Nusasonic: Gather, Share, Evolve

The Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve series aims to intensify capacity building and knowledge sharing among music and sound artists in Southeast Asia via a series of online panel discussions and workshops.

About Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve

Calendar

 Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve Gather, Share, Evolve

Events 2021

 Gather, Share, Evolve

Events 2020

Watch past events via Nusasonic Youtube

Nusasonic YouTube

Artists

aya

aya

With a style seemingly forged by the chaotic cultural mish-mash of the internet, aya (fka LOFT) is equally at home mashing up the dance, unleashing pop-tinged tearjerkers, and shouting at unwitting audience members.

Bani Haykal

Bani Haykal

Bani Haykal experiments with text + music. As an artist and musician, Bani considers music as material, and his projects revolve around human-machine intimacies through various forms of interfacing and interaction. He is a member of b-quartet.

Dayang Yraola © Grace buenaventura

Dayang Yraola

Dayang Yraola is a curator from Manila. She was Archivist and Collections Manager of the University of the Philippines Center for Ethnomusicology from 2007-2015.

Eileen Chan © Eileen Chan

Eileen Chan

Eileen is one-half of The Council, a collective dedicated to promoting music from Singapore, Asia, and beyond. She is also the driving force behind three of Singapore’s most exciting alternative music venues and nightclubs: Headquarters, TUFF CLUB, and Somewhere.

EmmaWarren-credit-Camilla-Greenwell-Wellcome-Collection CC-BY-NC

Emma Warren

Emma Warren has been documenting grassroots music culture since she and her friends started Jockey Slut magazine in the mid 1990s.

Frktl-2021- Martins Rokis

FRKTL

FRKTL is the solo experimental project of British-Egyptian interdisciplinary artist Sarah Badr. A classically trained multi-instrumentalist, she works with live sampling and improvisation, vocal manipulation, field recordings, and generative rhythms to compose intensely emotive and immersive explorations of sound.

Interspecifics © Interspecifics

Interspecifics

Interspecifics are an independent artistic research bureau founded in Mexico City in 2013. They have focused their research on the use of sound and AI, to explore patterns emerging from biosignals and the morphology of different living organisms as a potential form of non-human communication. With this aim, they have developed a collection of experimental research and education tools they call Ontological Machines. 

Joe Kidd © Joe Kidd

Joe Kidd

Joe Kidd is a writer, designer, underground music activist, and youth subculture archivist. One of the pioneers of the punk subculture in Malaysia, he has been actively involved in the country’s underground music scene since its nascent beginnings. 

similarobjects creative 3d HEADSHOT 3D headshot courtesy of the artist.

Jorge Wieneke V

Jorge Juan B. Wieneke (AKA similarobjects) is an electronic music educator and musician from Manila, Philippines.

Kasimyn ©

Kasimyn

Originally from a ghetto in North Jakarta, and now a resident in Southern Bali, Kasimyn has been cited by Fact magazine stylistically as “a mayhem of anti-aesthetic fun”. He has also been featured in Boiler Room’s Pure Rave Article and contributed a mix for its’ Global Hard Dance Mix no 9.

Khyam Allami © 2015 Johanne Issa

Khyam Allami

Khyam Allami (born in Damascus 1981) is an Iraqi-British multi-instrumentalist musician, composer, researcher and founder of Nawa Recordings. Primarily a performer of the Oud, his artistic research focuses on the development of contemporary and experimental repertoire based on the fundamentals of Arabic music, with a focus on tuning and microtonality.

Kyaw Kyaw © djavanshir

Kyaw Kyaw

Kyaw Kyaw is the co-founder and lead singer of Rebel Riot, a punk band from Yangon, Myanmar. The band was formed in 2007 after the onset of the Saffron Revolution. Rebel Riot want to use music as a way to speak about freedom and the errors of the current political system.

Lafidki ©

Lafidki

Lafidki is the moniker of London-based Saphy Vong, who has been releasing experimental electronic music since 2008. The London-based sound/visual artist is also founder of Chinabot, a platform and collective created to change the dialogue surrounding Asian music. 

Leee Anantawat © Leee Anantawat

Leee Anantawat

Unchalee Anantawat (Leee) is a lecturer in Communication Design at the School of Architecture and Design, King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi (KMUTT).

Morgan Sully © Ibu Miri

Morgan Sully

Morgan Sully is a Berlin-based American artist, musician, and organizer with Indonesian roots. A recent native to Indonesian collective Soydivision, he co-develops theatrical formats to build deeper empathy, collective strength, and appreciation for people’s stories. 

Nuraini Juliastuti © by Andy Fuller

Nuraini Juliastuti

Nuraini Juliastuti is a trans-local practising researcher and writer focusing on art organisation, activism, illegality, and alternative cultural production. Juliastuti co-founded KUNCI Study Forum & Collective in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, in 1999. 

Penwadee Nophaket Manont

Penwadee Nophaket Manont

Penwadee Nophaket Manont lives and works in Bangkok. She was part of the curatorial team at The Jim Thompson Art Center from 2007-2012, after which her practices as a freelance curator and cultural worker have shifted to socio-political issues. She is founder of Rai.D Collective, co-founder of Project-PRY, and currently Managing Director at Southeast Asia Fiction Film Lab (SEAFIC).

Olivia Jack

Olivia Jack

Olivia Jack is a programmer and artist who works frequently with open-source software, cartography, live coding, and experimental interfaces.

Operation Hanoi Hannah

Operation Hanoi Hannah

Inspired by Hanoi Hannah, the nickname given to the woman who became famous among US soldiers for her propaganda broadcasts on Radio Hanoi during the Vietnam War, the anonymous collective Operation Hanoi Hannah records, engineers and disseminates audio materials for their ongoing psychological warfare against the terrorist dogs (the Myanmar military junta and their allies) who continue to mercilessly oppress and murder the people of Myanmar.

Queer Ear Mastering © Credit Irma Fadhila

Queer Ear Mastering

Queer Ear Mastering was born from the necessity to create a safer space for female and queer artists to get their music mastered, though they are not exclusive and everyone is welcome.

Radio Tropiezo © Radio Tropiezo

Radio Tropiezo

Radio Tropiezo is one of the many sounds emitted by Cooperativa Crater Invertido, a Mexico City-based collective founded in 2011.

Reem Shadid

Reem Shadid

Reem Shadid is a cultural organizer, researcher, and curator. Her show for Radio Alhara, Listening with Reem Shadid constitutes monthly listening sessions with artists, researchers, and curators working at the intersection of sonic, visual, and literary productions.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Born in Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, Rully Shabara is interested in exploring oral traditions, folkloric texts, and the human voice as a medium of creation. Shabara is perhaps best-known internationally for his work as one-half of duo Senyawa (with Wukir Suryadi), where he explores the limits of the vocal range and vocal textures. As a solo artist, he has releases on labels dualpLOVER, Morphine Records, and Yes No Wave Music.

Salem © Salem

Salem

Salem is an artist, composer, and head of Bedouin Records (BDN), an independent music, art, and fashion label he founded in 2014. After having moved around different home bases in Europe and Asia, BDN has settled in Bangkok in 2019.

Sandria Komalasari

Sandria Komalasari

Sandria Komalasari is an Indonesian writer, editor, and researcher with deep interests in the history of consciousness, violence of memory, youth culture, and social movements. She is also the person behind Nirkind, her solo audio project started after decades of reluctance to create her own music project; and part of Batoe, a handmade jewelry line she crafted with her girlfriends.

Syafiatudina

Syafiatudina

Syafiatudina, or Dina for short, has been developing her curatorial practice at the intersection of art and the politics of organizing. She works as writer, curator, and member of KUNCI Study Forum & Collective in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, where she is notably involved in the School of Improper Education, a lifelong project on studying about study. 

Wok the Rock © Wok the Rock

Wok the Rock

An artist and curator that is active across the fields of contemporary art, design and music, Wok The Rock is a member of artist collective Ruang MES 56 in Yogyakarta, runs the music label Yes No Wave Music, curates a monthly experimental music concert series named Yes No Klub, and has initiated the Indonesia Netaudio Forum, among other.

Ziad Nawfal © by Tanya Traboulsi

Ziad Nawfal

Ziad Nawfal is a DJ, radio host, music promoter, and producer based in Beirut. He has spent the better part of the last 25 years exposing Lebanon and the world to the country’s local and regional independent music talent, thanks to his long-running radio shows Ruptures and Décalages on Radio-Lebanon 96.2FM.

Nusasonic: Gather, Share, Evolve

Die Reihe Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve zielt darauf ab, den Kapazitätsaufbau und Wissensaustausch bei Musiker*innen und Klangkünstler*innen in Südostasien zu unterstützen, durch eine Reihe von Podiumsdiskussionen und Workshops.

Über Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve

Kalender

 Nusasonic: Gather Share Evolve Gather, Share, Evolve

Veranstaltungen 2021

 Gather, Share, Evolve

Veranstaltungen 2020

Vergangene Events auf Nusasonic YouTube ansehen

Nusasonic YouTube

Künstler

aya

aya

Mit einem Stil, der aus dem chaotischen kulturellen Mischmasch des Internets geschmiedet zu sein scheint, ist aya (fka LOFT) ganz in ihrem Element, wenn es darum geht, Dance zu zerschlagen, pop-gefärbte Schnulzen zu entfesseln oder etwa ahnungslose Zuhörer anzuschreien.

Bani Haykal

Bani Haykal

Bani Haykal experimentiert mit Text + Musik. Als Künstler und Musiker betrachtet Bani Musik als Material, und seine Projekte drehen sich um die Intimität zwischen Mensch und Maschine durch verschiedene Formen von Schnittstellen und Interaktion. Er ist Mitglied des b-quartetts.

Dayang Yraola © Grace buenaventura

Dayang Yraola

Dayang Yraola ist eine Kuratorin aus Manila. Von 2007-2015 war sie Archivarin und Kollektions-Managerin des Zentrums für Ethnomusikologie der Universität der Philippinen.

Eileen Chan © Eileen Chan

Eileen Chan

Eileen ist die eine Hälfte von The Council, einem Kollektiv, das sich der Förderung von Musik aus Singapur, Asien und darüber hinaus widmet. Sie ist auch die treibende Kraft hinter drei der aufregendsten alternativen Musiklokale und Nachtclubs in Singapur: Headquarters, TUFF CLUB und Somewhere.

EmmaWarren-credit-Camilla-Greenwell-Wellcome-Collection CC-BY-NC

Emma Warren

Emma Warren dokumentiert die Graswurzel-Musikkultur, seit sie und ihre Freunde Mitte der 1990er Jahre das Magazin Jockey Slut gründeten.

Frktl-2021- Martins Rokis

FRKTL

FRKTL ist das experimentelle Soloprojekt der britisch-ägyptischen interdisziplinären Künstlerin Sarah Badr. Die klassisch ausgebildete Multi-Instrumentalistin arbeitet mit Live-Sampling und -Improvisation, Vokalmanipulation, Feldaufnahmen und generativen Rhythmen, um intensive, emotionale und eindringliche Klangexplorationen zu komponieren. 

Interspecifics © Interspecifics

Interspecifics

Interspecifics ist ein unabhängiges künstlerisches Forschungsbüro, das 2013 in Mexiko-Stadt gegründet wurde. Sie haben ihre Forschung auf die Verwendung von Schall und KI konzentriert, um Muster zu untersuchen, die aus Biosignalen und der Morphologie verschiedener lebender Organismen als mögliche Form nichtmenschlicher Kommunikation hervorgehen.

Joe Kidd © Joe Kidd

Joe Kidd

Joe Kidd ist Schriftsteller, Designer, Underground-Musikaktivist und Archivar der Jugendsubkultur. Als einer der Pioniere der Punk-Subkultur in Malaysia ist er seit den Anfängen der Underground-Musikszene im Land aktiv daran beteiligt.

similarobjects creative 3d HEADSHOT 3D headshot courtesy of the artist.

Jorge Wieneke V

Jorge Juan B. Wieneke (AKA similarobjects) ist ein Pädagoge für elektronische Musik und Musiker aus Manila, Philippinen.

Kasimyn ©

Kasimyn

Ursprünglich aus einem Ghetto in Nordjakarta und heute auf Süd-Bali ansässig, wurde Kasimyn vom Fact Magazin stilistisch als "ein Chaos des antiästhetischen Spaßes" bezeichnet. Auch die unabhängige Musikplattform Boiler Room stellte Kasimyn in dem Artikel „Pure Rave“ kurz vor, für welche er einen Mix für den Global Hard Dance Mix Nr. 9 beisteuerte.

Khyam Allami © 2015 Johanne Issa

Khyam Allami

Khyam Allami (geboren 1981 in Damaskus) ist ein irakisch-britischer Multiinstrumentalist, Komponist, Forscher und Gründer von Nawa Recordings. Seine künstlerische Forschung konzentriert sich in erster Linie auf die Entwicklung des zeitgenössischen und experimentellen Repertoires auf der Grundlage arabischer Musik, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf Stimmung und Mikrotonalität liegt.

Kyaw Kyaw © djavanshir

Kyaw Kyaw

Kyaw Kyaw ist Mitbegründer und Leadsänger von Rebel Riot, einer Punkband aus Rangoon, Myanmar. Die Band wurde 2007 nach dem Beginn der Safran-Revolution gegründet. Rebel Riot wollen mit Musik über Freiheit und die Fehler des gegenwärtigen politischen Systems sprechen. 

Lafidki ©

Lafidki

Lafidki ist der Künstlername des in London lebenden Saphy Vong, der seit 2008 experimentelle elektronische Musik veröffentlicht. Der Sound-/Videokünstler ist auch Gründer von Chinabot, einer Plattform und einem Kollektiv, das geschaffen wurde, um den Dialog rund um die asiatische Musik zu verändern.

Leee Anantawat © Leee Anantawat

Leee Anantawat

Unchalee Anantawat (Leee) ist Dozentin für Kommunikationsdesign an der School of Architecture and Design der King Mongkut's University of Technology Thonburi (KMUTT).

Morgan Sully © Ibu Miri

Morgan Sully

Morgan Sully ist ein in Berlin lebender amerikanischer Künstler, Musiker und Organisator mit indonesischen Wurzeln. Seit kurzem ist er Mitglied des indonesischen Kollektivs Soydivision und entwickelt theatrale Formate, um tiefere Empathie, kollektive Stärke und Wertschätzung für die Geschichten der Menschen zu entwickeln. 

Nuraini Juliastuti © by Andy Fuller

Nuraini Juliastuti

Nuraini Juliastuti ist eine translokal praktizierende Forscherin und Autorin, die sich mit Kunstorganisation, Aktivismus, Illegalität und alternativer Kulturproduktion beschäftigt. Juliastuti ist Mitbegründerin des KUNCI Study Forum & Collective in Yogyakarta, Indonesien (1999). 

Penwadee Nophaket Manont

Penwadee Nophaket Manont

Penwadee Nophaket Manont lebt und arbeitet in Bangkok. Nachdem sie von 2007 bis 2012 als Kuratorin für das Jim Thompson Art Center tätig war, hat sie als freiberufliche Kuratorin und Kulturschaffende gearbeitet und sich dabei zunehmend mit soziokulturellen Themen beschäftigt. Sie ist die Gründerin des Rai.D Collective, Mitbegründerin von Project-PRY und derzeit als Leitende Direktorin beim Southeast Asia Fiction Film Lab (SEAFIC) tätig.

Olivia Jack

Olivia Jack

Olivia Jack ist eine Programmiererin und Künstlerin, die häufig mit Open-Source-Software, Kartografie, Live-Coding und experimentellen Schnittstellen arbeitet.
 

Operation Hanoi Hannah

Operation Hanoi Hannah

Das anonyme Kollektiv Operation Hanoi Hannah, das sich nach einer Frau benannt hat, die bei US-Soldaten während des Vietnamkriegs wegen ihrer Propaganda-Radiosendungen sehr beliebt war, hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Audiomaterial aufzunehmen, technisch zu bearbeiten und zu verbreiten, um der psychologischen Kriegsführung der Terrorist Dogs (der Militärjunta in Myanmar und ihren Verbündeten, die die Menschen in Myanmar gnadenlos unterdrücken und ermorden) etwas entgegenzusetzen. 

Queer Ear Mastering © Credit Irma Fadhila

Queer Ear Mastering

Queer Ear Mastering entstand aus der Notwendigkeit heraus, einen sichereren Raum für weibliche und queere Künstlerinnen zu schaffen, damit sie ihre Musik mastern können - dennoch ist Queer Ear Mastering nicht exklusiv und heißt jeden willkommen.

Radio Tropiezo © Radio Tropiezo

Radio Tropiezo

Radio Tropiezo is one of the many sounds emitted by Cooperativa Crater Invertido, a Mexico City-based collective founded in 2011.

Reem Shadid

Reem Shadid

Reem Shadid ist Kulturmanagerin, Forscherin und Kuratorin. Sie moderiert für Radio Alhara die Sendung Listening With Reem Shadid, für die sie jeden Montag Künstler*innen, Forscher*innen und Kurator*innen einlädt, die im Grenzbereich zwischen Klangkunst, bildender Kunst und literarischen Produktionen arbeiten.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Der in Palu, Indonesien, geborene Rully Shabara interessiert sich für die Erforschung der menschlichen Stimme als Medium der Schöpfung und der Sprache als ein Thema, mit dem man experimentieren kann.

Salem © Salem

Salem

Salem ist Künstler, Komponist und Leiter von Bedouin Records (BDN), einem unabhängigen Musik-, Kunst- und Modelabel, das er 2014 gegründet hat. Nachdem er mit BDN an mehreren Orten in Europa und Asien Zwischenstation gemacht hatte, ließ er sich 2019 in Bangkok nieder.

Sandria Komalasari

Sandria Komalasari

Sandria Komalasari ist eine indonesische Autorin, Redakteurin und Forscherin mit einem grossen Interesse an der Geschichte des Bewusstseins, Gewalt der Erinnerung, Jugendkultur und sozialen Bewegungen. Sie ist auch der Kopf hinter Nirkind, ihrem Solo-Audioprojekt, das sie nach jahrzehntelangem Widerwillen gegen ein eigenes Musikprojekt ins Leben gerufen hat; und Teil von Batoe, einer handgefertigten Schmucklinie, die sie mit ihren Freundinnen entwickelt hat.

 

Syafiatudina Saja

Syafiatudina

Syafiatudina, auch Dina genannt, hat sich ihre Fähigkeiten als Kuratorin im Grenzbereich zwischen Kunst und politischer Organisation angeeignet. Sie arbeitet als Autorin und Kuratorin, ist darüber hinaus Mitglied des KUNCI Study Forum & Collective in Yogyakarta, Indonesien wo sie in der School Of Improper Education tätig ist, einem Projekt, das sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, das Studieren lebenslang zu studieren.

Wok the Rock © Wok the Rock

Wok the Rock

Wok The Rock ist ein Künstler und Kurator, der in den Bereichen zeitgenössische Kunst, Design und Musik tätig ist.

Ziad Nawfal © by Tanya Traboulsi

Ziad Nawfal

Ziad Nawfal ist ein in Beirut ansässiger DJ, Radiomoderator, Musikpromoter und Produzent. Er hat den Großteil der letzten 25 Jahre damit verbracht, den Libanon und die Welt mit den lokalen und regionalen unabhängigen Musiktalenten des Landes bekannt zu machen, dank seiner lang laufenden Radiosendungen Ruptures und Décalages auf Radio-Lebanon 96.2FM.