Frequently Asked Questions

About the Festival in General

The Science Film Festival is a celebration of science communication taking place annually in Southeast Asia, South Asia, Africa and the Middle East. The festival promotes science literacy by facilitating awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues through the screening of outstanding international science films with accompanying educational activities. The festival presents scientific issues accessibly and entertainingly to a broad audience. It is the largest event of its kind worldwide receiving over one million visitors annually.
A selection of outstanding international films for all age groups on science, technology and the environment are screened at Science Film Festival. An essential part of the festival is offering activities that supplement the themes explored in the films, through hands-on experiments, projects or learning games for young audiences or expert panels, forums and talks for general audiences at the screenings.
The Science Film Festival is organized in the following countries in 2018: Burkina Faso | Egypt | Ethiopia | India | Indonesia | Jordan | Kenya | Malaysia | Myanmar | Namibia | Palestinian Territories | Philippines | Rwanda | South Africa | Sri Lanka | Sudan | Thailand | United Arab Emirates | Vietnam. The screenings take place at education institutions, such as science centers and science museums, as well as schools, universities and cultural centers in the host countries throughout the annual festival period.
The Science Film Festival takes place internationally from the beginning of October to the third week of December with local dates varying by country within this period. Please visit a country page on the website to find out more information on local dates.
The Science Film Festival is centrally organized by the Goethe-Institut, the official cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany, in cooperation with local partners in each host country.
The Science Film Festival started in Thailand in 2005 through a cooperation between the Goethe-Institut, the Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science and Technology (IPST) and the National Science Museum Thailand (NSM). It has since expanded to other countries in Southeast Asia (2009-), the Middle East and North Africa (2013-), Sub-Saharan Africa (2017-), South Asia (2017-) and Latin America (2019-). Please visit our archive section for more information on the history of the festival.

About Film Submissions

The Science Film Festival is open to worldwide submissions from broadcasters, producers, filmmakers, film students, researchers, scientific organizations, NGOs, public organizations, and online channels. To submit an entry, please follow the instructions on this website and use the online application form during the period when the festival is open to submissions.
The Science Film Festival is open to all formats of films incl. VR and online interactive films, as well as all genres of films on science, technology and the environment. However, the festival program focuses primarily on edutainment programs for young audiences and documentary films for the general public, which have been broadcast on television or online.
The Science Film Festival call for entries runs from Mid-January to late March for a period of ten weeks each year. To submit an entry, please follow the instructions on this website and use the online submission form. Please note that submissions can only be accepted during the annual call for entries period.
There are no fees for submissions to the Science Film Festival. However, the festival as a rule does not pay for screening rights either. This is because all screenings are non-commercial and educational in nature and the Science Film Festival makes no revenue from the screenings or any other related activities. The festival also invests considerably in translating and subtitling or synchronizing films into local language where applicable and makes these versions available to the rights owners after the festival period.
It is possible to submit multiple entries to the Science Film Festival. In case the submissions originate from a series, only one submission form needs to be filled out with all pertaining information and materials for the individual films or episodes within the entry. In case the submissions are standalone films or different series, please use a separate form for each entry. Films can not be submitted again if they have already been selected into the Science Film Festival in previous years.
Over 30 pre-jury members with expertise in science education and science communication in the participating countries and in-depth knowledge of the local target audience are closely involved in the selection process of the Science Film Festival. When an entry is selected in at least one participating country, the film is considered part of the official selection of the festival in that year and is eligible for one of the six Science Film Festival awards.
The Science Film Festival receives between 250-300 entries from 30-40 countries annually. However, the festival is limited in the number of entries it can accept into the official selection due to the fact that selected films are translated and synchronized into the local languages of participating countries in order to facilitate accessibility for viewers as an educational initiative. The investment that this effort entails consequently restricts the number of films that can be chosen for the annual festival program. The official selection of the Science Film Festival averages annually between 80 and 100 films of varying length.
The Science Film Festival pre-jury committees in the participating countries are looking for outstanding examples of contemporary international science communication and filmmaking approaches. Other considerations taken into account, also include local factors regarding the core festival audience of children and youths, which is why local science education experts are involved in the selection process.
The Science Film Festival also functions as an educational outreach initiative within the countries in which it takes place and therefore makes the effort to provide the greatest possible degree of accessibility. In many countries in which the event is organized, English or other languages, may not be a widely used language and so for the sake of inclusion, the films are subtitled or synchronized into local language.
The Science Film Festival puts together an international jury each year to select six award winners from the official selection. The jury is composed of international experts in the fields of science communication, science education, factual broadcasting, children’s media and scientists in the field of the annual festival theme. The award winners are chosen for their outstanding achievement in the six award categories amongst the entries in the official selection. Please visit the awards section for more information on the six Science Film Festival awards.

About Screening Venues

The Science Film Festival is an international network connected to the Goethe-Institut, which has 159 institutes in 98 countries. Please contact your local Goethe-Institut, if you are interested to set up the festival in your country. Certain organizational conditions have to be met for the Science Film Festival to be implemented successfully in a country, but the festival is also very flexible to adapt to local interests and focus points that can be agreed upon in dialogue with the local Goethe-Institut.
Any education institution, such as a science center, science museum or children’s center, as well as schools, universities, libraries and cultural centers in a participating Science Film Festival country can host screenings in cooperation with official festival organizers in that country. Please get in touch with your local Goethe-Institut for further information from the details in the contact section.
Many stakeholders make large capital and intellectual investment towards the Science Film Festival. These stakeholders do not only include the people who volunteer their time towards the Science Film Festival, but also the content rights owners, who entrust their property to the Science Film Festival.

All films used at the Science Film Festival are protected by copyrights and subjected to national and international laws applying to the matter. Therefore, these programs CAN NOT be used outside the annual international Science Film Festival period without the permission of the rights’ owners. To make sure that this investment and trust is treated with due respect, the following guidelines apply:
  1. Screenings may only be organized by the Goethe-Institut or official Science Film Festival partners within a country;
  2. Strictly no commercial use: No fee may be charged for the Science Film Festival. Productions that are screened at the Science Film Festival may not be broadcast;
  3. The Science Film Festival is a cultural program and non-profit initiative and may only be hosted in the context of educational screenings;
  4. The Science Film Festival organizers must be made aware of the use of the programs and the context in which they will be screened and must grant permission to use the content. Permission can be refused;
  5. The Science Film Festival organizers and the Goethe-Institut must be made aware of screenings. You should provide information about the dates and place of your screening and submit a final report about your activity within a month after the event.
  6. To receive a film package, please contact your closest Goethe-Institut. Please provide the details of the planned screening as described above.
  7. Only approved screenings during the Science Film Festival may be screened under the title of ‘Science Film Festival’.

Submission Guidlines

The application form must be submitted by March 22, 2019. A pre-screening copy should be submitted no later than March 25, 2019. Please use a separate application form for each film, unless the films are part of a series of films being submitted in which case one form can be filled out mentioning the submitted films or episodes. Please fill in all parts of the application form. Only content that has been produced since January 1, 2016, is accepted. There is no submission fee, however, the Science Film Festival principally does not pay licensing fees for films submitted into competition.
We kindly ask you to submit a pre-screening copy of your film as downloadable file (MP4, MKV or MOV) through WeTransfer, Dropbox, FTP Server or other secure file sharing service (please send to recipient: andreas.klempin@goethe.de) or by sending a DVD to:

Science Film Festival 
Goethe-Institut Thailand 
18/1 Soi Goethe, 
Sathorn Soi 1 
Bangkok 10120 
THAILAND
+66 (0) 2 108 8200

We kindly ask that films not in English or German provide English subtitles.

This copy of the film is used for the selection process only.
We kindly ask that you are able to provide a minimum of two still images of the film for the festival catalogue and website whenever possible. These should be high-resolution (300 dpi). The images can be sent to us per e-mail or download link together with the pre-screening copy of the film.
Should your film be selected into the official festival program, we kindly ask you to make available a Master copy with separate music and effect audio track (separate from the dialogue and narration track) of the film if possible for synchronization purposes to ensure maximum quality. However, mixed-track versions are still accepted if necessary. Please note that we will approach you for the HD file and/or audio track if and after your film has been selected into the official festival program. Notifications will be sent out in August 2019.

Please note the following technical specifications for the final festival screening copy:

Accepted file formats:
  • mxf
  • mov
  • mp4
  • mkv
  • avi
  • ProRes
We kindly ask you to provide an English or German language MS Word dialogue script of the film if possible for accurate translation into local festival languages. The dialogue script can be sent to us per e-mail or per download link with the pre-screening copy of the film.

All festival films are translated and synchronized or subtitled into local languages where applicable to offer access for the audience without language barriers.
Please send the festival screening materials directly to the Goethe-Institut in Thailand:

Science Film Festival
Goethe-Institut Thailand
18/1 Soi Goethe,
Sathorn Soi 1
Bangkok 10120
THAILAND

+66 (0) 2 108 8200

Or electronically in case of upload with recipient andreas.klempin@goethe.de

The expenses for sending materials must be covered by the applicant.
Results of the official festival selection will be announced in August 2019. Notifications will be sent per e-mail, unless requested otherwise. Please kindly communicate any inquiries via e-mail to andreas.klempin@goethe.de.

Since the film selection may vary from country to country, participating filmmakers, producers and broadcasters will be notified of the countries in which their film will be screened in the notification.

Award winners are publicly announced on the website in January of the following year. A comprehensive Science Film Festival report is sent to all applicants in February of the following year as well.
i. The Science Film Festival does not pay for screening fees. Submission of a film means consent for screenings in the context of the event as outlined in the application form.

ii. Entries do not necessarily have to be related to the festival theme.

iii. Due to the cost of translation and synchronization, only about one-fifth of all entries can be accepted into the final competition. The selection of the festival program is made by a collective of over 30 pre-jury members consisting of experts in scientific fields, education, television and filmmaking representing all participating countries.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Das Festival

Das Science Film Festival ist das größte Festival der Welt für Wissenschaftsfilme. Es findet jährlich in Südostasien, Südasien, Afrika und im Nahen Osten statt und zeigt internationale Filme zu aktuellen Themen aus den Bereichen Ökologie, Technologie und Forschung. Mit spannenden Filmen und einem unterhaltenden Begleitprogramm vermittelt das Festival einem breiten Publikum und vor allem jungen Menschen, dass Wissenschaft Spaß machen kann. Zugleich sensibilisieren und fördern die Filme das Bewusstsein für wissenschaftliche, technologische und ökologische Fragestellungen und Probleme. Das Science Film Festival erreicht jährlich mehr als eine Million Besucher.
Das Science Film Festival präsentiert eine Auswahl herausragender internationaler Filme aus Wissenschaft, Technologie und Umwelt für alle Altersgruppen. Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Festivals ist das Angebot von ergänzenden Aktivitäten zu den in den Filmen erforschten Themen. Die Vorführungen werden begleitet von praktischen Experimenten, Mitmach-Projekten oder Lernspielen für Kinder und Jugendliche. An das allgemeine Publikum richten sich Expertenpanels, Foren und Vorträge.
Das Science Film Festival wird 2018 in folgenden Ländern organisiert: Burkina Faso | Ägypten | Äthiopien | Indien | Indonesien | Jordanien | Kenia | Malaysia | Myanmar | Namibia | Palästinensische Gebiete | Philippinen | Ruanda | Südafrika | Sri Lanka | Sudan | Thailand | Vereinigte Arabische Emirate | Vietnam. Die Vorführungen finden während der Festivalzeit in Bildungseinrichtungen der Gastländer statt, beispielsweise in Wissenschaftszentren und Wissenschaftsmuseen, in Schulen, Universitäten und Kulturzentren.
Das Science Film Festival findet von Anfang Oktober bis in die dritte Dezemberwoche statt. Die Termine variieren von Land zu Land. Bitte besuchen Sie die Länderseiten auf der Website, um Informationen zu den lokalen Daten zu erhalten.
Das Science Film Festival wird zentral vom Goethe-Institut, dem offiziellen Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, in Kooperation mit lokalen Partnern in den Gastländern organisiert.
Das Science Film Festival existiert seit 2005. Es erlebt seine Premiere in Thailand auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut zur Förderung von Lehrforschung und Technologie (IPST) und dem National Science Museum Thailand. 2009 dehnt sich das Festival auf weitere Länder in Südostasien aus, 2013 kommen der Nahe Osten und Nordafrika hinzu, 2017 die Regionen Subsahara-Afrika und Südasien. 2019 findet das Science Film Festival erstmals in Lateinamerika statt. Weitere Informationen zur Geschichte des Festivals finden Sie in unserem Archiv.

Die Filme

Das Science Film Festival ist offen für weltweite Einreichungen von Sendern, Produzenten, Filmemachern, Filmstudenten, Forschern, wissenschaftlichen Organisationen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGOs), öffentlichen Organisationen und Online-Kanälen. Um einen Beitrag einzureichen, folgen Sie bitte den Anweisungen auf dieser Website.
Das Science Film Festival ist offen für alle Formate von Filmen, einschließlich Virtual Reality (VR) und interaktive Online-Filme sowie alle Genres von Filmen über Wissenschaft, Technologie und Umwelt. Das Festivalprogramm konzentriert sich jedoch vor allem auf Edutainment-Programme für ein junges Publikum und auf Dokumentarfilme, die im Fernsehen oder online ausgestrahlt werden und sich an eine breite Öffentlichkeit richten.
Das Einreichen von Filmen für das Science Film Festival ist nur innerhalb der jährlichen Ausschreibungsfrist möglich. Die Ausschreibungsphase dauert zehn Wochen, jedes Jahr von Mitte Januar bis Ende März. Um einen Filmbeitrag einzureichen, folgen Sie bitte den Anweisungen auf dieser Website und verwenden Sie das Online-Formular.
Für das Einreichen von Filmen für das Science Film Festival fallen keine Gebühren an. Das Festival zahlt jedoch in der Regel auch kein Geld für die Vorführrechte. Der Grund dafür ist, dass alle Vorführungen pädagogischen Zwecken dienen und nicht kommerziell sind. Das Science Film Festival erzielt keine Einnahmen aus den Vorführungen und den begleitenden Aktivitäten. Das Festival investiert zudem erheblich in die Übersetzung und Untertitelung oder Synchronisation der Filme in die jeweilige Landessprache und stellt diese den Rechteinhabern nach dem Festival zur Verfügung.
Es ist möglich, mehrere Beiträge zum Science Film Festival einzureichen. Falls die Filme aus einer Serie stammen, ist nur ein Formular auszufüllen mit allen zugehörigen Informationen und Materialien für die einzelnen Episoden. Wenn es sich um eigenständige Filme oder verschiedene Serien handelt, verwenden Sie bitte für jeden Beitrag ein separates Formular. Filme, die bereits in den vergangenen Jahren für das Science Film Festival ausgewählt wurden, dürfen nicht erneut eingereicht werden.
Die teilnehmenden Länder des Science Film Festivals stellen eine Auswahljury mit mehr als 30 Mitgliedern zusammen. Es handelt sich um Experten für naturwissenschaftliche Bildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation, die über fundierte Kenntnisse der lokalen Zielgruppen verfügen. Wird ein Beitrag von mindestens einem teilnehmenden Land ausgewählt, gilt der Film als Teil der offiziellen Jahresauswahl des Festivals und berechtigt zu einem der sechs Preise des Science Film Festivals.
Das Science Film Festival erhält jährlich zwischen 250 und 300 Einsendungen aus 30 bis 40 Ländern. Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass die Festivalfilme in die lokalen Sprachen der teilnehmenden Länder übersetzt und synchronisiert werden, ist deren Anzahl begrenzt. Jährlich kommen zwischen 80 und 100 Filme unterschiedlicher Länge in die offizielle Auswahl des Science Film Festivals.
Die Auswahljury des Science Film Festivals sucht nach herausragenden Wissenschaftsfilmen zu aktuellen Themen aus aller Welt. Berücksichtigt werden außerdem lokale Bezüge zu den verfilmten Themen. Der Fokus liegt insbesondere auf dem Kernpublikum, das sich aus Kindern und Jugendlichen zusammensetzt. Aus diesem Grund sind auch naturwissenschaftliche Bildungsexperten vor Ort in den Auswahlprozess involviert.
Das Science Film Festival fungiert auch als Bildungsinitiative in den teilnehmenden Regionen und bemüht sich daher um ein größtmögliches Publikum. In vielen Ländern, in denen das Festival stattfindet, sind Englisch und andere Fremdsprachen wenig verbreitet. Für einen barrierefreien Zugang werden die Filme deshalb in die lokale Sprache untertitelt oder synchronisiert.
Das Science Film Festival stellt jedes Jahr eine internationale Jury zusammen, um aus der offiziellen Filmauswahl die Preisträger zu küren. Die Jury besteht aus internationalen Experten für Wissenschaftskommunikation, Wissenschaftsbildung, Dokumentarfilmen und Kindermedien sowie Wissenschaftlern aus dem Bereich des jährlichen Festivalthemas. Die Preisträger der sechs Kategorien werden aufgrund ihrer herausragenden Leistungen ausgewählt. Weitere Informationen zu den Preisen des Science Film Festivals finden Sie im Bereich Auszeichnungen.

Veranstaltungen

Das Science Film Festival ist ein internationales Netzwerk, das mit dem Goethe-Institut verbunden ist. Das Goethe-Institut hat 159 Institute in 98 Ländern. Bitte kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Goethe-Institut, wenn Sie das Festival in Ihrem Land veranstalten möchten. Damit das Science Film Festival in einem Land erfolgreich durchgeführt werden kann, sind bestimmte organisatorische Voraussetzungen nötig. Das Festival passt sich jedoch lokalen Interessen und Bedingungen flexibel an. Die Einzelheiten vereinbaren Sie bitte im Dialog mit dem lokalen Goethe-Institut.
Jede Bildungseinrichtung eines teilnehmenden Landes des Science Film Festivals kann in Zusammenarbeit mit den offiziellen Festivalorganisatoren Vorführungen veranstalten, beispielsweise Wissenschaftszentren, Wissenschaftsmuseen, Kinderzentren, Schulen, Universitäten, Bibliotheken oder Kulturzentren. Details und weitere Informationen finden Sie im Kontaktbereich Ihres lokalen Goethe-Instituts.
Viele Interessengruppen investieren Kapital und geistiges Eigentum in das jährliche Science Film Festival. Zu diesen Akteuren zählen die Menschen, die sich für das Science Film Festival engagieren, und die Rechteinhaber der Filme, die ihr Eigentum dem Science Film Festival anvertrauen.

Alle beim Science Film Festival gezeigten Filme sind urheberrechtlich geschützt und unterliegen nationalen und internationalen Gesetzen. Daher können diese Filme NICHT außerhalb der jährlichen internationalen Festivalzeit ohne die Erlaubnis der Rechteinhaber verwendet werden. Um sicherzustellen, dass diese Investition und das Vertrauen mit gebührendem Respekt behandelt werden, gelten die folgenden Richtlinien:
  1. Vorführungen des Science Film Festivals dürfen nur vom Goethe-Institut oder offiziellen Partnern des Science Film Festivals in den teilnehmenden Ländern organisiert werden.
  2. Keine kommerzielle Nutzung: Für das Science Film Festival wird keine Gebühr erhoben. Produktionen, die auf dem Science Film Festival gezeigt werden, dürfen nicht gesendet werden.
  3. Das Science Film Festival ist eine Kultur- und Bildungsinitiative und darf nur im Rahmen von Bildungsvorführungen veranstaltet werden.
  4. Die Nutzung der Inhalte für Filmvorführungen setzt eine Erlaubnis der Veranstalter des Science Film Festivals voraus. Zur Genehmigung sind die Programme und der Kontext, in dem sie gezeigt werden, anzugeben. Die Erlaubnis kann verweigert werden.
  5. Die Veranstalter des Science Film Festivals und das Goethe-Institut sind über Vorführungen zu benachrichtigen. Die Informationen sollten die Daten und den Ort der Vorführung des Science Film Festivals beinhalten und sind innerhalb eines Monats nach der Veranstaltung als Abschlussbericht über die Aktivitäten einzureichen.
  6. Um ein Filmpaket zu erhalten, wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihr nächstgelegenes Goethe-Institut. Bitte geben Sie die Details des geplanten Veranstaltung wie oben beschrieben an.
  7. Nur genehmigte Vorführungen dürfen während des Science Film Festivals unter dem Titel „Science Film Festival“ gezeigt werden.

Einreichungskriterien/ Teilnahmebedingungen

Das Bewerbungsformular ist bis zum 22. März 2019 einzureichen. Eine Vorab-Kopie sollte bis spätestens 25. März 2019 übermittelt werden. Bitte verwenden Sie für jeden Film ein separates Bewerbungsformular, es sei denn, die Filme gehören zu einer Serie. In diesem Fall kann ein Formular unter Angabe der eingereichten Filme oder Episoden genutzt werden. Bitte füllen Sie das Bewerbungsformular vollständig aus. Es werden nur Filme akzeptiert, die nach dem 1. Januar 2016 produziert wurden. Anmeldekosten werden nicht erhoben, jedoch zahlt das Science Film Festival grundsätzlich keine Lizenzgebühren für Filme, die zum Wettbewerb eingereicht werden.
Wir bitten Sie, eine Pre-Screening-Kopie Ihres Films als Download-Datei (MP4, MKV oder MOV) über WeTransfer, Dropbox, FTP-Server oder einen anderen sicheren File-Sharing-Dienst einzureichen, per E-Mail an: andreas.klempin@goethe.de oder senden Sie eine DVD:

Science Film Festival
Goethe-Institut Thailand
18/1 Soi Goethe,
Sathorn Soi 1
Bangkok 10120
THAILAND

Telefon für Rückfragen: +66 (0) 2 108 8200

Wir bitten darum, dass Filme, die nicht auf Englisch oder Deutsch sind, englische Untertitel liefern.
Diese Kopie des Films wird nur für den Auswahlprozess verwendet.
Wir bitten Sie, wenn möglich, mindestens zwei Standbilder des Films für den Festivalkatalog und die Website zur Verfügung zu stellen. Diese sollten hochauflösend sein (300 dpi). Die Bilder können zusammen mit der Vorabkopie des Films per E-Mail oder Download-Link an uns gesendet werden.
Sollte Ihr Film in das offizielle Festivalprogramm aufgenommen werden, bitten wir Sie – falls möglich – für Synchronisationszwecke eine Masterkopie des Films mit separater IT-Tonspur (getrennt von der Dialog- und Narrationsspur) zur Verfügung zu stellen, um eine maximale Qualität zu gewährleisten. Anderenfalls werden auch gemischte Versionen akzeptiert. Wir werden Sie bei Aufnahme Ihres Films in das offizielle Festivalprogramm wegen der HD-Datei und / oder der Audiospur kontaktieren.
Wir bitten Sie, wenn möglich, ein englisch- oder deutschsprachiges Dialogskript des Films in Microsoft Word zur Verfügung zu stellen, um eine korrekte Übersetzung in lokale Festivalsprachen zu ermöglichen. Das Dialog-Skript kann per E-Mail oder Download-Link mit der Vorab-Kopie des Films an uns gesendet werden.

Alle Festivalfilme werden übersetzt und synchronisiert oder in lokale Sprachen untertitelt, um dem Publikum ohne Sprachbarrieren Zugang zu gewähren.
Bitte senden Sie die Vorführkopie direkt an das Goethe-Institut in Thailand:

Science Film Festival
Goethe-Institut Thailand
18/1 Soi Goethe,
Sathorn Soi 1
Bangkok 10120
THAILAND

oder elektronisch durch einen Upload (Empfänger: andreas.klempin@goethe.de).

Telefon für Rückfragen: +66 (0) 2 108 8200

Die Kosten für den Versand von Materialien sind vom Einreichenden zu tragen.
Die Ergebnisse der offiziellen Festivalauswahl werden im August 2019 bekannt gegeben. Benachrichtigungen werden, sofern nicht anders angegeben, per E-Mail versendet. Bitte teilen Sie uns Ihre Anfragen per E-Mail an andreas.klempin@goethe.de mit.

Da die Filmauswahl von Land zu Land variieren kann, werden die teilnehmenden Filmemacher, Produzenten und Sendeanstalten über die Länder informiert, in denen ihr Film gezeigt wird.

Die Preisträger werden im Januar des folgenden Jahres auf der Website öffentlich bekannt gegeben. Ein umfassender Bericht über das Science Film Festival wird allen Bewerbern im Februar des Folgejahres zugesandt.
I. Das Science Film Festival zahlt keine Vorführgebühren. Die Einreichung eines Films bedeutet die Einwilligung zu Vorführungen im Rahmen der Veranstaltung, wie im Anmeldeformular beschrieben.

II. Einreichungen müssen nicht unbedingt mit dem Festivalthema zusammenhängen.

III. Aufgrund der Übersetzungs- und Synchronisationskosten kann nur etwa ein Fünftel aller Einsendungen in die offizielle Auswahl aufgenommen werden. Die Festlegung des Festivalprogramms erfolgt durch eine Auswahljury, die sich aus mehr als 30 Mitgliedern zusammensetzt. Es handelt sich um Experten aus Wissenschaft, Bildung, Fernsehen und Film, die alle teilnehmenden Länder vertreten.