Panel Discussion: Unusual Business - Decentralizing and Commoning Music - Goethe-Institut
Panel Discussion

Unusual Business - Decentralizing and Commoning Music

Unusual Business - Decentralizing and Commoning Music
Each Other Company

25.05.2021
5 PM UTC+7 / 12 PM UTC+2

Online

Details

Language: English
Price: Free and open to the public
maya.maya@goethe.de online via Nusasonic YouTube

Related links

With FRKTL (artist, Riga/Cairo), Morgan Sully (L_KW/Soydivision, Berlin), Sandria Komalasari (Chaos Non Musica, Denpasar), Ziad Nawfal (Ruptured, Beirut); introduction by Rully Shabara (Senyawa, Yogyakarta). Moderated by Nuraini Juliastuti (researcher and writer, Yogyakarta/Leiden).

In February 2021 Indonesian experimental band Senyawa released their new album Alkisah with 42 labels from various regions of the world. Participating labels were free to determine the format (cassette, LP, CD, digital), album cover art, merchandising, remix tracks, promotional approaches, and the selling price. This project produced 41 original albums, 1 original stem album, dozens of merchandise items, and involved 159 musicians / bands who created remixes / reinterpretations of the album’s tracks.

The main objective of the project is to share ownership and control in order to create inclusive access and explore methods through which music and artworks can be sustainably and socially created. How openly might artists share ownership and control over their work with the public? What kind of tools and economic strategies can accommodate open and networked creative production? What do we need to learn, or un-learn, in order to build strong decentralised music scenes? 

Following a brief introduction by Senyawa’s Rully Shabara, this panel will explore the potentials and challenges of working with widely and openly-networked ideas, practices, regions, and communities, as a group of artists, producers, and community activists that were involved in the Alkisah release dialogue with a cultural researcher.

About FRKTL (artist, Riga/Cairo), Ziad Nawfal (Lebanon), Morgan Sully (Germany/USA), Nuraini Juliastuti (Netherlands/Indonesia), Rully Shabara (Senyawa/Indonesia), Sandria Komalasari (Indonesia)

Podiumsdiskussion: Unusual Business - Decentralizing and Commoning Music - Goethe-Institut
Podiumsdiskussion

Unusual Business - Decentralizing and Commoning Music

Unusual Business - Decentralizing and Commoning Music
each other company

25.05.2021
5 PM UTC+7 / 12 PM UTC+2

Online

Details

Sprache: Englisch
Preis: Kostenlos und für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich
maya.maya@goethe.de online via Nusasonic YouTube

Links zum Thema

mit FRKTL (artist, Riga/Cairo), Morgan Sully (L_KW/Soydivision, Berlin), Sandria Komalasari (Chaos Non Musica, Denpasar), Ziad Nawfal (Ruptured, Beirut); Vorwort von Rully Shabara (Senyawa, Yogyakarta). Moderiert von Nuraini Juliastuti (Forscherin und Autorin), Yogyakarta/Leiden).

Im Februar 2021 veröffentlichte die indonesische Experimentalband Senyawa ihr neues Album Alkisah bei 42 Labels aus verschiedenen Regionen der Welt. Die teilnehmenden Labels konnten das Format (Kassette, LP, CD, digital), das Albumcover, Merchandising, Remix-Tracks, Marketing-Ansätze und den Verkaufspreis frei bestimmen. Dieses Projekt produzierte 41 Original-Alben, 1 Original-Stamm-Album, Dutzende von Merchandising-Artikeln und involvierte 159 Musiker*innen / Bands, die Remixe / Neuinterpretationen der Album-Tracks erstellten.

Das Hauptziel des Projekts ist es, Eigentum und Kontrolle zu teilen, um einen inklusiven Zugang zu schaffen und Methoden zu erforschen, durch die Musik und Kunstwerke nachhaltig und sozial geschaffen werden können. Wie offen können Künstler*innen das Eigentum und die Kontrolle über ihre Arbeit mit der Öffentlichkeit teilen? Welche Art von Werkzeugen und ökonomischen Strategien können einer offenen und vernetzten kreativen Produktion entgegenkommen? Was müssen wir lernen oder verlernen, um starke dezentralisierte Musikszenen aufzubauen?

Nach einer kurzen Einführung durch Rully Shabara von Senyawa wird dieses Panel die Potenziale und Herausforderungen der Arbeit mit weithin und offen vernetzten Ideen, Praktiken, Regionen und Gemeinschaften erkunden, als eine Gruppe von Künstler*innen, Produzent*innen und Community-Aktivist*innen, die am Dialog über die Alkisah-Veröffentlichung mit einem Kulturforscher beteiligt waren.

Über FRKTL (künstlerin, Riga/Cairo), Ziad Nawfal (Ruptured, Beirut), Morgan Sully (Germany/USA), Nuraini Juliastuti (Netherlands/Indonesia), Rully Shabara (Senyawa/Indonesia), Sandria Komalasari (Indonesia)