Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Porto Alegre: Midia Art Lab Mercosul

Who: Media artists from Germany and the Mercosul countries

Section: Visual Arts

Duration: 2 months

Art with time-based media experiments with modern communication technologies. Inter-cultural dialogue is inscribed in media art. But today artists too must be mobile, and not only in the virtual world. Fellowships abroad provide the opportunity for inter-cultural exchange.

The Goethe-Institute of the Mercosul countries want to foster this exchange through a two-month residency programme for media artists from Germany and from Mercosul countries. This is part of a cooperation with the Institute of Informatics at UFRGS (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul), which is the largest public university in southern Brazil.

The artists will work together for two months in Porto Alegre and will realize a media art project. The work will be presented at the Goethe-Institut Porto Alegre and in the host countries of the participating Goethe-Instituts.

Newsletter "Residency Programmes"

Subscribe here
Back to Residencies Overview

Top

Porto Alegre: Midia Art Lab Mercosul

Wer: Medienkünstler/-innen aus Deutschland und den Mercosul-Ländern

Sparte: Bildende Kunst

Dauer: 2 Monate

Kunst mit zeitbasierten Medien experimentiert mit modernen Kommunikationstechnologien. Der interkulturelle Dialog ist der Medienkunst eingeschrieben. Doch auch die Künstler müssen heutzutage mobil sein, nicht nur virtuell. Auslandsstipendien schaffen die Möglichkeit für interkulturellen Austausch.

Die Goethe-Institute der Mercosul-Länder wollen diesen Austausch durch ein zweimonatiges Residenzprogramm für je eine/-n Medienkünstler/-in aus Deutschland und aus einem Mercosul-Land fördern. Dafür kooperieren sie mit dem South America Lab von SAP.

Zusammen mit dem/der Medienkünstler/-in aus Deutschland arbeitet der/die Medienkünstler/-in aus einem Mercosul-LLand zwei Monate in Porto Alegre und kann dort eine Medienkunstarbeit realisieren. Die Arbeit wird anschließend im Goethe-Institut Porto Alegre, dem SAP Lab und in allen beteiligten Goethe-Instituten bzw. bei deren Partnern präsentiert.

Einer der südamerikanischen Künstler/-innen, die am Midia Art Lab Mercosul teilgenommen haben, erhält außerdem die Möglichkeit eines Stipendienaufenthaltes in NRW, um nicht nur die Kooperation innerhalb des Mercosul, sondern auch die mit Deutschland zu fördern.