Environment
The Climate Deadlock

The climate deadlock © Illustration: Amélie Tourangeau

After years of negotiations, the international community is still failing to implement the Paris Agreement. Between individual and collective interests, what can the prisoner’s dilemma teach us?

Vanessa Allnutt

The United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP25, held in Madrid in December 2019, ended in bitter failure in the eyes of many observers. Once again, the member countries of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change have, among other things, failed to agree on the rules of an international carbon emissions market. After years of negotiations, they are still failing to implement the Paris Agreement. With the decision of the United States to withdraw from the agreement by the end of the year, the prospect of cooperating in a joint effort in the near future seems increasingly unlikely. 

Ruin is the destination toward which all men rush, each pursuing his own best interest in a society that believes in the freedom of the commons. Freedom in a commons brings ruin to all.

Garrett Hardin, “The Tragedy of the Commons”

Which makes you fear the worst. Scientists are adamant that at the pace things are going, temperatures could climb four to five degrees Celsius by the end of the century if the states refuse to cooperate. The time for discussion is over. 

How do you explain the persistent deadlock? The prisoner’s dilemma, described in 1950 by the American mathematician Albert W. Tucker, comes in handy here. 

Cooperation or treason? 

Imagine the following scenario: two suspects are arrested by the police. As the investigators do not have enough evidence to arrest them, the police interrogate them separately and suggest the same deal. If they both remain silent, due to lack of evidence, they will each receive the reduced sentence of one year in prison. If, on the other hand, they denounce each other, they will each be sentenced to five years of prison. And, the third option, if one betrays the other, but the other remains silent, the informer will be released while his accomplice will be sentenced to the maximum sentence of ten years in prison. 

As a result, the question that arises is whether it is better to cooperate (remain silent), or to betray (denounce). The solution seems obvious: it is better to cooperate, since this scenario is the most beneficial for both sides. Given that both prisoners want to be released and that neither of them can be sure of the other’s decision (this is the core of the dilemma), there is no guarantee, however, that either prisoner will choose this option. It may indeed seem advantageous to betray the other. In the worst case, they will both receive a more severe prison sentence but less than the maximum penalty. In the best case, the denouncer will never see the inside of a prison cell. 

What the prisoner’s dilemma illustrates is that if each party acts out of its own interests, it will do so to the detriment of the collective interest. In other words, individually rational choices can turn out to be collectively irrational. 

“One for all, every man for himself” 

What does this have to do with climate change? 

In the carbon emission negotiations, the individual interest of each country is to ensure its economic growth, which each country can only achieve by continuing to generate carbon emissions. To save the planet, the collective interest requires reducing the dependency on fossil fuels. This is the whole “tragedy of the commons” that Garrett Hardin already addressed in 1968 and that occurs when a resource belonging to all reaches its limit. Even if the carbon-emitting countries are aware of the seriousness of the situation (if they don’t deny climate change altogether), they are caught in an inevitable logic: the exploitation of the resource until its very end in order to ensure their survival, even if that means destroying the resource. 

The ideal scenario for each country of course would be to continue to emit carbon while the others cooperate (this is what is known as the “free-rider problem”). But since no country will want to be the only one to sacrifice part of its growth for the benefit of all, no one will cooperate — and all will continue to emit carbon. 

The prisoner’s dilemma applied to climate change is unique, given that not all countries are equal in the face of this looming disaster: industrialized countries will be the least affected by the climate crisis. Developing countries, whose historic contribution to global warming has been minimal compared to that of the major emitters, will be hit the hardest. The incentives to cooperate are therefore not the same for both groups. This may explain the selfish refusal of some leaders to comprehend the full scope of the emergency. 

But this refusal is nearsighted. The number of climate migrants is expected to increase considerably in the coming years, which will put great pressure on the developed countries. The UN predicts that there will be 250 million climate refugees 30 years from today. Under these conditions, can we really still speak of a prisoner’s dilemma? Is it really to the advantage of certain states not to cooperate? We seem to be heading towards a lose-lose scenario, where everyone will receive the maximum sentence. 

You might also like

API-Error

Umwelt
Die Pattsituation beim Klimawandel

Die Pattsituation beim Klimawandel © Illustration: Amélie Tourangeau

Nach jahrelangen Verhandlungen schafft es die internationale Staatengemeinschaft immer noch nicht, das Pariser Übereinkommen umzusetzen. Was lehrt uns das Gefangenendilemma über den Konflikt zwischen den Interessen des Einzelnen und des Kollektivs?

Vanessa Allnutt

Die UN-Klimakonferenz COP25, die im Dezember 2019 in Madrid stattfand, endete nach Ansicht vieler Beobachter*innen mit einem bitteren Misserfolg. Die Mitgliedstaaten der UN-Klimarahmenkonvention scheiterten unter anderem erneut daran, sich auf Regeln für einen internationalen Kohlendioxidmarkt zu einigen. Nach jahrelangen Verhandlungen schaffen sie es immer noch nicht, das Pariser Übereinkommen umzusetzen. Mit der Entscheidung der USA, das Übereinkommen zum Jahresende zu verlassen, werden die Aussichten, in naher Zukunft eine geeinte Front zu bilden, immer unwahrscheinlicher. 

Ruin is the destination toward which all men rush, each pursuing his own best interest in a society that believes in the freedom of the commons. Freedom in a commons brings ruin to all.

Garrett Hardin, „The Tragedy of the Commons“ (Tragik der Allmende)

Dies lässt das Schlimmste befürchten. Wissenschaftler*innen sind fest davon überzeugt, dass beim gegenwärtigen Entwicklungstempo der Emissionen die Temperaturen auf der Erde bis zum Ende des Jahrhunderts um vier bis fünf Grad Celsius steigen werden, wenn die Länder weiterhin nicht zusammenarbeiten. Die Zeit der Debatten ist vorbei. 

Wie ist die anhaltende Pattsituation zu erklären? Das Gefangenendilemma, 1950 vom amerikanischen Mathematiker Albert W. Tucker beschrieben, kann beim Erklärungsversuch nützlich sein. 

Zusammenarbeit oder Verrat? 

Stellen Sie sich das folgende Szenario vor: Zwei Verdächtige werden von der Polizei festgenommen. Da die Ermittler*innen nicht über genügend Beweise verfügen, um Anklage zu erheben, verhören sie die Festgenommenen getrennt und machen beiden denselben Vorschlag: Wenn beide schweigen, werden sie mangels belastender Indizien zu einem gemilderten Strafmaß von jeweils einem Jahr Gefängnis verurteilt. Wenn sie sich jedoch gegenseitig denunzieren, werden sie zu jeweils fünf Jahren Haft verurteilt. Und, als dritte Option, wenn eine*r die*en andere*n verrät, die*er andere aber schweigt, wird der*die Informant*in freigelassen, während sein*ihr Komplize*in zur Höchststrafe von zehn Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt wird. 

Die Frage, die sich hier stellt, ist ob Zusammenarbeit (Schweigen) besser ist als Verrat (Denunziation). Die Lösung scheint auf der Hand zu liegen – Zusammenarbeit ist besser, denn das Szenario ist vorteilhafter für beide Seiten. Weil beide Häftlinge freigelassen werden möchten und sich niemand der Entscheidung des anderen sicher sein kann (dies ist der Kern des Dilemmas), gibt es jedoch keine Garantie dafür, dass der oder die andere diese Option wählt. Es mag in der Tat vorteilhaft erscheinen, den anderen oder die andere zu verraten. Im schlimmsten Fall bekommen beide eine strengere Haftstrafe, aber weniger als die Höchststrafe. Im bestmöglichen Fall sieht der*ie Denunziant*in niemals eine Gefängniszelle von innen. 

Das Gefangenendilemma zeigt, dass das Handeln der Beteiligten entsprechend ihrer eigenen Interessen der Allgemeinheit zum Nachteil gereicht. Mit anderen Worten, rationale Entscheidungen des Einzelnen können sich kollektiv als irrational erweisen. 

„Einer für alle, jeder für sich selbst“ 

Aber was hat dies mit dem Kampf gegen den Klimawandel zu tun? 

Bei den Klimaverhandlungen besteht das individuelle Interesse jedes Landes darin, sein Wirtschaftswachstum sicherzustellen, und das kann jeder Staat nur erreichen, wenn er weiterhin Emissionen erzeugt. Das kollektive Interesse erfordert die Erhaltung des Planeten durch Verringerung der Abhängigkeit von fossilen Brennstoffen. Hierin liegt die ganze „Tragik der Allmende“, die Garrett Hardin bereits 1968 angesprochen hat. Sie spielt sich dann ab, wenn eine Ressource, die allen gehört, an ihre Grenzen stößt. Selbst wenn sich die emittierenden Staaten der Ernsthaftigkeit der Situation bewusst sind (wenn sie den Klimawandel also nicht komplett leugnen), geraten sie ins Fahrwasser einer unvermeidlichen Logik: sie nutzen die Ressource, welche ihr Überleben sichert, bis zum Ende, auch wenn dies bedeutet, diese Ressource zu zerstören. 

Das ideale Szenario für jeden Staat bestünde darin, weiterhin Emissionen zu erzeugen, während die anderen Staaten zusammenarbeiten. Dies nennt man auch das Trittbrettfahrerproblem. Aber da kein Staat der einzige sein will, der einen Teil seines Wachstums zum Wohle aller opfert, wird niemand kooperieren – und alle erzeugen nach wie vor ungehemmt Emissionen. 

Auf den Klimawandel angewendet weist das Gefangenendilemma die Besonderheit auf, dass nicht alle Staaten gleichermaßen von der Klimakatastrophe betroffen sein werden. Die Industrienationen werden am wenigsten betroffen sein. Die am stärksten Betroffenen werden die Entwicklungsländer sein, obgleich historisch gesehen ihr Beitrag zur Erderwärmung im Vergleich zu den großen Emittenten minimal ist. Die Anreize zur Zusammenarbeit sind daher nicht für beide Seiten gleich, was die egoistische Weigerung einiger Staatsoberhäupter erklärt, die Notsituation in ihrem vollem Umfang zu begreifen. 

Diese Weigerung ist jedoch kurzsichtig. Die Zahl der Klimamigrant*innen wird in den kommenden Jahren voraussichtlich erheblich zunehmen, was die Industrieländer stark unter Druck setzen wird. Die UN prognostiziert, dass es in 30 Jahren 250 Millionen Klimaflüchtlinge geben wird. Können wir unter diesen Umständen wirklich noch von einem Gefangenendilemma sprechen? Ist es wirklich zum Vorteil bestimmter Staaten, nicht zusammenzuarbeiten? Vielmehr scheinen wir uns einem Lose-Lose-Szenario zu nähern, in dem jede*r zur Verbüßung der Höchststrafe verurteilt wird. 

Das könnte euch auch gefallen

API-Error