Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Kolkata ( West Bengal / India ) : Indo-European Residency Project

Indo-European Residency Kolkata Illustration: © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata / Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Who: Artists practicing different art forms (one from Germany, France, United Kingdom and India) 

Section: Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Film, Literature, Media, Music 

Duration: 8 weeks – 21 October to 14 December 2019 

Closing date for applications: 25 August 2019 

Open-Call Download: 

About the Residency 

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata, the Alliance Française du Bengale and the British Council, Kolkata, in collaboration with the Kolkata based gallery CIMA and Kala Bhavana, Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan, West Bengal are organizing the third interdisciplinary Indo - European Residency Project Kolkata. The residency takes place in Kolkata, West Bengal, India and in Santiniketan, West Bengal, India and lasts eight weeks (seven weeks in Kolkata and one week in Santiniketan). The start of the stay is planned for October 2019. 

For the Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata, four artists practicing different art forms (one from Germany, France, United Kingdom and India) will work and explore the city together, for seven weeks in Kolkata and one week in Santiniketan. A studio space is provided in Kolkata as well. During their stay, the artists will meet for a productive exchange with cosmopolitan and culturally interested people, artists, NGOs and others in West Bengal. 

Aim 

The aim of this residency is the creation of an individual or collective art project during the stay in India. The engagement, with fellow artists from different countries, along with personal artistic experiences will help create a new cultural space for inspiring ideas and producing entrancing results. 

Last open call / Conditions of participation 

The residency is aimed at artists who live and work in Germany, who can communicate in German and English fluently and have a suitable project in mind. Furthermore they have to be interested and motivated in realizing an art project in Kolkata, the cultural metropolis of India.

Benefits of the project 

  • International flight expenses (Germany - Kolkata / Kolkata - Germany, Economy Class)
  • Reimbursement of visa fees (business visa)
  • Accommodation during the residence period in cooperation with the local host organization
  • Scholarship of € 1300 for the eight weeks
  • Daily allowance of INR 800 / day during the stay in Kolkata and Santiniketan during the residency
  • Contribution to the production costs of the project in Kolkata (only after approval)

Expectations to the Resident  

Every applicant is expected to take note of the country and travel information regarding India provided by the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs on their website International health insurance has to be obtained and borne by the artist and proof thereof has to be provided after final selection. 

At the beginning of the interdisciplinary Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata, the residents are expected to do a public presentation of their artistic work and their planned project in the form of a short audio-visual presentation of their previous works and the project planned for Kolkata in front of an audience. Also at the end of the residency, a ‘work in progress’ or a ‘collaborative creation’ should be presented in the city for a week. 

In addition to pursuing their own project, the residents are expected to get involved with the local arts and culture scene, as we believe that creative inputs from outside mutually important for the artist in the city as well as the artists in residence. 

Application 

Only one digital application has to be submitted by E-Mail and, due to the jury process, it has to be written in English language. Please send your application documents within the application period as a PDF-file to:
Herr Friso Maecker – Friso.Maecker@goethe.de 
oder 
Frau Sharmistha Sarker – Sharmistha.Sarker@goethe.de

Only complete applications that meet the requirements listed above will be considered.  

Application documents 

  • Detailed CV
  • Information on previous, important artistic projects (publication, exhibition, shows, concerts…) in a PDF format not exceeding more than five pages.
  • Reasons for applying for the Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata, including the presentation of the artistic objectives and an outline of a specific project (about 250 words)
  • The Skype contact name must be added to the application documents
  • All attachments together should not be larger than 2 MB

Closing date for application 

Please submit your residency application form up to 25 August 2019 to one of the e-mail addresses as called
in this announcement. 

We look forward to receiving your application

Further important dates 

Final selection: 4 September 2019
Start of the residence: 21 October 2019
End of the residence: 14 December 2019

Contact 

Mr. Friso Maecker
Institute Director 
Friso.Maecker@goethe.de

Mrs. Sharmistha Sarker
Programme Officer 
Sharmistha.Sarker@goethe.de 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kolkata (West-Bengalen/Indien): Indo-European Residency Project

Indo-European Residency Kolkata Grafik: © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata / Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Wer: Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen Kunstsparten (je eine*r aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Grossbritannien und Indien) 

Sparte: Bildende Kunst, Darstellende Kunst, Film, Literatur, Medien, Musik 

Dauer: 8 Wochen – von 21. Oktober bis 14. Dezember 2019 

Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist: 25. August 2019 

Ausschreibung als PDF-Download: 

Über die Residenz 

Das Goethe – Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata und die Alliance Française du Bengale und British Council, Kolkata organisieren in Kooperation mit der in Kolkata ansässigen Galerie CIMA und der Kala Bhavana, Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan, West Bengal das interdisziplinäre Indo-Europäisches Residenzprojekt Kolkata. Die Residenz findet in Kolkata, West-Bengalen, Indien und in Santiniketan, West-Bengalen, Indien statt und dauert acht Wochen (sieben Wochen in Kolkata und eine Woche in Santiniketan). Der Beginn des Aufenthalts ist für Ende Oktober 2019 geplant. 

Für das Indo-Europäische Residenzprojekt Kolkata werden vier Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen Kunstsparten (je eine*r aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Grossbritannien und Indien) sieben Wochen in Kolkata und eine Woche in Santiniketan zusammenarbeiten und die Städte erkunden. In Kolkata steht ein Atelier für die Umsetzung des Kunstprojektes zur Verfügung. Während ihres Aufenthalts werden die Künstler*innen mit weltoffenen und kulturinteressierten Bürger*innen, Künstler*innen und NROs in West-Bengalen zu einem produktiven Austausch zusammenkommen. 

Ziel 

Das Ziel der Residenz ist die Schaffung eines individuellen oder kollektiven Kunstwerks während des Aufenthalts in Indien. Die Bereicherung persönlicher, künstlerischer Erfahrungen im Kontakt mit indischen Künstler*innen sowie der Austausch mit den Mit-Residenten über die Art und Weise, wie ein neuer Kulturraum entdeckt wird, soll Raum für neue, kreative Ideen schaffen. 

Letzte Ausschreibung / Teilnahmebedingungen 

Die Residenz richtet sich an Künstler*innen, die in Deutschland leben und arbeiten, sich ohne Probleme auf Deutsch und Englisch verständigen können und Interesse daran haben, in der Kulturmetropole Indiens ein Kunstprojekt zu realisieren.

Leistungen des Programms 

  • Finanzierung der An- und Abreisekosten (Deutschland – Kolkata / Kolkata - Deutschland, Economy Class)
  • Übernahme der Visagebühren (Business Visa)
  • Übernahme der Unterkunft während der Residenzzeit in Kooperation mit der lokalen Gastgeberorganisation
  • Stipendium in Höhe von 1300 € für die acht Wochen
  • Tagegeld in Höhe von INR 800/Tag während der Aufenthaltsdauer in Kolkata und Santiniketan i.R.d. Residenz
  • Zuschuss zu den anfallenden Produktionskosten des Projekts in Kolkata (nur nach vorheriger Bewilligung)

Leistungen der Residenten*innen 

Es wird erwartet, dass jede*r Bewerber*in die Länderinformationen und Reisehinweise des Auswärtigen Amtes zu Indien vor der Bewerbung zur Kenntnis genommen hat. Eine internationale Auslandsreiseversicherung muss abgeschlossen und selbst finanziert werden und nach der Auswahl präsentiert werden. 

Zu Beginn des interdisziplinären Indo-Europäischen Residenzprojekts Kolkata wird von den Residenten*innen eine öffentliche Präsentation ihrer bisherigen künstlerischen Arbeit und des geplanten Projekts in Form einer kurzen audio-visuellen Präsentation erwartet. Ebenso soll es nach der Residenz eine Präsentation über die Erfahrungen während der Residenz und die entstandene Kreation (Ausstellung, Vorführung) geben. 

Neben der Verfolgung des eigenen Projekts wird von den Resident*innen erwartet, mit der lokalen Kunst- Kulturszene in Austausch zu treten, da sowohl für Kolkata als auch für die Resident*innen die gegenseitige Inspiration wichtig ist. 

Bewerbung 

Bewerbungen sind ausschließlich digital per E-Mail möglich. Aufgrund des Auswahlverfahrens sind die Bewerbungen unbedingt in englischer Sprache zu erstellen. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen innerhalb des Bewerbungszeitraums im PDF-Format an:
Herr Friso Maecker –  Friso.Maecker@goethe.de 
oder 
Frau Sharmistha Sarker – Sharmistha.Sarker@goethe.de
 
Nur vollständige Bewerbungen, die den hier aufgelisteten Anforderungen entsprechen, können berücksichtigt werden.   

Bewerbungsunterlagen 

  • Ausführlicher Lebenslauf
  • Informationen zu früheren, bedeutenden künstlerischen Projekten (Veröffentlichung, Ausstellung, Show, Konzert…) in einer PDF-Datei, die nicht mehr als fünf Seiten umfasst.
  • Gründe der Bewerbung für das Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata, inklusive einer Darstellung der künstlerischen Ziele und Vorhaben (circa 250 Wörter)
  • Der Skype-Kontaktname ist den Bewerbungsunterlagen beizufügen
  • Anlagen, die größer als 2 MB sind, bitte mit einem Filesharing-Service hochladen

Bewerbungsfrist 

Bitte reichen Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen bis zum 25. August 2019 unter einer der in dieser Ausschreibung genannten E-Mail-Adressen ein. 

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung.

Weitere Termine 

Endauswahl: 4. September 2019
Start der Residenz: 21. Oktober 2019
Ende der Residenz: 14. Dezember 2019

Kontakt 

Hr. Friso Maecker
Institutsleiter
Friso.Maecker@goethe.de

Fr. Sharmistha Sarker
Programmkoordinatorin
Sharmistha.Sarker@goethe.de 
 

Top