Myanmar
Pre-Jury

​A pre-jury of more than 30 local science education and science communication professionals from the participating countries are closely involved in the selection of the films.

In Myanmar the pre-jury in 2019 consisted of the following members:
Dr. Mya Thein

Dr. Mya Thein graduated from Yangon University, majoring in Chemistry. He began his teaching career at Yangon University in Chemistry Department as a demonstrator and has over 20 years of experience in Teaching and Research. Now he is Head of Science Department at Brainworks-Total groups of schools. He and his students participated in last year’s Science Film Festival Myanmar sharing films, science experiments and activities. He enjoys planning projects and excursions for students as he believes that Science can be learned better through experiences associated with our daily life.

Dr. Mya Thein

Head of Science Department, Brainworks-Total Group of Schools

Sarah McDonald

Sarah McDonald is currently in the process of completing Thesis paper and finished the course work of Master of Business Administration at Stamford University, majoring in International Business Management. Previously she has worked at a Business Consulting Firm, Airline aviation project and two international airlines in Yangon.

She is also an active member at the community, working as an Advisor of the Youth Department for Christ the King Church, Vice President of Yangon Diocese Youth Department, and volunteer of Help for Forgotten Allies (H4FA) UK organisation. She is working as a freelance while finishing her Master studies.

Sarah McDonald

Advisor of the Youth Department for Christ the King Church, Vice President of Yangon Diocese Youth Department, and volunteer of Help for Forgotten Allies (H4FA) UK organisation

May Thu Moe Myint

May Thu Moe Myint is working as the Head of Information & Library at Goethe-Institut Myanmar. After two years’ experience in Tourism Field, she decided to change her career, which is most suited with her graduated Degree and her passion. She hold BA German from Yangon University of Foreign Language in 2011. She also got the multiple international training in Language Development and Administration. Since 2014 she started her new job in Education Field as Administrator and she was responsible for both Language & Administration Department.

At 2017, she was promoted as the Head of Information & Library in Goethe-Institut Myanmar, which was very first established in Yangon and opened in 2018 at new Goethe-Villa. Her passion is to create the new things which is beneficial for people and to make people motivated and innovative. She is now continuing to make Myanmar young generation to be familiar with the international education and learning opportunities through various channel of engaging programs that Goethe-Institut is offering.

May Thu Moe Myint

Head of Information & Library at Goethe-Institut Myanmar

Andre Ngo Htang Saw Min

Andre Ngo Htang Saw Min was graduated from Dagon University with Botany Major. He has been in touch with the Science Film Festival Myanmar since 2013. He is interested in Japanese language and now has reached the pre-intermediate level.

Currently he is actively volunteering in the events of Goethe-Institut Myanmar.

Andre Ngo Htang Saw Min

Event Volunteer

Hsu Yee Hnin

Hsu Yee Hnin graduated with a Bachelor degree of Business Management and doing the Master degree for Business Administration with the University of Business and International Studies, Switzerland. She volunteered as the liaison officer in the sea game which held in Myanmar in 2013. She works for the communication department of the International Committee of the Red Cross, one of the humanitarian organizations. She strongly believes that the Science Film Festival will promote awareness of science and upgrade the quality of teaching and learning science and the quality of education in Myanmar.

Myanmar
Pre-Jury

​Eine Jury aus insgesamt mehr als 30 lokalen Fachleuten für Wissenschaftsbildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation der 
teilnehmenden Länder sind bei der Auswahl der Filme eng eingebunden.​ 

In Myanmar bestand die Auswahljury in 2019 aus folgenden Mitgliedern:
Dr. Mya Thein

Dr. Mya Thein absolvierte die Yangon Universität, wo er sich auf Chemie spezialisierte. Er begann seine Lehrtätigkeit an der Yangon University in der Chemie-Abteilung als Vorführer und verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in Lehre und Forschung. Jetzt ist er Leiter der wissenschaftlichen Abteilung der Brainworks-Total Group of Schools. Mit seinen Schüler nahm er vergangenes Jahr am Science Film Festival Myanmar teil und tauschte Filme, wissenschaftliche Experimente und Aktivitäten aus. Er liebt es, Projekte und Exkursionen für Studenten zu planen, da er glaubt, dass Wissenschaft durch Erfahrungen, die mit unserem täglichen Leben verbunden sind, besser erlernt werden kann.

Dr. Mya Thein

Leiter der wissenschaftlichen Abteilung, Brainworks-Total Group of Schools

Sarah McDonald

Sarah McDonald ist derzeit dabei, die Abschlussarbeit fertigzustellen und das Studium zum Master of Business Administration an der Stamford University mit Schwerpunkt International Business Management abzuschließen. Zuvor war sie bei einer Unternehmensberatung, einem Luftfahrtprojekt von Airline und zwei internationalen Fluggesellschaften in Yangon tätig.

Sie ist auch ein aktives Mitglied in der Gemeinde und arbeitet als Beraterin der Jugendabteilung für Christ the King Church, Vizepräsidentin der Jugendabteilung der Diözese Yangon und Freiwillige der Organisation Help for Forgotten Allies (H4FA) UK. Sie arbeitet während ihres Master-Studiums als freie Mitarbeiterin.

Sarah McDonald

Berater der Jugendabteilung für Christ the King Church, Vizepräsident der Jugendabteilung der Diözese Yangon und Freiwilliger der Organisation Help for Forgotten Allies (H4FA) UK

May Thu Moe Myint

May Thu Moe Myint arbeitet als Leiter Information & Bibliothek am Goethe-Institut Myanmar. Nach zweijähriger Erfahrung im Tourismusbereich entschied sie sich, ihre Karriere zu ändern, was am besten zu ihrem Abschluss und ihrer Leidenschaft passt. Sie hat 2011 einen BA-Abschluss in Deutsch von der Yangon University of Foreign Language. Außerdem hat sie die mehrfache internationale Ausbildung in Sprachentwicklung und -verwaltung absolviert. Seit 2014 hat sie ihre neue Stelle im Bildungsbereich als Administratorin angetreten und war sowohl für die Sprach- als auch für die Verwaltungsabteilung verantwortlich.

2017 wurde sie zur Leiterin Information & Bibliothek im Goethe-Institut Myanmar befördert, das zum ersten Mal in Yangon gegründet und 2018 in der neuen Goethe-Villa eröffnet wurde. Ihre Leidenschaft ist es, die neuen Dinge zu erschaffen, die für die Menschen von Vorteil sind, und die Menschen motiviert und innovativ zu machen. Sie macht die junge Generation in Myanmar weiterhin mit den internationalen Bildungs- und Lernmöglichkeiten vertraut, die das Goethe-Institut in verschiedenen Programmen anbietet.

May Thu Moe Myint

Leiterin Information & Bibliothek am Goethe-Institut Myanmar

Andre Ngo Htang Saw Min

Andre Ngo Htang Saw Min schloss sein Studium an der Dagon University mit einem Abschluss in Botanik ab. Seit 2013 ist er mit dem Science Film Festival Myanmar in Kontakt. Er interessiert sich für die japanische Sprache und hat nun die Mittelstufe erreicht.

Derzeit engagiert er sich ehrenamtlich für Veranstaltungen des Goethe-Instituts Myanmar.

Andre Ngo Htang Saw Min

Event Volunteer