Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Namur: Art Residency – Speculative Design

Art & Design Residency Namur Photo: Jean-Francois Flamey

Who: Artists, students and recent graduates in the art and/or design field Germany and Belgium

Section: Visual Arts, Design

Duration: 1 month

Closing date for applications: 15 May 2020

The Goethe-Institut in collaboration with KIKK Festival, its Creative Hub & Fab Lab TRAKK and the cultural center Les Abattoirs de Bomel are awarding a grant for a residency project on Ecological Futures.

The residency gives artistic researchers from various fields the opportunity to work on the intersection of art, design, and environment. The aim is to develop useful arts-led interdisciplinary research tools and art works to examine how cultural practitioners critically address and creatively negotiate ecological futures. The call includes the research field of climate change and global warming, models of human and non-human co-existence and the interrelationships of different ecosystems, in relation to the following questions: How can we decolonize nature and initiate a social-ecological transformation towards a post-fossil age? How do new models of human and non-human co-existences look like? What kind of promising changes does biotechnology offer? And how can we create a new consciousness and awareness regarding the imbalance of nature and culture?

The project is a cooperation between three partners: the Goethe-Institut Brussels, the globally active cultural institute of the German Federal Republic, Les Abattoirs de Bomel, a interdisciplinary cultural center of the Wallonian capital Namur with rooms for exhibitions and residencies and the KIKK Festival. This annual festival for creative and digital culture researches how new technologies will affect art, science and design. The creative hub TRAKK, which belongs to the festival and is a space for collective, multidisciplinary design, places its laboratory (Fab Lab: FABrication LABoratory) at the residents’ disposal.

The residents’ main focus should lie on acquainting themselves with new technologies within the TRAKK laboratory while benefiting from professional assistance. A final product is not compulsory. The residents are free in the realization of their projects. They may choose to create a project in collaboration with the other resident. After consultation with the organizers, the project may also be exhibited at the KIKK Festival in November.

During their residency, the artists will have to participate in a cultural activity in which they share details about their work practice or research with the audience of Abattoirs de Bomel, it can be a workshop, a talk, a discussion or anything else. This will be decided with the artists during their stay in Namur.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Namur: Residenzprogramm „Spekulatives Design“

Art & Design Residency Namur Foto: Jean-Francois Flamey

Wer: Künstler/innen, Studierende und junge Absolvent/innen im Bereich Kunst und/oder Design aus Deutschland und Belgien

Sparte: Kunst und Design

Dauer: 1 Monat

Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist: 15. Mai 2020

Das Goethe-Institut vergibt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem KIKK-Festival, dem Kreativzentrum TRAKK und dem Kulturzentrum Les Abattoirs de Bomel ein Stipendium für ein Residenz-Projekt mit dem Thema Ecological Futures.

Die Residenz gibt Recherche-orientierten Künstler/innen und Designer/innen die Möglichkeit, an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Design und Ökologie zu arbeiten. Ziel der Residenz ist es, mittels interdisziplinärer Forschungsmethoden und künstlerischer Arbeiten kritisch-visionäre Denkansätze für eine ökologische Zukunft zu entwerfen. Die Ausschreibung umfasst die Forschungsfelder Klimawandel und Erderwärmung, das Zusammenleben von menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Lebewesen und die Beziehungen verschiedener Ökosysteme, in Zusammenhang mit den folgenden Fragen: Wie kann die Natur dekolonisiert werden und eine sozial-ökologische Transformation in Richtung des post-fossilen Zeitalters eingeleitet werden? Wie können neue Modelle der menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Koexistenz aussehen? Welche zukunftsweisenden Ideen ermöglicht die Biotechnologie? Und wie kann ein neues Bewusstsein bezüglich des Ungleichgewichts zwischen Natur und Kultur geschaffen werden?

Drei Partnerinstitutionen arbeiten für die Residenz zusammen: Das Goethe-Institut Brüssel, das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Les Abattoirs de Bomel, ein neues, interdisziplinäres Kulturzentrum mit Ausstellungs- und Residenzmöglichkeiten in Namur, und das KIKK-Festival. Bei diesem jährlichen Festival zu kreativer und digitaler Kultur wird erforscht, wie sich neue Technologien in den Bereichen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Design auswirken werden. Zugehörig zum Festival ist das Kreativzentrum TRAKK, ein Raum gemeinsamer, multidisziplinarer Gestaltung, das sein Labor (Fab Lab: LABoratoire de FABrication) den Resident/innen zur Verfügung stellt.

Der Fokus des Aufenthalts soll für die Resident/innen vor allem darauf liegen, sich im TRAKK-Labor neuen Technologien zu nähern und diese mit fachlicher Unterstützung auszuprobieren. Ein finales Produkt ist nicht obligatorisch. Die Resident/innen sind frei in der Umsetzung und Gestaltung ihrer Projekte. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, ein Projekt gemeinsam mit dem/der anderen Residenten/in zu entwerfen. Das Projekt kann nach Rücksprache mit dem KIKK-Team außerdem auf dem KIKK-Festival im November präsentiert werden.

Während des Aufenthalts sollten die Künstler/innen eine Veranstaltung gestalten, die einen Austausch mit dem Publikum von Abattoirs de Bomel über die Inhalte ihrer Arbeit oder die Erkenntnisse ihrer Nachforschungen ermöglicht. Das Format der Veranstaltung kann ein Workshop, eine Vorlesung, eine Diskussion oder etwas ähnliches sein. Das wird mit den Resident/innen während ihres Aufenthalts in Namur abgestimmt.

Top