Projects

Goethe-Instituts around the world have long been exploring feminist topics and issues with their local partners. You can find a selection of these projects here: 
Drawing in orange and blue tones with several women of different skin colors. The women are standing in the middle of the picture. One of the women is reading a book, another wears a headscarf and greets, another has a baby in her arms. Around them are stars, flowers and leaves. © Marishka Soekarna

Movements & Moments

Goethe-Institut's project “Movements and Moments” sheds light on Indigenous feminist activisms from the Global South in the form of comics. 

Blurred picture of women in motion while dancing. A flashlight covers the centre of the photo. The picture is covered with a green filter. © Goethe-Institut Indonesia

Bodies of Care

Bodies of Care is a performing arts project that invites the public to actively participate in a performance created by ten young choreographers from Indonesia and Germany together with performance artist Melati Suryodarmo (Indonesia) and the media- and performance collective LIGNA (Germany).

On the left, "El siglo de las mujeres" is written in big letters next to the female symbol in white on a colourful background. It is the logo of the project. © Goethe-Institut Bolivia

Das Jahrhundert der Frauen

The project “El siglo de las mujeres” (The Century of Women) of the Goethe-Instituts in South America develops strategies against patriarchal structures and violence against women.    

Modern African mud house with a round roof, surrounded by vegetation. © House of African Feminisms

House of African Feminisms

Website online soon
“House of African Feminisms” aims at regional exchange and networking on issues and discourses in the field of feminism in Sub-Saharan Africa. The online platform is dedicated to African feminisms that address the conditions and perspectives of African women* in many ways.
 

The picture is colorful on the sides. The background in the middle is white, in front is the logo “Man, Male, Masculine”.At the bottom left, a man with Indian appearance is frying a dish in a pan. On the top of the picture is a man with long hair singing. On the other side is half of a pink face with big lips, an earring and a green hair.  © Goethe-Institut Chennai

M3: Man, Male, Masculine

The project aims to discuss current visions of masculinity across the gender spectrum in India and Bangladesh through various cultural and educational activities

Tashweesh is written in capital letters in black with white background. The three dots above the word are a reminder of the Arabic script. It is the logo of the project. © Goethe-Institut Brussels

Tashweesh

تشویش Tashweesh is a multidisciplinary art festival aiming to facilitate new feminist alliances and give platform to multidisciplinary art and research practices of intersectional feminism in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

The illustration shows two identical-looking people with suits standing next to each other. They are not looking at each other. A strawberry is shown in front of one person, and a banana in front of the other. © Jeem

Jeem

Jeem is a feminist media organization that produces critical and cultural knowledge in Arabic on gender and sexuality with the aim of challenging mainstream narratives surrounding these topics. Launched in 2018 as a project of the Goethe-Institut, Jeem was registered as an independent organization in Berlin in 2022.
 

Against a dark background with circles, triangles and other shapes in bright colors, are two letterings. In orange a word of Bengali script (English translation: "womanhood"), below in shiny blue lettering on a black background is written "Telling Stories of Womanhood". © kotha

Feminism in Bangladesh

Feminism is evolving and definitions are diverse across the globe. Through 6 projects, we are exploring how young Bangladeshi’s approach and explore questions around feminism. Outcomes include essays, vodcasts, collaborations amongst film makers performances, spoken word and poetry.

Projekte

Schon lange setzen sich Goethe-Institute weltweit mit ihren lokalen Partner*innen mit feministischen Themen und Fragestellungen auseinander. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl der Projekte: 
Zeichnung in Orange- und Blautönen mit mehreren Frauen mit unterschiedlichen Hautfarben. Frauen befinden sich in der Mitte des Bildes. Eine der Frauen liest ein Buch, eine andere trägt ein Kopftuch und grüßt, eine weitere hat ein Baby in den Armen. Um sie herum sind Sterne, Blumen und Blätter zu sehen. © Marishka Soekarna

Movements & Moments

Das Projekt „Movements and Moments“ des Goethe-Instituts widmet sich indigenen feministischen Aktivismen aus dem Globalen Süden im Comicformat.   

Unscharfes Foto von Frauen in Bewegung beim Tanzen. Ein Blitzlicht bedeckt die Mitte des Fotos. Das Bild ist mit einem grünen Filter bedeckt. © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Bodies of Care

Das partizipative Performance-Projekt „Bodies of Care“ lädt zur Teilnahme an einer Performance ein, die von zehn jungen Choreograf*innen aus Indonesien und Deutschland gemeinsam mit der Künstlerin Melati Suryodarmo (Indonesien) und dem Kollektiv LIGNA (Deutschland) entwickelt wurde.   

Links steht groß "El siglo de las mujeres" neben dem Frauensymbol in Weiß auf farbigem Hintergrund. Es ist das Logo des Projektes. © Goethe-Institut Bolivien

Das Jahrhundert der Frauen

Das Projekt „Das Jahrhundert der Frauen“ der Goethe-Institute in Südamerika entwickelt Strategien gegen patriarchale Strukturen und die Gewalt gegen Frauen.

 Modernes afrikanisches Lehmhaus mit rundem Dach, umgeben von Vegetation. © House of African Feminisms

House of African Feminisms

Seite in Kürze online
„House of African Feminisms“ zielt auf den regionalen Austausch und die Vernetzung zu Themen und Diskursen im Bereich Feminismus in Subsahara-Afrika ab. Die Online-Plattform widmet sich afrikanischen Feminismen, die die Bedingungen und Perspektiven afrikanischer Frauen* vielseitig adressieren.

Das Bild ist an den Seiten bunt und in der Mitte weiß mit dem Logo “Man, Male, Masculine”. Unten links brät ein Mann mit indischem Aussehen ein Gericht in einer Pfanne. Oben im Bild singt ein Mann mit langen Haaren. Auf der rechten Seite ist die Hälfte eines rosafarbenen Gesichts mit großen Lippen, einem Ohrring und grünen Haaren zu sehen. © Goethe-Institut Chennai

M3: Man, Male, Masculine

Das Projekt „M3“ hat das Ziel, die aktuellen Vorstellungen von Männlichkeit aus dem gesamten Geschlechterspektrum in Indien und Bangladesch durch verschiedene kulturelle Bildungsprojekte zu diskutieren. 

Tashweesh ist in Großbuchstaben in Schwarz auf weißem Hintergrund geschrieben. Drei weiße Punkte über dem Wort erinnern an die arabische Schrift. Es ist das Logo des Projektes. © Goethe-Institut Brüssel

Tashweesh

تشویش Tashweesh ist ein interdisziplinäres Kunstfestival, das darauf abzielt, neue feministische Bündnisse zu ermöglichen und interdisziplinären Kunst- und Forschungspraktiken zu intersektionalem Feminismus in Europa, dem Nahen Osten und Nordafrika eine Plattform zu bieten.

Die Illustration zeigt zwei identisch aussehende Personen mit Anzügen, die nebeneinander stehen. Sie schauen sich nicht an. Vor der einen Person ist eine Erdbeere abgebildet, vor der anderen Person eine Banane. © Jeem

Jeem

Jeem ist eine feministische Medienorganisation, die kritisches und kulturelles Wissen in arabischer Sprache rund um Gender und Sexualität produziert, um die gängigen Narrative zu diesen Themen herauszufordern. 2018 wurde Jeem als ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts gestartet. 2022 hat sich Jeem als unabhängige Organisation in Berlin registriert.
 

Vor einem dunklen Hintergrund mit Kreisen, Dreiecken und anderen Formen in bunten Farben stehen zwei Schriftzüge. In Orange ein Wort in bengalischer Schrift (englische Übersetzung: "womanhood"), darunter steht in glänzend-blauer Schrift "Telling Stories of Womanhood". © kotha

Feminismus in Bangladesch

Feminismus ist in Bewegung und Definitionen weltweit unterscheiden sich. Sechs Projekte zeigen, wie junge Menschen aus Bangladesch Fragen des Feminismus angehen und diskutieren. Zu den Ergebnissen gehören Essays, Vodcasts, Kooperationen zwischen Filmemachern, Performances, gesprochene Worte und Poesie.