Kenya
Pre-Jury

​A pre-jury of more than 30 local science education and science communication professionals from the participating countries are closely involved in the selection of the films.

In the region Sub-Sahara Africa the pre-jury in 2019 consisted of the following members:
Gashoki Gitonga

Kenya

Gashoki is a science communicator with a background in Applied Computer Science (Bsc). He joined The Discovery Centre in 2018. He is involved in various sections of the centre, which aims to expand the joy of science to Nairobi children, including coding classes, content creation and quality assurance of the Smart Maker toys brand. He is motivated by the challenge of impacting the lives of children who have a love for science.

Gashoki Gitonga

Science Communicator

Michel K. Zongo

Burkina Faso

Michel is a director, cameraman and scriptwriter. He has trained at the Burkina Faso National Cinematography Center, the Burkina Faso National Television, and Cinédoc Films, a production company in France. From 2003 to 2008, he was responsible for the Interactive Debate-Cinema at Cinomade, an association based in Burkina Faso whose objective is to create and distribute tools to increase awareness of social issues through cinema.

After having worked as cameraman and assistant director for several films he wrote and directed his first documentary “Sibi, l’âme du violon” produced by Les Films du Djabadjah. “Ti-tiimou (Nos sols)” followed this, produced by Cinomade. In 2010, he co-founded the firm Diam Production, a structure for documentary film production, that is co-producing his full-length documentary film “Espoir-Voyage” with Cinédoc Films.

Michel K. Zongo

Director, Cameraman and Scriptwriter

Josiane Ishimwe

Rwanda

Josiane studied Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering at the University of Rwanda campus of science and technology. She now works at the Agahozo Shalom Youth Village as science center coordinator. Here, she works hand-in-hand with science center trainers to create a fun and educational hands-on curriculum for students with the hope that they will love science and technology and consider careers in this field. She also coordinated the science film festival in Kigali in 2018.

Josiane Ishimwe

Science Center Coordinator, Agahozo Shalom Youth Village

Kombada Mhopjeni

Namibia

Kombada served as the National Programme Officer for Natural Sciences at UNESCO from 2017 to 2018. She is has worked various positions at the Geological Survey of Namibia since 2004 in and now heads the Geo-Information unit. Her main duties include managing access to geoscience data and information. Since 2007, she has participated in several science outreach activities including the International Year of Planet Earth, NAMSCI and most recently, the Science Week.

Kombada Mhopjeni

Geo-Information Unit

Althea Jarvis

South Africa

Althea is a television producer / director with more than 20 years of experience in broadcasting. She is also a former educator and very passionate about the use of film, television and digital content as an empowerment and educational tool. In her capacity as Commissioning Editor at the SABC she is the Editor of some of South Africa’s most beloved TV shows.

The Daily Youth Drama “Skeem Saam” has an average viewership of more than 6 million viewers daily and won the prestigious South African Film and Television Award (SAFTA) for most Popular Drama in 2016. In 2017, the Doci-Magazine show, “100% Youth” won the SAFTA for Best Youth Programme. She is currently doing her Master’s degree in Media Studies at AFDA film School and is also the Project Lead for the SABC Animation Strategy.

Althea Jarvis

Television Producer / Director

Thandi Nqubelani

South Africa

Thandi is a Natural History Educator at Iziko Museums of South Africa; with decades of experience developing and implementing educational programmes within intricacies of diverse learners, special needs learners, teachers, tourists, general public etc. Developing strong relationships is the foundation of everything she does in her job. She holds a Diploma in Education (specialising in Maths and Science) and a Diploma in Human Resources and Training Management.

Thandi Nqubelani

Natural History Educator at Iziko Museums of South Africa

Kenia
Pre-Jury

​Eine Jury aus insgesamt mehr als 30 lokalen Fachleuten für Wissenschaftsbildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation der 
teilnehmenden Länder sind bei der Auswahl der Filme eng eingebunden.​ 

In der Region Subsahara-Afrika bestand die Auswahljury in 2019 aus folgenden Mitgliedern:
Gashoki Gitonga

Kenia

Gashoki ist ein Wissenschaftskommunikator mit einem Hintergrund in Angewandter Informatik (Bsc). Er kam 2018 zum Discovery Center. Er ist an verschiedenen Abteilungen des Centers beteiligt, die darauf abzielen, die Freude an der Wissenschaft für Kinder in Nairobi zu erweitern, einschließlich Codierungsklassen, Erstellung von Inhalten und Qualitätssicherung der Spielwarenmarke Smart Maker. Er ist motiviert von der Herausforderung, das Leben von Kindern mit einer Vorliebe für Wissenschaft zu beeinflussen.

Gashoki Gitonga

Wissenschaftskommunikator

Michel K. Zongo

Burkina Faso

Michel ist Regisseur, Kameramann und Drehbuchautor. Er hat am Burkina Faso National Cinematography Center, am Burkina Faso National Television und an Cinédoc Films, einer Produktionsfirma in Frankreich, trainiert. Von 2003 bis 2008 war er verantwortlich für das Interactive Debate-Cinema bei Cinomade, einem Verein mit Sitz in Burkina Faso, dessen Ziel es ist, Werkzeuge zu entwickeln und zu verbreiten, um das Bewusstsein für soziale Themen durch Kino zu stärken.

Nachdem er als Kameramann und Regieassistent für mehrere Filme gearbeitet hatte, schrieb und inszenierte er seinen ersten Dokumentarfilm "Sibi, l''me du violon" von Les Films du Djabadjah. Es folgte „Ti-tiimou (Nos sols)“, produziert von Cinomade. 2010 gründete er die Firma Diam Production, eine Struktur für die Produktion von Dokumentarfilmen, die gemeinsam mit Cinédoc Films seinen Dokumentarfilm „Espoir-Voyage“ in voller Länge produziert.

Michel K. Zongo

Regisseur, Kameramann und Drehbuchautor

Josiane Ishimwe

Ruanda

Josiane hat Elektronik und Telekommunikationstechnik an der Universität von Ruanda studiert. Sie arbeitet jetzt im Agahozo Shalom Youth Village als Koordinatorin des Wissenschaftszentrums. Hier arbeitet sie Hand in Hand mit Trainern von Wissenschaftszentren, um einen unterhaltsamen und lehrreichen Lehrplan für Studenten zu erstellen, in der Hoffnung, dass sie Wissenschaft und Technologie lieben und über Karrieren in diesem Bereich nachdenken können. Sie koordinierte auch das Wissenschaftsfilmfestival in Kigali im Jahr 2018.

Josiane Ishimwe

Koordinator des Wissenschaftszentrums, Agahozo Shalom Youth Village

Kombada Mhopjeni

Namibia

Von 2017 bis 2018 war Kombada als Nationaler Programmbeauftragter für Naturwissenschaften bei der UNESCO tätig. Seit 2004 ist sie in verschiedenen Positionen bei Geological Survey of Namibia tätig und leitet nun die Geoinformationseinheit. Zu ihren Hauptaufgaben gehört die Verwaltung des Zugriffs auf geowissenschaftliche Daten und Informationen. Seit 2007 hat sie an verschiedenen Aktivitäten im Bereich der Wissenschaftsarbeit teilgenommen, darunter das Internationale Jahr des Planeten Erde, NAMSCI und zuletzt die Wissenschaftswoche.

Kombada Mhopjeni

Geoinformationseinheit

Althea Jarvis

Südafrika

Althea ist ein Fernsehproduzentin / Regisseurin mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung im Rundfunk. Sie ist auch eine ehemalige Pädagogin und sehr leidenschaftlich im Umgang mit Film, Fernsehen und digitalen Inhalten als Empowerment- und Bildungsinstrument. In ihrer Eigenschaft als Commissioning Editor bei der SABC ist sie Herausgeberin einiger der beliebtesten Fernsehshows in Südafrika.

Das tägliche Jugenddrama „Skeem Saam“ hat eine durchschnittliche Zuschauerzahl von mehr als 6 Millionen Zuschauern pro Tag und wurde 2016 mit dem renommierten südafrikanischen Film- und Fernsehpreis (SAFTA) für das beliebteste Drama ausgezeichnet. 2017 zeigt das Doci-Magazin „100 % Jugend ”wurde mit dem SAFTA als bestes Jugendprogramm ausgezeichnet. Derzeit macht sie ihren Master in Medienwissenschaften an der AFDA Film School und ist außerdem Projektleiterin für die SABC-Animationsstrategie.

Althea Jarvis

Fernsehproduzentin / Regisseurin

Thandi Nqubelani

Südafrika

Thandi ist Naturkundelehrerin an den Iziko Museen in Südafrika. Mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Bildungsprogrammen für Lernende, Lernende mit besonderen Bedürfnissen, Lehrer, Touristen, die breite Öffentlichkeit usw. ist sie die Grundlage für alles, was sie in ihrem Beruf tut. Sie hat ein Diplom in Pädagogik (Fachrichtung Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften) und ein Diplom in Personal- und Ausbildungsmanagement.

Thandi Nqubelani

Naturkundelehrerin an den Iziko Museen in Südafrika