Programme | 16 June 2021

GENERATIONS.FM

generations.fm © TAU 09:00 - 10:00 Morning Talk: Einführung in den Tag
Special guest: Masimba Hwati
In conversation with the interdisciplinary artist Masimba Hwati from Zimbabwe, we introduce the topics of the day: The first day is dedicated to the question of how we deal with memory and heritage. Who decides on the writing of history and how can it be rewritten? Which forms of anti-racist and post-colonial commemoration exist? But also, how is remembrance working in families and on an individual level? Masimba Hwati is currently a fellow at the Radio Art Residency in Weimar. In his radio project, he explores the role of guerrilla radio stations at the time of the liberation war in Zimbabwe.

10:00 - 11:00 Generations – a conversation
With Carola Lentz and Winfried Speitkamp
The "'68 generation," the "'45 generation," the "Generation Y": Is there really such a thing as "a generation"? What is the purpose of the concept of "generation" in science but also, for example, in the family, and how is it lived there? The ethnologist and president of the Goethe-Institut Carola Lentz and the historian and president of the Bauhaus University Winfried Speitkamp talk about European and African concepts of generation and cultures of remembrance. Moderation: Anka Suckow

11:00 - 11:30 Hörinnerung / Radio play by Sherry Schaubs
A contribution by the Experimental Radio of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, CN: Animal killing
How does the auditory shape memory? With this question I set off for an autobiographical hike into my past. On the way to my home village, I reflect, among other things, on family relationships in which (non-)listening still entails consequences and responsibility. The auditive access to the past leads me to a reflection on the connections between hearing and being, the past and the future.

11:30 - 12:30 Discourse and social media. The case This is Germany
With: Candice Breitz, Hanno Hauenstein, Asal Dardan, Mahret Ifeoma Kupka. Moderation: Schayan Riaz (Goethe-Institut)
This is Germany is a project by Berlin-based South African artist Candice Breitz; the format consists in short video messages in which representatives from the art, culture and media world formulate positions on topics such as "Z-Sauße", "Biodeutsch" or "Cancel Culture", which are then published on social media channels. The episode "Menschen mit Nazihintergrund" (People with a Nazi Background), which she produced together with the artists Moshtari Hilal and Sinthujan Varatharajah, triggered a major controversial discussion.
The program will feature a conversation with several protagonists of this episode and will focus on the controversy, but also on how the topic of memory cultures is negotiated in today's generation.

12:30 - 13:00 What’s About /w Arijit Bhattacharyya
Mini-Podcast by students of the Experimental Radio of the Bauhaus University Weimar
Whether it is the Albert Schweitzer Monument, the former colonial goods shop at Hababusch/Weimar or the Humboldt Forum in Berlin, our neighbourhood is influenced by colonial legacies. In the debate on German colonial history, the corridor of white opinion continues to dominate. It is about time to change this. We accompany the artist and activist Arijit Bhattacharyya through Weimar and talk to him about his work on the Museum Island Berlin and the slow process of coming to terms with German colonial history.

13:00 - 14:00 Questions to the family
In conversation with Laura Anh Thu Dang & Jurate Braginaite
What role does family history play for one's own identity, but also for the understanding of social history? The two authors Laura Anh Thu Dang and Jurate Braginaite go into dialogue with their family members. Their radio works tell of searches for identity from migrant and post-migrant perspectives.

14:00 - 15:00 Taboos: Transnational and intergenerational.
A conversation with Mithu Sanyal
Almost every culture has its distinct taboos; they are usually passed on silently from one generation to the next until the pressure becomes too great and they are broken. As an author and cultural scientist, Mithu Sanyal has come to the fore in particular with works on feminist and identity politics; her works on women's sexuality, but also on diversity, pop culture and racism have received a lot of attention. In the conversation, questions about the transmission of taboos, the origins of cultural taboos and how they are dealt with in different family and cultural contexts will be discussed.

15:00 - 16:00 "There is nothing you can do about it" – Reflecting female role models
In conversation with Sivan Ben-Yishai and Niga Salam
There is nothing you can do about it, says the mother, and: it has always been like that. Probably grandma must have known this already, who again was told so by her mother, and so on. The works of artist Niga Salam and author and theater director Sivan Ben-Yishai reflect on the relationships between mothers and daughters and outline escapes from the constraints of patriarchy.

16:00 - 17:00 Ghosts and other mothers
Live radio diary by Jasmina Al-Qaisi / Costume: Yun Young Kim
We are generations of building anew. We reshape our identities, overlapping new stories with new takes on old stories. The ghosts stand for what we inherit by transmission and we end up replicating. Other mothers are those from whom we deliberately decide to learn. On air a circular diary is being written with sound. We quote our other mothers while holding hands with ghosts. The mouth is not to see and the only information of a body as a source of sound is its human size.

17:00 - 18:00 To remember, to forget, to erase.
Live broadcast by the Experimental Radio of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Four city guides meet at Theaterplatz and invite you to a city tour through Weimar. The city opens up to them as an archive of social and individual history, and finally develops a character of its own. By: Lisa Albrecht, Daniel Lauke, Larissa Ebel und Severin Schenkel

18:00 - 19:30 Memorializing: Practices of Memory Culture and Decolonization.
In conversation with Ulf Aminde, Free Bangura, Dean Ruddock and Margarita Valdivieso.
Monuments, statues and street names bear witness to what a society seeks to preserve, what it denies and what it erases. Public places of commemoration thus also become a space for negotiating the social reality of the present. A current example of the attempt to intervene in collective memory are the monument takedowns in the course of the Black Lives Matter movement in the US. Activists and artists from Weimar, Berlin and the United States discuss practices of anti-racist memory culture and decolonization in public space. Moderation: Lena Jöhnk (Goethe-Institut Washington DC)

19:30 - 20:00 Reservoir: Memory in Transition
A program by Vokaribe Radio (Barranquilla, Colombia)
Barranquilla is a city that has undergone the armed conflict in Colombia as a kind of silent observer. Nothing happens directly and yet everything happens. Vokaribe Radio collects voices of the young generation that has tried in different ways to build a local historical memory as a legacy of a broken culture of peace. Production team: Belén Pardo, Iván Mercado, Patricia Rendón, Walter Hernández (Asociación de Radiodifusión Comunitaria Vokaribe).

20:00 - 21:00 Generations
Live performance bauhaus.fm-Rundfunkorchester, with: Benjamin Vossler, Benjamin Serdani, Lefteris Krysalis, Leon Goltermann, Laura Anh Thu Dang, Vivien Mercedes Jester, Markus Westphal, Konrad Behr
"Generations" is the evolution of a sound. The bauhaus.fm-Rundfunkorchester approaches generation as a compositional concept and develops constantly varying "sound sequences" starting from standard A (440Hz), whose genesis will become audible in the live performance. Since 2017, the radio orchestra consists of activists of the experimental radio station bauhaus.fm and alumni of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.

21:00 - 21:30 My Friends Nina and James: a Biomythography
An experimental feature by Femi Oriogun-Williams
The interdisciplinary poet and artist Femi Oriogun-Williams from London enters into a poetic and musical dialogue with the intellectual leading lights of black culture in the USA of the 20th century: Nina Simone and James Baldwin. As a sound artist and musician Femi Oriogun-Williams works along the musical sources of inspiration of Nina Simone, from British and American folk, jazz and pop music to the music of the traditional storytellers of West Africa, the griots.

21:30 - 22:30 Experimental music in Kurdistan-Iraq
A conversation with Khabat Abas and Hardi Kurda
What is possible for a young generation of artists in Kurdistan-Iraq today? Hardi Kurda and Khabat Abas were trained in classical music in Slemani, studied in Europe and made a name for themselves with sound art and experimental music. Today Hardi Kurda organizes a regular festival for experimental music in Slemani, at which Khabat Abas also performed, Space21. Despite all challenges, they both believe in the potential of a platform for a local underground scene and want to help the younger generation to trust in finding their own voice.

22:30 - 23:30 Free Your Mind
A feature by Emeka Okereke
The first studio album of the Nigerian Afrobeat Musician, Made Kuti, aptly titled “For(e)ward” opens up with a song titled “Free Your Mind”. With its upbeat tempo and polyrhythmic overtures, this song sets the stage for the overarching proposal of the youngest and newest musician in a long lineage of musical preoccupation (stretching as far back as seven generations) of the Kuti family. Made Kuti, only 25 years of age, is in many ways an embodiment of one of James Baldwin’s notable assertions: history is present. Yet, how might one be and converse with history in the present? This feature seeks to reflect on the question of legacy through the eyelet of music opened up by the centre-stage viewpoint of musicians involved in this conversation.
This feature is a coproduction with the podcast NKATA.

23:30 - 00:00 Review
The team of generations.fm is reviewing the day. What was particularly interesting? What were the reactions to the program? What does the next day offer?

00:00 - 02:00 Night music
curated by: CrimsonFM aka Ellen & Serge Crimson, Hongkong Community Radio, ma3azef, Wellington Access Radio 106.1FM

Programm | 16.06.2021

GENERATIONS.FM

generations.fm © TAU
09:00 - 10:00 Morning Talk: Einführung in den Tag

zu Gast: Masimba Hwati
Im Gespräch mit dem interdisziplinären Künstler Masimba Hwati aus Simbabwe blicken wir auf die Themen des Tages: Der erste Tag widmet sich der Frage nach dem Umgang mit Erinnerung und Erbe. Wer schreibt Geschichte und wie kann sie neu geschrieben werden? Welche Formen antirassistischen und posktolonialen Erinnerns gibt es? Aber auch, wie funktioniert Geschichtsschreibung in der Familie und auf persönlicher Ebene?
Masimba Hwati ist derzeit Stipendiat der Radio Art Residency in Weimar. In seinem Radio-Projekt setzt er sich mit der Rolle von Guerilla-Radiostation zur Zeit des Befreiungskriegs in Simbabwe auseinander.

10:00 - 11:00 Generationen – Ein Gespräch
Mit Carola Lentz und Winfried Speitkamp
Die „68-er“, die „45-er“, die „Generation Y“: Gibt es tatsächlich so etwas wie "eine Generation"? Wozu dient das Konzept „Generation“ in der Wissenschaft aber auch bsplw. in der Familie, und wie wird es dort gelebt? Die Ethnologin und Präsidentin des Goethe-Instituts, Carola Lentz, und der Historiker und Präsident der Bauhaus-Universität, Winfried Speitkamp, im Gespräch über europäische und afrikanische Generationen-Konzepte und Erinnerungskulturen.
Moderation: Anka Suckow

11:00 - 11:30 Hörinnerung / Hörspiel von Sherry Schaubs
Ein Beitrag des Experimentellen Radios der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, CN: Tiermord
Wie prägt Auditives die Erinnerung? Mit dieser Frage ziehe ich los auf eine autobiographische Wanderung in meine Vergangenheit. Auf dem Weg in mein Heimatdorf denke ich unter anderem über familiäre Beziehungen nach, in denen das (Nicht-)Zuhören immer noch Folgen und Verantwortung mit sich bringt. Der Zugang zur Vergangenheit, der mittels des Hörsinns ermöglicht wird, führt über die mich umgebenden Geräusche zu einer Reflexion über die Zusammenhänge zwischen Hören und Sein, Vergangenem und Zukünftigem.

11:30 - 12:30 Diskurs und social media. Das Beispiel This is Germany
Mit: Candice Breitz, Hanno Hauenstein, Asal Dardan, Mahret Ifeoma Kupka. Moderation: Schayan Riaz (Goethe-Institut)
This is Germany ist ein Projekt der südafrikanischen Künstlerin Candice Breitz; über kurze Videobotschaften von Personen aus Kunst, Kultur und Medien werden Positionen zu Themen wie „Z-Sauße“, „Biodeutsch“ oder „Cancel Culture“ formuliert, die auf Social Media Kanälen veröffentlicht werden. Mit der Episode “Menschen mit Nazihintergrund”, die sie gemeinsam mit den beiden Künstler:innen Moshtari Hilal und Sinthujan Varatharajah produzierte, löste sie eine große gesellschaftliche und kontroverse Diskussion aus. In einem Gespräch mit mehreren Protagonist:innen der Folge soll es um diese Kontroverse gehen, aber auch darum, wie das Thema Erinnerungskulturen in der heutigen Generation verhandelt wird.

12:30 - 13:00 What’s About /w Arijit Bhattacharyya
Mini-Podcast von Studierenden des Experimentellen Radios der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Ob Albert-Schweitzer-Denkmal, der ehemalige Kolonialwarenladen am Hababusch oder das Humboldt Forum in Berlin, unsere Nachbarschaft ist kolonialistisch geprägt. In der Auseinandersetzung mit der deutschen Kolonialgeschichte wird die Deutungshoheit nach wie vor vom weiß geprägten Meinungskorridor dominiert - Zeit dies zu ändern. Wir begleiten den Künstler und Aktivisten Arijit Bhattacharyya durch Weimar und sprechen mit ihm über seine Arbeit an der Museumsinsel Berlin und die schleppende Aufarbeitung der deutschen Kolonialgeschichte.

13:00 - 14:00 Fragen an die Familie
Im Gespräch mit Laura Anh Thu Dang & Jurate Braginaite
Welche Rolle spielt Familiengeschichte für die eigene Identität, aber auch für das Verständnis von gesellschaftlicher Geschichte? Die Autor:innen Laura Anh Thu Dang und Jurate Braginaite befragen in ihren Radioarbeiten Familienmitglieder und erzählen dabei von Identitätssuchen aus migrantischer und postmigrantischer Perspektive.

14:00 - 15:00 Tabus: Transnational und generationenübergreifend.
Ein Gespräch mit Mithu Sanyal
Tabus finden sich in den unterschiedlichsten Kulturen wieder, sie werden meist still von einer Generation zur anderen so lange weitergegeben, bis der Druck zu groß wird und sie gebrochen werden. Als Autorin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin ist Mithu Sanyal insbesondere mit Arbeiten zu feministischen und identitätspolitischen Themen in Erscheinung getreten, ihre Arbeiten zur Sexualität der Frauen, aber auch zu Diversität, Popkultur und Rassismus haben große Aufmerksamkeit bekommen. Im Gespräch werden Fragen nach Weitergabe von Tabus, nach den Ursprüngen von kulturellen Tabus und dem Umgang in unterschiedlichen familiären und kulturellen Kontexten erörtert.

15:00 - 16:00 „There is nothing you can do about it“ – Eine Reflektion weiblicher Rollenbilder
Im Gespräch mit Sivan Ben-Yishai und Niga Salam
Da kann man nichts tun, sagt die Mutter, und: so sei es schon immer gewesen. Das muss dann wohl schon die Großmutter gewusst haben, die es wiederum von ihrer Mutter so gehört hat usw. Die Künstler:in Niga Salam und die Autor:in und Theaterregisseur:in Sivan Ben-Yishai reflektieren in ihren Arbeiten die Beziehungen zwischen Müttern und Töchtern und skizzieren Ausbrüche aus den Zwängen des Patriarchats.

16:00 - 17:00 Ghosts and other mothers (Geister und andere Mütter)
Experimentelles Live-Radio-Tagebuch von Jasmina Al-Qaisi / Kostüm: Yun Young Kim
Wir sind Generationen, die sich immer wieder neu erstellen. Wir formen unsere Identitäten neu, lassen neue Geschichten mit neuen Fassungen auf alten Geschichten lagern. Die Geister stehen für das, was wir durch Weitergabe erben und schließlich reproduzieren. Die anderen Mütter sind diejenigen, von denen wir bewusst entscheiden zu lernen. On air wird ein zirkuläres Tagebuch geschrieben. Wir zitieren unsere anderen Mütter, während wir uns mit den Geistern an den Händen halten. Der Mund ist nicht zu sehen und die einzige Information über einen Körper als Klangquelle ist seine menschliche Größe.

17:00 - 18:00 Erinnern, Vergessen, Löschen.
Live-Sendung des Experimentellen Radios der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Vier Stadtführer:innen treffen sich am Theaterplatz und laden Sie ein zu einem Stadtrundgang durch Weimar. Die Stadt öffnet sich ihnen als ein Archiv gesellschaftlicher und individueller Geschichte, und bekommt zuletzt einen ganz eigenen Charakter. Von: Lisa Albrecht, Daniel Lauke, Larissa Ebel und Severin Schenkel

18:00 - 19:30 Denkmal setzen: Praktiken der Erinnerungskultur und Dekolonisierung
Im Gespräch mit Ulf Aminde, Free Bangura, Dean Ruddock und Margarita Valdivieso
Denkmäler, Statuen und Straßennamen zeugen davon, was eine Gesellschaft bewahren will, was sie verleugnet und was sie löscht. Öffentliche Gedenkorte werden damit auch zum Verhandlungsraum gesellschaftlicher Gegenwart. Ein aktuelles Beispiel für den Versuch in das kollektive Gedächtnis einzugreifen, sind die Denkmalstürze im Zuge der Black-Lives-Matter-Bewegung in den USA. Aktivist:innen und Künstler:innen aus Weimar, Berlin und Washington DC diskutieren Praktiken der antirassistischen Erinnerungskultur und Dekolonisierung im öffentlichen Raum.
Moderation: Lena Jöhnk (Goethe-Institut Washington DC)

19:30 - 20:00 Reservoir: Gedächtnis im Übergang
Eine Sendung von Vokaribe Radio (Barranquilla, Kolumbien)
Barranquilla ist eine Stadt, die den bewaffneten Konflikt in Kolumbien als eine Art Reservoir erlebt hat. Nichts passiert direkt und doch passiert alles. Vokaribe Radio sammelt Stimmen der jungen Generation, die als Erbe einer zerbrochenen Kultur des Friedens auf unterschiedliche Weise versucht hat, ein lokales historisches Gedächtnis aufzubauen.
Produktionsteam: Belén Pardo, Iván Mercado, Patricia Rendón, Walter Hernández (Asociación de Radiodifusión Comunitaria Vokaribe)

20:00 - 21:00 Generations
Live Performance des bauhaus.fm-Rundfunkorchester, Mit: Benjamin Vossler, Benjamin Serdani, Lefteris Krysalis, Leon Goltermann, Laura Anh Thu Dang, Vivien Mercedes Jester, Markus Westphal, Konrad Behr
Generations ist die Evolution eines Klangs. Das bauhaus.fm-Rundfunkorchester behandelt den Begriff der Generation als kompositorisches Prinzip, und entwickelt ausgehend vom Kammerton A (440Hz) ständig variierende „Klangerbfolgen“, deren Genese in der Live-Performance hörbar werden. Das bauhaus.fm-Rundfunkorchester besteht seit 2017 aus Aktivist:innen des experimentellen Radiosenders bauhaus.fm sowie Alumnis der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.

21:00 - 21:30 My Friends Nina and James: a Biomythography
Ein Feature von Femi Oriogun-Williams
Der interdisziplinäre Dichter und Künstler Femi Oriogun-Williams aus London tritt in einen poetischen und musikalischen Dialog mit den intellektuellen Größen schwarzer Kultur in den USA des 20. Jahrhunderts: Nina Simone und James Baldwin. Als Klangkünstler und Musiker tastet sich Femi Oriogun-Williams dabei entlang der musikalischen Inspirationsquellen von Nina Simone, die vom britischem und amerikanischem Folk, Jazz und Popmusik, bis hin zur Musik der traditionellen Geschichtenerzähler Westafrikas, der Griots reichen.

21:30 - 22:30 Experimentelle Musik in Kurdistan-Irak
Gespräch mit Khabat Abas und Hardi Kurda
Was ist heute für eine junge Generation von Künstler:innen in Kurdistan-Irak möglich? Hardi Kurda und Khabat Abas wurden in klassischer Musik in Slemani ausgebildet, haben in Europa studiert und sich mit Klangkunst und experimenteller Musik einen Namen gemacht. Heute organisiert Hardi Kurda ein Festival für experimentelle Musik in Slemani, bei dem auch Khabat Abas auftritt. Trotz aller Widrigkeiten glauben die beiden an das Potential einer Plattform für eine lokale Underground Szene und wollen der jungen Generation dabei behilflich sein, auf seine eigene Stimme zu vertrauen.

22:30 - 23:30 Free Your Mind
Ein Feature von Emeka Okereke
Das erste Studioalbum des nigerianischen Afrobeat-Musikers Made Kuti mit dem treffenden Titel "For(e)ward" wird mit dem Song "Free Your Mind" eröffnet. Mit seinem Upbeat-Tempo und seinen polyrhythmischen Ouvertüren setzt dieser Song den Ton für den übergreifenden Vorschlag des jüngsten Vertreters einer langen Linie musikalischer Ausnahmekünstler:innen (die bis zu sieben Generationen zurückreicht) der Familie Kuti. Made Kuti, erst 25 Jahre alt, ist in vielerlei Hinsicht eine Verkörperung der von James Baldwins beschriebenen Behauptung: Geschichte ist gegenwärtig. Doch wie lässt sich in der Gegenwart mit Geschichte sprechen ? Dieses Feature beleuchtet die Frage nach dem Vermächtnis über den Blickwinkel der Musik, über die individuellen Sichtweisen der an diesem Gespräch beteiligten Musiker.
Das Feature ist eine Koproduktion mit dem Podcast NKATA

23:30 - 00:00 Rückblick
Das Team von generations.fm lässt den Tag Revue passieren. Was war besonders spannend, welche Reaktionen gab es?

00:00 - 02:00 Nachtmusik
kuratiert von: CrimsonFM aka Ellen & Serge Crimson, Hongkong Community Radio, ma3azef, Wellington Access Radio 106.1FM