Tasks and Targets

Aufgaben und Ziele Photo: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

Sprache. Kultur. Deutschland.

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach.

We promote knowledge of the German language abroad and foster international cultural cooperation. We convey a comprehensive image of Germany by providing information about cultural, social and political life in our nation. Our cultural and educational programmes encourage intercultural dialogue and enable cultural involvement. They strengthen the development of structures in civil society and foster worldwide mobility.

With our network of Goethe-Instituts, Goethe Centres, cultural societies, reading rooms and exam and language learning centres, we have been the first point of contact for many with Germany for over sixty years. Our long-lasting partnerships with leading institutions and individuals in over ninety countries create enduring trust in Germany. We are partners for all who actively engage with Germany and its culture, working independently and without political ties.

The Goethe-Institut in Namibia

The Goethe-Institut in Windhoek is the only German cultural centre in Namibia. Our aim is to promote the German language through language classes and through courses for teachers of‚ German as Foreign Language’. We furthermore thrive to foster intercultural co-operation between Namibia and Germany. 

Our cultural programmes as well as the information work of the media centre aim to mediate a modern and complete picture of all fields of German life. 
 
The Goethe-Institut offers an extensive range of educational and training programmes. In addition to programmes for teachers and learners of German and for cultural and media professionals, the Goethe-Institut offers trainings in the field of intercultural communication and integration.Our services are available to anybody interested in Germany, the German language or the German culture.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Sprache. Kultur. Deutschland.

Das Goethe-Institut e.V. ist das weltweit tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache im Ausland und pflegen die internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. Wir vermitteln ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild durch Information über das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und politische Leben in unserem Land. Unsere Kultur- und Bildungsprogramme fördern den interkulturellen Dialog und ermöglichen kulturelle Teilhabe. Sie stärken den Ausbau zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen und fördern weltweite Mobilität.

Mit unserem Netzwerk aus Goethe-Instituten, Goethe-Zentren, Kulturgesellschaften, Lesesälen sowie Prüfungs- und Sprachlernzentren sind wir seit über sechzig Jahren für viele Menschen der erste Kontakt mit Deutschland. Die langjährige partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Institutionen und Persönlichkeiten in über 90 Ländern schafft nachhaltiges Vertrauen in unser Land. Wir sind Partner für alle, die sich aktiv mit Deutschland und seiner Kultur beschäftigen und arbeiten eigenverantwortlich und parteipolitisch ungebunden.

Das Goethe-Institut in Namibia

Das Goethe-Institut in Windhoek ist das einzige deutsche Kulturzentrum in Namibia. Wir fördern die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache - in unseren Sprachkursen und in Veranstaltungen zur Deutschlehrerfortbildung - und pflegen die interkulturelle Zusammenarbeit zwischen Namibia und Deutschland. 

Wir vermitteln sowohl durch die Kulturprogramme, als auch im Rahmen unserer Bibliotheksarbeit ein modernes, umfassendes Deutschlandbild und informieren über das kulturelle, gesellschaftliche und politische Leben.

Das Goethe-Institut hält ein umfangreiches Angebot an Bildungs- und Qualifizierungsprogrammen bereit. Neben Programmen für Deutschlehrende und Deutschlernende, für Kultur- und Medienschaffende bietet das Goethe-Institut Trainings im Bereich der interkulturellen Kommunikation und Integration. Wir sind dabei Dienstleiter und Partner für alle, die sich aktiv mit Deutschland und der deutschen Sprache und Kultur beschäftigen und arbeiten eigenverantwortlich und politisch ungebunden.