Photo by Wout Vanackerr on Unsplash

Awards

The Science Film Festival bestows six awards chosen by an international jury. They are complimented with a cash prize of 1 000 Euro each. The Prize of the Jury is complimented with a cash prize of 3 000 Euro.

Award Winners 2018

International Jury 2018

An international jury consisting of science education and broadcasting professionals from participating Science Film Festival regions select the award winners each year. 

Althea Jarvis is a television producer with more than 20 years experience. She is also a former educator and has always been passionate about how the medium of film and television can be used as an empowerment and educational tool. In her capacity as Commissioning Editor at the South African Broadcasting Corporation, she is the Editor of some of South Africa’s most beloved TV shows. The Daily Youth Drama “Skeem Saam” has an average viewership of more than 6 million viewers daily and won the prestigious South African Film and Television Award (SAFTA) for most Popular Drama in 2016. In 2017, the Docu-reality show, “100% Youth” won the SAFTA for Best Youth Programme. The show focusses on the creative economies and how young entrepreneurs are turning their creative expressions into a viable business. She is currently doing her Master’s degree in Media Studies at AFDA film School in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Althea Jarvis
Science Film Festival - Internationale Jury 2018 - Althea Jarvis

Commissioning Editor: Tween and Youth Development
South African Broadcasting Corporation
South Africa

As a documentary filmmaker, Amelia Hapsari is passionate about improving the infrastructure for Indonesian documentaries, building the needs & the audience for documentaries and connecting documentaries with the vast network of people & institutions who strive to make the world a better place. Her past experiences include managing a non-profit production house in East Timor, editing news for China Radio International in Beijing, as well as producing and directing documentaries that have won national and international awards. She joined In-Docs as the Program Director in 2012.

Amelia Hapsari
Amelia Hapsari

Program Director
In-Docs
Indonesia

Hillary Diane Andales is best known worldwide as the sole winner of the 2017 Breakthrough Junior Challenge for creating a 3-minute video on the Theory of Relativity, besting 11 000 entries from 170 countries. Her video currently has over 5 million views across all platforms. Hillary has spoken about science internationally as well as on national television in the Philippines and has published a book on maths. Now, she is an incoming freshman at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. There, she intends to major in physics and participate in the search for dark matter.

Hillary Diane Andales
Hillary Diane Andales

Winner of the 2017 Breakthrough Junior Challenge
Philippines

Started his media career as provincial journalist and photographer. He graduated in Colombo University in 1996 and joined the National Television in 1997. He has won several national and international awards and several nominations at numerous television contest for his television programs in a variety of genres. Apart from his television career, he engages in photography and writing. Athula has conducted three photography exhibitions. He published the book “Sri Lanka – Miraculous Island in the Indian Ocean” in 2012. Athula was awarded many scholarships by prominent television institutions in Europe to learn more about television program production. Currently, he engages in new documentary program projects and writing the screenplay for his debut feature film.

Athula Disanayaka
Athula Disanayaka

TV Producer, Director and Head of International Relations
Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation
Sri Lanka

Yoottnun Harnarong graduated with a Master's Degree in Education Technology from Srinakharinwirot University. He holds a position at Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science & Technology (IPST) in Thailand as a science communication educator and has over 25 year experiences creating education media. He cooperated with NHK’s documentary department on several occasions and participated in numerous training courses. Yoottnun’s projects are broadcast on ETV Learning Channel and through the Distance Learning Foundation in Thailand. His passion is to continue developing educational media for young people.

Yoottnun Harnarong
Yoottnun Harnarong

Educational Media Producer
Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science & Technology (IPST)
Thailand

Photo by Wout Vanackerr on Unsplash

Awards

Das Science Film Festival verleiht sechs Preise, die von einer internationalen Jury ausgewählt werden. Sie sind mit einem Preisgeld in Höhe von je 1.000 Euro dotiert. Der Preis der Jury ist mit einem Preisgeld in Höhe von 3.000 Euro dotiert.

Award-Gewinner 2018

Internationale Jury 2018

Eine internationale Jury bestehend aus Experten in Wissenschaftskommunikation, sowie Film und Fernsehen aus den teilnehmenden Regionen des Science Film Festival, wählt jedes Jahr die Preisträger aus.

Althea Jarvis

Althea Jarvis ist eine Fernsehproduzentin mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung. Sie ist auch eine ehemalige Erzieherin und war schon immer begeistert davon, wie das Medium Film und Fernsehen als Empowerment- und Bildungsinstrument eingesetzt werden kann. In ihrer Funktion als Redakteurin bei der South African Broadcasting Corporation ist sie Herausgeberin einiger der beliebtesten Fernsehsendungen Südafrikas. Das tägliche Jugenddrama „Skeem Saam“ hat durchschnittlich mehr als 6 Millionen Zuschauer pro Tag und gewann den renommierten South African Film and Television Award (SAFTA).Für das beliebteste Drama im Jahr 2016. 2017 gewann die Doku-Reality-Show „100% Youth“ den SAFTA for Best Youth-Programm. Die Sendung konzentriert sich auf die Kreativwirtschaft und darauf, wie junge Unternehmer ihren kreativen Ausdruck in ein tragfähiges Geschäft verwandeln. Derzeit macht sie ihren Master in Medienwissenschaften an der AFDA Film School in Johannesburg, Südafrika.

Science Film Festival - Internationale Jury 2018 - Althea Jarvis

Redakteur: Tween and Youth Development
South African Broadcasting Corporation
Südafrika

Amelia Hapsari

Als Dokumentarfilmerin arbeitet Amelia Hapsari mit Leidenschaft daran, die Infrastruktur für indonesische Dokumentarfilme zu verbessern, die Bedürfnisse zu verbessern und die Bedürfnisse der Menschen zu verbessern. Das Publikum für Dokumentarfilme und die Verbindung von Dokumentarfilmen mit dem riesigen Netzwerk von Menschen und Institutionen, die die Welt zu einem besseren Ort machen wollen. Zu ihren früheren Erfahrungen gehörte die Leitung eines gemeinnützigen Produktionshauses in Osttimor. Bearbeitung von Nachrichten für China Radio International in Peking sowie Produktion und Regie von Dokumentarfilmen, die nationale und internationale Auszeichnungen erhalten haben. Sie kam 2012 als Program Director zu In-Docs.

Amelia Hapsari

Programmdirektor
In-Docs
Indonesien

Hillary Diane Andales

Hillary Diane Andales ist weltweit als einzige Gewinnerin der Breakthrough Junior Challenge 2017 für die Erstellung eines 3-minütigen Videos über die Relativitätstheorie bekannt, das 11.000 Beiträge aus 170 Ländern erzielte. Ihr Video verfügt derzeit über mehr als 5 Millionen Aufrufe auf allen Plattformen. Hillary hat auf den Philippinen international sowie im nationalen Fernsehen über Wissenschaft gesprochen und ein Buch über Mathematik veröffentlicht. Nun ist sie ein Neuankömmling am Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dort will sie Physik studieren und an der Suche nach dunkler Materie teilnehmen.

Hillary Diane Andales

Gewinner der Breakthrough Junior Challenge 2017
Philippinen

Athula Disanayaka

Athula begann seine Medienkarriere als Provinzjournalist und Fotograf. Er schloss sein Studium 1996 an der Colombo University ab und trat 1997 dem National Television bei. Für seine Fernsehprogramme in verschiedenen Genres gewann er zahlreiche nationale und internationale Preise sowie mehrere Nominierungen bei zahlreichen Fernsehwettbewerben. Neben seiner Fernsehkarriere beschäftigt er sich mit Fotografie und Schreiben. Athula hat drei Fotoausstellungen durchgeführt. Er veröffentlichte das Buch „Sri Lanka -Wundersame Insel im Indischen Ozean ”im Jahr 2012. Athula wurde von führenden TV-Institutionen in Europa mit zahlreichen Stipendien ausgezeichnet, um mehr über die Fernsehproduktion zu erfahren. Derzeit engagiert er sich für neue Dokumentarfilmprojekte und schreibt das Drehbuch für seinen Debütfilm.

Athula Disanayaka

Fernsehproduzent, Regisseur und Leiter der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen
Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation
Sri Lanka

Yoottnun Harnarong

Yoottnun Harnarong hat an der Srinakharinwirot University einen Master-Abschluss in Bildungstechnologie erworben. Er ist als wissenschaftlicher Kommunikationspädagoge am Institut für die Förderung von Wissenschaft und Technologie (IPST) in Thailand tätig und verfügt über mehr als 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Erstellung von Bildungsmedien. Er arbeitete mehrfach mit der Dokumentationsabteilung von NHK zusammen und nahm an zahlreichen Schulungen teil. Yoottnuns Projekte werden auf ETV Learning Channel und über die Distance Learning Foundation in Thailand ausgestrahlt.

Seine Leidenschaft ist es, Bildungsmedien für junge Menschen weiterzuentwickeln.

Yoottnun Harnarong

Produzent für Bildungsmedien
Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science & Technology (IPST)
Thailand