Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Love, Labour and Leisure

By Nadine Khalil

Love, Labour, Leisure delves into the ethos of migrant communities in the UAE by reflecting on context, capital and cultural life. Through the lenses of art, performance and music, alternate ways of looking and mapping are presented from wide-ranging aerial views to forensic, facial close-ups.

Movement is understood in terms of the socioeconomic conditions and informal infrastructures that propel it. But these spatial geographies aren’t just emblematic of systemic structures of inequality, they also represent imaginary landscapes that stretch across borders, performative bodies that transgress them and personal portraits that excavate collective memories.

Saba Qizlbash’s detailed mountainous topographies in graphite are laid out as connective tissue, charting an impossible yet utopic land route from the Jebel Ali port in the UAE through Bahrain, Kuwait, Iraq, Iran to Pakistan’s Gwadar port, part of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor. Jebel Ali to Gwadar is both a comment on geopolitical demarcations and a zoomed-out regional perspective on a contiguous, otherworldly landscape. It indicates a visual language of interconnectivity despite being devoid of human presence. Mohammed Somji’s photographs on the other hand, take a ground-level viewpoint by mapping out bodies and architectures of play in spaces of recreation employed by South Asian communities in Dubai. The work features a badminton net set up in a public park and a cricket game in an empty sand lot as acts of congregation. By encapsulating these moments of leisure, Somji subverts and transforms the discourse that reduces migrants to their occupations or output.

For Amira Tajdin, the top-down drone image of a grand yet unfinished Emirati villa in the suburb of Khawaneej sets the stage for a couple hanging out, enjoying flamingo pastries, dancing and texting. Her musical video, Negotiating Liberation is a fictional sketch of estrangement, celebration and love. Text messages sent back home appear on the screen, along with music by the Kenyan band Lesasa Jocker & Bilenge Musica, as the recently reunited couple interact, alternating between movement and reflection, life’s pleasures and the ever-present longing for home. This yearning transmutes to desire, taking on a poetic form with Augustine Paredes’ photographic series, Slouching through Bed Spaces, where lyrical fragments are combined with a freeze frame of moments that evoke both an alienation and a coming together. The aftermath of intimate encounters and fluid relationships is implicit, marked by the cropped contours of an inner life: listings for shared rooms, private notes left in a restaurant, crumpled bedsheets, hazy, light-saturated self-portraits.

The act of portraiture is taken to another level in both Vikram Divecha’s and Riyas Komu’s work. While Komu documents the faces of migrant workers in the Gulf from Ethiopia, Kerala, Nepal, Nigeria, Philippines, Pakistan, Philippines and Syria, Divecha reverses the gaze, commissioning non-professional artists to paint his own portrait for a fixed fee equivalent to the amount of time it can buy in daily wages. The 2D results vary from undefined feature-less abstractions to illustrative detail of character and temperament - these diverge from Komu’s painterly expressions of ambition and the future, in which he sometimes splits the image, subtracting color from skin tone.

Both Anahita Razmi and Eisa Jocson present different vocabularies of the body, yet they both evoke modern-day heroines and domestic work, migrant bodies and resistance. Razmi features herself posing in shirts emblazoned with nonsensical phrases from the markets of Tehran, Tokyo, Beijing, Dubai and Istanbul in New Silk Road Patterns #02, a play on Oriental motif, logo mimicry and arbitrary copy. And Jocson performs feminized labour, hybrid oral traditions and karaoke culture in her Bidyoke project.

Jocson is also responding to the musical phenomenon of the ‘Overseas Filipino Musician’ in venues throughout the region. In fact, music threads through many of the works in Love, Labour, Leisure, culminating in Nadia Says’ curated selection, which includes two Iranian all-female groups with the Sufi-influenced goth-pop Mentrix and the rock band The Finches. Originating from other countries in the Middle East including Palestine, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Jordan and the UAE, some of these musicians are currently refugees in Berlin. Electronic musician Bana Haffar’s melancholic, modular beats and field recordings melds with Rasha Nahas’ brooding, jazzy vocals, Wizzy’s nostalgic tones of Arabic pop, the WYWY duo’s wistful lyrics and the classical strains of Zazuka’s chamber-pop music.

In an ode to diversity and disenfranchisement, Love, Labour, Leisure, which will travel to Berlin, Karachi, Mumbai and Manila, as soon as the pandemic allows, looks at what happens when the flow of bodies becomes a form of cultural exchange.
 

Nadine Khalil

Nadine Khalil is an independent arts writer, researcher, curator and content specialist. After a decade-long stint in art publishing, she is currently advising art institutions such as the Ishara Art Foundation, Goethe and the NYUAD Arts Center in editorial strategy and content development. She is former editor of Dubai-based contemporary art magazine, Canvas (2017-2020) and Beirut-based magazines A mag and Bespoke (2010-2016). Her writing can be found in Art Review, Ocula, Brooklyn Rail, Goethe’s Art and Thought journal and the Women’s Review of Books. She has authored a series of artist monographs (Paroles d'Artistes) on Lebanese artists Samir Sayegh, Hanibal Srouji and the late filmmaker Jocelyne Saab curated for film festivals such as MidEast Cut and the Arab Independent Film Festival.
 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Love, Labour and Leisure

von Nadine Khalil

Love, Labour, Leisure befasst sich mit dem Ethos der Migrantengemeinschaften in den VAE, indem über Kontext, Kapital und das kulturelle Leben reflektiert wird. Durch die Brille von Kunst, Performance und Musik werden alternative Sicht- und Darstellungsweisen präsentiert, von weitreichenden Luftbildern bis hin zu forensischen Porträts.

Bewegung wird im Rahmen der sozioökonomischen Bedingungen und der informellen Infrastrukturen verstanden, die sie antreiben. Diese räumlichen Geografien sind jedoch nicht nur ein Symbol für systemische Strukturen der Ungleichheit, sondern repräsentieren auch imaginäre Landschaften, die sich über Grenzen erstrecken, performative Körper, die sie überschreiten, und persönliche Porträts, die kollektive Erinnerungen ausgraben.

Saba Qizlbashs detaillierte Gebirgstopografien aus Graphit sind als Bindegewebe angelegt und zeichnen eine unmögliche, aber utopische Landroute vom Hafen Jebel Ali in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten durch Bahrain, Kuwait, Irak, Iran bis zum pakistanischen Hafen Gwadar, der Teil des Wirtschaftskorridors China-Pakistan ist. Jebel Ali to Gwadar ist sowohl ein Kommentar zu geopolitischen Abgrenzungen als auch eine verkleinerte regionale Perspektive auf eine zusammenhängende, jenseitige Landschaft. Es zeigt eine visuelle Sprache der Interkonnektivität an, obwohl es keine menschliche Präsenz gibt. Mohammed Somjis Fotografien hingegen nehmen eine bodennahe Sichtweise ein, indem sie Körper und Spielarchitekturen in Freizeitumgebungen kartieren, die von südasiatischen Gemeinden in Dubai genutzt werden. Die Arbeit besteht aus einem Badmintonnetz, das in einem öffentlichen Park aufgestellt ist, und einem Cricketspiel auf einem leeren Sandgrundstück als Akt der Versammlung. Durch die Verkapselung dieser Momente der Freizeit untergräbt und transformiert Somji den Diskurs, der Migranten auf ihre Berufe oder Leistungen reduziert.

Für Amira Tajdin bereitet das Top-Down-Drohnenbild einer großartigen, aber unvollendeten emiratischen Villa in einem Vorort von Khawaneej die Bühne für ein Paar, das Flamingo-Gebäck genießt, tanzt und Textnachrichten schreibt. Ihr Musikvideo Negotiating Liberation ist eine fiktive Skizze von Entfremdung, Feier und Liebe. Nach Hause gesendete Textnachrichten erscheinen auf dem Bildschirm zusammen mit Musik der kenianischen Band Lesasa Jocker & Bilenge Musica, während das kürzlich wiedervereinigte Paar interagiert und zwischen Bewegung und Reflexion, Lebensfreude und der allgegenwärtigen Sehnsucht nach Zuhause wechselt. Diese Sehnsucht verwandelt sich in Begierde und nimmt mit Augustine Paredes Fotoserie Slouching through Bed Spaces eine poetische Form an, in der lyrische Fragmente mit einem Standbild von Momenten kombiniert werden, die sowohl eine Entfremdung als auch ein Zusammentreffen hervorrufen. Die Folgen intimer Begegnungen und fließender Beziehungen sind implizit, gekennzeichnet durch die beschnittenen Konturen eines Innenlebens: Auflistungen für Mehrbettzimmer, private Notizen in einem Restaurant, zerknitterte Bettwäsche, verschwommene, lichtgesättigte Selbstporträts.

Der Akt der Porträtmalerei wird sowohl in Vikram Divechas als auch in Riyas Komus Werk auf eine andere Ebene gehoben. Während Komu die Gesichter von Wanderarbeitern im Golf aus Äthiopien, Kerala, Nepal, Nigeria, den Philippinen, Pakistan und Syrien dokumentiert, kehrt Divecha den Blick um und beauftragt nicht professionelle Künstler, sein eigenes Porträt gegen eine feste Gebühr zu malen, die einem Tageslohn entsprechend der investierten Zeit gleichkommt. Die 2D-Ergebnisse variieren von undefinierten Abstraktionen ohne Merkmale bis hin zu illustrativen Details von Charakter und Temperament - diese weichen von Komus malerischen Ausdrucksformen von Anspruch und Zukunft ab, in denen er manchmal das Bild aufteilt und Farbe vom Hautton abzieht.

Sowohl Anahita Razmi als auch Eisa Jocson präsentieren unterschiedliche Vokabeln des Körpers, doch beide rufen moderne Heldinnen und Hausarbeit, Migrantenkörper und Widerstand hervor. Razmi posiert in Hemden mit unsinnigen Redewendungen aus den Märkten von Teheran, Tokio, Peking, Dubai und Istanbul in New Silk Road Patterns # 02, einem Stück über das orientalische Motiv, Logo-Mimikry und willkürliche Kopie. Und Jocson leistet in ihrem Bidyoke-Projekt feminisierte Arbeit, hybride mündliche Überlieferungen und Karaoke-Kultur.

Jocson reagiert auch auf das musikalische Phänomen des "Overseas Filipino Musikers" an Veranstaltungsorten in der gesamten Region. Tatsächlich zieht sich die Musik durch viele Werke in Love, Labour, Leisure und gipfelt in der kuratierten Auswahl von Nadia Says, zu der zwei iranische Frauengruppen mit dem Sufi-beeinflussten Gothic-Pop Mentrix und der Rockband The Finches gehören. Einige dieser Musiker stammen aus anderen Ländern des Mittleren Ostens, darunter Palästina, Syrien, Saudi-Arabien, Jordanien und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Derzeit sind sie Flüchtlinge in Berlin. Die melancholischen, modularen Beats und Aufnahmen der elektronischen Musikerin Bana Haffar verschmelzen mit Rasha Nahas brütendem, jazzigem Gesang, Wizzys nostalgischen Tönen des arabischen Pops, den wehmütigen Texten des WYWY-Duos und den klassischen Klängen von Zazukas Kammermusik.

In einer Ode an Vielfalt und Entrechtung untersucht Love, Labour, Leisure, die nach Berlin, Karachi, Mumbai und Manila reisen wird, sobald die Pandemie dies zulässt, was passiert, wenn der Fluss von Körpern zu einer Form des kulturellen Austausches wird.
 

Nadine Khalil

Nadine Khalil ist unabhängige Kunstautorin, Wissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin. Nach einer jahrzehntelangen Tätigkeit im Kunstverlag berät sie derzeit Kunstinstitutionen wie die Ishara Art Foundation, Goethe und das NYUAD Arts Center. Sie ist ehemalige Herausgeberin des in Dubai ansässigen Magazins für zeitgenössische Kunst Canvas (2017-2020) und der in Beirut ansässigen Zeitschriften A mag und Bespoke (2010-2016). Ihre Texte sind in Art Review, Ocula, Brooklyn Rail, Goethes Art and Thought Journal und der Women’s Review of Books zu finden. Sie hat eine Reihe von Künstlermonographien (Paroles d'Artistes) über die libanesischen Künstler Samir Sayegh, Hanibal Srouji und die verstorbene Filmemacherin Jocelyne Saab verfasst, die für Filmfestivals wie MidEast Cut und das Arab Independent Film Festival kuratiert wurden.

Top