The Philippines
Pre-Jury

​A pre-jury of more than 30 local science education and science communication professionals from the participating countries are closely involved in the selection of the films.

In the Philippines the pre-jury in 2019 consisted of the following members:
Cris B. Lim

Crisanto B. Lim has been writing professionally for more than twenty-three years. He studied Communication Arts at the University of the East in Kalookan. He is currently writing two 40-week/200-episode educational series’ (Math and Filipino Language) for the Department of Education and The Knowledge Channel.

He has written in nearly every genre – variety shows, reality shows, soap operas, action, comedy, and documentaries. He was A co-writer of National Geographic Asia’s “Inside Malacanang”, a documentary on the residence of the country’s most politically powerful family. He deems his work in educational and children’s television as his most fulfilling work. Being a writer and headwriter for shows like Sineskwela, Math-Tinik, Hirayamanawari, Basta Sports, Wansapanataym, and many others allowed him to enjoy and practice his two passions, writing and teaching, at the same time. His episode on Wansapanataym titled “Batang Chalk” (Chalk Boy) won the Prix Jeunesse Grand Jury Prize in 2012.

Beyond his profession, Cris is a husband and father of two teens, a Trekkie, a science buff, and a would-be science fiction and fantasy novelist.

Cris B. Lim

Freelance Scriptwriter Quezon City

Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal

Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal is a scientist-turned-science communication champion. She is behind the many science advocacy programs of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) as she heads the S&T Manpower Education Research and Promotions Division of the Science Education Institute (SEI), DOST’s S&T human resources development arm. As Chief Science Research Specialist, she is on top of science education research and studies on human resource in science and technology, science culture promotion, and information systems and IT infrastructure development works in the Institute. Equipped with long years of experience and unmatched passion in science education, she continues to design and implement innovative programs that would influence the current generation to embrace S&T and innovation as a way of life and as the best way forward.

She is a seasoned science communication specialist, broadcaster, and project development manager having dedicated more than 40 years of her career in planning and implementing programs and projects that stimulate the interests of the youth in science and technology. Armed with passion in bringing science closer to young Filipinos, she pursued and obtained a Master of Professional Studies in Development Communication degree from the UP Open University, and a Ph.D. degree in Communication from UP Diliman. She was also a fellow at Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Australia awarded by the Australian Award Fellowship to help further improve STEM education and research.

She served as the Science Consultant for the longest running science educational program on television “Sineskwela”, which aired for 14 years on ABS-CBN, and produced by ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. in cooperation with the Department of Education (DepEd) and the Department of Science and Technology (DOST). She was also a co-anchor in DZMM’s science radio program “Bago Yan Ah!” from 2006-2013, and currently the co-anchor of former AGHAM Party List Representative, Angelo B. Palmones in “Radyo Henyo,” a Sunday afternoon science and technology radio program aired via DZRH and RHTV. She is also a long-time supporter of the Science Film Festival in the Philippines, and participated in Regional Workshops organized by Goethe Institut Thailand to develop modules that will ensure the impact of science film screenings to education.

Ruby Christobal

Chief Science Research Specialist S&T Manpower Education Research and Promotions Division Science Education Institute Department of Science and Technology

Mr. Isaiah S. Cabañero

Isaiah currently works as the Marketing Officer of the Philippine Society of Youth Science Clubs

(PSYSC). He joined the organization in 2014, aimingto further expand his platforms in advocating public science education and appreciation among fellow youth students in the community.

As a student-volunteer in PSYSC, he dedicated his time working on organizing several major events and activities of the organization catering to grade school and high school students all over the country. He served as the Head of Guest Relations during the 2015 National Youth Science, Technology, and Environment Summer Camp held in Iloilo City, Philippines. Before serving as member of the National Executive Council of the organization, he also headed the 2017 Beginners’ Learning and Appreciation of Science and Technology activity held in Pasay City, Philippines, in partnership with SM Exploreum. Thereafter, he worked as the Head of Marketing and Engineering, and eventually the Director, of the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Expo from 2018-2019.

Mr. Isaiah S. Cabañero

Marketing Officer of the Philippine Society of Youth Science Clubs (PSYSC)

Joseph V. Gutierrez

Joseph started his academic career as a science teacher in the private schools. He then transferred to the public schools where is connected up to the present. Currently, he is a Senior Education Program Specialist at the Curriculum Standards Development Division of the Bureau of Curriculum Development.

He finished his bachelor’s degree in education at Adamson University and his masters at the University of Wyoming. He also has taken certificate program in teaching mathematics at Central Luzon State University. Joseph is very active in the promotion of backyard astronomy to teachers and students alike, using his telescopes to strengthen and provide authentic experience of sky observation.

Joseph V. Gutierrez

Senior Education Program Specialist, Curriculum Standards Development Division Bureau of Curriculum Development

Die Philippinen
Pre-Jury

​Eine Jury aus insgesamt mehr als 30 lokalen Fachleuten für Wissenschaftsbildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation der 
teilnehmenden Länder sind bei der Auswahl der Filme eng eingebunden.​ 

Auf den Philippinen bestand die Auswahljury in 2019 aus folgenden Mitgliedern:
Cris B. Lim

Crisanto B. Lim schreibt seit mehr als 23 Jahren professionell. Er studierte Kommunikationskunst an der Universität des Ostens in Kalookan. Derzeit schreibt er zwei 40-wöchige / 200-wöchige Bildungsserien (Mathematik und philippinische Sprache) für das Department of Education und The Knowledge Channel.

Er hat in fast allen Genres geschrieben - Varietés, Reality-Shows, Seifenopern, Action, Comedy und Dokumentationen. Er war Mitverfasser von "Inside Malacanang" von National Geographic Asia, einem Dokumentarfilm über die Residenz der politisch mächtigsten Familie des Landes. Er betrachtet seine Arbeit im Bildungs- und Kinderfernsehen als seine erfüllendste Arbeit. Als Autor und Headwriter für Shows wie Sineskwela, Math-Tinik, Hirayamanawari, Basta Sports, Wansapanataym und viele andere konnte er seine beiden Leidenschaften, Schreiben und Lehren, gleichzeitig genießen und üben. Seine Episode auf Wansapanataym mit dem Titel „Batang Chalk“ (Chalk Boy) gewann 2012 den Prix Jeunesse Grand Jury Prize.

Über seinen Beruf hinaus ist Cris Ehemann und Vater von zwei Teenagern, einem Trekkie, einem Wissenschaftsfan und einem angehenden Science-Fiction- und Fantasy-Romanautor.

Cris B. Lim

Freiberuflicher Drehbuchautor Quezon City

Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal

Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal ist ein Champion der Wissenschaftskommunikation. Sie steht hinter den zahlreichen Programmen für wissenschaftliche Interessenvertretung des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Technologie (DOST) und leitet die Abteilung für Personalforschung und -förderung des Instituts für wissenschaftliche Bildung (SEI), der Abteilung für Personalentwicklung bei DOST. Als Chief Science Research Specialist ist sie am Institut für naturwissenschaftliche Bildungsforschung und Studien zu Humanressourcen in Wissenschaft und Technologie, Förderung der Wissenschaftskultur sowie für Informationssysteme und Entwicklung der IT-Infrastruktur zuständig. Ausgestattet mit langjähriger Erfahrung und unübertroffener Leidenschaft für den naturwissenschaftlichen Unterricht entwirft und implementiert sie weiterhin innovative Programme, die die gegenwärtige Generation beeinflussen, um W & T und Innovation als Lebensstil und als besten Weg in die Zukunft zu verstehen.

Sie ist eine erfahrene Spezialistin für Wissenschaftskommunikation, Rundfunksprecherin und Projektentwicklungsleiterin. Sie hat mehr als 40 Jahre ihrer Karriere damit verbracht, Programme und Projekte zu planen und umzusetzen, die die Interessen der Jugend in Wissenschaft und Technologie fördern. Mit Leidenschaft für die Annäherung der Wissenschaft an junge Filipinos strebte sie einen Master of Professional Studies in Entwicklungskommunikation der UP Open University an und promovierte zum Dr. Abschluss in Kommunikation von UP Diliman. Sie war außerdem Fellow an der Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Australien, und wurde vom Australian Award Fellowship ausgezeichnet, um die MINT-Ausbildung und -Forschung weiter zu verbessern.

Sie arbeitete als Wissenschaftsberaterin für das längste wissenschaftliche Bildungsprogramm im Fernsehen „Sineskwela“, das 14 Jahre lang auf ABS-CBN ausgestrahlt wurde und von der ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Department of Education (DepEd) und produziert wurde das Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Technologie (DOST). Von 2006 bis 2013 war sie Co-Moderatorin in DZMMs Wissenschaftsradiosendung „Bago Yan Ah!“. Derzeit ist sie Co-Moderatorin des ehemaligen Vertreters der AGHAM-Parteiliste, Angelo B. Palmones, in „Radyo Henyo“, einer Wissenschaft am Sonntagnachmittag und technologisches Radioprogramm, das über DZRH und RHTV ausgestrahlt wird. Sie ist auch eine langjährige Unterstützerin des Wissenschaftsfilmfestivals auf den Philippinen und nahm an regionalen Workshops teil, die vom Goethe-Institut Thailand organisiert wurden, um Module zu entwickeln, die die Wirkung von Wissenschaftsfilmvorführungen auf die Bildung sicherstellen.

Ruby Christobal

Chief Science Research Specialist S & T Manpower Abteilung für Bildungsforschung und -förderung Institut für wissenschaftliche Bildung Abteilung für Wissenschaft und Technologie

Mr. Isaiah S. Cabañero

Isaiah arbeitet derzeit als Marketing Officer der Philippine Society of Youth Science Clubs (PSYSC).

Er trat der Organisation im Jahr 2014 bei, um seine Plattformen zur Förderung des naturwissenschaftlichen Unterrichts und der Wertschätzung von Kommilitonen in der Gemeinde weiter auszubauen.

Als studentischer Freiwilliger am PSYSC widmete er sich der Organisation mehrerer wichtiger Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten der Organisation für Grundschüler und Gymnasiasten im ganzen Land. Er war Leiter der Gästebetreuung während des Nationalen Sommercamps für Jugendwissenschaft, Technologie und Umwelt 2015 in Iloilo City, Philippinen. Bevor er Mitglied des National Executive Council der Organisation wurde, leitete er in Zusammenarbeit mit SM Exploreum die 2017 in Pasay City, Philippinen, durchgeführten Aktivitäten zum Erlernen und Anerkennen von Wissenschaft und Technologie für Anfänger. Danach war er von 2018 bis 2019 als Leiter Marketing und Ingenieurwesen und schließlich als Direktor der Ausstellung für Wissenschaft, Technologie, Ingenieurwesen und Mathematik tätig.

Mr. Isaiah S. Cabañero

Marketing Officer der Philippinischen Gesellschaft für Jugendwissenschaftsclubs (PSYSC)

Joseph V. Gutierrez

Joseph begann seine akademische Laufbahn als Naturwissenschaftslehrer an den Privatschulen. Anschließend wechselte er an die öffentlichen Schulen, an denen bis heute Verbindungen bestehen. Derzeit ist er Spezialist für Senior Education Programme in der Abteilung Curriculum Standards Development des Bureau of Curriculum Development.

Er hat seinen Bachelor in Pädagogik an der Adamson University und seinen Master an der University of Wyoming abgeschlossen. Er hat auch ein Zeugnisprogramm in Mathematik an der Central Luzon State University absolviert. Joseph ist sehr aktiv in der Förderung der Hinterhofastronomie bei Lehrern und Schülern und nutzt seine Teleskope, um die Himmelsbeobachtung zu stärken und authentisch zu erleben.

Joseph V. Gutierrez

Senior Education Program Specialist, Abteilung Curriculum Standards Development Bureau of Curriculum Development