familie aus Deutschland übersiedelte. Mehr …

Marion Kraft mit Gloria Joseph und Audre Lorde
© Marion Kraft

Das Vermächtnis einer berühmten Feministin
Showing Our Colors

Wie lebt es sich mit mehreren ethnischen oder kulturellen Wurzeln? Journalistin Jocelyn Robinson ergründet komplexe Identitäten in Deutschland und den USA. Mehr ...

Leigh Hamilton
© Janine Guldener

Menschen und Kulturen miteinander verbinden
A Singer’s Life

Viele junge Sänger*innen aus aller Welt suchen in Deutschland ihr Glück. Um Erfolg zu haben, müssen sie hart trainieren. Wer wüsste dies besser als Stimm-Coaches wie Leigh Hamilton? Die Sopranistin lebt seit mehr als 17 Jahren in Deutschland. Mehr ...

Vor dem Tacheles in Berlin, in den 90ern
Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Martin Reiter, Kunsthaus Tacheles Archiv

Musik- und Kunstszene im Wandel
Legacies of the Berlin Wall

Als die Berliner Mauer 1989 unerwartet fiel, löste das eine Zeit extremer Umbrüche in der wiedervereinten Hauptstadt Deutschlands aus. Subkulturen und internationale Trends etablierten zusammen mit anderen kreativen Kräften Berlin als Mekka für Kunstschaffende. Mehr ...

Flugzeug in Tempelhof
© Monika Müller-Kroll

Beispiellose internationale Hilfsaktion
Luftbrücke — 70 Years of Memories

Am 24. Juni 1948 kappte die sowjetische Militäradministration im Rahmen der Berlin-Blockade den Schienenverkehr und die Straßenverbindungen nach Westberlin und isolierte damit die Stadt vom restlichen Teil Westdeutschlands. Zeitzeug*innen erinnern sich. Mehr ...

Ringbahn Treptowerpark
© Ama Split und Riky Kiwy

Eine Stadtumrundung der besonderen Art
The Berlin Ringbahn

Die Berliner Ringbahn befördert täglich mehr als 400.000 Fahrgäste und durchquert einige der urwüchsigsten und lebendigsten Viertel der Stadt. Mehr ...

Frances Schoenberger und John Lennon 1975 in New York
© Bob Gruen

Höhepunkt einer Karriere
A Day with John Lennon

1975 hatte die deutsche Journalistin Frances Schoenberger die Chance zu einem Gespräch mit John Lennon, doch das Interview wurde niemals veröffentlicht. Mehr ...

Menschen picknicken auf den Hügeln über Harpers Ferry in Maryland, 1962
© Volkmar Wentzel, NG Image Collection

Die magische Welt der Bilder
Seeing in the Dark — Volkmar Wentzel’s Photography

Diese Folge porträtiert den deutsch-amerikanischen Fotografen Volkmar Wentzel, der mit seiner Familie 1926 in die USA auswanderte. Als junger Mann bereiste er für die National Geographic als einer deren legendären ‚field men‘ die gesamte Welt. Mehr ...

Magdeburg
© Jakob Lewis

Fröhliche Ausflugsgemeinschaft oder Schlüssel zum Weltfrieden?
What’s a Sister City, Really?

Wenn in Magdeburg die Nashville Days stattfinden, ein Musikfestival zu Ehren von Johnny Cash, sieht man an jeder Ecke Corn-Dog-Stände und Cowboyhüte. Zu verdanken ist die Veranstaltung der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Nashville und Magdeburg. Mehr ...

Jakob Lewis vor der ehemaligen Wohnung seiner Eltern in Wölfersheim
© Catherine Lewis

Wenn die Vergangenheit wieder auflebt
Finding My Parents

Jakob Lewis wurde in einem Militärkrankenhaus in Deutschland geboren. Sein Vater war damals mit der U.S. Army auf einem Stützpunkt stationiert. Als Jakob sechs Monate alt war, verließ die Familie Deutschland. Für diese Folge reist Jakob zum ersten Mal wieder zurück. Mehr ...

The Big Pond #27: Welcome to Motherland
© Melissa Gerr

Der Alltag mit Kindern
Welcome to Motherland

Drei Frauen, zwei Länder, eine gemeinsame Erfahrung: Mutterschaft. Diese Folge fördert verblüffende Unterschiede zutage – über die Rolle von Müttern und die Erwartungen an sie in den USA und Deutschland. Mehr ...

The Racing Presidents
© https://blog.letteddywin.com/

Lasst die Puppen tanzen
Puppeteering from Darmstadt to D.C.

Von ihrer transatlantischen Karriere erzählt Ingrid Crepeau. Die erfolgreiche Puppenspielerin und -bauerin ist bekannt für die ‚Racing Presidents‘ des Baseballteams Washington Nationals. Mehr ...

Bauhaus
© Verónica Zaragovia

Prägendes Design
100 Years of the Bauhaus

Das Bauhaus wurde 1919 gegründet und bestand nur wenige Jahre, bis die Nazis es schlossen. Doch die Gestaltungsideen der legendären Schule für Kunst, Design und Architektur wirken bis heute fort. Mehr ...

Bibliotheken Alex van Oss
© Alex van Oss

Zukunft der Bibliotheken
The Library and the Book

Wohin führt der Weg von Bibliotheken im 21. Jahrhundert? Wie sollen die Institutionen mit Zufallsentdeckungen neuer Bücher im Internet mithalten? Wie hat sich die Rolle der öffentlichen Bibliotheken im Laufe der Zeit verändert?  Mehr ...

Marine A Grain Silo, Buffalo, NY
© Alex van Oss

Surreale Architektur am Lake Erie
The Colossi of Buffalo

Buffalo (New York) diente einmal als der größte Getreidehafen der Welt. Dies wird von enormen Getreidesilos am Flussufer bezeugt. ​In den vergangenen Jahren wurden die eindrucksvollen Kolosse aus Holz, Stahl und Beton wiederentdeckt und umfunktioniert. Mehr ...

Elsass, Bas-Rhin, Sélestat, Kirche Sainte-Foy, Chorfenster „Heilige Hildegard“
Foto (Ausschnitt) von Ralph Hammann via Wikimedia Commons; lizensiert unter CC BY-SA 4.0

Lebendiges Mittelalter
St. Hildegard of Bingen

Hildegard von Bingen war eine Nonne, die im 12. Jahrhundert in Deutschland lebte und auch als Autorin, Komponistin von Kirchenliedern, Mystikerin und Visionärin bekannt ist. Wie sich herausstellt, hat sie mit unserem heutigen Leben noch immer eine ganze Menge zu tun. Mehr ...

Eine Schachtel Berger Cookies
© Katie Marquette

Überwältigender Genuss
No Restraint — Berger Cookies and the City of Baltimore

Berger Cookies sind wie die Stadt Baltimore: unprätentiös, aber reizvoll und maßlos zugleich. Die Leckerbissen gehen auf die deutsche Einwandererfamilie Berger zurück. Mehr ...

Freiwillige bereiten etwa 4.000 Knödel für das jährliche 'Sour Beef dinner' bei der Zion Church of Baltimore zu
© MelissaGerrMedia

Knödel in historischen Kirchenmauern
Faith, and a Side of Sour Beef

Seit mehr als 250 Jahren ist die Gemeinde der Zion Lutheran Church in Baltimore ihrem deutschen Erbe treu, das Immigrant*innen nach Maryland brachten. Dazu gehört das jährliche ‚sour beef and dumplings dinner‘ mit hunderten Kilos von Sauerbraten und etwa 4.000 Knödeln. Mehr ...

Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte
© Nikki Out West

Ein Traum aus Biskuit und Sahne
Getting to Know the Gateau

Es ist ein weitverbreitetes Missverständnis, dass der German Chocolate Cake eine deutsche Erfindung ist. Doch es gibt eine echte deutsche Torte, die in Deutschland und den USA gleichermaßen beliebt ist – die Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte. Mehr ...

Eine Tasse Kaffee
© Nina Bohlmann

Weit mehr als nur ein Muntermacher
Culture of Coffee

Gibt es kulturelle Unterschiede beim Kaffeetrinken? US-amerikanische und deutsche Sichtweisen von Baltimore bis Berlin und eine rein deutsche Erfindung: der Kaffeeklatsch. Mehr ...

Brezelproduktion in Cincinatti, Ohio
© Valora

Eine jahrhundertelange Geschichte voller Mythen und Legenden
The Story of the Brezn

Die Brezel oder „Brezn“ ist kein gewöhnliches Gebäckstück. Sie hat eine jahrhundertelange Geschichte voller Mythen und Legenden. Woher stammt sie, warum hat sie diese besondere Form und wie kommt es, dass sie in Lauge getaucht wird? Mehr ...

Brot Nikki Out West
© Nikki Out West

Nachts um eins in der Backstube
German Bread — A Nourishing Craft

Deutschland ist in aller Welt bekannt für sein Brot. Doch das traditionelle Bäckerhandwerk ist gefährdet, weil der Nachwuchs fehlt und die Konkurrenz durch große Bäckereiketten und billige Backshops immer größer wird. Mehr ...

Oktoberfest bei „Zum Schneider“
Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von „Zum Schneider“

Die Popularität von Craft Beer reißt nicht ab
Suds and Stories

Der Einfluss deutscher Braukunst hat sich in der Welt verbreitet, und eins der Zentren dieses Trends ist New York. Es gibt mittlerweile mehr als zwei Dutzend Biergärten in der Stadt und jedes Jahr in allen fünf Bezirken mehrwöchige Oktoberfeste. Mehr ...

Weintrauben
Image by milivanily on Pixabay

Altes Wissen für die Neue Welt
German-Style Wines in the U.S.

Seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert prägen deutsche Unternehmer*innen und Winzer*innen die Weinherstellung in den USA. Faszinierendes über Riesling, Blaufränkisch, Lemberger, Zweigelt und Grüner Veltliner – made in USA. Mehr ...

Fahrradfahrer in Berlin
Foto von Morgana Bartolomei auf Unsplash

Deutsche Fahrradkultur
Enjoy the Ride — About Bicycling

In Zeiten eines steigenden Umweltbewusstseins ist das Fahrrad wieder auf dem Vormarsch. In Deutschland wollen vor allem Städte mittlerer Größe wie Freiburg eine Infrastruktur schaffen, um die Bürger*innen darin zu bestärken, sich für das Rad zu entscheiden. Mehr ...

Recycling
© Nina Bohlmann

Müllprobleme diesseits und jenseits des Atlantiks
Sorting Out Recycling

Wie viele Länder der Welt haben die USA und Deutschland ein Müllproblem. Während die Recyclingquote in den USA mit etwa 35 Prozent relativ niedrig ist, gilt Deutschland jedoch als Land mit der höchsten Recyclingquote der Welt. Mehr ...

Dieter Kosslick roter Teppich
© dpa

Eine Berlinale-Ära geht zu Ende
Dieter Kosslick’s Last Red Carpet Ride

Dieter Kosslick ist einer der bekanntesten Festivaldirektoren der Filmwelt und zugleich einer der geselligsten, amüsantesten und kontroversesten. 18 Jahre lang drückte er den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin seinen Stempel auf. Mehr ...

New Orleans
Foto: NICO BHLR auf Unsplash

Verborgene Spuren
Germans in New Orleans

Auf den Straßen New Orleans stößt man sofort auf Spuren französischer, karibischer, indianischer und spanischer Einflüsse. Produzentin Martina Groß erkundet die ebenfalls lange Geschichte der Deutschen in New Orleans. Mehr ...

MIETENmove!-Demonstration in Hamburg
Foto: Rasande Tyskar auf flickr, lizenziert via CC-BY-NC 2.0

Die Spekulation mit Wohnraum
Exploding Rents in San Francisco and in Berlin

Obwohl die Situation in Berlin (noch) nicht so schlimm wie in San Francisco ist, führt die kontinuierliche Beliebtheit der Stadt zu einem Mangel an Wohnraum, der in den nächsten Jahren in Angriff genommen werden muss. Mehr ...

Hessische Kaserne in Maryland
© Rob Sachs

Spurensuche in Frederick
Hessian Barracks in Maryland

30.000 deutsche Soldaten hessischer Herkunft sollen während des Amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges auf Seiten der Briten gekämpft haben. Nach der Niederlage wurden die überlebenden Deutschen als Kriegsgefangene in Frederick unter merkwürdigen Umständen interniert. Mehr ...

Milwaukee German Fest
Photo Courtesy of German Fest Milwaukee, Inc.

Von Bierbrauereien und anderen Traditionen
Milwaukee’s German Heritage

Milwaukee wird auch als deutscheste Stadt der USA bezeichnet. Bereits ab den 1840er‑Jahren siedelten sich hier zahlreiche Deutsche an, die vor den Kriegen in Europa flüchteten. Welchen Bezug hat die Stadt heute zur deutschen Kultur? Mehr ...

Oktoberfest in Fredericksburg, Texas
Oktoberfest in Fredericksburg

Deutsche Kultur im „Staat des einsamen Sternes“
Texas German — Auf Wiedersehen to a Dialect

Deutsche Immigrant*innen halfen bei der Gründung Amerikas. In einigen Teilen von Texas leben ihre Kultur und Sprache weiter, aber vermutlich nicht mehr lange. Der eigenartig klingende Dialekt stirbt langsam aus. Mehr ...

Wurstfest in New Braunfels
© Wurstfest Association of New Braunfels

Mangel an neuen Mitgliedern
German-Texan Heritage Societies

Zwischen 1820 und dem Ersten Weltkrieg emigrierten fast sechs Millionen Deutsche in die USA – 2017 waren es nur noch etwa 5.000. Was bedeutet diese Entwicklung für die deutsch‑amerikanischen Kulturgesellschaften? Mehr ...

Tattoo
© Goethe-Institut e. V.

Phänomen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks
Under the Skin — Tattoo Artists

Weil sie ihr Einkommen als Künstlerin aufbessern wollte, wurde Ruth Marten in den 1970er-Jahren Tätowiererin in New York – als eine der ersten Frauen überhaupt. Damals war Tätowieren gesetzlich verboten, weshalb es noch mehr Spaß machte, sagt sie. Mehr ...

Fußball
© picture alliance / dpa

Globaler Austausch
U.S.-American Soccer and the World 

Seit die Herren-Fußballnationalmannschaft der USA sich nicht für die Weltmeisterschaft 2018 qualifizieren konnte, haben viele US-amerikanische Spieler ihre Fähigkeiten im Ausland verbessern können. Das lässt für die Zukunft hoffen. Mehr ...

Jürgen Klinsmann und Kerstin Zilm im Gespräch
© SilverLakes

Mehr als ein Turnier
Klinsmann in California

Er ist eine deutsche Fußball-Legende, als Spieler wie als Trainer: Jürgen Klinsmann. Im Sommer 2018 rief er den SilverLakes Cup ins Leben, ein internationales Jugend-Fußball-Turnier in Südkalifornien. Mehr ...

Die Bonn Capitals präsentieren ihre Medaillen
© Bonn Capitals, Schönenborn

Den Idolen nacheifern
American Sports in Germany

Baseball in Deutschland klingt erst einmal sehr ungewöhnlich – aber die Bonn Capitals etwa sind eine der führenden Mannschaften der Baseball-Bundesliga. Dieser Erfolg basiert auch darauf, dass zu Hauptstadtzeiten eine große amerikanische Gemeinde den Sport in Bonn etablierte. Mehr ...

Sonja Schrepfer und Tobias Deuse
© Noah Berger / für UCSF

Zum Forschen in die USA
Heart in Space — German Scientists and NASA

Sonja Schrepfer wäre es bis 2013 nicht in den Sinn gekommen, für die NASA zu arbeiten. Heute leitet die deutsche Kardiologin mit ihrem Mann das Transplant and Stem Cell Immunobiology Lab an der University of California San Francisco und forscht im Auftrag der NASA zur Raumfahrt. Mehr ...

Der Auszubildende Jahi Taylor mit seinem Mentor Erik Smith
© Rhoda Metcalfe

Nachwuchssorgen in Handwerksbetrieben
German-Style Apprenticeships in the U.S.

Da es in Chicago oft an ausgebildeten Fachkräften mangelt, haben einige Firmen, die größtenteils in deutscher Hand sind, ein Ausbildungssystem eingeführt, das an das deutsche duale System angelehnt ist. Diese Idee wird nun auch von anderen amerikanischen Firmen übernommen. Mehr ...

Jacob-und-Wilhelm-Grimm-Zentrum, Universitätsbibliothek der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Auslandsstudium in Deutschland
U.S.-American Students in German Universities

Normalerweise keine Studiengebühren und immer mehr englischsprachige Studiengänge: Deutschland rangiert bei Studierenden aus den USA inzwischen unter den fünf beliebtesten Ländern für ein Auslandsstudium. Mehr ...

Freitagsgebet der Muslim Student Association der Miami University in Oxford, Ohio
© Rosemary Pennington

Alltag von Muslim*innen in den USA und in Deutschland
Being Muslim in the Midwest

Wie lebt es sich heutzutage als Muslim*a im Mittleren Westen der USA? Und lässt sich deren Situation mit der in Deutschland vergleichen, wo in den vergangenen Jahren immer mehr Zuwanderer*innen ins Land kamen, die sich zum Islam bekennen? Mehr ...

Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles
© Aaron Perez, courtesy of VATMH

Exil und Debatten über globale Fragen
Villa Aurora and Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles

Während der Nazidiktatur fanden viele deutsche Kunstschaffende, Wissenschaftler*innen und andere Intellektuelle Zuflucht in Südkalifornien. Die Autoren Lion Feuchtwanger und Thomas Mann waren zwei der prominentesten „Exilanten im Paradies“. Eine Reise zu ihren ehemaligen Wohnhäusern in Los Angeles. Mehr ...

Alexander Haus
Courtesy Alexander Haus

Nachforschungen über jüdische Familien
A House for Reconciliation

Das Alexander Haus am Groß Glienicker See hat im vergangenen Jahrhundert Faschismus, Krieg, die Teilung Deutschlands und den Niedergang des Kommunismus miterlebt. Jetzt wird das einstige Wohnhaus zu einem Bildungszentrum umfunktioniert. Mehr ...

Atlanta, GA
Photo von Jessica Furtney auf Unsplash

48 Gebäude in acht Stadtvierteln
Revitalizing Downtown Atlanta

Als Jake Nawrocki auf die Idee kam, die Southside von Downtown Atlanta wiederaufzubauen – ein Vorhaben, das zehn bis 20 Jahre dauern könnte –, musste er Investor*innen finden, die einen langen Atem haben. Mehr ...

Detroit, MI
© Frank Hofmann

Kulturtempel statt Industriebrachen
The Detroit-Berlin Connection

Dimitri Hegemann, Gründer des legendären Berliner Nachtklubs Tresor, will zurückgeben, was die Elektro‑Szene von Detroit für Berlin getan hat – indem er verwaiste Fabrikhallen zu kulturellen Hotspots umfunktioniert. Mehr ...

Spaziergang in Berlin
© Thomas Reintjes

Köln, New York und New Orleans
How to Walk in the City

Diese Folge ergründet, was es bedeutet, eine Stadt zu Fuß zu durchqueren – wie persönlich die Wahrnehmung eines Ortes sein kann und dass Gehen alles sein kann: von einem Mittel, von A nach B zu gelangen, bis zu einer meditativen Praxis, dem Stress des Alltags zu entfliehen. Mehr ...

Jutta Allmendinger Foto
© WZB / Foto: David Ausserhofer

Worlds of Homelessness
The Right to Housing

Berlin und Los Angeles haben mit dem gleichen Problem zu kämpfen: Obdachlosigkeit. Caroline Porter zeigt, wie sich althergebrachte Vorstellungen wandeln und welche kreativen neuen Lösungsansätze momentan diskutiert werden. Mehr ...

Unsere Partner

Logo KCRW Berlin   PRX-Logo   Logo der RIAS BERLIN KOMMISSION
The Kitchen Sisters   WPFW WABE 90.1 Logo   
Germanic-American Institute Logo   Kristina, Kati, Kalifornia   Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e. V.  

Entstanden im Rahmen von

Logo Wunderbar Together