Culinary Mistakes
Iconic Foods – By Accident

Sourdough – discovered by accident Photo (detail): Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake

Aphra Adkins and Natalie Wichmann

Ice-cream cones, cornflakes, chocolate chip cookies, all these popular foods only seem to be the result of studious work by a professional cook, when in fact they were invented by a happy accident in someone’s kitchen. We asked food photographer Aphra Adkins for her interpretation of ten beloved provisions that were invented by mistake.
 
  • Legend has it that Benedictine monk Dom Perignon, cellar master at the Hautvillers Abbey in the Champagne region of France, invented Champagne in 1693. Tasked with getting rid of the annoying bubbles in the wine bottles, Perignon gave up after many failed attempts. Instead, he opened one of the botched bottles, tasted it, and fervently exclaimed: “Come quickly, I’m drinking the stars!”  Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Legend has it that Benedictine monk Dom Perignon, cellar master at the Hautvillers Abbey in the Champagne region of France, invented Champagne in 1693. Tasked with getting rid of the annoying bubbles in the wine bottles, Perignon gave up after many failed attempts. Instead, he opened one of the botched bottles, tasted it, and fervently exclaimed: “Come quickly, I’m drinking the stars!”
  • Originally designed to cure an upset stomach and prevent excessive masturbation (yep, you read that right), brothers John Harvey and Will Keith Kellogg, both Seventh-day Adventists working at the Battle Creek Sanatorium in Michigan, invented cornflakes by accident. One day in 1894, they left some cooked wheat to attend urgent matters at the sanatorium. When they came back, the wheat was stale, but being on an extremely strict budget, they tried to salvage it by pressing it through rollers. Instead of the expected flat wheat dough, they ended up with flakes, which they toasted and served very successfully to the patients. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Originally designed to cure an upset stomach and prevent excessive masturbation (yep, you read that right), brothers John Harvey and Will Keith Kellogg, both Seventh-day Adventists working at the Battle Creek Sanatorium in Michigan, invented cornflakes by accident. One day in 1894, they left some cooked wheat to attend urgent matters at the sanatorium. When they came back, the wheat was stale, but being on an extremely strict budget, they tried to salvage it by pressing it through rollers. Instead of the expected flat wheat dough, they ended up with flakes, which they toasted and served very successfully to the patients.
  • Ruth Wakefield only got a dollar for her famous chocolate chip cookie recipe from Nestlé. But let’s back up a bit: Wakefield invented said recipe while running the popular Toll House restaurant with her husband Keith in Whitman, Massachusetts in the late 1930s. She ran out of nuts for her regular ice-cream-accompanying cookie and instead added some broken-up chunks of chocolate from a bar of bittersweet Nestlé chocolate. Voila: the chocolate chip cookie was created! And it was perfect timing, too, since the chocolate chip cookie proved to be the perfect antidote for the Great Depression! Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Ruth Wakefield only got a dollar for her famous chocolate chip cookie recipe from Nestlé. But let’s back up a bit: Wakefield invented said recipe while running the popular Toll House restaurant with her husband Keith in Whitman, Massachusetts in the late 1930s. She ran out of nuts for her regular ice-cream-accompanying cookie and instead added some broken-up chunks of chocolate from a bar of bittersweet Nestlé chocolate. Voila: the chocolate chip cookie was created! And it was perfect timing, too, since the chocolate chip cookie proved to be the perfect antidote for the Great Depression!
  • Arnold Fornachou was pretty busy manning the ice-cream booth during the St. Louis World’s Fair in 1904. As he was running out of paper cups, fate had it that he found himself next to the waffle vendor Ernest Hamwi. He bought some of his waffles, rolled them into a cone, added the ice cream on top, and voila – he had invented the ice cream cone out of necessity. Of course, this is only one of the stories surrounding the invention of one of the most beloved sweets eaten around the world!  Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Arnold Fornachou was pretty busy manning the ice-cream booth during the St. Louis World’s Fair in 1904. As he was running out of paper cups, fate had it that he found himself next to the waffle vendor Ernest Hamwi. He bought some of his waffles, rolled them into a cone, added the ice cream on top, and voila – he had invented the ice cream cone out of necessity. Of course, this is only one of the stories surrounding the invention of one of the most beloved sweets eaten around the world!
  • Henri Carpentier, a 14-year-old waiter at Monte Carlo’s Café in Paris, invented Crepes Suzette while preparing a dessert for the Prince of Wales in 1895 when, in a chafing dish, the liquor used for the sauce caught on fire. Running out of time to prepare a new dish – mind you, there was a future king waiting! – Henri tasted the dish, deemed it perfection, and decided to serve it. After the dinner, he was called to the table and asked for the name of the dessert. He answered, “Crêpes Princess,” but since there was a lady present, His Majesty asked to rename it after her: “Crêpes Suzette.”  Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Henri Carpentier, a 14-year-old waiter at Monte Carlo’s Café in Paris, invented Crepes Suzette while preparing a dessert for the Prince of Wales in 1895 when, in a chafing dish, the liquor used for the sauce caught on fire. Running out of time to prepare a new dish – mind you, there was a future king waiting! – Henri tasted the dish, deemed it perfection, and decided to serve it. After the dinner, he was called to the table and asked for the name of the dessert. He answered, “Crêpes Princess,” but since there was a lady present, His Majesty asked to rename it after her: “Crêpes Suzette.”
  • When 11-year-old Frank Epperson came home from a long day of playing with his friends in 1905, he forgot his soda, including the stirring stick, on the front porch. The night was very cold, and when he returned the next morning it was frozen. Then and there, he declared that the “Epsicle” was the new treat in town. It caught on with his friends and family and when he had kids himself, they called it “Pop’s ’sicle.” For the patent he filed in 1923, he shortened it to “Popsicle.” Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    When 11-year-old Frank Epperson came home from a long day of playing with his friends in 1905, he forgot his soda, including the stirring stick, on the front porch. The night was very cold, and when he returned the next morning it was frozen. Then and there, he declared that the “Epsicle” was the new treat in town. It caught on with his friends and family and when he had kids himself, they called it “Pop’s ’sicle.” For the patent he filed in 1923, he shortened it to “Popsicle.”
  • A begruntled chef and a dissatisfied customer was all it took to invent potato chips, so the myth goes. In 1853, New York chef George Crum served Cornelius Vanderbilt dinner that he then sent back to the kitchen: the fries where too thick. Crum wasn’t happy, so he shaved off super thin slices of a potato, fried them, and send them out as chips to spite Vanderbilt. Vanderbilt was delighted, and the potato chip was born. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    A begruntled chef and a dissatisfied customer was all it took to invent potato chips, so the myth goes. In 1853, New York chef George Crum served Cornelius Vanderbilt dinner that he then sent back to the kitchen: the fries where too thick. Crum wasn’t happy, so he shaved off super thin slices of a potato, fried them, and send them out as chips to spite Vanderbilt. Vanderbilt was delighted, and the potato chip was born.
  • Today, not washing your hands is icky (and quite dangerous), but not washing his hands helped chemist Constantine Fahlberg get rich in 1879. While working on finding coal tar derivatives at Johns Hopkins University, he noticed one day during lunch that his bread tasted unusually sweet. He realized that he had forgotten to wash his hands before eating, and the chemical he worked with that day, benzoic sulfimide, had a sweet taste to it. He filed a patent for an artificial sweetener in 1884, calling the product saccharin and starting production in Magdeburg, Germany two years later. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Today, not washing your hands is icky (and quite dangerous), but not washing his hands helped chemist Constantine Fahlberg get rich in 1879. While working on finding coal tar derivatives at Johns Hopkins University, he noticed one day during lunch that his bread tasted unusually sweet. He realized that he had forgotten to wash his hands before eating, and the chemical he worked with that day, benzoic sulfimide, had a sweet taste to it. He filed a patent for an artificial sweetener in 1884, calling the product saccharin and starting production in Magdeburg, Germany two years later.
  • Some 2000 years ago, during the Han Dynasty, there was a cook in China who accidentally mixed his boiled, ground soybeans with impure sea salt that curdled the mixture and produced a tofu-like substance. According to legend, though, tofu did not become popular in China until the Song Dynasty (960-1279). Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Some 2000 years ago, during the Han Dynasty, there was a cook in China who accidentally mixed his boiled, ground soybeans with impure sea salt that curdled the mixture and produced a tofu-like substance. According to legend, though, tofu did not become popular in China until the Song Dynasty (960-1279).
  • Making bread is probably as old as humankind (at least since humans invented fire). But the first recorded use of sourdough stems from the ancient Egyptians around 1500 BC, and it was most likely discovered by accident. When leaving out a piece of dough for a certain amount of time, wild yeasts in the air would attach themselves to the dough and make it rise. Since the ancient Egyptians used to brew beer and bake bread in the same facilities, the yeast-heavy air of the brewery might have helped as well.  Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Making bread is probably as old as humankind (at least since humans invented fire). But the first recorded use of sourdough stems from the ancient Egyptians around 1500 BC, and it was most likely discovered by accident. When leaving out a piece of dough for a certain amount of time, wild yeasts in the air would attach themselves to the dough and make it rise. Since the ancient Egyptians used to brew beer and bake bread in the same facilities, the yeast-heavy air of the brewery might have helped as well.

You might also like

API-Error

Kulinarische Fehler
Vom Missgeschick zur weltbekannten Spezialität

Sauerteig – durch Zufall entdeckt Foto (Detail): Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake



 

Aphra Adkins und Natalie Wichmann

​Eiswaffel, Cornflakes und Kartoffelchips: All diese bekannten Klassiker der Kulinarik sind weniger das Ergebnis hingebungsvoller Tüftelei eines Profis am Herd, sondern entstanden durch einen glücklichen Zufall in der Küche. Wir haben Fotografin Aphra Adkins um ihre Interpretation von zehn beliebten Speisen und Getränken gebeten, die wir solchen Fehlern zu verdanken haben.
 
  • Der Legende nach wurde der Champagner von Dom Perignon, einem Benediktiner-Mönch und Kellermeister der Abtei zu Hautvillers in Epernay, Champagne, in Frankreich im Jahr 1693 erfunden. Nach mehreren Fehlversuchen, die störenden Blasen aus dem Wein zu entfernen, testete Perignon den vermasselten Wein kurzerhand einfach selbst und rief dann aufgeregt aus: „Kommt schnell, ich trinke die Sterne!“ Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Der Legende nach wurde der Champagner von Dom Perignon, einem Benediktiner-Mönch und Kellermeister der Abtei zu Hautvillers in Epernay, Champagne, in Frankreich im Jahr 1693 erfunden. Nach mehreren Fehlversuchen, die störenden Blasen aus dem Wein zu entfernen, testete Perignon den vermasselten Wein kurzerhand einfach selbst und rief dann aufgeregt aus: „Kommt schnell, ich trinke die Sterne!“
  • Ursprünglich als Mittel gegen einen aufgebrachten Magen oder exzessives Onanieren (yep, das haben Sie richtig gelesen) eingesetzt, erfanden die Brüder John Harvey und Will Keith Kellogg – beide Siebenten-Tags-Adventisten und Mitarbeiter des Battle-Creek-Sanatoriums in Michigan – Cornflakes per Zufall. Eines Tages im Jahr 1894 ließen sie eine Schüssel mit gekochtem Weizen stehen und widmeten sich wichtigen Angelegenheiten im Sanatorium. Als sie zurückkamen, war der Weizen abgestanden. Da sie mit einem sehr eingeschränkten Budget arbeiten mussten, wollten sie den Weizen nicht verkommen lassen und beschlossen ihn durch eine Walze zu pressen. Anders als erwartet, kam dabei nicht ein einheitlicher Weizenteig heraus, sondern Weizenflocken, die sie anschließend rösteten und den Patienten servierten – mit großem Erfolg. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Ursprünglich als Mittel gegen einen aufgebrachten Magen oder exzessives Onanieren (yep, das haben Sie richtig gelesen) eingesetzt, erfanden die Brüder John Harvey und Will Keith Kellogg – beide Siebenten-Tags-Adventisten und Mitarbeiter des Battle-Creek-Sanatoriums in Michigan – Cornflakes per Zufall. Eines Tages im Jahr 1894 ließen sie eine Schüssel mit gekochtem Weizen stehen und widmeten sich wichtigen Angelegenheiten im Sanatorium. Als sie zurückkamen, war der Weizen abgestanden. Da sie mit einem sehr eingeschränkten Budget arbeiten mussten, wollten sie den Weizen nicht verkommen lassen und beschlossen ihn durch eine Walze zu pressen. Anders als erwartet, kam dabei nicht ein einheitlicher Weizenteig heraus, sondern Weizenflocken, die sie anschließend rösteten und den Patienten servierten – mit großem Erfolg.
  • Ruth Wakefield bekam nur einen Dollar für ihr berühmtes Chocolate-Chip-Cookie-Rezept von Nestlé. Jetzt aber zurück zum Anfang: Wakefield erfand besagten Keks, als sie das populäre Restaurant „Toll House“ mit ihrem Mann Keith in Whitman, Massachusetts in den späten 1930er-Jahren führte. Als sie einmal für die Kekse, die sie immer zum Eis servierte, keine Nüsse mehr hatte, zerbröckelte sie stattdessen einen Zartbitter-Riegel Nestlé-Schokolade. Voilà, der Chocolate-Chip-Cookie war erfunden! Und das auch noch zum perfekten Zeitpunkt, da sich die Chocolate-Chip-Cookies als perfektes Gegenmittel zur Großen Depression herausstellten! Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Ruth Wakefield bekam nur einen Dollar für ihr berühmtes Chocolate-Chip-Cookie-Rezept von Nestlé. Jetzt aber zurück zum Anfang: Wakefield erfand besagten Keks, als sie das populäre Restaurant „Toll House“ mit ihrem Mann Keith in Whitman, Massachusetts in den späten 1930er-Jahren führte. Als sie einmal für die Kekse, die sie immer zum Eis servierte, keine Nüsse mehr hatte, zerbröckelte sie stattdessen einen Zartbitter-Riegel Nestlé-Schokolade. Voilà, der Chocolate-Chip-Cookie war erfunden! Und das auch noch zum perfekten Zeitpunkt, da sich die Chocolate-Chip-Cookies als perfektes Gegenmittel zur Großen Depression herausstellten!
  • 1904 während der Weltausstellung in St. Louis war Arnold Fornachou an seinem Eis-Stand sehr beschäftigt. Das Schicksal wollte es, dass er auf einmal keine Papp-Becher mehr zur Verfügung hatte, jedoch direkt neben ihm der Waffelhändler Ernest Hamwi war. Von ihm kaufte er schließlich die Waffeln. Er rollte sie zusammen, gab das Eis oben drauf und so hat er aus der Not heraus die Eiswaffel erfunden. Natürlich ist dies nur eine der Geschichten, die sich um die Erfindung einer der weltweit beliebtesten Süßigkeiten rankt. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    1904 während der Weltausstellung in St. Louis war Arnold Fornachou an seinem Eis-Stand sehr beschäftigt. Das Schicksal wollte es, dass er auf einmal keine Papp-Becher mehr zur Verfügung hatte, jedoch direkt neben ihm der Waffelhändler Ernest Hamwi war. Von ihm kaufte er schließlich die Waffeln. Er rollte sie zusammen, gab das Eis oben drauf und so hat er aus der Not heraus die Eiswaffel erfunden. Natürlich ist dies nur eine der Geschichten, die sich um die Erfindung einer der weltweit beliebtesten Süßigkeiten rankt.
  • Ein Ring, ein Panamahut, und ein Stock – oder: Wie Henri Carpentier, ein 14-jähriger Kellner des Cafés Monte Carlo in Paris, Crêpes Suzette erfand. Als Henri 1895 einen Nachtisch für den Prinzen von Wales auf einer Wärmeplatte zubereiten sollte, fing der Orangenlikör versehentlich Feuer. Da er keine Zeit mehr hatte, ein neues Dessert zuzubereiten – man bedenke, einen zukünftigen König lässt man nicht warten! –, probierte er das Malheur kurzerhand, hielt es für absolut perfekt und entschloss sich, es zu servieren. Nach dem Essen rief man ihn an den Tisch und fragte, wie denn der Nachtisch heißen würde. Er antwortete: „Crêpes Princess“, da allerdings auch eine Dame anwesend war, ließ seine Majestät diesen nach ihr in „Crêpes Suzette“ umbenennen.   Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Ein Ring, ein Panamahut, und ein Stock – oder: Wie Henri Carpentier, ein 14-jähriger Kellner des Cafés Monte Carlo in Paris, Crêpes Suzette erfand. Als Henri 1895 einen Nachtisch für den Prinzen von Wales auf einer Wärmeplatte zubereiten sollte, fing der Orangenlikör versehentlich Feuer. Da er keine Zeit mehr hatte, ein neues Dessert zuzubereiten – man bedenke, einen zukünftigen König lässt man nicht warten! –, probierte er das Malheur kurzerhand, hielt es für absolut perfekt und entschloss sich, es zu servieren. Nach dem Essen rief man ihn an den Tisch und fragte, wie denn der Nachtisch heißen würde. Er antwortete: „Crêpes Princess“, da allerdings auch eine Dame anwesend war, ließ seine Majestät diesen nach ihr in „Crêpes Suzette“ umbenennen.
  • Als der 11-jährige Frank Epperson 1905 einmal, nachdem er den ganzen Tag mit seinen Freunden gespielt hatte, nach Hause kam, vergaß er seine Limo mit einem Rührstäbchen darin auf der Veranda. In der Nacht war es besonders kalt und am nächsten Morgen war die Limo gefroren. Das war der Augenblick, in dem er das „Epsicle“ zur neuesten Süßigkeit der Stunde erklärte. Freund*innen und Familie waren ebenfalls begeistert und als er schließlich selbst Kinder hatte, nannten diese den Eis-Ersatz „Pop’s sicle“. Für sein Patent, das er 1923 einreichte, verkürzte er den Namen schließlich zu Popsicle. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Als der 11-jährige Frank Epperson 1905 einmal, nachdem er den ganzen Tag mit seinen Freunden gespielt hatte, nach Hause kam, vergaß er seine Limo mit einem Rührstäbchen darin auf der Veranda. In der Nacht war es besonders kalt und am nächsten Morgen war die Limo gefroren. Das war der Augenblick, in dem er das „Epsicle“ zur neuesten Süßigkeit der Stunde erklärte. Freund*innen und Familie waren ebenfalls begeistert und als er schließlich selbst Kinder hatte, nannten diese den Eis-Ersatz „Pop’s sicle“. Für sein Patent, das er 1923 einreichte, verkürzte er den Namen schließlich zu Popsicle.
  • Für die Erfindung der Kartoffelchips brauchte es bloß einen verärgerten Chefkoch und einen unzufriedenen Gast, heißt es. 1853 servierte der New Yorker Küchenchef George Crum seinem Gast Cornelius Vanderbilt ein Essen, das dieser wieder in die Küche zurückschickte: Die Pommes waren ihm zu dick geschnitten. Crum, in seiner Ehre gekränkt, wollte Vanderbilt eins auswischen und ließ hauchdünn geschnittene Kartoffeln frittieren und als Chips zurück an den Tisch schicken. Vanderbilt war jedoch hocherfreut und so kamen die Kartoffelchips in die Welt. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Für die Erfindung der Kartoffelchips brauchte es bloß einen verärgerten Chefkoch und einen unzufriedenen Gast, heißt es. 1853 servierte der New Yorker Küchenchef George Crum seinem Gast Cornelius Vanderbilt ein Essen, das dieser wieder in die Küche zurückschickte: Die Pommes waren ihm zu dick geschnitten. Crum, in seiner Ehre gekränkt, wollte Vanderbilt eins auswischen und ließ hauchdünn geschnittene Kartoffeln frittieren und als Chips zurück an den Tisch schicken. Vanderbilt war jedoch hocherfreut und so kamen die Kartoffelchips in die Welt.
  • Heute ist es eklig (und schlimmstenfalls gefährlich), sich die Hände nicht zu waschen. Die Tatsache, dass er sich die Hände nicht wusch, machte 1879 jedoch den Chemiker Constantin Fahlberg reich. Während er an der Johns-Hopkins-Universität an einer Alternative zu Kohleteer forschte, stelle er eines Tages beim Mittagessen fest, dass sein Brot untypisch süß schmeckte. Ihm wurde klar, dass er vergessen hatte, sich vor dem Essen die Hände zu waschen. Und er stellte fest, dass Benzoesäuresulfimid – die Chemikalie, mit der er an diesem Tag gearbeitet hatte – einen süßen Beigeschmack hatte. 1884 reichte er ein Patent für Süßstoff ein, er nannte das Produkt Saccharin. Zwei Jahre später begann er in Magdeburg mit der Massenproduktion.  Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Heute ist es eklig (und schlimmstenfalls gefährlich), sich die Hände nicht zu waschen. Die Tatsache, dass er sich die Hände nicht wusch, machte 1879 jedoch den Chemiker Constantin Fahlberg reich. Während er an der Johns-Hopkins-Universität an einer Alternative zu Kohleteer forschte, stelle er eines Tages beim Mittagessen fest, dass sein Brot untypisch süß schmeckte. Ihm wurde klar, dass er vergessen hatte, sich vor dem Essen die Hände zu waschen. Und er stellte fest, dass Benzoesäuresulfimid – die Chemikalie, mit der er an diesem Tag gearbeitet hatte – einen süßen Beigeschmack hatte. 1884 reichte er ein Patent für Süßstoff ein, er nannte das Produkt Saccharin. Zwei Jahre später begann er in Magdeburg mit der Massenproduktion.
  • Es war einmal vor 2.000 Jahren – während der Han-Dynastie – ein Koch in China, der versehentlich seinen gekochten Sojabohnenbrei mit verunreinigtem Salz vermengte, damit die Mixtur zum Gerinnen brachte und dadurch schließlich eine Tofu-ähnliche Substanz erzeugte. So besagt es jedenfalls die Legende. Populär wurde Tofu jedoch erst während der Song-Dynastie (960–1279) in China. Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Es war einmal vor 2.000 Jahren – während der Han-Dynastie – ein Koch in China, der versehentlich seinen gekochten Sojabohnenbrei mit verunreinigtem Salz vermengte, damit die Mixtur zum Gerinnen brachte und dadurch schließlich eine Tofu-ähnliche Substanz erzeugte. So besagt es jedenfalls die Legende. Populär wurde Tofu jedoch erst während der Song-Dynastie (960–1279) in China.
  • Solange es Menschen gibt, wurde wahrscheinlich schon Brot gebacken (zumindest seit wir das Feuer erfunden haben). Der erste Nachweis von Sauerteigbrot stammt jedoch aus dem alten Ägypten um etwa 1.500 v. Chr. Wahrscheinlich wurde es dort per Zufall entdeckt. Wenn man Teig für eine gewisse Zeit draußen stehen lässt, setzen sich wilde Hefebakterien aus der Luft auf den Teig und bringen ihn dazu aufzugehen. Da die alten Ägypter*innen in den gleichen Räumlichkeiten Bier gebraut und Brot gebacken haben, hat die mit Hefe angereicherte Luft der Brauereien sicherlich ihren Teil zur Entwicklung des Sauerteiges beigetragen.  Aphra Adkins @ stilllifewithcake
    Solange es Menschen gibt, wurde wahrscheinlich schon Brot gebacken (zumindest seit wir das Feuer erfunden haben). Der erste Nachweis von Sauerteigbrot stammt jedoch aus dem alten Ägypten um etwa 1.500 v. Chr. Wahrscheinlich wurde es dort per Zufall entdeckt. Wenn man Teig für eine gewisse Zeit draußen stehen lässt, setzen sich wilde Hefebakterien aus der Luft auf den Teig und bringen ihn dazu aufzugehen. Da die alten Ägypter*innen in den gleichen Räumlichkeiten Bier gebraut und Brot gebacken haben, hat die mit Hefe angereicherte Luft der Brauereien sicherlich ihren Teil zur Entwicklung des Sauerteiges beigetragen.

Das könnte euch auch gefallen

API-Error