Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Residency Programm // Berlin Lagos

The Goethe-Institut Nigeria, in cooperation with 16/16 residency in Lagos and the Berlin art institutions, ZK/U – Center for Art and Urbanistics and SAVVY Contemporary, is offering residencies for artists / curators from Lagos and Berlin.

Residency Programm Lagos-Berlin© Lagos_GuF footprint from 2012-2014 by Global Urban Footprint

RESIDENCY PROGRAMME FOR ARTISTS AND CURATORS FROM BERLIN AND LAGOS

Goethe-Institut Nigeria in the context of its partnership with 16/16 in Lagos and  the Center for Art and Urbanistics (ZK/U) and SAVVY Contemporary Art Space in Berlin, continues with a residency programme for artists and curators from Berlin and Lagos.
 
 Since its founding in 2015, the aim of »Artist’s and Curator’s Residency // Berlin-Lagos« has been initiated to strengthen the dialogue between Germany and Nigeria. It provides an individualized offer in order to get an insight into the art and culture scene of the respective city and the partner institutions. They will offer possibilities of exchange, mentoring, making contacts and the presentation of work results. Each year, the jury selects one common theme: for 2020 and 2021, it is the topic of "Archives"
 
Both selected residents will meet, exchange and present their findings to the Berlin audience together.
 
Between 2015 and 2020, the following Lagos and Berlin-based artists took part in the programme: Folakunle Oshun, Tito Aderemi-Ibitola, Taiwo Ojodun, Antoinette Yetunde Oni, Dane Komljen, Katrin Winkler, Natalia Orendain del Castillo, Jumoke Adeyanju, Monaí de Paula Antunes und Afopefoluwa Ojo. For 2020, the jury also selected the artists Jeremiah Ikongio (Lagos) and Luiza Prado (Berlin), who were not able to travel due to the Covid-19 pandemic. They will participate in the residency programme in autumn 2021.

 
The call is directed towards artists and curators that work professionally in their fields and have made a broad range of projects as well as some years of exhibition experience.


Selected Artists


News

Digital Residency Monai de Paula Antunes © Monai de Paula Antunes

An Interview with the Artist
Monaí de Paula Antunes

Due to the global Covid-19 pandemic, the Berlin-based artist Monaí de Paula Antunes was not able to travel to Lagos in autumn 2020. Therefore, her residency was turned into a digital one. In the interview, she talks about the project and the challenges and experiences during her digital residency last year.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Residenzprogramm// Berlin- Lagos

Das Goethe-Institut Nigeria bietet in Zusammenarbeit mit der Residenz 16/16 in Lagos und den Berliner Kunstinstitutionen ZK/U - Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik sowie SAVVY Contemporary, Residenzen für Künstler*innen/Kurator*innen, die in Lagos oder Berlin leben und arbeiten

Residenzprogramm Lagos-Berlin© Lagos_GuF footprint from 2012-2014 by Global Urban Footprint

RESIDENZPROGRAMME FÜR KÜNSTLER*INNEN UND KURATOR*INNEN AUS BERLIN UND LAGOS

Für die Neuauflage und Erweiterung des in 2015 begonnenen Residenzprogramms für junge Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen zwischen den Städten Berlin und Lagos werden jährlich Ausschreibungen veröffentlicht. Das Programm ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Goethe-Instituts Nigeria und 16/16  Lagos auf der nigerianischen Seite, und dem Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik (ZK/U) sowie SAVVY Contemporary, auf Berliner Seite.
 
Ziel des Austauschprogramms ist seit seiner Gründung im Juli 2015 die Schaffung eines sehr individualisierten Angebots, dass neben der Ermöglichung eines mehrwöchigen Arbeitsaufenthaltes in der jeweils anderen Stadt, auch einen Einblick in die Arbeit der Partner-Institutionen mit Beratungs,- Kontakt,- und Austauschmöglichkeiten, sowie die Präsentation von Arbeitsergebnissen in verschiedenen Formaten enthält. Jedes Jahr wird ein neues Oberthema für das Residenzprogramm ausgewählt, 2020 und 2021 ist es das Thema "Archive".
 
Die beiden ausgewählten Resident*innen treffen sich zum Austausch und werden ihre Ergebnisse gemeinsam vor dem Berliner Publikum präsentieren
 
Zwischen 2015 und 2020 nahmen bereits folgende Künstler*innen an dem Programm teil: Folakunle Oshun, Tito Aderemi-Ibitola, Taiwo Ojodun, Antoinette Yetunde Oni, Dane Komljen, Katrin Winkler, Natalia Orendain del Castillo, Jumoke Adeyanju, Monaí de Paula Antunes und Afopefoluwa Ojo. Für 2020 wurden von der Jury der nigerianische Künstler Jeremiah Ikongio und die in Berlin ansässige Künstlerin Luiza Prado ausgewählt, die Corona-bedingt ihre Residenzen erst 2021 antreten werden.

 
Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen, die professionell in ihrem Tätigkeitsbereich arbeiten und bereits mehrere Projekte durchgeführt bzw. mehrjährige Ausstellungserfahrung haben.


Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten


Aktuelles

Digitalresidenz Monai de Paula Antunes © Monai de Paula Antunes

Ein Interview mit der Künstlerin
Monaí de Paula Antunes

Aufgrund der weltweiten Covid-19-Pandemie konnte die in Berlin arbeitende Künstlerin Monaí de Paula Antunes im Herbst 2020 nicht wie geplant nach Lagos reisen. Deshalb wurde ihr Residenzprojekt digital durchgeführt. In dem Interview spricht sie über ihr Projekt und die Herausforderungen sowie Erfahrungen während ihrer digitalen Residenz im letzten Jahr.

Top