Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Thinking with Islands

kyklada.press
© kyklada.press

kyklàda.press is a small imprint in Athens founded by a trans-disciplinary group of artists during the pandemic. Stefanie Peter, head of cultural programs of the Goethe-Institut Athen, spoke with David Bergé and Dimitra Kondylatou, two members of the publishing team, about the project.

You’ve just founded a publishing house: how did you come up with the idea and how would you describe your practice?
 
David: I imagine artistic practice as something as fluid as a human body, a living organism able to adapt to different climates, conditions, environments and contexts. A body can move around, travel, isolate, focus, loosen up, take different shapes, get sick, recover, relate to other bodies, eat and rest. When a pandemic strikes, artistic practices morph towards what is possible and available, in my case, a more regional approach. At the same time, in a couple of recent works, I had been experimenting with language, speech, and writing, and instead of pursuing this path in my own practice, I opened it up to a small group of people surrounding me. To me the Cycladic landscape is both rural and urban and continues into the city hills of Athens. This is where the idea was born: a writing experiment disseminating knowledge on the Aegean archipelago. 
 
As for the practice of kyklàda.press, our approach is not author nor disciplinary centered. This six people's team makes four books, through dialogue and shared research, often contaminated and strengthened by already ongoing research of involved team members. As a team, we can read in about 9 languages, are familiar with discourses in different fields, and have access to a lot of practical skills that come at hand when self-publishing: from ideas to proofreading, from designing to printing, to figuring out a webshop, an Instagram account, and understand how to parasite already existing networks of logistics and distribution. 
 
As artists, you are used to other forms of presentation. What makes being a publisher so attractive these days? And isn't it also due to the situation that exhibition openings as social events are currently impossible in many parts of the world?

David: I have to admit that making books as a team over video conferences and shared documents was not always easy. Ideally, the project would have started as a physical writing workshop in which we could really get to know each other's practices before embarking on such an endeavor. 


Experiencing performance or installation art is indeed different from books. In most cases, reading is an internalized process, withdrawn from crowds. The pocket-size format of kyklàda.press publications invites for another kind of intimacy, but they are by no means meant to replace spatial or temporal presentations of other practices. 
 
Dimitra: As a member of this publishing project and a contemporary subject in curfew, I also find important the ability of books to drag us away from the screen. As many of our activities are now taking place online, the physicality of offline reading and the materiality of books may have a soothing effect in our everyday indoor experience during the lockdown. 
 
David: At kyklàda.press, besides this catalogue of books, of which the first four are out now, we are also working on what we call for now “Corpoterranea,” environments: new ways of being together in a post-pandemic world, with books and with each other, but that’s for next year!
 
kyklàda.press: does the name say it all here?
 
David: Citing our team member Juan Duque: “Through navigation, our Westernized sense of perspective has established a common horizon, simplifying islands as visual spots at the surface of the sea. At kyklàda.press we believe that islands are not exotic entities alone in the sea waters. Islands remain interconnected with the mainland and each other, from the top of the mountains to the hidden topographies of the sea bed: a myriad of creatures and non-organic matter which lives in constant symbiosis with water; tectonic plates, fossil fuel pipes, and data cables”. 
 
Dimitra: Usually when referring to the Cycladic islands, we use the word in plural. Kyklàda - in singular - describes a circle or something that encircles. It refers to our methodology of surrounding concepts or things that may derive from a location, but are reflected from the different locations and positions of the international and interdisciplinary kyklàda.press team members. 


David: The name comes from an early conversation with Dimitris Theodoropoulos and Nicolas Lakiotakis, in which we hint to κύκλος the circular formation of the Cycladic islands of which the island Delos is roughly the center. Τhe logo splits this name into 3 distinct sounds: KY - KLÀ – DA, an allusion to Pulsar, a 1975 poem by the Brazillian concrete poet Augusto de Campos, performed by Caetano Veloso. Both de Campos and Veloso were in the late 1960s central figures in the Tropicália movement in Brazil, trying to formulate through music, theater, concrete poetry and film, a Brazillian answer to the dominating American and European straightforward capitalism and modernism
 
With each volume in the kyklàda.press series - we just published the first four - we are slowly forming a catalogue of liquid forms of modernity: corporeal bodies – historical and actual, real, and imaginative. 
 
 
The volume "Public Health in Crisis. Confined in the Aegean Archipelago" is published with the support of the Goethe-Institut Athen. In short, what is this volume about?
 
David: That’s for Dimitra, the initiator of this book.
 
Dimitra: “Public Health in Crisis. Confined in the Aegean Archipelago” focuses on the notion of confinement and assembles fragments of everyday life and health management during the pandemics of different times in the region. When David invited me to participate in kyklàda.press, I was researching the lazaretto at Syros for the Alternate Paths workshop that I was going to conduct at the Syros International Film Festival. Lazarettos were the first organized quarantine facilities for travelers and goods, established in the 15th century, plague-stricken Venice, and a historical precedent of precautionary measures connected to travel. While learning more about them, I realized that quarantine was for centuries a common, unpleasant, compulsory stage for all kinds of travel. For this book, we chose the historic paradigm of lazarettos, as a focus point, around which unravel historical, geopolitical, theoretical, and experiential aspects of space, travel, and health management. The kyklàda.press team joined and helped me to further delve into this rich material. In this issue, we approach manifestations of confinement of different kinds and different chronologies, by contemplating on religious and medical practices against the Bubonic plague, by citing experiences and impressions of travelers that were quarantined in ships, and buildings precisely constructed for sanitary purposes, which gave us an insight on the states of control, regulated and secured by architecture and legislation. The famine incident in Syros during the occupation of Greece by the Axis Powers in the 1940s, unfolded by Nicolas Lakiotakis, highlights another important perspective, in which the imposed confinement was not the result, but the cause of a health crisis. In all the cases of confinement, there is anxiety. The anxiety, as described in Hulya Ertas’s contribution, caused by experiencing death, mourning, loss, isolation, restriction, the unknown. This book is our attempt to reflect, through fragments and materials of the past, on today’s situation, which, being still in process, we are unable to grasp completely. 

kyklàda.press team 2020:
Juan Duque, Dimitra Kondylatou, Nicolas Lakiotakis, Hulya Ertas, Denis Maksimov, Costas Kalogeropoulos (design), Roland Brauchli (design), Foteini Salvaridi (social media coordinator) and Dimitris Katsanis (website coordinator)
 
series direction: David Bergé
 
 
key words: island topographies, archipelago culture, experiences in landscapes, urbanism, architecture, corporeality, historical (dis)continuities, queer culture, gender equality, non-patriarchy, travel and tourism narratives, photography, art and poetry.
 
 
Public Health in Crisis. Confined in the Aegean Archipelago”

 
Epidemics and pandemics undermine societies and highlight the vulnerability of relations people have created to the land, other species, and each other. This book presents fragments of disease management in the Mediterranean from the 15th-century onwards and in the Aegean Archipelago in the last two centuries. From religious to medical approaches to the Bubonic Plague, through the creation of lazarettos, to the famine in occupied Syros, to ghost ships drifting on the Mediterranean: citizens are forced to avoid citizens. Public health in crisis: confinement versus mobility, awakening memories of totalitarian regimes.
 
With the support of the Goethe-Institut Athen.
 
Contributors: Dimitra Kondylatou, Nicolas Lakiotakis, Hulya Ertas, David Bergé
96 pages, 102 x 162 mm, perfect bound
ISBN 97-894-64202-81-6
Illustrations color and b/w
Available December 2020
Language English
Price: 8 Euro
 
www.kyklada.press
 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Mit Inseln denken

kyklada.press
© kyklada.press

kyklàda.press ist ein Verlag in Athen, der von Künstler*innen während der Pandemie gegründet wurde. Stefanie Peter, Programmleiterin des Goethe-Instituts Athen, sprach mit David Bergé und Dimitra Kondylatou, zwei Mitgliedern des Herausgeber*innenteams, über das Projekt.

Sie haben einen Verlag gegründet: wie sind Sie auf die Idee gekommen und wie würden Sie Ihre Arbeitsweise beschreiben?
 
David: Künstlerische Praxis verstehe ich als etwas, das so fließend ist wie ein menschlicher Körper, ein lebender Organismus. Ein Körper kann sich bewegen, reisen, isolieren, fokussieren, lockern, unterschiedlich formen, krank werden, sich erholen, mit anderen Körpern in Beziehung treten, essen und ruhen. Wenn eine Pandemie zuschlägt, wandeln sich auch die künstlerischen Praktiken, in meinem Fall hin zu einem eher regionalen Ansatz. Gleichzeitig habe ich in einigen meiner letzten Arbeiten mit Sprache, Sprechen und Schreiben experimentiert, und, statt diesen Weg allein zu verfolgen, habe ich ihn für eine kleine Gruppe von Menschen in meiner Umgebung geöffnet. Für mich ist die Landschaft der Kykladen sowohl rural als auch urban. Sie findet ihre Fortsetzung in den Stadthügeln von Athen. Hier entstand die Idee für ein Schreibexperiment zur Verbreitung von Wissen über den ägäischen Archipel.
 
Was die Praxis von kyklàda.press angeht, so ist unser Ansatz weder autoren- noch disziplinenzentriert. Das sechsköpfige Team produziert vier Bücher, durch Dialog und gemeinsame Recherche, oft beeinflusst und verstärkt durch bereits laufende Recherchen der beteiligten Teammitglieder. Als Team können wir in etwa neun Sprachen lesen, sind mit Diskursen in verschiedenen Wissensgebieten vertraut und haben Zugang zu einer Menge praktischer Fähigkeiten, die beim Self-Publishing zum Tragen kommen: von der Idee bis zum Lektorat, vom Design bis zum Druck, vom Einrichten eines Webshops und eines Instagram-Accounts bis zum nötigen Know-how, bereits existierende Netzwerke von Logistik und Vertrieb parasitär zu nutzen.
 
Als bildende Künstler*innen sind Sie andere Präsentationsformen gewohnt. Was macht das Verleger-Sein so attraktiv? Und ist das nicht auch der Situation geschuldet, dass Ausstellungseröffnungen als soziale Ereignisse in vielen Weltgegenden zur Zeit unmöglich sind?
 
David: Ich muss zugeben, dass es nicht immer einfach war, die Bücher mittels Videokonferenzen und gemeinsamer Dokumente zu produzieren. Idealerweise hätte das Projekt als physische Schreibwerkstatt begonnen, in der wir die Praktiken der anderen wirklich hätten kennenlernen können, bevor wir uns auf ein solches Unterfangen einließen. 
 
Eine Performance oder auch Installationskunst live zu erleben ist in der Tat anders als Bücher zu machen. In den meisten Fällen ist Lesen ein innerer, ungeselliger Vorgang. Das Taschenformat der kyklàda.press-Publikationen lädt zu einer anderen Art von Intimität ein, aber sie sind keineswegs dazu gedacht, räumliche oder zeitliche Präsentationen zu ersetzen.
 
Dimitra: Als Mitglied des Herausgeber*innenteams und mitten in der Ausgangssperre finde ich auch die Fähigkeit von Büchern wichtig, uns vom Bildschirm wegzuziehen. Da viele unserer Aktivitäten heute online stattfinden, kann die Körperlichkeit des offline-Lesens und die Materialität von Büchern eine beruhigende Wirkung auf unsere alltägliche Erfahrung in Innenräumen während der Sperrstunde haben.
 
David: Bei kyklàda.press arbeiten wir neben der Buchreihe, von der jetzt die ersten vier Titel erschienen sind, auch an dem, was wir vorläufig "Corpoterranea" nennen, Umgebungen: neue Formen des Zusammenseins in einer post-pandemischen Welt, mit Büchern und miteinander, aber das ist für nächstes Jahr!
 
kyklàda.press: ist der Name hier Programm?
 
David: Ich zitiere unser Teammitglied Juan Duque: „Durch die Navigation hat unser verwestlichter Sinn für Perspektive einen gemeinsamen Horizont etabliert, der Inseln zu visuellen Punkten auf der Meeresoberfläche reduziert. Wir von kyklàda.press glauben, dass Inseln keine exotischen Gebilde sind, die allein in den Gewässern liegen. Inseln bleiben mit dem Festland und untereinander verbunden, von den Gipfeln der Berge bis zu den verborgenen Topographien des Meeresbodens: Myriaden von Lebewesen und nicht-organischer Materie in ständiger Symbiose mit dem Wasser; tektonische Platten, Rohre für fossile Brennstoffe und Datenkabel“.
 
Dimitra: Normalerweise verwenden wir das Wort im Plural, wenn wir uns auf die Kykladen beziehen. Kyklàda - im Singular - beschreibt einen Kreis oder etwas, das einen umgibt. Es bezieht sich auf unsere Methodik, Konzepte oder Dinge von den verschiedenen Standorten und intellektuellen Positionen der internationalen und interdisziplinären kyklàda.press-Teammitglieder aus zu reflektieren. 
 
David: Der Name stammt aus einem frühen Gespräch mit Dimitris Theodoropoulos und Nicolas Lakiotakis, in dem wir auf κύκλος die kreisförmige Formation der Kykladen anspielten, deren Zentrum ungefähr die Insel Delos ist. Das Verlags-Logo spaltet diesen Namen in drei verschiedene Laute auf: KY - KLÀ - DA, eine Anspielung auf Pulsar, ein Gedicht aus 1975 des brasilianischen Dichters Augusto de Campos und Lied von Caetano Veloso. Veloso und de Campos waren in den späten 1960er Jahren zentrale Figuren der Tropicália-Bewegung in Brasilien, die versuchte, durch Musik, Theater, konkrete Poesie und Film eine brasilianische Antwort auf den dominierenden amerikanischen und europäischen gradlinigen Kapitalismus und Modernismus zu formulieren.
 
Mit jedem Band der kyklàda.press-Reihe - wir haben gerade die ersten vier veröffentlicht - bilden wir langsam einen Katalog flüssiger Formen der Moderne: körperliche, historische und aktuelle, reale und imaginative.
 
Der Band "Public Health in Crisis. Confined in the Aegean Archipelago " erscheint mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Athen. Worum geht es kurz gesagt in diesem Band?
 
David: Das ist für Dimitra, die Initiatorin dieses Buches.
 
Dimitra: "Public Health in Crisis. Confined in the Aegean Archipelago " konzentriert sich auf den Begriff des Eingeschlossens eins und versammelt Fragmente des Alltagslebens und des Gesundheitsmanagements während vergangener Pandemien in der Region. Als David mich einlud, an kyklàda.press teilzunehmen, recherchierte ich gerade über das Lazarett auf Syros für den Workshop „Alternate Paths“, den ich auf dem Syros International Film Festival durchführen wollte. Lazarette waren die ersten organisierten Quarantäneeinrichtungen für Reisende und für Waren, die im 15. Jahrhundert im von der Pest heimgesuchten Venedig eingerichtet wurden, und ein historischer Präzedenzfall für Vorsichtsmaßnahmen im Zusammenhang mit Reisen. Während ich mehr über sie lernte, wurde mir klar, dass die Quarantäne jahrhundertelang eine übliche, unangenehme, obligatorische Etappe war, die zum Reisen dazugehörte. Für dieses Buch haben wir das historische Paradigma der Lazarette als Ausgangspunkt gewählt, um den herum sich historische, geopolitische, theoretische und erfahrungsbezogene Aspekte des Raum-, Reise- und Gesundheitsmanagements entfalten. Das Team von kyklàda.press hat sich mir angeschlossen und mir geholfen, dieses reiche Material weiter zu erforschen. In dieser Ausgabe nähern wir uns Manifestationen des Eingeschlossenseins, indem wir über religiöse und medizinische Praktiken gegen die Pest nachdenken, indem wir Erfahrungen und Eindrücke von Reisenden zitieren, die auf Schiffen unter Quarantäne gestellt wurden, und von Gebäuden, die extra für sanitäre Zwecke gebaut wurden, die uns einen Einblick in die Zustände der Kontrolle gaben, die durch Architektur und Gesetzgebung geregelt und gesichert wurden. Die Hungersnot auf Syros während der Besetzung Griechenlands durch die Achsenmächte in den 1940er Jahren, die von Nicolas Lakiotakis beschrieben wird, beleuchtet eine andere wichtige Perspektive, in der die auferlegte Einschließung nicht das Ergebnis, sondern die Ursache einer Gesundheitskrise war. In allen Fällen kursiert Angst. Die Angst, wie sie im Beitrag von Hulya Ertas beschrieben wird, verursacht durch die Erfahrung von Tod, Trauer, Verlust, Isolation, Einschränkung, des Unbekannten. Dieses Buch ist unser Versuch, anhand von Fragmenten und Materialien aus der Vergangenheit über die heutige Situation nachzudenken, die wir, da sie noch im Gange ist, nicht vollständig erfassen können.
 
kyklàda.press Team 2020:
Juan Duque, Dimitra Kondylatou, Nicolas Lakiotakis, Hulya Ertas, Denis Maksimov, Costas Kalogeropoulos (grafik), Roland Brauchli (grafik), Foteini Salvaridi (Soziale Medien Koordinatorin) und Dimitris Katsanis (Website Koordinator)
 
Serienregie: David Bergé
 
Schlüsselwörter: Inseltopografien, Archipelkultur, Erfahrungen in Landschaften, Urbanismus, Architektur, Körperlichkeit, historische (Dis-) Kontinuitäten, queere Kultur, Gleichstellung der Geschlechter, Nicht-patriarchat, Reise- und Tourismuserzählungen, Fotografie, Kunst und Poesie.
 
Public Health in Crisis. Confined in the Aegean Archipelago”
 
Epidemien und Pandemien untergraben Gesellschaften und heben die Verwundbarkeit der Beziehungen hervor, die die Menschen zum Land, zu anderen Arten und untereinander pflegen. Dieses Buch präsentiert Fragmente des Gesundheitsmanagements im Mittelmeerraum ab dem 15. Jahrhundert und im Ägäischen Archipel in den letzten beiden Jahrhunderten. Von religiösen über medizinische Ansätze zur Bekämpfung der Pest über die Einrichtung von Lazaretten, bis hin zur Hungersnot im besetzten Syros und zu Geisterschiffen, die auf dem Mittelmeer treiben: Bürger sind gezwungen, Bürgern auszuweichen. Öffentliche Gesundheit in der Krise: Beschränkung versus Mobilität, Erinnerungen an totalitäre Regime.
 
Mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Athen.
 
Autoren: Dimitra Kondylatou, Nicolas Lakiotakis, Hulya Ertas, David Bergé
96 Seiten, 120 x 162 mm
Druck: Offset
Abbildungen: Farbe, s / w
ISBN: 97-894-64202-81-6
Sprache: Englisch
Erscheinungstermin: Dezember 2020
Preis: 8 Euro
 
www.kyklada.press
 
 

Top