A Space for Discussion and Exchange

In countries where the Goethe-Institut and other international cultural institutions have had to close their locations due to wars or censorship, many artists and intellectuals have lost spaces for dissent, dialogue and intercultural exchange.Goethe-Institut in Exile is a meeting place, shelter and stage for cultural professionals who can no longer work in their home country because of war.

Key Visual Goethe-Institut im Exil © Goethe-Institut

Festival impressions and recordings in the media library

From 6 to 9 October 2022, Kunsthaus ACUD in Berlin was devoted to Ukrainian culture: To kick off the project Goethe-Institut in Exile, a four-day festival with Ukrainian artists and experts from all over the world took place. Selected content is now available in our media library.

Festival review: Goethe-Institut in Exile – Ukraine © Goethe-Institut

About the project

For two years, Goethe-Institut in Exile will offer creative artists who, due to life-threatening circumstances, are no longer able to work in their own countries, or only with difficulty, a stage as well as a place for discussion and exchange. Learn more about the project:

  • Acud Berlin
  • Goethe-Institut - Press
  • Berlin, Brandenburger Tor
  • Filmstill Voices
  • Children are sitting in a cinema. Next to a screen, a woman speaks into a microphone.
  • Bild Stus Passerby

Follow us

Ein Ort für Diskussionen und Austausch

In den Ländern, in denen das Goethe-Institut und andere internationale Kulturinstitutionen aufgrund von Kriegen oder Zensur ihre Standorte schließen mussten, gehen für viele Künstler*innen und Intellektuelle Räume für Widerspruch, Dialog und interkulturellen Austausch verloren. Das Goethe-Institut im Exil ist Begegnungsort, Schutzraum und Bühne für Kulturschaffende, die wegen Krieg in ihrem Heimatland nicht mehr arbeiten können.

Key Visual Goethe-Institut im Exil © Goethe-Institut

Festivaleindrücke und Aufzeichnungen in der Mediathek

Vom 6. bis 9. Oktober 2022 stand das Kunsthaus ACUD in Berlin unter dem Zeichen ukrainischer Kultur: Zum Auftakt des Projekts „Goethe-Institut im Exil“ fand ein viertägiges Festival mit ukrainischen Künstler*innen und Expert*innen aus aller Welt statt. Ausgewählte Inhalte sind nun in unserer Mediathek verfügbar.

Festival-Rückblick: Goethe-Institut im Exil – Ukraine © Goethe-Institut

Über das Projekt

„Goethe-Institut im Exil“ bietet Kulturschaffenden, die in ihren eigenen Ländern aufgrund lebensbedrohlicher Umstände nicht mehr oder nur noch schwer arbeiten können, zwei Jahre lang eine Bühne sowie einen Ort für Diskussionen und Austausch. Erfahren Sie mehr über das Projekt!

  • Acud Berlin
  • Goethe-Institut - Presse
  • Berlin, Brandenburger Tor
  • Filmstill Voices
  • In einem Kinosaal sitzen Kinder. Neben einem Bildschrim spricht eine Frau ins Mikro.
  • Bild Stus Passerby

Folgen Sie uns