Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Rasha Nahas

Palestinian singer-songwriter and instrumentalist Rasha Nahas was born and raised in Haifa, and currently lives and works in Berlin. A classical guitarist since the age of ten, Rasha has long been crafting a sound that moves seamlessly between the resonances of early rock‘n’roll and the reckless echoes of free jazz, complemented by her distinctive approach to songwriting and performance. 

Rasha Nahas © Rasha Nahas The unmistakable sonic landscapes and unique artistic identity that she has constructed were shaped in no small part by the underground scene of her hometown, Haifa; giving rise to a vivid mélange of electric guitars, classical technique, and fierce yet intimate storytelling weaved with bold, unabashed poetry, and howling violins. 

Rasha’s Am I EP and captivating live performances saw her embark on tours across Europe, South America, the UK, and the Middle East, including shows at Glastonbury Festival. Since relocating to Germany, she has worked on numerous dance and theatre pieces for prestigious venues such as Tanz im August (Berlin) and Thalia Theater (Hamburg). Her debut full-length album, which she co-produced and recorded with her band, is due for release on January 29th, 2021

Rasha Nashas: "The song Desert is the title track of my upcoming album. Desert and the album as a whole capture very specific moments of when things rise from the depth to the surface, like tiny floods. I feel that it is a collage of a journey, from Palestine to Germany, from the personal to the political and back. Desert represents both the emptiness of the void and the complexity in between. It is the journey, the thirst, the solitude, the community, the mirage, the encounters on the way, the baggage, the feelings of longing, and the idea of belonging to yourself or to something bigger. 

Filming in Haifa made a lot of sense for me as I feel it represents a lot of what I find in myself and my identity – the old, indigenous, half-ruined buildings overlooking the sea, surrounded at the same time by the brand-new, gleaming glass of modern colonialism. The way in which it all comes together somewhat harmoniously, shifts and changes across time, with all the discord within and around it. The militarization of the youth, the normalized violence, the occupation and oppression, as well as our very own roots, intertwined with the land and its soil, embodied by the olive trees and the specter of crucifixion.

The visual metaphors were created with my close friend Elizabeth Kroglov and a superb local team in Palestine producing and acting in the video – Eli Rezik, Hiba Salameh, Samaa Wakeem, Hala Salem, Lamis Ammar and many others, including Ayman Safiah (RIP), who danced the crucifixion of the olive tree. The video is dedicated to his memory."

 

Desert

By Rasha Nahas, released in 2020 on RMAD Records 
Goethe-Institut
Please, take it all away 
I am nobody I could name
My self  I float upon
Pearls, some songs 
They’ve been buried for years

My self
I’m a desert torn
I was born on the mountain by the sea
The west rapes east
My west disease 
I’m a little beast
Hiding up the street

In a little room
With a little bed
On the dusty floor
Lies human flesh

Time melts out my eyes
As my heart is bleeding
Quarter tones
And I sail on this song 

اتمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه
تمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه

The dead sea 
Used to be alive 
She had a woman and a child
And she couldn’t live at home she said
She wandered lost
And she wandered west
To the place where the bibles spoke of gods
All their temples and their floods
They hung her on a cross
She is a language no one dared to speak
Sweet bleeding palms and the breeze of death
They buried her
She’s a roaring breath

Time melts out her eyes
As her heart is bleeding
Quarter tones 
And she sails on this song 
اتمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه
تمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه

Sweet bleeding palms 
And the breeze of death
They buried me 
I am a roaring breath.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Rasha Nahas

Die palästinensische Singer-Songwriterin und Instrumentalistin Rasha Nahas ist in Haifa geboren und aufgewachsen und lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Berlin. Als klassische Gitarristin seit ihrem zehnten Lebensjahr kreiert Rasha seit langem einen Sound, der sich nahtlos zwischen den Resonanzen des frühen Rock’n’Roll und den rücksichtslosen Echos des Free Jazz bewegt, ergänzt durch ihre unverwechselbare Herangehensweise an Songwriting und Performance.

Rasha Nahas © Rasha Nahas Die unverwechselbaren Klanglandschaften und die einzigartige künstlerische Identität, die sie geschaffen hat, wurden nicht zuletzt von der Underground-Szene ihrer Heimatstadt Haifa geprägt. So entsteht eine lebendige Melange aus E-Gitarren, klassischer Technik und wildem, aber intimem Geschichtenerzählen, verwoben mit mutiger, unverfrorener Poesie und heulenden Geigen.

Rashas Am I EP und fesselnde Live-Auftritte führten sie auf Tourneen durch Europa, Südamerika, Großbritannien und den Nahen Osten, einschließlich Shows beim Glastonbury Festival. Seit ihrem Umzug nach Deutschland hat sie an zahlreichen Tanz- und Theaterstücken für renommierte Häuser wie Tanz im August (Berlin) und Thalia Theater (Hamburg) gearbeitet. Ihr Debütalbum in voller Länge, das sie mit ihrer Band co-produziert und aufgenommen hat, erschien am 29. Januar 2021.

Rasha Nashas: "Der Song Desert ist der Titeltrack meines kommenden Albums. Desert und das Album als Ganzes fangen sehr spezifische Momente ein, in denen Dinge wie winzige Fluten aus der Tiefe an die Oberfläche steigen. Ich empfinde es als Collage einer Reise von Palästina nach Deutschland, vom Persönlichen zum Politischen und zurück. Wüste repräsentiert sowohl die Leere der Leere als auch die Komplexität dazwischen. Es ist die Reise, der Durst, die Einsamkeit, die Gemeinschaft, die Fata Morgana, die Begegnungen unterwegs, das Gepäck, die Sehnsuchtsgefühle und die Vorstellung, zu sich selbst oder zu etwas Größerem zu gehören.

In Haifa zu drehen machte für mich sehr viel Sinn, da ich das Gefühl habe, dass es viel von dem repräsentiert, was ich in mir selbst und meiner Identität finde – die alten, indigenen, halb zerstörten Gebäude mit Blick auf das Meer, gleichzeitig umgeben von den brandneuen, glänzendes Glas des modernen Kolonialismus. Die Art und Weise, wie alles einigermaßen harmonisch zusammenkommt, verschiebt und sich im Laufe der Zeit verändert, mit all der Zwietracht darin und um sie herum. Die Militarisierung der Jugend, die normalisierte Gewalt, die Besatzung und Unterdrückung sowie unsere ureigenen Wurzeln, die mit dem Land und seinem Boden verflochten sind, verkörpert durch die Olivenbäume und das Gespenst der Kreuzigung.

Die visuellen Metaphern wurden mit meiner engen Freundin Elizabeth Kroglov und einem hervorragenden lokalen Team in Palästina erstellt, das das Video produziert hat und spielt – Eli Rezik, Hiba Salameh, Samaa Wakeem, Hala Salem, Lamis Ammar und viele andere, darunter Ayman Safiah (RIP), der die Kreuzigung des Olivenbaums tanzte. Das Video ist seinem Andenken gewidmet."

Wüste

Von Rasha Nahas, erschienen 2020 auf RMAD Records
Goethe-Institut
Please, take it all away 
I am nobody I could name
My self  I float upon
Pearls, some songs 
They’ve been buried for years

My self
I’m a desert torn
I was born on the mountain by the sea
The west rapes east
My west disease 
I’m a little beast
Hiding up the street

In a little room
With a little bed
On the dusty floor
Lies human flesh

Time melts out my eyes
As my heart is bleeding
Quarter tones
And I sail on this song 

اتمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه
تمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه

The dead sea 
Used to be alive 
She had a woman and a child
And she couldn’t live at home she said
She wandered lost
And she wandered west
To the place where the bibles spoke of gods
All their temples and their floods
They hung her on a cross
She is a language no one dared to speak
Sweet bleeding palms and the breeze of death
They buried her
She’s a roaring breath

Time melts out her eyes
As her heart is bleeding
Quarter tones 
And she sails on this song 
اتمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه
تمخطري يا حلوه يا زينه

Sweet bleeding palms 
And the breeze of death
They buried me 
I am a roaring breath.

Top