Hear ye! Hear ye! It’s THE BIG PONDER — in German

The Goethe-Institut and rbbKultur, a public radio broadcaster in Germany, are bringing you a brand-new audio special straight from Berlin. In this artfully curated miniseries, the production team at rbbKultur recreates eight exemplary episodes of THE BIG PONDER — in German. These episodes simultaneously highlight the similarities and the differences between the U.S. and Germany by taking on aspects of German and American life that often go unexplored. You’ll hear all about friendship, home, “Little Americas” in Germany, pen pals that exchange messages over the Atlantic, and the relationship that Americans and Germans have with their national flags. Listen below!
Truck in Bavaria
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Brieffreunde – My Pen Pal

Two men on opposite sides of the Atlantic unexpectedly become pen pals in the middle of a pandemic: Jakob, a podcast producer from Tennessee, and Ingo, a policeman from the German state of Saxony-Anhalt. This episode explains how this happened and what Pokémon had to do with it. More ...

Kids in Pullman City (near Deggendorf)
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Über die Freundschaft – In Friendship

Why did some relationships suffer during the pandemic while others — often those between old friends — grew stronger? Bilal searches for a transatlantic explanation. In the end, he gets answers from his friends, his nephew Zayn, and a metaphor about peaches and coconuts. More ...

Marius Gardeia (model) in Pullman City, flag by Melissa Treutlein (illustrator)
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Flaggen – Flags

The American flag in the parking lot of American Pride, a landscape equipment store in Zanesville, Ohio, is the biggest in the state. What is the meaning behind the national flag in the U.S.? How do Germans relate to their flag? How can a piece of fabric become so imbued with symbolism? Jocelyn Robinson investigates. More ...

Housing Area, Rose Barracks in Vilseck
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Little America

The U.S. military bases in Germany are set up like “Little Americas”: Distances are measured in miles instead of kilometers, and the food tastes like home to the soldiers stationed there. In this story, you’ll hear about how one American GI, Ron, ventured off base on his Vespa to visit all the Swabian pubs in the region. More ...

Marius Gardeia (model), McDonald’s
Photo: Jonas Höschl


The Diner

A diner is a small restaurant that looks like a train car. So what’s the secret? And what happens when an American institution like the diner is uprooted and transplanted to Germany? Just like the dishes at a diner, this episode is rich and can be consumed in under 30 minutes. More ...

Willem De Haan (Artist) at the Acua Water Park (Corralejo, Fuerteventura), poster by the art collective Tannhauser Kreis
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Zuhause – Home

During the pandemic, the concept of home has gained tremendous importance. How does a house become a home? Can you call more than one place home? What role, if any, does place play in feeling at home? For THE BIG PONDER, Jocelyn searches for answers. More ...

Self portrait
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Das Tagebuch – The Diary

The idea of a diary is the same in the U.S. and Germany; writers regularly record moments from their daily lives — little things as well as big events. In this episode, diary keepers share their thoughts with listeners: a distillation of transatlantic longings, anxieties, and quotidian observations. More ...

Kids in Pullman City (near Deggendorf)
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Über die Stille – Quietude

What radio makers fear most of all is unwanted pauses, on-air silence, nothingness. Even in Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s time, society feared nothing more than a lull in conversation. This was grounds enough for journalist Bilal Qureshi to dedicate an entire episode of THE BIG PONDER to silence. More ...

Jenny Marrenbach was responsible for editing the German-language edition of THE BIG PONDER. The producers of the pieces are Sylvia Cunningham, Dina Elsayed, Florenz Gilly, Leon Ginzel, Jakob Lewis, Monika Müller-Kroll, Bilal Qureshi, and Jocelyn Robinson. The voices in the German adaptation of THE BIG PONDER come from Peggy Bachmann, Nina Ernst, Thomas Fränzel, Isabelle Redfern, Volker Wackermann, and Timo Weisschnur. Dirk Schwibbert composed and produced the intro and outro for the episodes. The photographs were taken at the Pullman City Western Town, a Wild West theme park in Bavaria, and at the Rose Barracks, an American military base near Nuremberg, Germany. Sascha Ehlert coordinated the photo shoot, and Jonas Höschl took the photos.

We wholeheartedly thank all those involved on both sides of the Atlantic for this memorable experience and the wonderful collaboration. The German-language version of THE BIG PONDER is a joint production by rbbKultur and the Goethe-Institut.

Alle mal herhören! The Big Ponder auf Deutsch

Im Teamwork von rbbKultur und Goethe-Institut sind in den Sendestudios des Rundfunks Berlin Brandenburg deutschsprachige Features zu acht der ursprünglich englischen transatlantischen Podcast-Folgen des BIG PONDER entstanden. Deutsche und US-amerikanische Journalist*innen erzählen Geschichten, die zum gemeinsamen Nachdenken einladen: Teilen die USA und Deutschland dieselben Werte? Was trennt uns, was verbindet uns? In jeder Folge geht es um die Beobachtung eines bestimmten Phänomens der jeweils anderen Kultur – und den Vergleich mit eigenen. Es geht um Flaggen und Freundschaft, Heimat und Stille und um Briefe, die über den „großen Teich“ Atlantik hinweg ausgetauscht werden. Viel Spaß beim Anhören.
Transporter in Bayern
Foto: Jonas Höschl


Brieffreunde – My Pen Pal

Zwischen Nashville und Magdeburg entwickelt sich ganz zufällig und inmitten der Pandemie eine Brieffreundschaft: Jakob, Podcast-Producer aus Tennessee, und Ingo, Polizist aus Sachsen-Anhalt, werden enge Freunde. Wie das vonstatten geht, und was Pokémons damit zu tun haben, wird in dieser Folge erzählt. Mehr ...

Kinder in Pullman City (bei Deggendorf)
Foto: Jonas Höschl


Über die Freundschaft – In Friendship

Warum ist in der Pandemie der Kontakt zu einigen Bekannten abgebrochen, während die Verbindung zu anderen engen, oft alten Freunden stärker geworden ist? Bilal Qureshi sucht nach transatlantischen Antworten. Dabei helfen ihm seine Freunde, Pfirsiche und Kokosnüsse und sein Neffe Zayn. Mehr ...

Marius Gardeia (Model) in Pullman City, Fahne von Melissa Treutlein (Illustratorin)
Foto: Jonas Höschl


Flaggen – Flags

Die amerikanische Flagge, die vor „American Pride“, einem Geschäft für Laubbläser und Mähmaschinen in Zanesville, weht, ist die größte in Ohio. Was bedeuten Flaggen in den USA und in Deutschland? Wie kann ein Stück Stoff derart mit Symbolik aufgeladen werden? Das untersucht Jocelyn Robinson. Mehr ...

Housing Area, Rose Barracks in Vilseck
Foto: Jonas Höschl


Little America

Die Kasernen der in Deutschland stationierten US-Soldat*innen sind als „Little Americas“ eingerichtet: Es werden Meilen gezählt und keine Kilometer, und das Essen schmeckt wie zuhause in Amerika. Wie Ron seine Kaserne verließ, um auf seiner Vespa alle schwäbischen Gasthäuser der Region abzuklappern, davon erzählt diese Geschichte. Mehr ...

Marius Gardeia (Model), McDonald’s
Foto: Jonas Höschl


The Diner

Ein Diner ist ein kleines Restaurant, das aussieht wie ein Zugwaggon. Was ist sein Geheimnis? Und was passiert, wenn man den tief in der amerikanischen Kultur verwurzelten Diner nach Deutschland bringt? – eine Folge wie ein gutes Diner-Gericht: reichhaltig und in 30 Minuten verzehrt. Mehr ...

Willem De Haan (Künstler) im Acua Water Park (Corralejo, Fuerteventura), Poster des Kunstkollektivs Tannhäuser Kreis
Foto: Jonas Höschl


Zuhause – Home

In der Corona-Pandemie hat das eigene Zuhause großes Gewicht bekommen. Wie wird aus einem Haus ein Zuhause? Kann man an mehreren Orten zuhause sein? Ja, spielt der Ort fürs sich-zuhause-fühlen überhaupt eine Rolle? Für den BIG PONDER begibt sich Jocelyn Robinson auf die Suche nach Antworten. Mehr ...

Self portrait
Photo: Jonas Höschl


Das Tagebuch – The Diary

Die Idee eines Tagebuchs ist in den USA und Deutschland dieselbe; regelmäßig tragen die Autor*innen ein, was ihnen widerfahren ist – Kleinigkeiten im Alltag oder große Geschehnisse. In dieser Folge teilen sie ihre Gedanken mit den Hörerinnen und Hörern: ein Destillat transatlantischer Sehnsüchte, Sorgen und Alltagsbeobachtungen. Mehr ...

Kinder in Pullman City (bei Deggendorf)
Foto: Jonas Höschl


Über die Stille – Quietude

Was im Radioprogramm absolut nicht passieren darf, das sind ungewollte Pausen, das Senden von Stille, nichts. Schon in der Goethezeit fürchtete die Gesellschaft nichts mehr, als dass ein Gespräch ins Stocken geriete. Gründe genug für den Autor Bilal Qureshi, der Stille eine eigene Folge im BIG PONDER zu widmen. Mehr ...

Die Redaktion der deutschsprachigen Ausgabe des BIG PONDER lag bei Jenny Marrenbach. Die Autor*innen der Stücke sind Sylvia Cunningham, Dina Elsayed, Florenz Gilly, Leon Ginzel, Jakob Lewis, Monika Müller-Kroll, Bilal Qureshi und Jocelyn Robinson. Die deutschen Stimmen des BIG PONDER sind Peggy Bachmann, Nina Ernst, Thomas Fränzel, Isabelle Redfern, Volker Wackermann und Timo Weisschnur. Die Sendeverpackung hat Dirk Schwibbert komponiert und produziert. Die Fotografien sind unter anderem im Wild-West-Erlebnispark Pullman City in der Nähe von Passau und in den Rose Barracks in Vilseck bei Nürnberg entstanden. Sascha Ehlert hat das Fotoprojekt koordiniert, fotografiert hat Jonas Höschl.

Wir danken den Beteiligten auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks für die wunderbare gemeinsame Zeit der Zusammenarbeit. Der deutschsprachige BIG PONDER ist eine Gemeinschaftsproduktion von rbbKultur und Goethe-Institut.