Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Cities Ahead Banner© Goethe-Institut

Cities Ahead

Cities Ahead is a European programme initiated by the Goethe-Institut that promotes the transformation of creative places. Its aim is to transform the city into an ideal ecosystem for culture and creativity, harnessing its full potential for global dissemination and international cultural cooperation. Logroño, as the host city of Concéntrico – International Festival of Architecture and Design, will act as a pioneer of the programme in Spain. 

Open Call Logroño

Cities Ahead is launching an open call for international creatives to propose participatory actions for the transformation of the public space, integrating aspects of urban innovation and sustainable/ecological development. This call aims to put the citizens of Logroño at the centre of the city's future. By implementing a participatory artistic, activist or any other creative action in Logroño, the city will become a vivid marketplace for new ideas, tools and formats. The project puts the initiatives of artists, designers, activists and other creatives in dialogue with the citizens of Logroño. The current challenges of insufficient investments, deterioration of shared values and shrinking public spaces are prevalent in many cities and will be tackled in Logroño through participatory practices that support ecological, economic and social sustainability. Being engaged in the development, production and adoption of public spaces will lead to a greater sense of responsibility and belonging among the citizens.

This page in spanish

Funding conditions

Three projects by creatives from all over the world with experience working in public spaces and using a participatory method, for example including citizens and/or the municipality in their work.
We fund innovative and participatory practices with the aim of transforming the public space and helping to make it more creative, humane, sustainable and egalitarian. The proposed practice must be adapted to the local needs of Logroño and its citizens. From all applications, a jury will choose three practices that will be invited to come to Logroño and adapt their practice to the local context. To do so, the creatives will work closely with local stakeholders. The selected proposals will be carried out in Logroño during Concéntrico 09 – International Architecture and Design Festival, which will take place from 27.04. to 02.05.2023.

Each of the selected projects will receive 2,000 € as a project fee and 2,000 € for the execution of the project on site, which includes a lump sum for travel expenses and any additional material or development costs.
  • Experience working with creative and innovative processes in public spaces 
  • Quality and sustainability of the project proposal 
  • Plausible concept and feasibility in terms of time, staffing and resources 
  • Participatory dimension of the project during implementation 
  • A creative and innovative project proposal 
Completed online application form, which includes: 
  • Description of the project (max 2,000 words) with additional documents (PDF format) or links to images, sketches and graphic material for full understanding 
  • Examples of previous work experience and impact (photos, videos, website, articles, ...) in 250 words maximum
  • Timetable for implementation
  • Methodology
  • First and last names of the authors
  • First and last names of team members (CVs of all team members, max 150 words per team member)
  • Execution and development budget in euros (taxes included)
  • Institutions, entities or associations that have supported the project, if applicable 
  • Grants or subsidies received, if any
  • Academic frameworks to which the project has been linked, if any
  • Applications are now being accepted. The deadline for submission is 10 January 2023 at 00:00 hours CET. 
  • Selected projects will be announced by the end of January 2023. 
  • The practices will be presented during the 2023 edition of Concéntrico from 27 April to 2 May 2023. 
  • The application must be submitted in English. 
  • The names of those selected will be announced by the end of January 2023. The authors of the selected projects will be notified personally and the information will be made public on the website www.citiesahead.eu.

Application deadline

Applications are now being accepted. The deadline for submission is 10 January 2023 at 00:00 hours CET.

Contact

Goethe-Institut e.V. | Cities Ahead
citiesahead@goethe.de

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Cities Ahead Banner© Goethe-Institut

Cities Ahead

Cities Ahead ist ein vom Goethe-Institut initiiertes europäisches Programm, das die Transformation kreativer Orte fördert. Ziel ist es, Städte zu  idealen Ökosystemen für Kreativität und Kultur zu entwickeln und das vorhandene kulturelle Potenzial für die globale Sichtbarkeit des Standorts und eine ertragreiche internationale Zusammenarbeit zu nutzen. Logroño, die Gastgeberstadt von Concéntrico - dem Internationalen Festival für Architektur und Design – wird als erste Stadt des Programms eine Vorreiterrolle in Spanien einnehmen.

Open Call Logroño

Cities Ahead richtet einen Open Call an Kreative weltweit. Gesucht werden Vorschläge für partizipative Aktionen zur kreativen Umgestaltung des öffentlichen Raums im übergeordneten Kontext einer nachhaltigen kulturellen Stadtentwicklung. Dieser Open Call möchte die Bürger*innen von Logroño in den Mittelpunkt der Zukunft der Stadt stellen. Durch die Umsetzung einer partizipativen künstlerischen, aktivistischen oder sonstigen kreativen Praxis in Logroño wird die Stadt zu einem lebhaften Marktplatz für neue Impulse, Transformationswerkzeuge und Formate. Das Projekt bringt die Initiativen von Künstler*innen, Designer*innen, Aktivist*innen und anderen Kreativen in einen Dialog mit den Bürger*innen von Logroño. Stadtspezifische Themen und Kontexte werden so durch eine internationale Sichtweise betrachtet und durch neue Erfahrungen bereichert. Aktuelle Herausforderungen wie ausbleibende Investitionen, schrumpfende öffentliche Räume und der Verfall gemeinsamer Werte werden von vielen Städten geteilt. In Logroño sollen sie durch partizipative Praktiken angegangen werden, die die ökologische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Nachhaltigkeit unterstützen. So wird die aktive Beteiligung an der Entwicklung, Produktion und Aneignung öffentlicher Räume zu einem größeren Verantwortungs- und Zugehörigkeitsgefühl bei den Bürger*innen der Stadt führen.

Diese Seite auf Spanisch

Förderbedingungen

Insgesamt drei Projekte von Kreativen aus der ganzen Welt mit Erfahrung in der Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum und einem partizipatorischen Ansatz, d. h. sie beziehen die Anwohner*innen und/oder die Stadtverwaltung in ihre Arbeit ein.
Wir fördern innovative und partizipative Projektvorschläge aus allen Bereichen des Kreativsektors, die darauf abzielen, den öffentlichen Raum umzugestalten und dazu beizutragen, ihn kreativer, nachhaltiger, gleichberechtigter und menschlicher zu gestalten. Die vorgeschlagene Praxis muss an die lokalen Bedürfnisse der Stadt Logroño und seinen Bürgern*innen angepasst sein. Eine Jury wählt aus allen Einreichungen drei Projekte aus, die nach Logroño eingeladen werden, um ihre Praxis im lokalen Kontext zu erproben. Zu diesem Zweck werden die Kreativen eng mit den lokalen Akteuren zusammenarbeiten. Die ausgewählten Vorschläge sollen in Logroño während des Festivals Concéntrico 09, das vom 27.04. bis 02.05.2023 stattfinden wird, realisiert werden.

Jedes der ausgewählten Projekte erhält 2.000 € als Projekthonorar und 2.000 € für die Durchführung des Projekts vor Ort, dies beinhalten eine Pauschale für Reisekosten und eventuelle zusätzliche Material- oder Entwicklungskoste.
  • Erfahrung in der Arbeit mit kreativen und innovativen Prozessen im öffentlichen Raum
  • Qualität und Nachhaltigkeit des Projektvorschlags
  • Plausibilität und Umsetzbarkeit des Konzept in Bezug auf Zeit, Personal und Ressourcen
  • Partizipative Dimension des Projekts während der Durchführung
  • Kreativitäts- und Innovationsgehalt des Projektvorschlags
Das Ausgefülltes Online-Bewerbungsformular, welches Folgendes beinhaltet:
  • Beschreibung des Projekts (max. 2,000 Wörter) mit zusätzlichen Dokumenten (PDF-Format) oder Links zu Bildern, Skizzen und grafischem Material zum besseren Verständnis
  • Beispiele für frühere Arbeitserfahrungen und Auswirkungen (Fotos, Videos, Website, Artikel, etc.)
  • Zeitplan für die Umsetzung
  • Methodik
  • Vor- und Nachname der Autoren
  • Vor- und Nachnamen der Teammitglieder (Lebensläufe aller Teammitglieder, max.150 Wörter pro Teammitglied)
  • Ausführungs- und Entwicklungsbudget in Euro (einschließlich Steuern)
  • Einrichtungen, Organisationen oder Verbände, die das Projekt unterstützt haben, falls vorhanden
  • Erhaltene Zuschüsse oder Subventionen, falls vorhanden
  • Akademischer Rahmen, mit dem das Projekt verknüpft wurde, falls vorhanden
  • Bewerbungen werden ab sofort angenommen. Die Frist für die Einreichung ist der 10. Januar 2023 um 00:00 Uhr MEZ.
  • Die ausgewählten Projekte werden Ende Januar 2023 bekannt gegeben.
  • Die Projekte werden während des Festivals Concéntrico 09, das vom 27.04. bis 02.05.2023 stattfinden wird, vorgestellt.
  • Der Antrag muss in englischer Sprache eingereicht werden.
  • Die überzeugendsten Projekte werden bis Ende Januar 2023 ausgewählt. Die Autoren der ausgewählten Projekte werden persönlich benachrichtigt und die Projekte öffentlich auf der Website www.citiesahead.eu bekannt gegeben.

Bewerbungsschluss

Bewerbungen werden ab sofort angenommen. Die Frist für die Einreichung ist der 10. Januar 2023 um 00:00 Uhr MEZ.

Kontakt

Goethe-Institut e.V. | Cities Ahead
citiesahead@goethe.de

Top