Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Book Date Night 2020

Book Date Night 2020
© Goethe-Institut Ghana

Goethe-Institut Ghana and Readers Truss on Friday 23rd October, 2020 organized the second edition of Book Date Night from 6.30pm to 8.30pm at the Goethe-Institut premises in Accra next to NAFTI.


By Kwabena Eddie Mankata

 
The Book Date Night is an event for avid, average and even first time readers to hang out in a fun and romantic setting with their dates. The purpose is to give out books freely to continually ignite and inspire passion for reading.
 
Unlike the first edition, this one was not opened to all owing to the covid-19 global pandemic. Participants had to register online by filling out a questionnaire. The selected ones got to attend with their dates. In all there were about eighty people present with the covid-10 protocols strictly adhered to in seating and wearing of face mask.
 
The event started with Nene Narh; a talented guitarist with soothing voice treating the audience to great tunes and he was joined by the indefatigable MC; Amishaddai who as a poet spiced the program with some pieces alongside the song.
 


Dorcas Fafali Tsey; Executive Director of Readers Truss shared briefly the vision of her organization in promoting a reading culture across Ghana and Meli Mansu; Head of Information and Library at Goethe-Institut centered on the essence of reading and the accessibility of the library at the institut to everyone.
 
Introductions of participants was next but with a twist. You had to prefix your first name with an adjective that begins with the first letter of your name.  For example, there was Generous Goddy, Sexy Shakiru, Beautiful Bea, Outstanding Omoze and it continued. Never a dull moment when book lovers gather.By attending the event, each participant was entitled to a book.

Clues were attached to all the giveaway books. Supposed you picked a book covered with a brown paper with an inscription, “school of horror” what title do you get? The Institute by Stephen King.  “Kill Them All” gives you Stay with me by Ayobami Adebayor. I will leave you to guess the book title with inscription, “Bush Meat.”
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
 
The evening got more fascinating when Romantic Author, Empi Baryeh arrived to share her writing journey experience and also give away some of her books. She captivated and grabbed attention reading portions from her book.
 
In all, eighty books of all genres were given out for free. Heikel Friesel the Director of the institute graced the occasion and partook of the activities.
 
A photo booth was set up in the library where couples took turns taking pictures with their books. It was in all a great evening well spent with book lovers and readers.
 
Thanks to Goethe-Institut Gh and Reader Truss for the book date night.  Finally, book lovers have a night to hang; a romantic one. The book date night most definitely earns a page in the memoire of literary events in the Ghana.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Book Date Night 2020

Book Date Night 2020
© Goethe-Institut Ghana

Das Goethe-Institut Ghana und Readers Truss haben am Freitag, den 23. Oktober 2020, die zweite Edition der Book Date Night von 18.30 bis 20.30 Uhr auf dem Gelände des Goethe-Instituts in Accra neben NAFTI organisiert.

von Kwabena Eddie Mankata
 
Book Date Night ist eine Veranstaltung für enthusiastische, gewöhnliche und sogar Leser, die nie vorher ein Buch in die Hand genommen haben, um in einer lustigen und romantischen Umgebung mit ihren Dating-Partnern zusammen zu kommen. Der Zweck ist es, Bücher kostenlos zu verteilen, um die Motivation zum Lesen immer wieder neu zu inspirieren und zu fördern.
 
Im Gegensatz zur ersten Veranstaltung war die jetzige aufgrund der weltweiten Pandemie Covid-19 nicht für alle geöffnet. Die Teilnehmer mussten sich online registrieren, indem sie einen Fragebogen ausgefüllt haben. Die Ausgewählten durften mit ihren Dating-Partnern teilnehmen. Insgesamt waren etwa achtzig Personen anwesend, wobei die Covid-19-Protokolle bei der Sitzordnung und dem Tragen des Mundschutzes streng eingehalten wurden.
 
Die Veranstaltung begann mit Nene Narh, einem talentierten Gitarristen mit sanfter Stimme, der das Publikum mit großartigen Melodien verwöhnte. Ihm zur Seite stand der unermüdliche Moderator Amishaddai, der als Dichter das Programm mit einigen seiner Gedichte neben dem Gesang würzte.
 


 
Dorcas Fafali Tsey, Geschäftsführerin von Readers Truss, erzählte kurz von der Vision ihrer Organisation, eine Lesekultur in ganz Ghana zu fördern. Meli Mansu, Leiterin der Informationsabteilung und der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts, sprach über das Wesen des Lesens und die Zugänglichkeit der Bibliothek des Instituts für alle.
 
Als nächstes wurden die Teilnehmenden vorgestellt, allerdings mit einer Besonderheit: Sie mussten ihrem Vornamen ein Adjektiv voranstellen, das mit dem ersten Buchstaben ihres Namens beginnt.  So gab es zum Beispiel den großzügigen Goddy, die sexy Shakiru, die schöne Bea, den herausragenden Omoze und so ging es weiter. Es wird nie langweilig, wenn sich Buchliebhaber treffen.

Durch die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung hatte jeder Teilnehmede Anspruch auf ein Buch. An allen Buchgeschenken waren Tipps angebracht. Angenommen, man wählte ein Buch aus, das mit einem braunen Papier mit der Aufschrift "Schule des Grauens" umhüllt war, welchen Titel bekommt man dann? „Das Institut“ von Stephen King.  "Kill Them All" führt zu  „Stay with me“ von Ayobami Adebayor. Ich überlasse es Ihnen, den Buchtitel mit der Aufschrift "Bush Meat" zu erraten.
 
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana
  • Book Date Night 2020 © Goethe-Institut Ghana


 
Der Abend wurde noch faszinierender, als die romantische Autorin Empi Baryeh eintraf, um ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Schreiben zu teilen und auch einige ihrer Bücher zu verschenken. Sie fesselte die Teilnehmenden und zog die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich, indem sie Teile aus ihrem Buch vorlas.
 
Insgesamt wurden achtzig Bücher aller Genres verschenkt. Heikel Friesel, der Institutsleiterin, beehrte die Veranstaltung und nahm an den Aktivitäten teil.
 
In der Bibliothek war eine Fotokabine aufgebaut, in der sich Paare abwechselnd mit ihren Büchern fotografieren lassen konnten. Alles in allem war es ein großartiger Abend, der mit Buchliebhabern und Lesern verbracht wurde.
 
Danke an das Goethe-Institut Ghana und Reader Truss für die Book Date Night.  Endlich haben Buchliebhaber einen Abend, an dem sie zusammen kommen können; einen romantischen Abend. Die "Book Date Night" verdient auf jeden Fall eine Seite in den Memoiren der literarischen Veranstaltungen in Ghana.
 

Top